check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jennifer Craig

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Spacious 1890s Waterfront Home On Pristine Maine Lake

5 Reviews
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Acton Lodge Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bath, sleeps 11 (1 king, 1 queen, 7 twin).

Turn back the clock to a simpler time without compromising your modern conveniences! This waterfront home features high ceilings, original wood paneling, an immense fireplace, wavy-glass windows and period furniture (including a piano) along with a fully updated gourmet kitchen, extra-comfortable mattresses and 3.5 luxurious bathrooms. View the crystal-clear lake from the sunset deck, lakeside porch or third-floor balcony; the water is literally 30 feet from the house. Bathrooms feature a jacuzzi tub and steam shower. Enjoy breakfast around the kitchen table, which comfortably seats eight and offers stunning views. The kitchen features deluxe appliances and extensive equipment. Swim out to the raft, sail the sunfish, kayak, go fishing, or just read a book on the porch. The house is just an hour away from beautiful Ogunquit Beach on the Maine coast, and the charming town of Kennebunkport, while New Hampshire's White Mountains can be reached in an hour and a half.

Living on the Lake: The Great East Lake experience is one of simplicity, calm, and connection with your loved ones. It is not Disneyland! There is plenty to do (sailing, kayaking, swimming, hiking, fishing, cycling, ping pong, playing pool, watching DVDs on the big TV, board games, piano-playing, reading, sunset watching, blue berrying), but this is not a fast-moving, high-tech environment. The options for eating out are limited and movies are 45 minutes away. However, the lake offers loon songs every evening, beautiful sunsets, more stars than you've ever seen in the night sky, days that seem to just roll out apart from any particular schedule, and an opportunity to get back to the basics. Those desiring endless action should not come here. But for those who want to build family memories or great friendships or just reconnect with nature, this is the place! Take a skinny dip, have a steam shower, cook a great meal together...soon you won't even care about what's on TV!

Location on the Lake: This house was one of the first to be built on the lake and the original owners chose the best possible spot! There is no better place to watch the sunset and there are multiple decks and porches from which to enjoy it. It is also well located for both sailing and kayaking as it sits at a point where both the broad and the narrow parts of the lake are easily available. Finally, its underwater rock formations have made it well-recognized as one of the premiere sites on the lake for bass fishing. You will have to bring your own fishing tackle, but you can fish from shore or use the larger kayak. Also, if you bring your bikes, there is a wonderful 17-mile ride around the lake, and we can provide you with a map.

In Maine there are water quality standards that qualify a lake as 'pristine.' Great East Lake's clarity ratings are twice as good as the top category. Many people on the lake still use the lake water to drink, although our well water is probably safer and tastes delicious

Nearby activities: The house is located approximately one hour west of the Maine coast. There, you will find charming towns like Kennebunkport and Ogunquit, with great restaurants and unique shops, as well as beautiful sandy beaches. If you travel west from the house, you will reach Wolfeboro, NH, another charming town right on Lake Winnepesaukee. Heading north, you can reach Mt Chocorua, the southernmost mountain of the White Mountain range, in about an hour. There are great hiking trails here, with 'Champney Brook' offering a fairly easy yet beautiful experience. If you continue north on Route 16, you can reach North Conway, NH, where there is both extensive outlet shopping and a quaint town. This is the gateway to the Whites, which offer excellent hiking and great scenery. You can even drive to the top of Mt Washington in your car. If you need a theme park to make your vacation complete, 'Storyland' in Glenn, NH can fit the bill and it is only an hour and a half north.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Jennifer Craig (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, french, spanish

Reviews

4.2
based on 5 traveler reviews

Spacious 1890s Waterfront Home On Pristine Maine Lake
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
5

Extremely satisfying honeymoon- plan to return!

  • 5 of 5

The photos of this gem simply do not do it justice. I tried to photograph the whole house to show friends and family and its impossible to capture the unique charm and beauty of this perfect fusion of old wooden cozy home meets modern amenities and convenience. Our jaws literally dropped when Jennifer gave us the tour upon our arrival. the home is spic and span and is stunningly beautiful and decorated throughout. Whereas some of the photos on the ad are taken with personal items strewn about the rooms, the whole home is entirely tidy for guests. We immediately extended our honeymoon for an extra 2 days after our first amazing evening in the home. We live in Manhattan and were so charmed to be away from any road related noise whatsoever and woke up to a romantic thunderstorm and loons singing. You can literally hear the water softly lap against the land while you sleep in bed. There are 2 private docks (1 of which has 2 benches and a coffee table to enjoy your breakfast and coffee on still shaded in the morning) feet from a generously large porch where we ate our dinner overlooking the lake each night. If Jennifer is not staying in the twin styled house next door you get to use her larger dock too but we would happily return whether this is the case or not. Our dog was in heaven and we definitely plan to return in the future with friends and family when it is chilly enough to enjoy the large stone fireplace in the cozy living room or maybe just in the summer again. Walk in steam shower was divine and the king sized bed in the master suite was so comfortable my husband literally had to bring up a coffee to me in bed to get me up as I blissfully enjoyed the lake breezes, loon sounds and the gentle ambience of the room. Kitchen was a delight to cook in everyday with the gas stove, dishwasher, views and soft breeze coming in off the lake. I never left the property once all week except for a hike, leaving grocery runs to my husband as I lay in the hammock by the water. Charming quiet older neighbour gave us wise words on marriage. The lady who posted a review complaining about the vacuum,oven and everything honestly seems crazy after visiting this gem of a property. We highly recommend this rental for a couple, or a larger group of family and friends. 3 Rd floor game room is a blast with a great pool table, ping pong table, large flat screen and gorgeous balcony. Jennifer the owner is very welcoming and professional. cant wait to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kennebunkport,Maine
5

This will be our 3rd summer

  • 5 of 5

This is our 3rd time we will be visiting this wonderful cottage. It is great for a large family which I have. The kitchen is large and fully equipped, the living room large with a wonderful fireplace. 5 bedrooms and a 3rd floor family room with TV and ping pong table

The side porch is perfect for dining a lower deck for viewing amazing sunsets A dock for the boys to swim or jump off. We all love this camp and look forward to our 2 week stay every year. Our hostess is the best

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Wonderful Fall Family Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Our 3 generational family returned to this wonderful house on Great East Lake in Acton, ME.  for  our 3 rd family weekend in late Sept 2012.  

The house lends itself perfectly for a family gathering with large common rooms, lots of seating, with comfortable but not fussy spaces.  The grandchildren could escape to the third floor rec room or the lake.   They remarked that the house and its authentic restoration reminded them that Teddy Roosevelt had stayed there and some of it might be the same doors it wood etc we were seeing today.

We enjoyed the dock, swimming in the pristine waters of the lake, followed by a hot tub and steam shower.    Kayaking, sunfish sailing topped off the days.

The family even fit in apple picking and a hay ride near by.  We were treated to the overly-large   crescent moon setting across the lake.

The house was fresh and clean; kitchen wonderfully equipped.

We will go back again- hopefully for longer than just a weekend

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Avon, OH
2

Lovely Great East Lake: The Lake is great - this property not so.

  • 2 of 5

The lake is absolutely wonderful, as it has always been. The home itself, was disappointing in that it could have been cleaner and in better repair. Lots of screens were torn, had holes, etc. The stove was a wonderful, industrial stove, but VERY dirty. We spent almost three hours scrubbing and cleaning it. The porches had not been swept in a while and especially the front, was not inviting as a place to sit and hang-out.We used the vacuum system, but we felt it wasn't pulling, so we emptied the bag in the basement which we could tell had not been emptied for a long time as it was full to the brim. Even with the emptying, it didn't work that well, and it seems it could use a servicing.

One of the bedrooms had animal droppings in the trundle bed, and we did not want to use it. While we were aware that critters can get in to a home, we feel that the owner should have had the beds checked for animals LIVING in them. The refrigerator was wonderful, and was clean, and the steam shower was awesome. There was a compactor in the kitchen, but when it was full, we searched all over for compact bags, and couldn't fine any. Also, even though the antique furniture had some charm, the bedroom drawers were very hard to open, and pretty musty.

Lastly, I was upfront telling the owner that we had broken three wine glasses and an old bowl broke when my daugnter-law picked it up, so we are not sure it wasn't already cracked. The owner deducted $50 from our security deposit, and I feel that was an over estimate because the wine glasses could have replaced for no more than $ 20 in TJ MAXX or discount store, and the old bowl probably wasn't worth much, and if if was antique, it shouldn't have been left out when renting.

While I would certainly return to Great East Lake, I would not rent this property again.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 1
Randolph, MA
5

Weekend Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We had our couples retreat there and the place was perfect. It was warm and inviting with plenty of actives to keep us busy for our entire stay. When booking the property the owner was extremely pleasant as well as flexible. We never rent the same home twice for our couple retreat but we will definitely rent it again. Everyone enjoyed there stay without anything negative to say. We look forward to returning in the summer.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Map

Nearest Airport
150 Miles
Boston

Other Activities: kayaking, blueberrying in season, hiking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Acton Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
Jun 1 2016 - Oct 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 8.0%

50% deposit for booking; the balance due one month prior to arrival. Payment by check.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Acton Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Internet
  • Mobile Phone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , steam room
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , off master BR
  • Great attention was paid to the bathrooms which were renovated in 2001. The downstairs bathroom features a slate-lined shower, unusual 'pebble' motif floor and Arts & Crafts vanity. One bathroom upstairs has a jacuzzi tub with shower spray, lined in tumbled stone with a mural of fresh water fish. It also has an Arts & Crafts vanity with unusual cast iron fixtures and a comfy cork floor. The largest bathroom (12x12) boasts a 7x7 steam room, with dual European shower heads and intricate tile pattern, even on the ceiling! Lie down on the two long benches, crank up the steam and let all the tension leave your body! This bathroom also includes a chair and reading lamp as well as a bronze above-counter sink on an antique vanity. The half bath is located between the master bedroom and a twin bedroom and can be used by both or restricted to the master.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , pillow top mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , trundle bed
  • All high-quality, new mattresses. Great views from every room. Period furniture and art. Very limited closet space or space for hanging clothes, however, plenty of drawer space.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Piano
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Raft
  • Sailboat
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Steam Shower
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
The kitchen was designed for someone who really loves to cook and prefers to do so communally. There are two sinks, a 48' Viking stove, sub-zero fridge, and best of all, a large table where appreciative eaters can congregate. Dishes are a combination of antique and new and there are ample, quality utensils and equipment. Music is limited to a portable CD player but there is wireless internet and great cell coverage. There is no cable TV, but there is a large flat screen TV on the third floor and a DVD player. Specific water equipment includes one double and one single kayak (although more singles could be loaned from next door), a sunfish sail boat, and a swim raft moored out front. Fishing and biking are great but you would need to provide your own equipment. The place is simply perfect for family reunions but does not offer a first-floor bedroom for seniors.

Partner Offers