Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

SEPTEMBER SPECIALS. -Waterfront Delight. As low as $500 during wk. 2 ngt min

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights


About the property

House, 3 bedrooms, 1.5 baths, sleeps 8

Waterfront home located in beautiful Portsmouth, RI. The home consists of a split level that has 3 beds and 1 1/2 baths. The house is fully furnished and includes all the amenities and luxuries to make for an ideal vacation. The upstairs consists of 2 beds, bath, living room and kitchen with plenty of space. The downstairs has a bedroom and half bath that also has a bar and entertainment area. The downstairs has french style doors, which open up onto a 300 sqft deck that abuts the water. On the deck there is a hot-tub that holds 6 people. Also, the home comes with washer/dryer, 65 inch big screen TV, 37 inch flat screen wall TV, furniture, grill, kayak and etc. Internet access, high definition cable TV included.

More About the Property: There is a jet ski dock off the deck and a boat can be anchored. Located approximately 10 miles from downtown Newport and within close proximity to many restaurants, shopping, gas and etc. Easy access to Rte 24 makes for a quick commute to Providence, Newport or traveling to the Cape and islands. Enjoy a beautiful vacation on the water that is minutes from Newport but without the prices.

More Details

James Sullivan
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 5, 2016


Portsmouth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking On Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Half Bathroom -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Sailboat
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Washer/dryer, hot-tub, jet-ski dock, 65 inch big screen tv, 37 inch flat screen wall tv. High definition cable tv, internet access, grill, sunfish boat, oak bar that can sit 6 comfortably and etc.


2.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

SEPTEMBER SPECIALS. -Waterfront Delight. As low as $500 during wk. 2 ngt min
average rating of 2.8333333 based on 6 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! Can you say location? Sunsets were awesome and kids loved that they could climb down the ladder and be in the water. Close enough to Newport without the hassle of the traffic.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good to hear. I'm glad you and your family had a great time! Hope to see you again! Jim.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

NO Amenities or Luxuries Here

  • 1 of 5

When we arrived at the house we were disappointed about several things. First there was no air conditioning which was very bad when you are trying to get ready for a wedding and are sweating the whole time. The advertisement for this house should make people aware of the lack of air conditioning. Second we could not get any of the TV's to work and with 5 kids that was stressful to say the least. Third there was also no Wi-Fi, again stressful with 5 kids. And lastly, although there is a hot tub on the deck, it is not usable by any means, very dirty with old stagnant water. We left at 12:00 am after the wedding was over rather than waiting until the morning because we just couldn't stand another night in that hot house. This was the cheapest house in the area to rent so in this case I guess we got what we paid for. We should have heeded the other warnings but attending the wedding was already costing a fortune so we went with a less expensive house. Wish now that we would have just went to a hotel

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's funny that I get a review like that. I went out of my way to make sure the accommodations were the best and I have a lot of them. I allowed them to have 11 people, which is normally not the case. The place had a fan in every room. I let them stay for a 3 night rental at a discount when I normally rent for the week. And they have the nerve to complain, I'm very disappointed; especially since I tried to help him out with his health insurance. The unfortunate thing as a landlord is you get one party like this every couple of years. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Worst rental every

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house in August 2014 and were extremely disappointed. What we received was not what was advertised. The Jacuzzi was dirty, there was no kayak or sunfish boat, there were 3 TVs but only the 19inch worked with no remote, there was no Wi-Fi and only 2 bar stools in the bar area. We were a family of 5 and there were only 2 chairs (one of which was broken) and a small bistro table in the den and 2 chairs with a rusted table on the deck and not enough silverware so we wind up going out for meals. When we arrived there were dirty clothes in the washer, clothes in the dryer and dirty close on the floor. There was no working smoke alarm, electrical outlet covers were broke, there was a hole in the ceiling, and one of the windows in the den was broken and had jagged glass in the frame. If it was not for my family flying in I would have left. I would not recommend this property to my worst enemy. All I can say is make sure to get up-to-date pictures of the property & amenities advertised and a contract if you rent this property. The landlord was argumentative and we had to have the police involved.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Let me just correct the major complaint. It was me that called the police. The party showed up with no money for the rental period. I told them to leave and they wouldn't. They stayed in a house on the water. They told me they had no place else to go. Then they started ordering me around and telling me what to do. They ended up squatting in my house and left owing me $800.00. It was a very disturbing event. Unfortunately, It's not a hotel so I don't have the authority and security to remove certain parties. I run my business on trust and relationships. It's unfortunate when this happens, but as you can see from the other reviews 95% of the people enjoy the place and several people have come back multiple times.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

fun time

  • 4 of 5

Great location to wherever you want to go and the waterfront deck was super..all day long. The owner lives upstairs and was always available. The accommodations suited our needs and a good time was had by all.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had fun!..It was very nice to meet all of you and I look forward to seeing you again. Best, Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not for a family

  • 1 of 5

In spite of the nice landscape and a pretty house, some features don't match with my expectations. We were 7 but the house given for 8 is for a maximum of 4 or 5. Not enough beds, forks, towels, tea towels. Extra sheets were not clean. We were short of almost everything. The announcement was not good.

We are used to rent houses for holidays and this one is our worst experience and unfortunately it is also the most expensive.

Sorry but I am not happy with my stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I want to apologize if you were not totally satisfied. As I stated during our phone conversation, the house has 3 bedrooms, which consist of a queen and 2 full size beds. The house also has 2 leather couches that are approximately 8 feet long. When you notified me of the shortage of forks, towels and tea towels I immediately sent you more. As far as sheets not being clean, I have my cleaning lady check everything before she finishes. She also works as a professional cleaning person for the Viking Hotel in Newport, RI. I'm sorry you were disgruntled. Best to you and your family in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great vacation home

  • 5 of 5

The house met our needs perfectly; great location, lots of room, clean. Landlord was very accomodating, especially since my week was not from Saturday to Saturday. I would stay at this property again and would definitely recommend it to friends or family. It was a great party house-we had a great time and a great family reunion.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Marion. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. Glad to hear you had a great time. I look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Other Activities: Shopping.


Rates & Availability

Portsmouth House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0

Renting from June 1 - August 31, 2009. Weekly rate is from $1,750 - $2,050

This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

You might like these similar properties