check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Liz Heinzel-Nelson

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Charming Delaware River Front Cabin, Vacation Rental between Poconos/Catskills

49 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Beach Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 7, internet access

Nestled in the woods along the Delaware River, this cozy cabin features both the quiet seclusion of the woods and the recreation of the Delaware River. Home to skiers, hikers, kayakers, mountain bikers, fly fishers, hunters and naturalists, the cabin is perfect for the family who loves nature or the writer/artist looking for retreat. This charming cabin is surrounded with woods and streams providing privacy and over 300 ft. of river frontage. Beautiful paths and foot bridges lead from the house to the river. Many bald eagles nest in the area. It is in perfect condition with a wood burning fireplace, finished basement with a wood burning stove and a porch looking out to the river. The cabin is on the PA side, 2 miles south of the quaint town of Narrowsburg, NY. A haven to experience, this cabin on the Delaware River guarantees a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere during every season of the year.

Surrounding Area: Many of our visitors have told us they enjoy simply staying at the cabin, reading, birdwatching and exploring the river and forest. But if you want to venture farther out, two miles north of the cabin lies the quaint town of Narrowsburg, NY. Browse the local art and antique galleries. Experience the Tusten Theatre. Relive history with a visit to Fort Delaware. Or take a drive along the beautiful winding roads which parallel the river. Down stream is the historic Zane Grey House. 30 minutes to Honesdale to stroll the streets or ride the Stourbridge Rail, a steam engine journey to the wild west.

Ski Area: 20 minute drive to a choice of two ski slopes, Tanglewood or Big Bear.

There are great cross-country ski trails in Promise Land State Park, 30 minutes from the cabin.

The River: This area of the river boasts of some of the most exciting and varied water on the Delaware River. North of the cabin runs Skinners Falls, a challenging section of rapids. Then the water flows into Narrowsburg over the deepest water in the river. On the stretch of river between Narrowsburg and the cabin, there are rocks and cliffs from which to jump into the river. Further down the river are more rapids and eventually the highest and fastest water on the Delaware. Tubes, canoes and kayaks are available at the house and more to rent from local outfitters.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Liz Heinzel-Nelson (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 49 traveler reviews

Charming Delaware River Front Cabin, Vacation Rental between Poconos/Catskills
average rating of 4.9591837 based on 49 reviews
bucks county
5

Outstanding Getaway Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Had a great weekend with three fishing buddies from work. Easy to get to, beautiful quiet surroundings, the property provides a clean comfortable cabin that is less then two minutes from the river right off the back porch. All of us caught fish every day up and down the river. The use of kayaks and canoe made it even better and seeing an eagle right behind the house was extra nice.

Everything we needed was on property, and food can be had in Narrowsburg about five minutes away.

If you like the outdoors, fish, or just want to getaway;

go to the riverfront cabin.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 1
5

SOLITUDE. Great place for a family vacation on the Delaware River.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just spent 3 days and nights at The Knoll. I wish it would have been longer. It was just what I was looking for. Very quiet location. The house was very clean and we had everything we needed. If you are familiar with the area then you will appreciate this home. We spent 2 days on the river and had a blast. My wife was concerned about no A/C but the house definitely doesn't need it. My wife agreed. My kids were concerned about no TV. I don't think it crossed their minds once. They conquered half of the mountain. Great place to get away from the insanity. Liz, the owner, was very prompt answering any questions and was attentive to everything. I would highly recommend this house and would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely amazing place! Couldn't have asked for better.

  • 5 of 5

When we first arrived at the cabin, the photos online did not do it justice. The place was amazing in every way. A very cozy and comfortable place to just get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and relax. And the river is gorgeous! Clear as can be and full of fish with bald eagles flying around above. There is no TV in the cabin, but with the fire pit, the river, and the beautiful scenery, there is really no need for one. Truly a peaceful and relaxing place that would even be great for the kids. Hope to return when the kids are older so they can hopefully get a chance to see that there really are places left in the world that are so simple and beautiful.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Myself and five others spent three days at the knoll in celebration of my fiance's birthday, and we all had the most incredible time. The cabin itself is set back in the woods, very secluded and private. The cabin fit all 6 of us very comfortably, and came with everything you could ask for (water shoes, fishing poles, kayaks, games, etc). During the day we would hang out by the riverbed, swim, fish, bird watch (we saw tons of Bald Eagles) and just enjoy the peaceful environment. At night we would cook on the charcoal grill and hang out by the amazing firepit. We were all very sad to leave and hope to go back in the near future!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great piece of property!!!

  • 4 of 5

My family and I spent 4 days at The Knoll during the Spring/Easter Break from school. The owners were great and everything that was offered was provided and then some. It is a great location off the main road if you truly want to get away from everything including your cell phones. Even though we were first disappointed with no TV, we didn't seem to miss it at all and to be honest kids and I were too exhausted from activities outside we didn't have time for it. The cabin was very clean on arrival with firewood already built in the fireplace that all we had to do is lite it. My wife and I are thinking of purchasing a place in this area and this cabin has made us look even harder!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We do not have enough good things to say about our Presidents Day Weekend getaway to The Knoll! We were pleased to find the cabin warmed up for our arrival during such a freezing cold weekend, and the cabin itself was spotless. The cabin had pretty much everything we needed for the weekend, from endless firewood to plenty of pillows and blankets, along with plenty of pots, pans and cooking utensils. It was the perfect relaxing weekend we desired, and we even braved the cold to take our dog for a walk along the trails and up to the river. The sights were breathtaking and we were sad to leave!

The owner had great communication and provided us with all of the important information we needed ahead of time so that we didn't find ourselves with questions during our stay. This allowed us to feel right at home as soon as we arrived.

We will definitely be back to take advantage of this beautiful property in the warmer months!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

The Delaware River is right in front of you for fishing, kayaking and canoeing, swimming, bird watching hosting many bald eagles, seen especially well in winter! The river water is clean and wonderful to swim and fish. This is prime area for fishing and hunting! This part of the river boasts of some of the best trout/fly fishing in the world. There is a tandem kayak, a single kayak, and a canoe under the porch. Paddles and life jackets are in the pantry closet off the kitchen. There are hiking trails all through the woods surrounding the cabin.

Two miles north of the cabin lay the quaint town of Narrowsburg, NY. Browse the local art and antique galleries. Experience the Tusten Theatre. Relive history with a visit to Fort Delaware. There is an organic farm nearby that sells fantastic vegetables and fresh meats as well as providing the kids an opportunity to see chickens and lambs. Events like the Callicoon Tractor Parade, the Narrowsburg Eagle Fest, farmer's markets and celebrations for every major holiday provide local flavor. Down stream is the historic Zane Grey House. A 30 minute drive west will bring you into Honesdale. Stroll the streets or ride the Stourbridge Rail, a steam engine journey to the wild west. Bethel Woods Performing Arts Center, built on the site of the original Woodstock, has amazing concerts in an outdoor venue, www.bethelwoodscenter.org. On a rainy day visit their Woodstock museum that is state of the art. One of the top resorts/spas in the country is located 20 minutes from the cabin. Prime area for motorcycle enthusiasts.

Ski Area: a choice of several ski slopes.

Big Bear has enough to do for the whole family. Featuring 6 lifts, 18 trails, snow tubing and a Ski School. Big Bear is located approximately 30 minutes from the cabin. 570-685-1400

Camelback Ski- Camelback has 33 trails and 17 lifts making this a blast for the whole family. Skiing, Snowboarding, Tubing. Approximately 45 minutes from the Knoll. 570-629-1661.

Elk Mountain- The largest mountain in the Poconos. Skiing and Snowboarding available. Approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes from the cabin. Elk Mountain has baby sitting service. 570-679-4400

There are great cross-country ski trails in Promise Land State Park, 30 minutes from the cabin.

Ski and Snowboarding Slopes are a 20 minute drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Beach Lake Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving Weekend
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$799
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$149
From
$249
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $125
Tax Rate 9.0%

No Refunds once reservation is made.
Holiday Rates must be quoted on a custom basis.
Check In time is 4pm unless previously arranged.
Check Out time is 11am unless previously arranged.
Pets Welcome! ($50 fee applies upon approval)
Minimum age requirement is 25

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Beach Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • River
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , Crib in closet
  • There are beds for 7 and mattresses in the finished basement to throw on the floor for kids to dream in front of the wood burning stove.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Raft
  • Small Cooler
  • Walkway to Water
  • 3 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • live theater
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The cabin is well equipped for winter and summer. The wood ring on the porch is loaded with split wood and kindling for warm, cozy fires in the living room fire place. Tubes, kayaks and canoes are available with life jackets. The kitchen keeps coffee, tea and hot chocolate stocked for guests. Jigsaw puzzles, brain teasers, games and toys line the toy chest. A wonderland for children, a tree house sits between two trees. A rope swing straddles the stream below the tree house. The river in the summer has a gentle current and is shallow with a gradual depth to adult waist in the middle of the river. The NY side of the river can be 6-7 ft deep with a stronger current. Bald eagles, beaver, deer, turkeys, porcupine and other animals have all been spotted around the cabin.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties