check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Laughing Gecko Waikoloa - Huge ocean view. On golf course.

44 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

The sweetest condo on the Kohala Coast to escape to. Just perfect for one or two. Laughing Gecko Waikoloa is an end unit, ground floor gem that sits right on the 6th tee of the Robert Trent Jones course in Waikoloa Village. Enjoy discounted rates at the Waikoloa course if you stay here as well as access to the Village pool and tennis courts. Check the Waikoloa Village website for updated rate information.

Tucked away and private, sit on your lanai and enjoy sweeping views of miles of rolling green golf course in front of huge, panoramic ocean views, framed with all our mountains - Haleakala, Kohala, Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa and Hualalai. The unit enjoys dead on Maui sunset views, just perfect for relaxing and enjoying Mai Tais at sunset, or coffee in the morning.

The unit is designer decorated and furnished and well equipped with everything you'll need to enjoy your stay. A full kitchen is a pleasure for those who like to cook. Excellent restaurants are nearby for those who don't.

The complex is right opposite the golf course club house, pool and tennis courts. Everything you need is right there and it's a short stroll to the shops. A very good grocery store is just a walk away along with banking, medical, post office, etc.. The Resorts and world class beaches are only 5 - 10 minutes away by car. There are steps from the parking area to the lower level of the golf course.

Waikoloa Village is a planned community with underground electric, world class golf course and amenities conveniently located between Waimea, Kona and Hilo, just minutes from the best beaches. It is the perfect central location to base yourself for your Big Island vacation.

PLEASE NOTE - currently the dryer is not heating. You may cool dry, line dry, or call for pick up to hot dry if you have laundry. The unit does not have AC.

Keywords: Condo, apartment, one, bedroom, ground floor, flat, Hawaii, garden, lanai, beach, waikoloa, kohala, coast, luxury, affordable, golf, tennis, Hawaii, Big Island, resort, vacation, rental, furnished, holiday, big island, kohala coast, waikoloa villlage

More Details
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
Bookings (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Bookings

Ali Blackmore is a Zimbabwean who has traveled the globe, living in eight different countries over four continents. Dual careers in real estate and design have traveled with her and continue on Big Island, Hawaii where she works as a real estate Broker and designer specializing in Kohala Coast property. A lifelong real estate investor, Ali knows a good property when she sees one and bought Laughing Gecko Waikoloa because it is one of the all-round best view condos and locations in Waikoloa Village. Ali is an accomplished designer, painter and writer and loves gardening and all things Hawaiian. If you are visiting Big Island to look at or buy property Ali would be delighted to assist you with your search and purchase.

Bookings purchased this condo in 2004

Why Bookings chose Kohala Coast

In searching for a condo as a vacation rental my criteria included a superb location, outstanding ocean and mountain views, golf course frontage, established and beautiful landscaped common areas, privacy and quiet. A tall order, for sure, but I found the perfect unit in the perfect location, that met all my criteria, and then some! For a single person or a couple this is a delightfully charming getaway.

What makes this condo unique

This condo is located right on the golf course and just opposite the golf course club house, pool and tennis courts. As an end unit the condo is quiet and private. There is a small secluded garden out front with a teak bench just ideal for sitting out and enjoying the amazing views and watching the birds and golfers. I lived in this unit and loved every day. It is a very sweet spot, within easy walking distance of shopping and dining.

Guestbook comments from the owner


I just wanted to say thank you for the wonderful experience in working with you to rent you amazing Condo at Laughing Gecko (23255 4/20 thru 4/28).

My parents had a wonderful 50th Wedding Anniversary and enjoyed Kona so very much. They said the condo was just perfect.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 15


based on 44 traveler reviews

Laughing Gecko Waikoloa - Huge ocean view. On golf course.
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 59 reviews

Okay, but has a few issues.

  • 2 of 5

The living room/kitchen decor was lovely, but the bedroom and bathroom were quite small and became hot at night without a window to allow for breezes. In fact, we didn't feel comfortable leaving the sliding glass door in the living room open at night (safety) and the whole apartment was quite stuffy and hot at night, as well. It's also a bit odd to drag your luggage around the side of the building over the golf course, but it wasn't too bad. There are geckos and lots of them. There was one inside when we arrived and one waiting at the lock box, too. For the price in that area it is fine, but it could use some paint in the bathroom and some updating of the fixtures in the bathroom, as well. I had seen on another review that the dryer in the unit didn't work, but I assumed that the owner would have had it fixed by the time we arrived. It hadn't been repaired and it was slightly inconvenient to have to hang our laundry to dry when we were expecting a working washer/dryer. Also, her instructions for checking out include: taking out all of the trash to the bins at the front of the complex, stripping the bed and putting all laundry on the washer and doing the dishes. I've never been asked to strip a bed at a guest house before and I'm not sure what the cleaning fee was for since I felt like I had to clean before I left. The view of the golf course was lovely and you can see the ocean in the distance, but it's about a 15-20 min drive away. Again, for the price in that area, it was fine, but keep expectations reasonable.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found the unit reasonable value. there are few things I'd like to clarify. Dryer - this is on the front page of the website description "PLEASE NOTE - currently the dryer is not heating. You may cool dry, line dry, or call for pick up to hot dry if you have laundry." Safety - The door is the biggest source of ventilation and it's no wonder you were warm if you kept it closed. I sleep comfortably with the door open and the screen closed. It has been unusually warm though with 3 tropical storms back to back. Access - crossing the grass of the golf course is not the proper entry to the unit. There is a paved walk way all the way for wheeling luggage via the proper entry. The back (golf course way) is only a short cut. Check out - this is the Tropics and it is normal, and common sense and courtesy to remove one's trash and wash one's soiled dishes. To not do so is an invitation to roaches and rodents. The cleaning fee covers laundering linens and towels, cleaning the unit, and resetting the condo to the condition in which guests find it. We subsidize the cost (ie it costs more than guests pay). It does not cover washing your dirty dishes. I stay in vacation rentals frequently and all ask that laundry be placed in the laundry area. That wouldn't seem equivalent to the several hours work of cleaning the unit inside and out. Location - Waikoloa Village is 7 miles from the beach and about a 10 minute drive as noted on the website. Much aloha. Ali Blackmore
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great for Star Gazing

  • 4 of 5

The unit was adequate for two adults. The bedroom was small and not very well ventilated for fresh breezes. It is a one bedroom ground unit that looks out on the golf course. The night view for star gazing was spectacular. The unit was convenient to Waimea and other northern shore sights as well. We had a comfortable stay for 7 nights.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary, I'm glad you had a good stay. The location is convenient to Waimea, Kawaihae, Kona and Hilo. Waikoloa Village is a nice central location. Kind regards, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property is amazing. Great views.

  • 5 of 5

From sunrise to sunset you can see Maui and Kohala mountain from outside the door. The front door opens up into amazing views. I would recommend getting up early for sunrises and seeing some sunsets over the pacific from this condo. In the mornings around 615am, the golf course is empty and neighbors don't mind if you have a cup of Kona Coffee and enjoy a sunrise on the Big Island.

This condo is perfectly situated for adventures on the Big Island. Very close to all of the best beaches in the Hawaiian Islands like makalawena beach, Kua Bay, Mauna Lani Beach, Mauna Kea Beach, and Hapuna Beach. Also close to Kona, Waimea, Waikoloa Beach, Hawi, Waipio Valley, and Pololu Valley. If you plan on seeing Kalapana Lava Flow make sure to plan for a long round trip drive.

This place is awesome. Hang loose and enjoy your stay here!🌈🏝

I loved this place and was really sad to have to go.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely view

  • 5 of 5

Everything was in excellent order and the unit was very well stocked. The outdoor space is quite nice with a good view of the ocean in the distance. The drive back and forth to the beach is reasonable. And the local commercial area is quite close and quite good. The grocery store is locally owned with good prices and selection and there are several good spots to eat or grab a coffee. All in all, excellent value for the money in a very pleasant spot.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and a great summation of the condo and area. The central location and affordable price make it a great option all round. Aloha, ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, cozy and tranquil!!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in this charming condo June 24th through July 1st. Everything was well-maintained, just a 15 minute walk from shops and a delightful Italian restaurant. Centrally located to travel to northern fishing villages and western beaches. Beautiful view over the golf course and the ocean. A great place to stay - I would definitely recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Pueo's Osteria right in the Village is such a good Italian restaurant that's reasonably priced and excellent value for the great food they offer. I eat there a lot, as my waistline is beginning to show... But, it's a nice option for guest who can walk there and don't need to drive down to the resorts for a good dinner out. aloha. ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A perfect rental for a perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5

We were given perfect directions by the owner from the airport to the condo which was especially helpful since we arrived after dark. We appreciated that she had all the lights on which made it very homey and inviting. It gave us an A+ first impression. The condo was very clean, with a well stocked kitchen, linens, towels, toiletries, washer/dryer, beach chairs and also snorkel gear. The view onto the golf course and beyond to the ocean was amazing with beautiful sunsets every night. A well maintained and reasonably priced golf course was located right across the street which we walked to and the grocery store and gas station were only a few minutes drive away. We loved everything about the condo and will definitely recommend to friends and family. The owner was very accommodating and responsive and it was obvious that she valued pride of ownership. Thanks for making our first time on the Big Island so enjoyable. We'll be back!!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Pat, and thank you for such kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the condo. I love this location too. We are truly blessed to be able to enjoy such beauty and bounty in our small corner of the globe. Aloha to you both. Ali
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.01 Miles
Waikoloa Village Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Queen K
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
A Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Highlands Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Post Office
Car: recommended

Star-gazing, observatories, volcano watch, whale watch, swim with dolphins, zip line, botanical gardens, jungle hikes, coffee farm tours, waterfalls, caving


Rates & Availability

Waikoloa Village Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
September Special
Sep 12 2016 - Oct 5 2016
2 night minimum stay
Year end holidays
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
cleaning $95 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates quoted are for 2 person occupancy.
Last minute bookings ask about stays under 3 nights and discounts.
Cancellation 60+ days in advance full refund less processing fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Waikoloa Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) rental available
  • CD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Golf, Tennis, Pool, Nene

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties