check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

rebecca carbone

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Luxury Home on the Ocean, Fall Special 10% OFF-3 night minimum

10 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Trenton House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3 baths sleeps 6-8

Ella's is a custom built, western style Salt Box with 4 bedrooms and 3 baths. She offers dramatic views facing West with fantastic sunsets.The home offers serenity and solitude, but is only minutes to anywhere in Acadia. Ella's is great for entertaining with a gourmet kitchen and ample dishware/cookware. The Great Room allows for family gathering. The gas grill on the deck has a side burner ready for the lobster kettle. Bedrooms have black out blinds for optimal sleep. Google TV in master bedroom, for your convenience.She also offers high speed internet and wireless internet connections. The walk out basement houses a ping pong and a foos ball table.The beach is a sand beach and great for swimming and shelling. Ella's provides two kayaks and a row boat for the adventurous. The balcony offers an external hot/cold shower to clean off the salt and sand before returning inside. From a working vacation to girlfriends, romance, family, adventure, leisure and get away from it all-Ella's is the place for you.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
rebecca carbone (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 10 traveler reviews

Luxury Home on the Ocean, Fall Special 10% OFF-3 night minimum
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
Columbus, indiana
4

6 star view, 4 star property with 5 star potential

  • 4 of 5

Ella's was the 6th or 7th luxury Home Away rental we've been in (all in different parts of the U.S.). Because of this, we are very picky, probably more so than most. I'm guessing most people would and do give Ella's a 5 star review and it comes close, but there are a few things for us that made it a 4.

First...the many pros.

Awesome view and property!!

Lots of games, DVDs, kayaks are a real plus.

Nice open floor plan for family and entertaining.

Loved two beds on 1st floor and two on 2nd. Would be good for two families sharing.

So nice to have laundry onsite given we traveled with a toddler.

Did I mention the view?!

Well stocked kitchen, we cooked most nights

Enough toilet paper, hand soap, dish detergent, etc. that we didn't have to buy; much appreciated.

Nicely decorated

Cons for us

Dining room chairs have no backs. Very hard with toddler.

Poor lighting in dining and living rooms, hard to read at night (which we like to do to relax)

Clean where it mattered, but not as clean under sinks, couches, beds as we are used to. Note again we have a toddler so we spend a lot of time on floor and hunting for toys.

No stand up shower in master bath/had to shower in hall bath.

If the first three things were changed this would easily be 5 stars! Or, if you don't care about those things.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Murphy family-first of all-thank you for staying with us. Your kind and candid review is appreciated and will serve to help us improve our home for the next renters. We will definately look into additional floor lighting in the living area and share your review with our cleaning staff. Yes, "Ella's" location and amenities make for a great luxury get away on the coast of Maine-espeically at sunset. We do our best to have her well stocked with routine home supplies to the extras of kayaks, great Maine books and numerous DVD's. Best Regards, The Carbone Family
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Scottsdale, AZ
5

Incredible Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

Our family truly enjoyed this beautiful home. The view was incredible and we could actually relax in such a peaceful setting. Our kids loved tide pooling and kayaking. The ping pong and foosball were also great options for the entire family to spend some game time. The location of the house is very convenient, as it is only about 15 minutes from Bar Harbor but also affords the peace and quiet we wanted on this vacation. On a practical note, the house was very clean and was one of the best supplied homes that we have ever rented. We didn't want for anything!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heather-thank you for your kind words and enjoying and loving the home as much as we do. Just like you, we enjoy playing in Acadia during the day, then returning home to enjoy the peaceful locations and sunsets at "Ella's". Family centric, and family fun is our motto. We look forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Washington, District of Columbia
5

Beautiful Home, Great for Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our two children and had a great week in Maine! House is as advertised, beautiful place, everything you need in the kitchen, plus fun games, books, DVDs, and kayaks all right there. The ocean cove was a great spot for me to take my stand up paddleboard. We would definitely recommend this rental to a group or family!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marohn Family, thank you for the excellent review, and we are so happy that house worked for you and your family. Her location is ideal, and the Heather Cove is a special place for water activities-swimming, kayaking, row boating and paddle boating. Yes, the home is fully loaded from a gourmet kitchen and kitchen gadgets to books, board games and DVD. We look forward to your return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

A Terrific Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at Ella's. The house is a great layout for vacationing and we had no trouble accommodating our group of 8. Ella's was very clean and contained everything we needed for our vacation aside from food or course. We enjoyed the unique beach very much. While it's not your standard smooth sand beach, (I'd recommend flip flops, aqua socks or some other water friendly footwear) it was actually the best Maine ocean swimming I've even experienced. The water was warm and there was no current or undertoe so kids can swim safely for hours. We made good use of the ping pong table and row boat, and also enjoyed the fire pit. It's an easy drive from Ella's to Bar Harbor, Acadia, and other surrounding attractions, and we never felt like we were in the car too long. The owners of the property were very nice and responsive to questions, etc. I'd highly recommend this house to anyone looking to enjoy a Maine vacation that's a bit off the beaten path but still within easy striking distance to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, thank you for the kind review with attention to our unique beach set up. Yes, we too love that there is sand, no clam flats for beach walking and water activities. We are glad you got to experience Heather Cove, and her "warm" Maine waters. Your kind and favorable review of it being "the best Maine ocean swimming" you have ever experienced; is especially kind, considering you reside in the state. We look forward to your return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Ella's place is amazing

  • 5 of 5

My husband's family came to visit from Europe and wanted to see Bar Harbor. I went on homeaway.com at the last minute and was lucky enough to get in touch with Rebecca and rent this amazing home. It is truly as beautiful and amazing at it is described by others. I'd like to add that dealing with Rebecca was extremely pleasant and efficient. Her customer service was amazing and the house is equipped with anything and everything you could want for a relaxing Maine holiday. I can't say enough about the experience. One of the best rental experiences I've had.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cathy, thank you for the kind and flattering review. Yes, we are customer service oriented from the details and amenities of the home to communicating with our renters. We pride ourselves in making your Maine experience a positive one, and one where you can enjoy all the beauty of Acadia, hassle free. We are hopeful you will come back and stay with us again, or recommend us to your friends and family. Best Regards, Rebecca
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
5

A great place for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Our family, including our three adult children and two of their spouses, spent a wonderful week at Ella's. The location is beautiful--right on the beach overlooking Union River Bay--and convenient--about a 15 minute drive to Bar Harbor. We're outdoorsy people and went swimming and kayaking from the beach by the house every day, and hiking and bicycling in Acadia Park. The house is comfortable and beautifully kept, and the layout provides tranquil views of the water from the dining room, living room, and master bedroom. We enjoyed foosball and pingpong tournaments many nights, and enjoyed music on the home's fine sound system. The water was clean, clear, and warm (in the high 60's) on the beach, and hiking the shorelines at low tide was lots of fun. The gravel/shell beaches are unlike the sand beaches we're used to in the south, and we wore water shoes while wading and swimming. Rebecca, Ella's owner, was a pleasure to work with, answering all email inquiries very quickly and sending us lists of recommended sights, activities, and restaurants. She went out of her way to make our stay at Ella's fantastic! We'd recommend whale-watching with the Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company; offshore about 25 miles we saw humpbacks swimming and breaching, 50-foot whales leaping out of the water. Amazing! Like BBQ ribs? Check out the Trenton Lobster Pound and BBQ on route 3 between Ellsworth and Trenton. Top quality ribs--how'd they get so far north? We whole-heartedly recommend Ella's. The stay there gave us memories for a lifetime.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awwww, Bill thank you for the exemplary and kind review. Ella's was built with a lot of love and attention to detail, as she was built to be our primary home.As dedicated hosts, we are determined to share our knowledge of the area to ensure that those who rent from us have memorable trip. We have teenage children, so the toys, games, books, sound-system, movies, kayaks and so on, offers something for everyone. It sounds like your family had an awesome trip, and that is wonderful. Best Regards, Rebecca
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Trenton House Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.0%

We send a link for non-refundable security deposit that insures the house during your stay, that costs $59.00

1/2 down is due a signing of the contract. Final payment is due 3 weeks prior to arrival.

Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Trenton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • fax
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • high efficiency washing machine and dryer are in first floor bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Google TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • All bedrooms have Vermont Tubbs beds and high count linens. All rooms have oversized windows for maximum views. Bedrooms have black-out blinds for optimal sleep.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Sand beach with zero depth entry, and w/o a drop off. The deck offers a hot/cold shower to clean off the salt water and sand before re-entry into the home.

Partner Offers