Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hang Ten - Beachside w/Pvt Pool - 2 masters with spacious rooms and big windows!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,486 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 28 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

** Note for Cancellation: If we re-rent out the nights you booked, we will refund you 80% of the payment**

One of our guests said it best: 'Hang Ten was a wonderful vacation house. The layout was perfect to allow everyone privacy and it had everything we needed. Really enjoyed screened porch, view, access to beach and great pool! We were very pleased!'

Hang Ten is ideally situated on St. George Island. It is at the 1/4 mile mark of the island's bike trail, just far enough from the commercial center for quiet yet close enough for an easy bike ride or walk. The beach is only 100 steps away, with the beach access easement directly in front of the house. Every room has a view of the beach. Hang Ten has three bedrooms and three full baths, a fully-stocked kitchen, laundry, covered parking, enclosed hot and cold outdoor shower, fish cleaning sink, and screened and open deck areas. The two master bedrooms are at opposite ends of the house, providing welcome separation for those that want it.

The pool is one of the most private on the island.

One guest commented: you can wear your birthday suit! Pool Heat is available for an extra charge ($300 per week) during Spring and Fall depending upon air temperatures.

Hang Ten also provides free wireless high-speed internet, a high chair, a playpen, and a stroller.

Dogs are welcome: $60 for up to two dogs.$35 each extra dog.

Monthly dog fee : $120 for up to two dogs.

.Hang Ten rents from Saturday to Saturday. The primary renter must be 25 years or older.

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

-----------------------------------------------------

LENGTH OF RENTAL

Hang Ten offers only weekly stays for Summer (June, July, the last week of May, and the first week of August.)

Reservations for shorter periods of time may be made for Spring and Fall depending upon property availability and approval. (It is usually available to be booked within 2 month of the arrival day.)

There is also a 5 night minimum stay during some holidays except last minute.

There is linen and cleaning charge for less than a week rentals.

More Details

Owner
Reggie Ratcliff
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Reggie Ratcliff

We are a family of 4 living in the Metro Atlanta area. We're all nature lovers and love traveling and spending time outdoors. In the summer of 2003 we vacationed on SGI and loved it completely and returned a month later to look for a place to call our own. We bought 'Hang Ten' in September.

Hang Ten is so popular with return guests that we had little chance to visit it ourselves. We began looking for another house to balance with Hang Ten and in 2007 we bought a cottage called 'Boardwalk'. With two houses on SGI we are able to go there often and take care of the properties and enjoy sharing them with guests.

Our goal is to make our guests happy.

In 2013 we will start to manage the properties ourselves, with the help of Community Management Services, Inc. (CMSI). We are very fortunate to have found CMSI - a very experienced, St. George Island-based company - to handle the housekeeping and maintenance for us. They can provide a more customized service for our houses and their goals include a very welcoming house upon your arrival and no need for service calls.

Reggie Ratcliff purchased this house in 2003

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family and I LOVED your home - it was absolutely perfect for us! I've been going to SGI for weekend/weeks for about the past 10-12 years, and the location of Hang Ten was the best one ever!



Thank you for a fantastic week!
May 2013
  • 1 of 24

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Tallahassee

Come enjoy the uncrowded family-friendly beaches where even the family dog is welcome! Enjoy truly fresh and famous Apalachicola Bay oysters, or any other of your favorite seafoods at the area's restaraunts. Go fishing. Shop for fishing gear, souveniers, beach stuff. Go antiquing in Apalachicola. Visit any of the area's many nature preserves.

Amenities

Gulf Beaches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1486 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Max. adults: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • No pets on beds or couches or in the pool
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • All with Hookless brand hotel fasion shower curtains.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In the family room and sheets are provided
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Now ALL Tile floors! Two master bedrooms, sundeck, furnished screened porch, furnished patio, very private heated pool, park-style charcoal grill, fish cleaning station, enclosed hot and cold outdoor shower, covered concrete parking, high chair, play pen. Adjoins bike path and close to island playground, shops, and restaurants. Great beach view and direct beach access.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
24% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Hang Ten - Beachside w/Pvt Pool - 2 masters with spacious rooms and big windows!
average rating of 4.5925927 based on 78 reviews
5

Beautiful and Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a whole week at Hang Ten and loved every second of it. The house is in a great location with a beautiful view of the beach! We love the small town atmosphere of the island and plan to return. Reggie was wonderful at helping us and giving us information about the house and location. We definitely recommend Hang Ten to everyone!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Marietta, GA
1

Beware of this property and VRBO

  • 1 of 5

We made our reservation months ahead for our annual vacation, excited to be going to St George. Hurricane Irma hit the same day we were scheduled to arrive and the island was under mandatory evacuation. While disappointing, we would wait until everything cleared and continue with our vacation, expecting to be reimbursed for the 3 days our trip was delayed. NO REFUND! No partial refund. And we purchased travel insurance with their recommendationed CSA insurance. So if you have any issues, do not expect any reimbursement. We will NOT be using VRBO anymore.

The house was ok, by the way...

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We wholeheartedly agree with the rating of CSA's and VRBO's service in this case, yet have several reasons to believe that painting us with the same brush is unfair and was done in a misleading manner. In our 25 years of renting on the island we have never seen insurance not cover a mandatory evacuation. VRBO is also culpable for promoting CSA and then refusing any responsibility or assistance. However the guest appears to be expecting coverage for their choice to delay two days beyond the evacuation where the island was open and other guests were arriving; we do not know of any instances where this would be or was covered. And they have chosen not to cooperate with any of our offers. Nevertheless we do understand the guest's frustration and offer our apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Norcross, GA
5

Great location and spacious!

  • 5 of 5

Totally relaxed and have everything we need and will be back soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great layout, great location on island, pets allowed...our second stay here...its perfect!

  • 5 of 5

See summary. Cheers!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Stay, despite the weather

  • 4 of 5

We requested the furnace filters be changed and the request was met promptly. The house met our needs, the pool was excellent.

Tropical storm didn't dampen our spirits.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

great family time

  • 4 of 5

great location! easy access to beach, easy access to shops and ICE CREAM SHOP!! Nice having master away from other bedrooms, loved the private pool area, only negatives were trash can in master bedroom was left full under sink, yard needed trimming around parking area, palm trees in front of house blocked view from screen porch and were pushing against screen, also no pantry to store dry goods - had to leave cereal, etc. in our food box that we brought from home and out on counter - no biggy though just would have been nice to get the cookies out of sight if you know what I mean!!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us, and for taking time to write a review. All feedback is useful. We, and our cleaning service, do apologize about missing the full trash can, and your comment prompted us to have the yard and palm trees trimmed sooner rather than later. When we are there we arrange the cupboards so that one is empty and ready for guest storage, but we also understand that over time things get re-arranged as people make themselves at home. Please feel free to re-arrange the kitchen for your own style. We do hope you will consider staying with us when you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

** ATTENTION ** Rates include everything except the 9% local tax for weekly+rentals.
For less than a week rentals, there is an extra linen and cleaning charge. Please email us for the details.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Please note the the automatic rate quotes do not work properly at season boundaries and for stays less than one week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund