check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Steve Marcotte

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english, 日本語

Spacious Oceanview Custom Home Near Beaches, Golf. FREE WIFI and parking.

16 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Waikoloa Village House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

Why settle for a crowded condo when you can stay at a beautiful custom built home? You will be only minutes away from some of the top beaches, resorts and golf courses in the world!

From Alaua Hale (ah-la-uu-ah hah-lay) you’ll enjoy beautiful ocean sunsets and views of the island of Maui, Kohala Mountains, Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa and Hualalai from this exquisite custom-built Waikola vacation rental house!

Although up to 5 guests can be accommodated, the floor plan, affordability and romantic ambiance make it very popular with couples too.

This very comfortable vacation home has everything you'll need. It is located in Waikoloa (pronounced: why-koh-low-ah) Village, on the west side of the Big Island, about 30 miles north of Kona. The island's best white sand beaches, championship golf courses and the Dolphin Quest at Hilton Waikoloa are only a short 10 minute drive away. And the house is very inexpensive compared to the resort hotels!

Relax on the large lanai and soak up the views. You'll really enjoy the manicured tropical landscaping.

We have provided free highspeed WiFi Internet access for those folks that want to bring a laptop computer to stay connected (and to share your awesome vacation photos)!

Discount golf passes are available for our guests at the Robert Trent Jones-designed golf course. This beautiful course is only a couple of minutes from the house.

Many of our guests are attending weddings or conventions at the resort hotels such as the Hilton Waikoloa or the Orchid at Mauna Lani.

Our Alaua Hale guests are also able to have free access to the swimming pool and tennis courts at Waikoloa Village Golf Course and can get a discount at the Robert Trent Jones, Jr. designed course.

Tax ID W01673016-01

Managed by:

Steve Marcotte

Principal Broker

Hawaii License Number RB-18115

Hawaii Second Homes

430 Lewers St

Honolulu, HI 96815

REVIEWS

This beautiful home has been a vacation rental listed on VRBO for more than a decade. For years we listed comments from our guest books to share information with others. VRBO has recently moved those entries out of the Review area (for some reason). They are now located under the Owner information. We guarantee that those comments are all legitimate, unedited comments from guests over the years.

Partial stay in Waikiki?

If you want to spend part of your holiday in Honolulu, please consider our 1 bedroom unit at The Waikiki Banyan (VRBO Listing # 475820) or our 2 bedroom Penthouse in Waikiki (VRBO Listing # 491230).

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Steve Marcotte (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english, 日本語

About Steve Marcotte

My family and I are from Japan. We love Hawaii and spent so much time here that we decided to build a second home here 30 years ago. I personally designed the house and had it custom built with many unusual features (like the lipstick-red claw foot bathtub!). I love to spend time at the beach, play golf and visit the resorts. I also play music on the koto, a 13-string japanese harp.

Steve Marcotte purchased this house in 1995

Why Steve Marcotte chose Kohala Coast

We chose this location because it is near some of the best beaches in the world, fantastic golf, and has gorgeous views. We like to go to the resorts and beaches that are only 10 minutes away and then come home to a quieter and more private and peaceful setting. Waikoloa is a very sunny area so almost every day is a good beach day. Because circumstances require that we now spend a lot of time in Japan we turned our home into a vacation rental so others could enjoy it.

What makes this house unique

The house is decorated with exotic items from my many travels such as batiks from Sri Lanka, antiques from many parts of the world and, of course, items from Japan. Our guests receive discounts for golf, easy access to some of Hawaii's best beaches, the fine restaurants at the resort hotels. You will know that you are not staying in a run-of-the-mill rental but a home that was custom built with love.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thoroughly enjoyed the island. The house needs some maintenance such as the satelight working, fans in the bedroom functioning without worry of flight, and a rock hard King bed. It is a beautiful house.
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 21

Reviews

4.9
based on 16 traveler reviews

Spacious Oceanview Custom Home Near Beaches, Golf. FREE WIFI and parking.
average rating of 4.875 based on 37 reviews
5

most wonderful view.clean.private

  • 5 of 5

Awesome view.pics not do this justice.two whole walls of glass.smells clean.owner the BEST.garden bueatiful and private.short drive to everything.We found this a very pleast experiance.lots nice details.lots of helpful items if you forgot something.did i mention owner the Steve BEST.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Roomy and comfy

  • 5 of 5

Lots of room to spread. Quiet neighborhood. Close enough to wherever you may want to go. Helpful manager.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing views of the sunset

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely adored our stay at this beautiful getaway. The house has everything! It is kid friendly and could be romantic as well. The experience overall was eazy peezy! We just showed up and everything was ready. It's tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of tourism but close enough that you're just a quick jaunt away from the action. It's also nicely situated at a semi mid point of the island so you can also drive to Waimea and the wet side. The facilities are great too. The wet room shower is to do for with a big beautiful red bathtub and the carpet is super soft! We lava'd (loved) our stay and would definitely stay again next time. Mahalo.....

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Dated and worn, but great location for the price.

  • 5 of 5

We were happy to stay at this house in Waikiloa Village. Plenty of space. Good view. Stocked kitchen.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank up for the 5-star rating! It is unfortunate that you started your review saying it is dated and worn and you would not provide me with specifics I requested from you. One of the reasons people love our piece of paradise is because we respond immediately to feedback regarding the property to continuously make it better. But, again, thank you for the 5-star review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Good Location

  • 5 of 5

Our favorite part of the house was the deck. It overlooks a nicely landscaped yard, and was substantially cooler than inside the house as it was unseasonably warm. The location is convenient to some of the better beaches on the big island, in a very quiet neighborhood. We met one very nice neighbor Don (We had extra Ahi steaks that he welcomed)

There is so much to see an do on the Big Island, this property makes a good starting point, and Steve is very accessible for any issues that come up.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! I am happy that you enjoyed our piece of paradise! Thanks for sharing with future guests. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Georgetown, TX
4

Birthday Celebrations

  • 4 of 5

My family and I spent two weeks at this lovely home. It was just as advertised and close to many amenities. The grocery store in Waikoloa Village was especially convenient. The landlord was always available to answer questions and solve problems which is important whenever staying in a home not your own. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a few words about our piece of paradise. Our goal is to have all our guests have a great time and enjoy this special home. Thanks for the recommendation and we hope you and your family will return!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Kona International Airport (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Banjy's Paradise Bar and Grill
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Waikoloa Village Golf Course (discounts available)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Banjy's Paradise Bar and Grill
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Anaehoomalu Bay, Puako, HI ('A-Bay')

Scuba Diving, Dolphin Quest at Hilton Waikoloa, Whale watching, star gazing at Mauna Kea Visitor's Center, Lava viewing at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Farmers markets

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waikoloa Village House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,015
$4,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165 + Tax
Damage Waiver $45 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Listed rates are approximate. Actual rates are based on factors such as number of guests, availability and other factors.

Rates and availability are subject to change until reservations are confirmed.

Tax ID W01673016-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Waikoloa Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , Actually 2 rooms; toliet/sink room and shower/bathtub room
    Green tile bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Redwood walls; access from hallway
  • Both bathrooms have redwood walls. Master has double sinks.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Connected to very large private bathroom
    Blue bedroom - 1 queen , next to hall bathroom
    Pink bedroom - 1 queen , Bed is length of a queen, width of a double.
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2); one is a 'hotel double' (length of queen, width of double)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Japanese language reservations available via email

Partner Offers