check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Woodland Park-Bring the Whole Family & Enjoy this Large 5 BR Home

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 10, Lots of room for everyone!

Coming to Colorado? Coming for the Air Force Academy Graduation? Want to be close to Colorado Springs so you can do all the tourist activities, but stay in the Colorado Mountains? This home is within 1/2 hour of the Academy in Colorado Springs, and located in Woodland Park - a wonderful mountain home. Located just on the outskirts of town. It makes for a perfect family get to together Very large home - 5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, views of Pikes Peak and lots of resident wildlife... the deer have taken over the backyard! This home, although older (built in the 70s) was a custom built home, and has always been a 2nd home for the owners, and frankly even though it was built in the 70s is just like new, and has had very little use. We like to offer this home for larger family get togethers, as it is so spacious and has been designed for entertaining the whole family.

Property Manager
Mike and Maggie Dunton
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 30, 2016


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Woodland Park-Bring the Whole Family & Enjoy this Large 5 BR Home
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews

Thanks for the memories!!!

  • 4 of 5

Thanks for sharing your home...we truly enjoyed the stay. We were there for my son's wedding at the local golf club so the location was ideal. Home was perfect for our family...bottom rooms had a separate dining area and living area making ideal for grand daughter and her little ones to stay in and room for them to play with there toys the limited time we spend there. Upper portion was ideal...nice size bedrooms and bathrooms as well. Plenty of room for all to eat together as well as kitchen very roomy when preparing meals. View from both decks amazing! Will definitely go back when in area. Highly recommend for anyone seeking a family setting vacation...great location....awesome view of Pikes Peak on one side and wildlife around home on back deck. Only concern was stairs----the entry portion before going up or down stairs bar gaps little wide where lil one could slip thru and fall but that was it.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

This house has a retro feel, which is pretty neat and there was more than enough room for the 8 people we had staying there. We were pretty close to everything we wanted to see and do (within 15-20 minute drive) and the weather is really nice up in the mountains. We saw several deer but no bears to the disappointment of my children, lol. I was fine with no bears! The house itself had everything we needed and it was nice to be able to cook meals at the house instead of eating out every day. There is no wifi, but I really don't have much problem with that because it's vacation and it kept my kids off of their phones for the most part. My husband did need wifi one day to do something for work on his laptop, but we went to the McDonald's a few minutes down the road and used theirs. There is a great Dinosaur Resource Center in Woodland Park and I definitely recommend Fiesta Mexicana & Fusion Japan for eating out. There are tons of things to do in Manitou Springs also which is only a 20 minute drive. Overall it was a great trip and the house worked out great for us. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and future travelers! The retro atmosphere of this home lends a fun twist to any vacation! Yes, this home is not equipped with WIFI - (there was no wifi in 1970, afterall!) McDonalds is very close though, as is Starbucks. Cell phones do work at the property, so smart phones should be able to access the web. Fiesta Mexicana is also one of may favorite local restaurants! We hope to have you back in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property in the Colorado mountains

  • 5 of 5

Had a great experience. The only complaint I had was that I received the wrong lock combination to get into the house, but after that was resolved had a great time. The property was well maintained and in a great location. Very spacious. Had a lot of fun playing horseshoes and watching the deer in the back of the house. Perfect for large groups.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you had a good stay at this home! I do sincerely want to apologize again for the mix up with the lock box. The code was set to be changed right before you arrived, but an error was made on our part and it did not get changed. Thank you for graciousness in the matter! I was glad we were able to figure out the problem and get you all into the house so quickly. We hope to host you again one day!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Old & Smelly

  • 1 of 5

Not only was I surprised to see the bright orange carpet, but the house smelled - probably from old carpet, drapes etc. and the beds were hard and uncomfortable. It is a large home, so we had space. The constant noise from the fan to dry out a wert carpet was heard throughout the house. The house is dark due to dark panelling. We were at a conference so we spent a lot of time gone, so it was adequate.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We discovered some water leaking into one bedroom from the bordering bathroom shower right before these guests arrived. Unfortunately, the carpet was wet when they arrived. Please note that the issue has been completely resolved, all of the carpeting has been professional cleaned, and there is no residual effect. This is a very unique house because it was used as a family vacation home back in the 70's with very little use. The decorations and furnishings are all 1970's era but in great shape because the property was never used as a full time home. The rental listing purposely advertises the property as a "retro" house and most people love it! The photos on the listing do a fantastic job of representing the property- paneling, orange carpet, and all! This classic home offers an awesome venue for large groups!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Woodland Park - A must for your consideration

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to stay in the Colorado Springs area. We traveled for 2015 USAFA Graduation - invited 7 other families to a post graduation party and the home accomodated the crowd with generous space inside and out. The kitchen was perfect for many cooks getting the food prepared and the counter made buffet service easy and accessible for everyone. The home has a 70's retro appeal. At first it might take you back to the Brady Bunch, but don't let that fool you - it is a great house to live in. LOTS OF ROOM - well planned for large group gatherings, fabulous buttler's pantry to store items. Our guests loved it, our kids loved it, and we loved it. Fun things to do in the area as well. We traveled to Rampart Range Reservoir for fishing, hiking and picnicing, went ziplining at Out West Adventures in Manitou Springs, sampled the Bier Werks Brewery and the Front Range BBQ as well as golfing at the Academy. I recommend this house because it is in a beautiful area (out the front window is Pikes Peak) and yet it is still only a 35 minute drive to attactions in Colorado Springs.

We loved it.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay in Woodland Park and were able to fully appreciate this retro house! We host many USAF families and appreciate your recommendations!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Disappointed with management

  • 2 of 5

Unfortunately on the day we arrived, one of the members of the management team was still there cleaning the property due to a "misunderstanding". Check in time isn't until 4:00pm, and the home was still being cleaned until nearly 6:00pm, seriously throwing a wrench into our plans to get into the kitchen to prep dinner, hang out, etc. The basement toilet clogged after it's first use, and despite the effort of two capable men, we could not unclog it. We decided to not call management back in to fix it, as the cleaning had already restricted our time. I emailed the owners after our stay regarding the issues, and they didn't bother to even respond, not even with an acknowledgement and certainly not with an apology. We were respectful of the rules and left the property very clean, and left before the check-out time. I feel like if we would have stayed two hours late or the place very dirty, we would have immediately heard about it or at least have been charged extra. Very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry to hear about your experience. Yes our cleaning staff did get their schedule mixed up and thus got off to a late start on the cleaning and thus did not get it done by check in time. We did consider sending over help, but unfortunately all staff were tied up at other cabins. We made the only decision we could and that was to let her continue cleaning, hoping just maybe the guests would not arrive right at check in time. So we do so apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Thanks for the information regarding the toilet and we will be sure to check on that. Please do remind of us this situation the next time you make a reservation and we will do something to offset for the inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary

Woodland Park - the city above the clouds. Elevation 8400 ft. A 15 minute escape from Colorado Springs - a mountain experience. Colorado Springs has so many attractions, Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds, train ride or drive up to PIkes Peak, Air Force Academy, Seven falls etc etc. Staying in Woodland Park just adds to that experience of staying in the mountains, and visiting our National Forests. Do some hiking, 4 Wheeling or head up to Cripple Creek/Victor - our gaming town as well as one of the largest operating Gold MInes. The mountain views are incredible. All within 30 minutes of Woodland Park.


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $125 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 3.9%

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Woodland Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3528 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Town
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Full bathrooms.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • The house has 5 Full bedrooms . Can sleep 10 . A queen bed in each bedroom.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
This is a great big house in a 1970s theme. Great for a family get together or Youth group trip. 32 inch flat screen TV with local channels. New addition - wonderful large deck - new trex material. And Horseshoe Pit.

Partner Offers