Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

First Floor Living by the Beach

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12, First Floor

Take it easy at Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Just across a quiet cul de sac from the beach with a broad wooden walkway to the sandy, white beach in a private, residential community which leaves the beach decidedly free of other tourists. Relax and spread out.

All of this just minutes from the restaurants, golf courses, amusement parks, and attractions which make Myrtle Beach famous.

Your 4 bedroom beach home is all on the first floor with only one step from the outside into your vacation paradise. Perfect for the mobility limited.

We actually have the best of both worlds. We are second row, but next door to the Myrtle Beach State Park with the largest piece of undeveloped beach land on the Grand Strand. So you get the second row prices with the beachfront view. The boardwalk to the beach is only @ 50 feet from your beach house across a quiet cul de sac.

Exterior Features:: Private Professionally Maintained Swimming Pool & Wading Pool, Oceanview Sundeck 2nd Level, Private Walkway to Beach, Exterior Shower, Professionally Landscaped Grounds, Gas Grill....

How can we make your vacation the best ever!: You may bring your own linens, or we can provide you with linen service. Cleaning Service is included in our rental rates. No pets allowed. The sand fleas love them too much. There is no worry about who to call if there's a problem, since the owners live in the neighborhood. Email for any special requests. Email soon, we book quickly.

More Details

Owner
Kyle
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Kyle

We've been married over 50 years and still enjoy our lives together. Kyle is our daughter who manages our beach house. We welcome you to our beach house by the ocean.

Kyle purchased this cottage in 1972

Why Kyle chose Myrtle Beach

Long Bay Estates is a wonderful community. We have lived here since the 1970's. We love the privacy of the beach.

What makes this cottage unique

Close to Myrtle Beach attractions, yet our beach is wide and uncrowded. Relax in our corner of paradise.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just a note to let you know what a great time we had at your beach house over Memorial Day week. It was the first time in 12 years that we have been able to get together for a vacation. The house was perfect and we felt so comfortable there. Everything we needed was there and was so convenient. All of you made us feel so welcome and comfortable. It was wonderful. The memories of our time there will last for many years. Thank you all so much for your kindness and hospitality !
May 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Long Bay Estates Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , Poolside
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , attached bathroom, plush mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , attached bathroom, plush mattress
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , attached bathroom, plush mattresses
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double , attached bathroom, plush mattresses
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Enter a tropical paradise with the whole house recently remodeled. A lush grove of palm trees and tropical plants greets you as you arrive and surrounds the pool. Get away from it all in your private oasis. Monthly rentals are available November through February.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

First Floor Living by the Beach
average rating of 3.9444444 based on 19 reviews
4

Spacious, perfect for 8-10 people. Older home but size and location great.

  • 4 of 5

Across Street from ocean, great location. Lots of parking and owners were cool with us hosting a party. First floor easy access, lots of space inside and outside to hang out.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

A lot of space..owner very helpful and responsive. We had a wonderful time. Kids love the pool..

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Some good things but some bad

  • 3 of 5

The property is located in a good area. The house is in a nice neighborhood just across from the beach. The beach is marginal, but I am partial to the beaches on the west coast of Florida. There is some damage to the beach from Hurricane Matthew which is currently being repaired. The house is set up well. Large living space in the middle with four bedrooms at each corner of the house. The drawback with this house is a second level to the house that will be occupied by other renters. So there could be other people sharing the pool. Not thrilled about that, pending who is renting the second level. You have your own front porch with a swing. It was fine. The main issue with this rental unit is the overall condition. All beds had no box spring. There was a piece of pile wood directly under the mattress that sat on top of a wooden box frame. The beds were ok but not the best. The shower was able to produce warm, not hot water. It was acceptable but not optimal. The outside and inside area of this unit was warn. The front porch needs a need coat of paint, the pool area is small, and the pool is not heated. Not good from September through May. I would not rent again. However, in full disclosure, other family members thought the unit was just fine. I admit, I have very high standards.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. We did sustain damage during Hurricane Matthew. All the decks are scheduled for maintenance and complete repainting this winter 2017. The state is replenishing the beaches this winter. The owners live across the street and there are two phone numbers in the welcome book to call about any concerns. I wish you had called about the hot water. We could have fixed it that day. The previous guests said everything was fine. We'd like to claim "truth in advertising" for some of the other comments. The unit exactly matches the pictures on the website. We clearly state that there are two units (upstairs and downstairs) and we never state that the pool is heated. The hot tub is heated year round. We'd have to raise our winter rates significantly to buy a pool heater and electricity to keep it heated all winter.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Close walk to the beach, relaxing, clean.

  • 5 of 5

I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I would recommend this home to anyone with a large group. The location was amazing & we loved the beach. It was almost like having a private beach; we never had to fight for a spot. We could go there @ any time of the day & we had the pick of where we’d like to sit.

This house accommodates very large groups with ease, we never felt crowded & coming & going to & from the beach with small children was very easy. We had 6 children under the age of 7 so you can imagine all that we had to carry with us to & from the beach & how many trips we had to make. We appreciated the convenience of being able to store our beach items right off of the beach @ the owners’ home. With the ease of leaving our beach items @ the owners home & how close our house was to the beach it was no issue at all. It’s even a very easy walk for those who have difficulty walking.

The pool was amazing & I loved the section for small children. That was very beneficial to our group as we had 2 babies staying with us; even the adults took time out of the sun & sat in that section.

At times we had up to 23 people in the pool area & there was plenty of room for everyone, we did not feel overcrowded & there were plenty of areas to sit & eat.

The shower outside of the house made it very easy to clean the sand off of us, which is important b/c I hate dealing with sand all over in a home.

The owners are very quick to respond to any emails and/or requests. During our stay the dryer on the 1st floor broke & we had a new dryer within hours.

We’ve stayed in myrtle many times & in several different places from high rise condo’s to homes & we really appreciated the hospitality & the spaciousness of the home. We also appreciated the beachy feel, very nice & very relaxing.

The house is a beach house, it’s not super updated, but it is very clean which to me is more important that anything. It reminds me of the times I traveled to Myrtle when I was younger to visit my grandparents. It’s not super fancy; however the owners are very clear about that so there were no surprises when we got there. The location is UNBEATABLE for the price.

If we ever have a large group like that going on vacation together again I would certainly return & I would highly recommend your home to anyone I know traveling with a large group.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
1

Physical and Medical Hazzards

  • 1 of 5

We were excited about our family vacation, with cousins who live so far apart. We found a 4 bedrooms/6 beds/ 4 baths, pool and hot tub, across from the beach. We searched Zillow to ensure the safety of our young children, the rental property had no zestimate but the owner’s home was 1.19 million along with several of the surrounding homes. It sounded great.

 The mattresses, comforters and drapes were stained and smelled like dust, mold and urine.

 The coffee maker was stained and who knows what was inside.

 The filth and grease on the grill was repulsive.

 We were not able to enjoy our time together when in the house, because of the gross and uncomfortable feeling.

 The listing described the beach as having “easy” access. A missing step, having to make a large jump to get to the beach -HAZARD.

 We had to buy candles to try and get rid of the smell in the house, blankets for the bed so we could sleep in some sort of peace, and a Grill so we could cook out.

 The green, filthy hot tub was actually cleaned by the other renters before we arrived.

 Deck over the front porch is dilapidated.

 Swing hanging on upper deck completely unsafe.

 2 separate concrete slabs with a 1 inch gap between them. Huge hazard.

 Electrical sockets: we were just waiting for a fire

 Two addition bathrooms are a complete safety hazard. Step down into the bathrooms is over 10 inches HUGE slipping problems.

 Mold on the bathroom ceiling is a medical hazard

 The windows do not open and in the case of a fire - HAZARD

 The furniture is not only uncomfortable but smells and appears unclean.

 Two of the closets have open HVAC parts, this is completely unsafe to have these as open areas of the house.

 What appeared to be handmade mattresses on the particleboard platforms and made for a very uncomfortable sleeping experience. We assumed these were supposed to be the beds advertised in the pictures.

 The clothes Dryer: As soon as the door was opened the lint fell out and was all over the clothing inside. Another fire hazard.

 There is a locked door in one of the bathrooms. Where does this lead. This was unnerving.

 Why is there a dirty vent in the hallway that has no purpose?

 Rugs in bathrooms contained old hairs from renters past. We ended up having to wear flip-flops to shower.

There is much more but not enough space here to write it all.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly this guest forfeited their damage deposit because there was copious amounts of vomit in the laundry room. There was food and trash all over the floors and dressers. They removed and threw in the bushes the nozzles for the hot tub and destroyed several other pieces of the hot tub. During their stay this group had nothing but good things to say about their accommodations. We have many repeat visitors and pride ourselves in our clean and comfortable beach house. A professional cleaning crew sanitizes the unit between guests. All bath mats and throw rugs are washed between guests. The owners live right across the street and we are able to ensure quick response to any concerns or questions. All rental properties have a locked door. This is where the cleaning supplies are kept. If they had asked we would have gladly shown them the mops, extra toilet paper, and supplies.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 3
4

Overall I'd recommend. Close to beach and quiet.

  • 4 of 5

Overall I'd recommend the property. Our vacation included my husband, myself, our 8 month old son and three of his four grandparents. The area was very quiet (which was great!). There is another condo upstairs but we were lucky enough to not have renters upstairs during our week which made it very nice to not have to share the pool or parking. There was an issue with the septic but the owners were very quick to get a plumber out and the issue fixed and cleaned up the same day. It was very nice that each of the four bedrooms had their own baths so no sharing was necessary. The location is great! Very quiet, short walk to the beach and it was great being so close to the state park and feeling like you were on your own private beach since there were very few people around. The house is also close enough to the main attractions in Myrtle Beach that you're not in the car very long when you go out for the day. The pool area was the best and fit our need perfectly since there is a "kiddie" area (about a foot deep) that our 8 month old loved to play in and had an umbrella to help block the sun but it also went chest deep so there was an area for the adults too. The owners were very nice and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed your visit and happy family.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Business Highway 17
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Beach
0.02 Miles
Atlantic Ocean
Car: recommended

Just a stone's throw to the Myrtle Beach State Park with the longest undeveloped beach front property on the Grand Strand. Go fishing on the pier or catch a free nature program about local wildlife.

Golf: The most golf courses per capita in the United States ! Golf at a different championship course every day !

Photos

Rates & Availability

Long Bay Estates Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Sun Fun
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
Fun in June
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
June Vacation
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,650
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,990
 
 
August Begins
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
August Special
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,290
 
 
Perfect Weather
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 22 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,690
 
 
Nothin' Could be Finer
Sep 23 2017 - Oct 13 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$870
 
 
Winter is great at the beach
Oct 14 2017 - Feb 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
$190
$870
$1,500
 
 
March Into Spring
Mar 1 2018 - Mar 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
$190
$870
 
 
Spring Specials
Mar 24 2018 - May 11 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,150
 
 
May is Beautiful
May 12 2018 - May 25 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2018 - Jun 1 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,200
 
 
Start of Summer
Jun 2 2018 - Jun 8 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Fun in June
Jun 9 2018 - Jun 15 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,650
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 16 2018 - Aug 3 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,990
 
 
August Special
Aug 4 2018 - Aug 17 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,400
 
 
Back to School
Aug 18 2018 - Sep 21 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,690
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$870
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

** Winter monthly rentals available. Stay with us for a discount of up to 88%
** Adjoining beach house can be rented together for an exciting family reunion or church event that sleeps 26 people in real beds.
** During Peak Season, rental of both units is required. So invite your family and friends to join you !
our 5 bedroom unit ~ id# 206035
our 4 bedroom unit ~ id# 230767

Stay with us for u

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties