check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Vailes Brothers, Inc.

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Family Friendly, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Moneta House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, 1 Sleep Area, Waterfront Home, Sleeps 8+

Brand new home for 2009 rental! 4 bedroom, 3 bath multilevel living area with universal design on lower level. All furnishings brand new and selected by interior designer. Open upstairs plan with 3 large bedrooms, 2 baths, living area with stone fireplace, spacious kitchen and dining room as well as laundry and pantry. 3 sets of patio doors exiting to large deck overlooking quiet cove. Sectional sofa with large screen TV in family area and TVs in all bedrooms except bunk room. Lower level has wet bar, refrigerator, large TV w/surround sound and game room. Downstairs bedroom has queen plus 2 singles, perfect for in-laws or separate family. Lower level has a covered deck and patio doors leading into bedroom and game room. A short concrete walk leads down to the beautiful deep water, no wake cove. Dock hosts Tiki bar, shaded deck, sun deck and floater dock. Home very close to bridge, shopping, and touring.

Relaxing yet Elegant: Large glass patio doors and windows add open feel to both upper and lower level. Outstanding views of lake from the comfort of couches or relaxing outside on the decks. Huge downstairs game room with pool table and ping pong for entertainment. Large screen TV in upstairs living area as well as large screen TV downstairs with surround sound and 3 comfortable, leather, lounge couches for family gathering. All furnishings brand new and top quality being selected by an intererior designer from Stedman House, Roanoke. Beautiful hard wood floors in upstairs along with granite countertops in kitchen and baths.

Secluded but Close to it All: The Frances is situated on a deep water, no wake cove with very few surrounding properties. It is perfect for a family, fun, get away with lots of water activities or soaking up the sun. Quiet setting is excellent for fishing and observing nature. However for those who are restless, there are plenty of close by activities. Hales Ford Bridge is just around the corner and offers boat and jet ski rentals as well as putt-putt, night-life, restaurants and shopping. The cities of Bedford, Lynchburg, and Roanoke are all within a short drive. The National World War II Memorial is in Bedford and the Peaks of Otter Mountains are on the outskirts. Several wineries and orchards are close by.

Lower Level Design: The lower level was finished based on a universal design. A private hallway leads from this bedroom to the bathroom so that occupants do not have to enter through the game room area. The lot gently slopes down to the lake and has a short concrete walkway leading to the dock area. Covered, shaded area allows for viewing activities while not being in the sun. Tiki bar with fridge keeps drinks and food in easy access.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Vailes Brothers, Inc. (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Vailes Brothers, Inc.

Owned by Chuck Vailes & Family and Robert Vailes & Family

Vailes Brothers, Inc. purchased this house in 2009

Why Vailes Brothers, Inc. chose Smith Mountain Lake

Relaxing, vacation, home with easy access.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)
Family Friendly, Lakefront Home. Game Room, HD TV, Hot Tub, Dock
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
Charlottesville, VA
5

"Amazing Vacation!!"

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing time we had at "The Frances" in July!! This beautiful house is equiped with everything needed for fun and relaxation! The sylish, comfortable Jamaican decoration gave us the feel of the beach, as did the georgeous view of the water out back. There was plenty of space for more than one family to spread out with loads of indoor and outdoor activities to keep everyone happy. We made use of the many televisions, VCRs, CD players, the great decks, the Wii, the pool table, air hockey, ping pong, the hot tub and kayaks. Since "The Frances" backs up to a "no wake" inlet our children had a great time jumping and swinmming both close to and farther away from the dock.

The spacious, open kitchen even made cooking a fun family activity! We were well pleased with every aspect of our vacation here and would love to spend time in "The Frances" again!! Many Thanks for the amazing vacation!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: With all the extras this property offers, everyone will stayed entertained rain or shine. The no wake zone offers extra piece of mind for parents with young swimmers. This property allows you to just relax or "catch up" with old friends and distant family.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Plainfield
5

The Frances

  • 5 of 5

Hi Chuck and Julie,

First, I'd like to apologize for writing this so long after our stay. Which was 3/25 - 4/3/16. I lost my dad. This is actually why we took this last minute trip. The house is amazing, so, you deserve this review. The drive from Indiana to the house was great btw. The weather turned out much better than expected as well! The property is absolutely wonderful. From the steep drive to the dock. Contact began with Chuck. He's great! We arranged everything through Homeaway and email. We made direct payment with no problem. Final contact and arrangements were finalized with Julie. She is very thorough, answering all of my messages quickly as well. We received our deposit back in a timely manner. Just a few suggestions for your stay. You will need to supply your own sheets and all types of towels... etc. They do have a 3rd party that you can rent from. I found it to be more valuable to buy our own. They don't have trash collection. The owners suggest that you use the Moneta Recycle Center. Info can be found in the kitchen. The kitchen is well stocked. Personally, I wish I brought my large electric skillet but we got by. We grilled out most of the time. We did get carry out from Vinny's... pretty good Italian for a chain. The hot tub is amazing and out under the stars! Loved the rec room too. It's been awhile since we have played pool, taught the kids a lesson or two. Fishing is great, right off the dock! We caught plenty keepers, many catch and release and even (lost a couple trophies) gained a couple stories...lol! You do need a licence. You can easily get it online, go to... dgif.virginia.gov/fishing .

I hope this helps you in your decision to rent this property. You won't be disappointed, so, what are you waiting for. I hope we can get the opportunity to enjoy your home again. Thank you Chuck and Julie!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy you enjoyed your stay and found reserving the property and prompt return of your deposit was easy. The well stocked kitchen and grill make cooking for a crowd simple and enjoyable. Thanks for the input on electric skillet as I may add one to our inventory!! Glad the fish were biting and we hope you visit again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Property

  • 5 of 5

This was our time to SML. We were only there over the weekend and it rained most of the time. However, we still had an amazing getaway. I work in the home improvement industry and notice all things building related. From the boathouse to the landscaping to the furnishings, everything was really nicely done, which made us feel at home immediately.

There is a ton of room in this home. We liked it so much that we may have our family get togethers there at some point this summer. If so, or whenever we visit SML, I will not even look for another property.

Remember to bring your own sheets.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy you enjoyed your stay even with all the rain. We take pride in the condition of our property and glad you noticed the quality as it is not your average rental. If you forget your sheets rental is available. We would love to have you stay again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Kick Off to Summer

  • 5 of 5

The Frances at Bridgewater will be my go to place for Smith Mountain Lake trips from this point forward. Everything you need is there for you. The owner was super helpful when I had lost track of my entry information and had no service for emails. He was easy to reach and didn't bother us during the duration of our stay. This was our first family getaway in about 15 years and everyone made it. We had ages ranging from 5 to 55 literally and everyone was more than satisfied. My children didn't ask me for my phone or any electronics the entire time we there. All of the kids learned how to kayak and we really enjoyed that. They lived in swim suites and bare feet all weekend ready to jump in at anytime. Being right across from Jakes place to fill up the boat with fuel and have a few fun nights was convenient as well. The kitchen was completely stocked for everything you may need. We used Lake Linen service which was also amazing. My mom enjoyed the upper deck while my dad enjoyed canoeing(provided) and the dock which gave great fishing opportunity (perch and catfish among others were biting all weekend). Everyone enjoyed the hot tub which came in very handy on Sunday when it rained most of the day. The game room and air hockey table and pool table came in good use that day as well. We had a very relaxing and fun weekend all around and I am ready to get back to this lake oasis.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am thrilled we are now your go to place at SML. I am readily available to help with anything you need and will not bother tenants as this is your time there. Fipflops and swimwear are the proper attire for your visit. Kayaks, canoe, the top deck and dock are great places to hang out. Game room is an added bonus along with the hot tub...happy that you discovered and experienced the things that make this a great rental at SML. I look forward to your return!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Liberty graduation

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house and the entertainment area. A wonderful home to stay in while we celebrated my daughters graduation. The owner went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Could not have asked for a better weekend. Kayaks and canoe was an added bonus! Thank you so much.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Congratulations to you and your daughter. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay Any Time of Year

  • 5 of 5

We spent our Thanksgiving holiday at this home and had a wonderful stay. The property is warm and inviting from the moment you pull in the driveway. The condition is excellent both inside and out, showing pride of ownership. The home was clean and neat upon arrival, allowing us to walk in and begin to enjoy our time immediately. Floor plan is laid out well for a group with 3 bedrooms up and one down; living area up and down and both provide easy access to outdoors. The house is well equipped with anything you may need provided in the kitchen, game tables in the lower level, hot tub, boat house and dock with water toys to enjoy. While the house provides plenty of privacy and a beautiful view, the location is very near grocery, banks, salons, restaurants etc, offering the best of both worlds.

Finally, we truly enjoyed working with the owners. They are very kind and accommodating, making the whole transaction terrific.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is great to hear the house provided a warm and enjoyable Thanksgiving Holiday. We strive to keep the property inviting on the inside and outside. The location is a added bonus giving the best of both worlds. We look forward to the opportunity to have you and your family again. It was a pleasure having you all enjoy our second home and hope to have you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

National World War II Memorial located in Bedford, 20 miles away. Peaks of Otter Mounains also in Bedford.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Moneta House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Peak Season
Jun 25 2016 - Sep 10 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.3%

$3,400.00 per week in season; rates vary for off season.
Sleeps 8+! Rates in season: $3,400. Off season rates vary.

If you would like linens there is a linen service is available. Please request for additional information.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Moneta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Master bedroom has large jacuzzi tub and separate shower area. Lower level bathroom has seperate hallway leading from bedroom as well as access from game room area to ensure privacy of those sleeping downstairs. Downstairs bath with 3' door and 5' shower for handicap accessibility.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , Bunk Beds
  • There are TVs in each bedroom except the bunk room. Home may accommodate more people, so call for more information!
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hales Ford Bridge right around corner from property. Boat and jet ski rentals available there as well as shopping and restaurants. Bedford, WW II Memorial, Peaks of Otter, Wineries, Roanoke and Lynchburg all within 30-45 minutes driving time.

Partner Offers