check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

susan patner

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Rainbows & Waterfalls~Island Style~Short Walk to Beach & Town

81 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hanalei House Rental Photos and Description

House, 5 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 4 Baths, (sleeps 10-charge for extra guests)

Stay at Hale HaHa and enjoy close, easy access to world famous Hanalei Bay, and the amenities of Hanalei town, all located within 2 blocks of this charming, newly remodeled, 5 bedroom Hawaiian home. Exquisite views of the spectacular mountains and waterfalls provide the backdrop for this tropical paradise. Bicycles, boogie & surfboards are provided so you can fully enjoy beach town living.

Ha Ha is an ideal house for large, extended families or groups. Sleeping up to 12 people, the home is furnished with top quality, memory foam mattresses and fine hotel quality bedding. Each bedroom has glass doors leading out to wonderful decks, making the most of our outdoor lifestyle.

The kitchen is fully equipped w/a new gas stove & everything you might need for great family dinners.

A screened lanai (porch)wraps around two sides of the house, providing places to dine, lounge, play games and take in the panoramic views.There are generous outdoor areas for barbeques and gatherings, a ping pong table, pool table and a play area for rainy days. There are also bikes and boogie boards fins & snorkels & masks for all to enjoy... and your own herb picking garden, lemons, lime trees & bananas in season.

There is a hot tub for use upon request.

HaHa is a single-family home which will accommodate up to 12 guests. Groups of up to 6 can rent the three-bedroom half of the house. And, in an attached wing, there are two, newly added bedroom suites which accommodate up to an additional 2-3 guests per suite. The separate suites, or the 3 bedroom home can be rented individually, if there is no requests for the full house. A suite or just the 3 bedroom side of the house are rented if there is no one else renting the full 3 to 5 bedroom house within one month of the requested arrival date.

'Ha' is the Hawaiian word for 'breath,' and, of course, 'HaHa' is the sound of laughter and joy. At Ha Ha you will breathe the clear tropical air and delight in the pleasures offered by a wonderful home, so close to beach, surf, mountains and town.

We look forward to hearing from you.

With Aloha.

Other features include:

*Three Flat-screen televisions, 3 stereo systems (I-Pod compatible so you can bring your own music) and high speed internet connection

*Fully-equipped kitchen

*Dining Lanai seats up to 16 people

*Three en suite baths with tub/showers, one shared bath with tub/shower

*Only two blocks to Pine Trees, the famous surfing spot

*Short bike ride or walk to shopping, farmers' markets, groceries and restaurants in Hanalei Town

*Bicycles, boogie & surf boards, beach chairs, sand toys provided

*Ping Pong & Pool Table

*Safe,quiet flag lot location, tucked away from Mahi-Mahi Road

*Bonus 3 built-in lanai beds on the screened lanai provide room to stretch out and enjoy the view

*Each bedroom has access to an outside deck right off of the room

*Bonus full-size futon on lanai for lazy afternoons or fresh-air sleeping

*Two king beds, three queen beds in bedrooms.

*Complimentary soap, shampoo, conditioner, sun screen, bug spray provided so you don't need to pack or buy it

*We provide a water filter: it saves you money and our island's eco-system

LOCATED IN A QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD OF HANALEI TOWN.

TV#-5109

24/7 Island Contact : Susan Patner- 808635-7727

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
susan patner (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About susan patner

I am a long time resident of Hanalei...

Jodie is a dear friend...

we own the house together,

We hope you will get as much joy from your stay at Hale Ha Ha as we had creating it.

susan patner purchased this house in 2000

Why susan patner chose Kauai

It is a great pleasure to offer a special place for visitors to come & enjoy the beauty & serenity of Hanalei Bay.

You are so close to the beach & town, so everything is in walking or biking distance. & you can get to the beach & town on the quiet beach road...off the highway

Bicycles, boogie & surf boards provided!

What makes this house unique

Benefits abound.

You are close to the beach, close to groceries, health food stores, gift shops, superb restaurants.

There are bikes & surf & boogie boards...beach toys & umbrellas....mask fins & snorkets.

Shampoo & conditioner...soap, sun screen, filtered water...Hot tub upon request...

an arts & craft studio for rainy days plus local artist 's work displayed thruout the house...a ping pong & pool table,,,netflix & hula plus at each tv... & many more conveniences & comforts that will make your stay memorable!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had such a blast in Hanalei. It's hard to believe we were even there with it being so far away and so incredibly different from where we are now. What an experience... my favorite moment was biking on the beach at night. I think we nearly had the bay to ourselves. It was surreal. Thank you for sharing your place with us.
May 2010
  • 1 of 6

Reviews

5
based on 81 traveler reviews

Rainbows & Waterfalls~Island Style~Short Walk to Beach & Town
average rating of 4.962963 based on 87 reviews
Peoria, AZ
5

Happy Times at Hanalei HaHa

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our large group of 10 adults. The large dining table on the lanai was perfect for sharing meals and family stories. All of the bedrooms were comfortable and offered access to an outdoor deck/balcony where one could sit and enjoy island breezes. As other reviewers mentioned, the location and variety of available amenities offered something for everyone in the group. We particularly enjoyed the beach chairs, boogie boards and bikes. We hope to return to Hanalei and Ha Ha again soon.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time on the North Shore ! The house was perfect. We rented the house and the two suites for the week of our daughters wedding. We has so much room. The beach is just a block away. Everything you could want or need is in the house. Also beach chairs, bikes, boggie boards. We would love to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arlington, VA
5

Provision in Paradise - Our Perfect time in Hanalei, HI

  • 5 of 5

On our return visit to this ideal vacation home, we enjoyed all of the things that make this our favorite Hanalei rental even more than the first time we stayed there.  Our invited guests were thrilled to enjoy the easy access to the beach, farmer's market, shaved ice and shopping. With all the many provided items such as beach chairs, boogie boards, snorkel gear and bikes, there was plenty of fun on any given day. Being able to do laundry is a huge benefit. Susan makes every effort to be available for any reason and has many helpful notes around the house for further direction.

Within walking distance, we enjoyed a slack key guitar concert at the community center, we bought several fresh and local goods at the farmer's markets, walked the quiet beach just after sunrise, rode the waves during the day and enjoyed the sunset in the west, lazily kayaked and stand up paddle boarded on Hanalei River, swam in a local competition in Hanalei Bay, and enjoyed a sunset cruise to the Na Pali Coast. With some preparation and a cab ride to Ke’e beach, we even hiked the Kalalau Trail all the way to the end and camped out at the beach. After our world-class hike, we were so thrilled to come to our home away from home for much needed rest in our comfortable beds after a well deserved hot shower (or two).

We deeply appreciate Susan's ability to make a very beautiful, functional and comfortable home for her guests. Her attention to detail is above and beyond.

The house is a treasure inside and out. The inside is very personal and homelike and the garden has so many floral and food treats to be enjoyed during your stay. The Pikake, Plumeria and several orchids are sweet and plenty.  I was able to harvest some papaya and limes for some delicious recipes.

Susan’s care towards stewardship to resources helped make the trip one where we felt as if we were making a positive impact to the environment on Kauai during our stay.

Thank You Susan for helping us make wonderful life memories!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from our one week stay in Susan's home. We loved staying there and plan to return in a few years. Three generations: 8 adults, 4 children. Plenty of room in the house. We hung out together in the lanai and family room, used the items in the game closet, appreciated the wifi and cable tv options. Used the kitchen extensively. Loved the mountain view from the lanai, rode the bikes, did laundry, used the beach equipment. Everything thoughtfully provided in the house. The location was perfect, short walk to beach, short walk to town. We had one question after we arrived, which Susan promptly answered. An added treat was to meet Susan in person! We also appreciated Susan's efforts to reduce the carbon footprint of the house and it's guests. Susan has a solar system and a water reclamation system, as well as other methods to be environmentally friendly.

Things we enjoyed were hiking the Na Pali trail to the waterfall (Bring food, and water!!!), eating at the local restaurants, buying fresh poke everyday, making musubi, kayaking, boogie boarding, spending time together as a family, making memories.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

we enjoyed our stay last week with our extended family. There was plenty of room to relax, spread out, play and cook!

The bikes were a huge hit, and we used them every day. The snorkel gear was an added plus.

Everything was nicely attended to!

Thanks for the great stay!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, Australia
5

Carolyn

  • 5 of 5

10 of us in Kauai for our sons wedding. Friends and relatives all of a similar age in the house and we had a ball. The house was perfect for that number of people. The set up with the big Lanai worked beautifully. The location was great and we had family and friends staying nearby. Our visiting grandchildren loved the facilities our house had & used them all.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Lihue
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tahiti Nui
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Princeville
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Hanalei Town
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Hanalei Bay-Ponr Trees Beach Park
Car: recommended

It's only a short walk or bike ride to 'Pine Trees', the world famous Surf spot, on Hanalei Bay...and, it's an equally short walk to town where there are groceries, shopping & fine dining.

Everything you need is walking distance!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hanalei House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
January 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Feb 2017
Feb 16 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
March 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
April 2017
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 11 2017
2 night minimum stay
$725
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
July 2017
Jul 9 2017 - Jul 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Sept 2017
Sep 15 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
December 2017
Dec 12 2017 - Dec 23 2017
2 night minimum stay
$850
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
December Holiday 2017
Dec 24 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$695
$4,825
$20,620
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $79 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hanalei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower , Outdoor hot shower is for the use of the whole house
    Bathroom 5 - outdoor shower , hot/cold outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
  • King size beds (2) new,memory foam mattresses, Queen size Beds (3) 2 memory foam mattresses, Double Beds (2) one in living room, and one on lanai, both used as seating/lounging areas...Twin or Single Beds (3) there are single bed lounging/sleeping areas on the lanai (screened porch) and in the living room, Child Beds (1) we provide a portable play/sleeping bed,(play and pac), high chair, bike seats for children, toys & children's books
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 10 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
full concierge service available. please inquire lots of bicycles to get to the beach and around town. play area for rainy days. we have fishing poles, mask, snokels & fins, etc

Partner Offers