check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

5 SEC WALK TO 100' WATERFALL, 5 MIN DRIVE TO TOWN - Oct 22-28 Dates Available!

4 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Highlands Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Nestled within a lush rhododendron forest with towering hemlocks, Wonderfall Cottage balances remote serenity with close proximity to town. Observe Satulah Mountain from the front porch, listen to a 100 foot waterfall steps away from the screened porch, or visit quaint shops and restaurants on Highlands’ Main Street, just a 5 minute drive away.


Wonderfall provides a remote getaway experience without sacrificing modern amenities and conveniences.

Features include:


Main House:

3 BR + 2 BA

Screened Porch

Front Porch with rocking chairs

Fully stocked kitchen

Washer + Dryer

Large master suite, recently renovated May 2013


Satellite TV*

Flat Screen TVs in master BR and LR 

Window AC unit

FREE long distance

Guest Cottage:

1BR + 1BA

Small kitchenette

Satellite TV*

Flat Screen TV


*Due to the remote location, internet and satellite services can be spotty. Please inform the property manager if either is not working properly.

  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 1999
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2016
Call Manager


based on 4 traveler reviews

5 SEC WALK TO 100' WATERFALL, 5 MIN DRIVE TO TOWN - Oct 22-28 Dates Available!
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
Columbia, MD

Colorful Cottage

  • 4 of 5

Charming decor, dramatic view of mountains, and your own waterfall make for a unique stay. Located about 2.5 miles from downtown Highlands in deeply wooded area. Great starting point to explore Highlands area in any direction. Adults enjoyed the peace and quiet and views from the porches and patio near the waterfall. Kids enjoyed exploring the "secret path" under the canopy of rhododendron. Everything "as promised" in listing - just add food and enjoy!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ann, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all the details you included in your review. Those answered a lot of frequently asked questions, so I am sure future renters will find it very helpful. We look forward to having you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fall Visit

  • 5 of 5

We all had a great time visiting Highlands & staying at Wonderfall Cottage. The location is perfect and very close to downtown. The property is beautiful with an awsome mountain view from the front porch, and the waterfall just a few steps away down the path. The cottage was comfortable and cozy and I would definitely like to stay there again in the future.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Descriptions a bit misleading

  • 2 of 5

My family stayed here during the week of the 4th of July. The wifi did not work nor did the "unlimited long distance phone line" even though we were assured just days before our arrival that these were in working order. As a result, I spent a good bit of time in my car at the Bryson Food mart parking lot making telephone calls and checking email. Additionally, while the master bedroom was well-cooled, the guest bedrooms took a long time to cool down using the "portable" unit which was NOT portable (it must remain by a window to vent out hot air) and requires bedroom doors to be open to be cooled. The unit simply was not as described and the wifi and telephone problems were only repaired as we left on the morning of the 4th......very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do apologize for the inconvenience that the wifi and phone caused you. However, your stay was a very short stay and sometimes it does take time to get repairs of this kind taken care of in this area, especially after a storm has come through. But, a phone call was made to them on Monday and they were out there Wednesday morning. The portable units have worked fine and had you mentioned this to me, I would have sent someone right over to take a look. Renters following your stay have had no issues with them, to my knowledge, though I know it has been an extremely hot summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Atlanta, GA

Wonderfall Cottage is wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Wonderfall Cottage. The scenery is beautiful and

the views if the mountain and waterfall are amazing. The house is very

comfortable with all the ammenities we needed including wifi and

having a separate guest house is great for a large family. We will

definately rent this cottage again!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the cottage. It really is hard to explain how wonderful Wonderfall is....sometimes you just have to be there to appreciate the beautiful setting. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Local Airport
Car: necessary

You are minutes away from Sudders Antique Auction and Old Edwards Inn where you can enjoy spa services and dinner at Madison's

Other Activities: Waterfall rock climbing


Rates & Availability

Highlands Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Non-Refundable Booking $45 + Tax
Cleaning $155 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.75%

Deposit and Booking fee due at time of making reservation. Balance due 30 days prior to arrival date. Payment can be made by echeck or credit card. Credit card charges incur an additional 2.5% service charge.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Highlands Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Guest house
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
The BIGGGEST amenity is the private waterfall you can see from the porch and dining area. It is just 30 steps out your door to a perfect view alongside the flowing water. I can't say enough about the wonder of the Falls!

Partner Offers