check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ed & Lexy

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

First Floor Living by the Beach

15 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Long Bay Estates Cottage Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12, First Floor

Take it easy at Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Just across a quiet cul de sac from the beach with a broad wooden walkway to the sandy, white beach in a private, residential community which leaves the beach decidedly free of other tourists. Relax and spread out.

All of this just minutes from the restaurants, golf courses, amusement parks, and attractions which make Myrtle Beach famous.

Your 4 bedroom beach home is all on the first floor with only one step from the outside into your vacation paradise. Perfect for the mobility limited.

We actually have the best of both worlds. We are second row, but next door to the Myrtle Beach State Park with the largest piece of undeveloped beach land on the Grand Strand. So you get the second row prices with the beachfront view. The boardwalk to the beach is only @ 50 feet from your beach house across a quiet cul de sac.

Exterior Features:: Private Professionally Maintained Swimming Pool & Wading Pool, Oceanview Sundeck 2nd Level, Private Walkway to Beach, Exterior Shower, Professionally Landscaped Grounds, Gas Grill....

How can we make your vacation the best ever!: You may bring your own linens, or we can provide you with linen service. Cleaning Service is included in our rental rates. No pets allowed. The sand fleas love them too much. There is no worry about who to call if there's a problem, since the owners live in the neighborhood. Email for any special requests. Email soon, we book quickly.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Ed & Lexy (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Ed & Lexy

We've been married 50 years and still enjoy our lives together. Kyle is our daughter who manages our beach house. We welcome you to our beach house by the ocean.

Ed & Lexy purchased this cottage in 1972

Why Ed & Lexy chose Myrtle Beach

Long Bay Estates is a wonderful community. We have lived here since the 1970's. We love the privacy of the beach.

What makes this cottage unique

Close to Myrtle Beach attractions, yet our beach is wide and uncrowded. Relax in our corner of paradise.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just a note to let you know what a great time we had at your beach house over Memorial Day week. It was the first time in 12 years that we have been able to get together for a vacation. The house was perfect and we felt so comfortable there. Everything we needed was there and was so convenient. All of you made us feel so welcome and comfortable. It was wonderful. The memories of our time there will last for many years. Thank you all so much for your kindness and hospitality !
May 2012
  • 1 of 1


based on 15 traveler reviews

First Floor Living by the Beach
average rating of 3.9333334 based on 16 reviews

Close walk to the beach, relaxing, clean.

  • 5 of 5

I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I would recommend this home to anyone with a large group. The location was amazing & we loved the beach. It was almost like having a private beach; we never had to fight for a spot. We could go there @ any time of the day & we had the pick of where we’d like to sit.

This house accommodates very large groups with ease, we never felt crowded & coming & going to & from the beach with small children was very easy. We had 6 children under the age of 7 so you can imagine all that we had to carry with us to & from the beach & how many trips we had to make. We appreciated the convenience of being able to store our beach items right off of the beach @ the owners’ home. With the ease of leaving our beach items @ the owners home & how close our house was to the beach it was no issue at all. It’s even a very easy walk for those who have difficulty walking.

The pool was amazing & I loved the section for small children. That was very beneficial to our group as we had 2 babies staying with us; even the adults took time out of the sun & sat in that section.

At times we had up to 23 people in the pool area & there was plenty of room for everyone, we did not feel overcrowded & there were plenty of areas to sit & eat.

The shower outside of the house made it very easy to clean the sand off of us, which is important b/c I hate dealing with sand all over in a home.

The owners are very quick to respond to any emails and/or requests. During our stay the dryer on the 1st floor broke & we had a new dryer within hours.

We’ve stayed in myrtle many times & in several different places from high rise condo’s to homes & we really appreciated the hospitality & the spaciousness of the home. We also appreciated the beachy feel, very nice & very relaxing.

The house is a beach house, it’s not super updated, but it is very clean which to me is more important that anything. It reminds me of the times I traveled to Myrtle when I was younger to visit my grandparents. It’s not super fancy; however the owners are very clear about that so there were no surprises when we got there. The location is UNBEATABLE for the price.

If we ever have a large group like that going on vacation together again I would certainly return & I would highly recommend your home to anyone I know traveling with a large group.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Physical and Medical Hazzards

  • 1 of 5

We were excited about our family vacation, with cousins who live so far apart. We found a 4 bedrooms/6 beds/ 4 baths, pool and hot tub, across from the beach. We searched Zillow to ensure the safety of our young children, the rental property had no zestimate but the owner’s home was 1.19 million along with several of the surrounding homes. It sounded great.

 The mattresses, comforters and drapes were stained and smelled like dust, mold and urine.

 The coffee maker was stained and who knows what was inside.

 The filth and grease on the grill was repulsive.

 We were not able to enjoy our time together when in the house, because of the gross and uncomfortable feeling.

 The listing described the beach as having “easy” access. A missing step, having to make a large jump to get to the beach -HAZARD.

 We had to buy candles to try and get rid of the smell in the house, blankets for the bed so we could sleep in some sort of peace, and a Grill so we could cook out.

 The green, filthy hot tub was actually cleaned by the other renters before we arrived.

 Deck over the front porch is dilapidated.

 Swing hanging on upper deck completely unsafe.

 2 separate concrete slabs with a 1 inch gap between them. Huge hazard.

 Electrical sockets: we were just waiting for a fire

 Two addition bathrooms are a complete safety hazard. Step down into the bathrooms is over 10 inches HUGE slipping problems.

 Mold on the bathroom ceiling is a medical hazard

 The windows do not open and in the case of a fire - HAZARD

 The furniture is not only uncomfortable but smells and appears unclean.

 Two of the closets have open HVAC parts, this is completely unsafe to have these as open areas of the house.

 What appeared to be handmade mattresses on the particleboard platforms and made for a very uncomfortable sleeping experience. We assumed these were supposed to be the beds advertised in the pictures.

 The clothes Dryer: As soon as the door was opened the lint fell out and was all over the clothing inside. Another fire hazard.

 There is a locked door in one of the bathrooms. Where does this lead. This was unnerving.

 Why is there a dirty vent in the hallway that has no purpose?

 Rugs in bathrooms contained old hairs from renters past. We ended up having to wear flip-flops to shower.

There is much more but not enough space here to write it all.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly this guest forfeited their damage deposit because there was copious amounts of vomit in the laundry room. There was food and trash all over the floors and dressers. They removed and threw in the bushes the nozzles for the hot tub and destroyed several other pieces of the hot tub. During their stay this group had nothing but good things to say about their accommodations. We have many repeat visitors and pride ourselves in our clean and comfortable beach house. A professional cleaning crew sanitizes the unit between guests. All bath mats and throw rugs are washed between guests. The owners live right across the street and we are able to ensure quick response to any concerns or questions. All rental properties have a locked door. This is where the cleaning supplies are kept. If they had asked we would have gladly shown them the mops, extra toilet paper, and supplies.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 3

Overall I'd recommend. Close to beach and quiet.

  • 4 of 5

Overall I'd recommend the property. Our vacation included my husband, myself, our 8 month old son and three of his four grandparents. The area was very quiet (which was great!). There is another condo upstairs but we were lucky enough to not have renters upstairs during our week which made it very nice to not have to share the pool or parking. There was an issue with the septic but the owners were very quick to get a plumber out and the issue fixed and cleaned up the same day. It was very nice that each of the four bedrooms had their own baths so no sharing was necessary. The location is great! Very quiet, short walk to the beach and it was great being so close to the state park and feeling like you were on your own private beach since there were very few people around. The house is also close enough to the main attractions in Myrtle Beach that you're not in the car very long when you go out for the day. The pool area was the best and fit our need perfectly since there is a "kiddie" area (about a foot deep) that our 8 month old loved to play in and had an umbrella to help block the sun but it also went chest deep so there was an area for the adults too. The owners were very nice and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed your visit and happy family.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great Place

  • 4 of 5

We had four adults and 7 children during our stay and everyone had there own space and no one had to wait on bathrooms. The house had everything we could ask for. Perfect location. There was grocery shopping just 2 min down the road and more stores and a Starbucks just 5 min down the road. Everything was close this house is very centrally located. The private beach on quite subdivision is perfect. Hoping in the future the weather is better if we get to come back. The owners are very friendly and helpful and provide lots of information.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Loved it!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Just wanted to say that we had a great time, it had been 14 years since we had a vacation and we wanted to have a good time and we did. The house was great, the only problem was in a bathroom and the owner fixed it right quik. the pool was great. the upstairs people were very nice and so were the owners. we would really like to return again sometime. { soon} Thank you to the owners very much.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


  • 4 of 5

This was a perfect place to stay for our group. The amount of beds/rooms worked out great. With 8 adults we were not crowded or ever waiting for a bathroom. The pool was very nice and clean. The owners were great and very helpful with everything! The beach is just a few steps away and it was awesome. Soft sand, no rocks and it felt like a private beach just for us! It was a great location only a few min drive to the Myrtle Beach attractions & any stores you need to go to. We plan on coming back!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Business Highway 17
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Beach
0.02 Miles
Atlantic Ocean
Car: recommended

Just a stone's throw to the Myrtle Beach State Park with the longest undeveloped beach front property on the Grand Strand. Go fishing on the pier or catch a free nature program about local wildlife.

Golf: The most golf courses per capita in the United States ! Golf at a different championship course every day !


Rates & Availability

Long Bay Estates Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter is great at the beach
Sep 10 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Nothin' Could be Finer
Apr 1 2017 - May 12 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Perfect Golf Weather
May 13 2017 - May 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Sun Fun
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Fun in June
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
June Vacation
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
August Begins
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
August Special
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Perfect Weather
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

** Winter monthly rentals available. Stay with us for a discount of up to 88%
** Adjoining beach house can be rented together for an exciting family reunion or church event that sleeps 26 people in real beds.
** During Peak Season, rental of both units is required. So invite your family and friends to join you !
our 5 bedroom unit ~ id# 206035
our 4 bedroom unit ~ id# 230767

Stay with us for u

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Long Bay Estates Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Poolside
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Enter a tropical paradise with the whole house recently remodeled. A lush grove of palm trees and tropical plants greets you as you arrive and surrounds the pool. Get away from it all in your private oasis. Monthly rentals are available November through February.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties