check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Andy or Bob

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, italian, mandarin, Mandarin

3Acre OCEANVIEW 3Acres RainForest, 2miles from Lava Boat Tour

21 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Pahoa Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 full bath. Accommodates 4 adults: Queen bed + Queen air matress

Hawaii Tax ID#: W81691872-01.

Give yourself the ultimate "adult" camping trip in comfort and tranquility. Surrounded by fragrant gardens, guests enjoy a "Bali-esque' Temple protected by a 6 acre rural parcel boasting a WIDE OCEAN PANORAMA. Our off-grid solar-powered home has oversize doors & windows inviting trade winds so you feel comfortable and bug-free. Daytime emperatures range from 75 to 85 and the nights can drop into the sixties November - February.

** Photovoltaic system runs fridge, sound system, and clever lighting you adjust to match your mood. 20 paces from the house you will enjoy both sun-bathing and star-gazing on spacious detached deck. Coveren lanai surrounds the house (like a porch) enabling outdoor living & dining all year.

** Built in 2007 of tropical hardwoods and pacific northwest cedat, all surfaces and furniture are still brand new.

** Architectural Indian slate & glass-brick bath has indoor/outdoor shower.

** Vaulted ceiling. Decorated with treasures from Thailand, Indonesia and Bali

** Queen bed—high thread-count sheets--supplemented by queen AeroBed for lanai sleeping.

* Complete kitchen with non-stick cookware and professional chef's tools

*** High-definition 28' LCD monitor + SURROUND SOUND theater and CD/DVD Library plays your IPhone music and movies you bring. HDMI port for your laptop.

Mahi Oli'Oli is just 2.2 miles from the coast. LAVA BOAT tours leave from this point and swimmers / surfers use this ocean access with adjacent county park. Vlocano National Park (view the caldera of Kiluea spitting lava into the air from the safety of a dining room.

Good restaurants in nearby Pahoa: After we have received our completed, signed rental agreement and full payment from you we email our houseguide including detailed driving instructions and security codes for entering the property. Helpful information in the guide: restaurants, markets, sights, beaches, activities, & more. we return your $200 damage deposit within one week of OK checkout.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Andy or Bob (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, italian, mandarin, Mandarin

About Andy or Bob

Love for NATURE & Gardening and a need to be near the sea are the reasons we became stewards of this property. We are in our 50-60's, actively involved in both Puna and San Francisco communities, and hoping to spend more time in Puna as we age.

Andy or Bob purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Andy or Bob chose Puna District

We have been vacationing in Puna, Hawaii for over eleven years renting a friend's home. After becoming attached to the native culture, tropical landscape, and outdoor activities, we decided to build our own home. We designed and constructed the cottage based on our eleven years of vacation living, culling features from the many homes we saw in the area and tailoring them to our Hawaiian lifestyle pursuit of comfortable simplicity.

What makes this cottage unique

Steep terrain reveals spectacular 170 degree view of the Pacific ocean and exposes the property to gentle trade winds. proximity of rain forest ensures a symphony of night sounds and a remote, jungle feel at your doorstep.

All wood construction (cedar walls and roof, eucalyptus floors, Ipe deck) is rare in the tropics. Open the door and smell cedar and the other woods.

Guestbook comments from the manager

By: Kim UIf you are looking for an off-the-beaten-path experience in Hawaii, then this is the place to do it! The house is located in a beautiful spot, with lovely veiws over the ocean, a few miles away. Privacy, solitude, romance. Well-equipped, well designed interior with comfortable furnishings. The deck is a great place to have morning coffee, or a romantic dinner. The area is distinctive - no over-commercialism here!! Pahoa is a funky little town, and Hilo is a favourite of mine. Bob and Andy have stocked the book shelves with great reading material and information so you can find fun things to do within easy distances. Thanks for sharing this lovely cottage with other adventurous travelers!
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

3Acre OCEANVIEW 3Acres RainForest, 2miles from Lava Boat Tour
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
Lakewood, Colorado
5

A rare treat

  • 5 of 5

This place has to be seen to be comprehended. I was really impressed by how meticulously the house is constructed; not a single detail was overlooked. It's also decorated and arranged with incredbly good taste. The queen size bed faces to the southeast towards two oversized sliding glass doors, offering a broad view of untouched jungle to wake up to. Facing east provides a panoramic view of the ocean. This is truly one of my favorite places on earth, and I have no doubt that I'll be coming back. Bob and Andy were very helpful and accomodating as I made my reservation on short notice.

The abundance of fresh fruit in the kitchen on my arrival was an especially nice touch. I feel that I got much more than I paid for.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
5

Peaceful perfection!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful 7-night stay, celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Everything was exactly as advertised. The property is simply gorgeous and Bob and Andy have supplied everything you might need in the cottage. They were very easy to work with, especially since our trip was a little short notice. Our favorites: eating outside on the lanai every day, the breeze blowing through the lush greenery, the comfy hammock, and no TV (except to watch movies) made it so easy to relax and unwind. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Secluded paradise close to amazing natural wonders!

  • 5 of 5

Looking at the pictures for this home doesn't even begin to represent the amazing property at which you'll be staying. Situated at the end of a lovely gated drive awaits 6 acres of private paradise. The landscaping was unbelievably beautiful and seemed to go on forever - the ocean view just adds to the ambience. If you want private yet close to amazing natural wonders like Kilauea and tropical tide pools, this is the spot. The home is as lovely as represented with an open, airy floor plan and exceptional views from any window. Our only regret is not spending more time at the property enjoy the tranquility and solitude.

5 stars doesn't begin to do this property justice... Andy and Bob sent a plethora of information about the area and have a great book at the house sharing numerous must-see spots. Truly an unforgettable experience!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Gorgeous Stay

  • 5 of 5

This property is a gem. Great care has been taken in its construction with quality materials - beautiful hardwoods throughout. Kitchen is beautiful and very functional. Gardens are crazy-amazing: huge bamboos, pineapples, avocados, coffee and cacao plants. Ocean vista is gorgeous. Location was terrific for an "off the beaten path" vacation with my daughter - tidal pools and black sand beach are a don't miss! Fair warning - at the black sand beach you will find clothed beach goers as well as nude ones. Property was exactly as described and great care has been taken in its upkeep. I would recommend this property to friends and would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful scenery and home

  • 5 of 5

Staying at this property was delightful and we would return in a heartbeat. The home itself has all the necessities and is beautifully furnished. The deck, hammock, and stargazing deck is where we spent most of our time. It is extremely well maintained and the care that goes into it is obvious.

Being away from all the city noise was peaceful and we woke every morning feeling refreshed. It was hard to tear ourselves away from this place to explore the island.

There are beautiful sights on the road the home is on, reminiscent of the road to Hana in Maui- you feel like you are in the middle of a jungle with the ocean on one side.

I couldn't say enough lovely things about this home, it was truly perfect.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Vancouver Island, Canada
5

Best Place on Earth!!

  • 5 of 5

From the excellent directions to the long driveway entering in to Heaven, we knew our choice to stay at Off The Grid would be a special memory we will re-visit often. Peacocks, momma pig and her 8+ piglets, little black cat visitor, geekos joining us for lunch on the lani. Rain showers that made us giggle (we thought we knew what hard rain was, being from Vancouver Island, but guess not) star gazing, moonlight nights - lulled to sleep by the many frogs. As others we only left one day for a drive down to the water and up to the end of the road (Kalapana direction) Our oasis was calling us back. As other places we have stayed at, you can tell when the owners use their rentals. The attention to details, comfort and cleanliness and maintenance is well attended to. Matthew the caretaker has the same pride. We hope to re-visit the island one day and would bypass our other stops to head right here. Thank you for sharing your beautiful place. Lorie & Steve - Nanaimo - Vancouver Island Canada

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19.5 Miles
Hilo International
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
in Pahoa
Nearest Golf
19.5 Miles
Hilo Municipal
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Route 130
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
in Pahoa: Kaleo, Ning's, Luquin's, Paolo's
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Mauna Kea
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Kehena
Car: necessary

Hike to Active Lava Flows, Yoga Instruction and Massage, Volcano National Park; Eco-Tourism, World-Class Astronomical Observatory and Planetarium, Pahoa Olympic-Sized Swimming Pool, Geo-Thermal/Oceanside Warm Pond (Queen's Bath), Tropical Botanical Gardens, Hula Classes. located on our shared drive at 13-659 Pohoiki Road----our neighbor

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pahoa Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer fun
May 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$155
$930
$3,400
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 1 2016 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,020
$3,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$160
$960
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

On-Line transaction fee $29
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning, Linens, Towels $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

$25 one-time linen supplement each for 3rd & 4th guest

Cancellation: Full refund if you cancel or shorten your stay at least 30 days prior to arrival.

Late Cancellation: If you cancel within 30 days of arrival then we'll attempt to book another guest into the time you vacated. We refund one day room charge for each day re-booked. We'll refund your $200 security deposit & $100 cleaning fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pahoa Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Shower walled in glass for 'outdoor' shower charm
  • Spacious bathroom with exotic Indian slate and glass-block shower. Sliding glass door for each access to the lanai. Unlimited hot water from an 'on-demand' efficient, propane water heater.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen air mattress
  • Comfortable Queen bed supplemented by Queen AIR MATTRESS ideal for lanai sleeping. Great indoors as well. Trade winds keep bugs away and lanai is covered to keep you dry and shaded. Indoor furniture is lightweight, Indonesian rattan, easily moved to accommodate the air mattress or to enjoy on the lanai in addition to dining for six and casual seating.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Senior Adults Only Community ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Furnishings and dinnerware for six imported from Indonesia, Thailand, Bali, and Java. Hook up for iPod. Gas stove. French-press coffee maker. Non-stick cookware. Hammock. Kite. Landscaped grounds with seven varieties of palms, a hala forest (sacred to Hawaiians), and subtropical woods. Pahoa Shopping Center 5 miles away includes: Internet cafe, pharmacy, fish market, grocery, deli, gift stores, Hawaiian and tropical crafts, etc. AT&T cell phone service only at the cottage; other cellular services operate in the area. Gas-fired BARBECUE GRILL for cooking outdoors.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties