check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Read Our Stellar Guest Reviews and Then Email Me for a Quote or Book Now

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

Description

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

We love it here at our condo at Kona Isle and think you will too. We are an oceanfront complex on Alii Dr. and have great views of the ocean, pool, palm trees and flowers from our unit. We are located in Building B, away from the street and on the quieter side of our small complex. In 2010 we remodeled the kitchen and opened it up to the living room. We replaced the countertops, added a ceiling fan and new cabinet hardware. Now there is a breakfast bar to eat at and the Kona breeze can circulate so much better now. We also painted the living room, kitchen and hallway. We replaced the plastic white chairs on the lanai with teak ones. In 2011 we replaced the bathroom vanity top and faucet and added a new storage cabinet for toiletries. We also painted the bathroom and bedroom. In 2012 we painted the interior trim and doors, front door and lanai. We also bought a new large flat screen tv and a new a/c unit in November of 2014. All the flooring is either tile or Pergo wood--no spotted or dirty carpets! 2015 updates include a new futon cover and accent pillows and a new dishwasher.

We have lots of open green space and beautiful landscaping here at Kona Isle. Everything is situated on or near the beach. There are grills and picnic tables for enjoying meals and we provide picnic baskets and trays to take your food down. You can snooze or read in the shade under the palm trees or lounge in the chairs and get a tan in the Kona sun. Watch for the famous green flash that comes at the end of our beautiful sunsets. Our newly re-tiled pool is solar heated and the pool shower has been updated with new tile, too. Next door is a saltwater pool that is fun when the surf is high. Our lanai is a great place to read, play cards or just catch the ocean breeze. We spot whales and spinner dolphins from our lanai in the winter months.

You can walk to craft and farmer's markets from our condo or ride the Hele-On bus or Keauhou Shuttle into Kona town or Keauhou for more shopping. There is a convenience/liquor store just a quick walk north on Alii and a massage school in the same building. Student massages run around $55 . What a bargain! Snorkeling and deep sea fishing are spectacular here. Use our beach equipment, boogie board, towels and coolers for fun in the sun up and down the coast. And, of course, the volcano is a must see!

Hawaii is a fun, spiritual, beautiful island and our condo is located conveniently for you to see it all. When you make a reservation we can help you find the best deals on rental cars, the freshest produce, the most flavorful Kona coffee and beaches where you can spot turtles and not many tourists. Rest assured that you will have a clean, fun place here to call home while you explore the island. We replace the linens, towels and pillows frequently for your comfort and our housekeeper lives nearby if anything needs attention.

Thanks for viewing. We'll provide our annually updated guide to our favorite beaches, restaurants and fun spots to visit with every reservation. Give us a call or email us for more information.

If you find you need a larger condo please check out our other listing on VRBO#850396 Alii Villas 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. This is just up the street and is direct oceanfront.

Mahalo. Janet and Fred

Keywords: condo, Kona, Hawaii, ocean, view, beach, sunsets, special, rates, clean, oceanview, beach, Kailua-Kona, condominium, remodeled, island, tropical, specials, kamaaina, new, sand, sun, surf, volcano, pool, ironman, iron man, coffee

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Janet
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 2, 2016
Call Owner

About Janet

Aloha. We have been coming to Hawaii for over 20 years and the moment we landed in Kona I felt like I was 'Home'. The island has that effect on people. Fred and I have been in the building/remodeling business and most recently worked as home inspectors for 12 years. We stay in our unit every year so we keep it in shape, updated and fresh.

Janet purchased this condo in 2000

Why Janet chose Kona Coast

We stayed at many different condominium complexes while vacationing in Hawaii, but none of them are as welcoming, green and relaxing as Kona Isle. One of the nicest things about being here is that it is a small condo complex so there are always chairs available at the pool and beach. The condos and pool are arranged to view the ocean, not a parking lot or the street as some other complexes are. Our on-site condo manager, Brian, is very helpful and friendly and takes pride in making sure Kona Isle is a great place to stay. So, in 2000 we bought our unit and have been sharing it with family and friends ever since. Hawaii has so many unique features and places to enjoy that you will want to return again and again as we do.

What makes this condo unique

As owners and guests ourselves, we try to anticipate your needs, so we have spices in the cabinet for you, extra light bulbs, shampoos and soaps, kleenex, plenty of cooking utensils, etc. We simply ask you restock things if you use them up, and if you find anything is not up to your standards we ask you to call or email us and we will take care of it. We ask you to care for our condo in the spirit of Aloha and enjoy your stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to say we had a great time in Kona last week. Thanks for renting your condo to us. It was especially nice to have beach supplies to use. We really appreciated those. My daughter loved the pool and is a big fan of the ocean! (her first time in the ocean). Mahalo, Jennie.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

Read Our Stellar Guest Reviews and Then Email Me for a Quote or Book Now
average rating of 4.804348 based on 47 reviews
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place so much I hated to leave! Exactly as advertised and everything was spotless. Loved the pool and the views. It was also the perfect launching pad for all of our adventures on the Big Island during the Coffee Festival. Janet gave explicit and extensive information so there were no problems at all from start to finish! Thanks to Janet's recommendation, one night when parking was tight by some restaurants, we ended up at a bowling alley for a delicious dinner (who would have thought??)! Almost forgot, the damage deposit was returned within a day or two. I recommend Janet's condo wholeheartedly!!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy you had such a great time and found the condo as expected and my guides helpful. And, yes, I was surprised at how good the bowling alley food is, so I had to put it in my restaurant guide! I think guests should expect a clean and comfortable place to vacation so I am glad you found our condo to be just that. Mahalo and Aloha, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Condo

  • 4 of 5

The condo is in a great location in the Kona side of the island.

One of the things we liked a lot was the common area down by the water. This was a really pleasant place to sit and listen to the waves. It also had four well kept gas grills with grilling tools to use and to clean the grills with.

The condo was extremely well stocked with kitchen items, towels, beach chairs and a Styrofoam cooler. Washer and dryer were great!

The only negative was the bed was not that comfortable. It was quite firm. I think a pillow top mattress top would be a nice addition to make the bed a little more comfortable.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, John, for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your comments about the bed. We happen to like hard beds, so always found it comfortable. We will look into a pillow top when we do our annual updates and purchases in January. Glad you enjoyed all the amenities we leave in the condo and I think having a washer and dryer is a real plus, too. Come back and visit again. Mahalo, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and comfortable home!

  • 5 of 5

This little 1-bedroom apartment is the perfect getaway accommodation for Kailua-Kona. Just a 25-minute walk into town, it's close enough to be part of the action yet far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle. Well-equipped kitchen and comfortable bedroom, we didn't need to bring any household items of our own. Would definitely recommend this little gem to friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are glad you didn't have to bring any items with you. We try to keep the condo stocked with necessities. The location is perfect, as you say, quiet and restful yet close enough to Kona town to enjoy the sites and activities if you choose not to rent a car. Come back again. Mahalo and Aloha. Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Duvall, WA
4

Work and Family

  • 4 of 5

The purpose of my trip was to work and visit family, along with being close to the ocean. This place had everything you'd need to feel at home. Everything from booking online, to finding the property, to entering and exiting the unit was a breeze. After work I wanted to relax and did just that by being next to the ocean - all the sounds was from nature and very little from people. You can't really hear the cars from the street. I gave this a 4 star only because I felt the floors wasn't sweep before my arrival - but really no big deal - there was a broom and mop and it took only 5 minutes - I'm a picky person who wants my floors clean. Also two burners on the stove didn't seem to work - but again - no big deal - I had two other burners that worked just fine. I would highly recommend this place as I feel the owners went above and beyond to make it as homey as possible and I felt that way cause there was everything you would have needed as if its your own place. I wanted to stay longer even after staying there for five nights already. The return deposit was quick. Mahalo Nancy!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Vera. Thank you for the review. I am sorry the floors were not swept adequately and that 2 burners on stove didn't work. I will talk with the housekeeper and our repairman about both of these issues. Thank you for letting me know. I am glad the positives outweighed the negatives and that you found the condo well equipped with everything you needed and that you felt the process of renting the condo went smoothly. It is such a lovely place to call home while you are visiting Kona. All the best, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

salt water pool is awesome!

  • 5 of 5

This place really grew on us and the owner is really nice. The salt water pool out front was fantastic! It is a nice quiet place, no kids in sight! :)

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a good time, Nick. The saltwater pool is so fun when the waves are up and the complex is quiet. Thanks for saying I am nice! Mahalo and Aloha, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southsea, UK
5

A comfortable well equipped apartment with ocean views

  • 5 of 5

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Kona Isle apartment. The complex is very quiet, nicely landscaped and peaceful, with a warm swimming pool which we used every evening to the sound of the waves breaking on the sea wall.. There is a very pleasant area right by the sea with loungers and a barbecue area amidst tall palm trees - great for sea views and sunsets.

The apartment is very well equipped and comfortable. Janet has thought of everything! A top floor balcony ensures good sea views and the living area is quite spacious. There is a designated parking spot, convenient garbage facilities and even a library on the complex. Not too far from Kona town either and there is a shuttle bus stop outside if you don't want to drive.

The booking process was easy and swift and Janet provided extensive information for visitors.

Thank you Janet for a lovely stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review. I am glad you found the booking process easy and efficient and my fun guides helpful in planning your trip and excursions. I do try to think of everything that a guest might need and want so your vacation is worry free and tons of fun! I know you came a long way to visit our wonderful island so thank you again for staying with us. We try to treat others as we would like to be treated. Aloha til next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Don's Mai Tai
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Too many to list
Nearest Beach
On-site
Car: recommended

Volcano watching, Scuba diving, Manta ray viewing, Whale watching, Snuba, Coffee farm tours and tastings, On-site book lending library, Saltwater pool next door that is fun if the waves are high, ziplines, royal palace tours, historical museums, pickleball and tennis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter 2016/2017
Nov 16 2016 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$120
$810
$3,120
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Ironman Event
Oct 4 2017 - Oct 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$130
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2017/2018
Nov 15 2017 - Apr 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$120
$810
$3,120
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$105
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

Hawaii tax id is TA-151-640-0640-01 and GE-151-640-0640-01.
Third guest incurs an additional charge of $10 per day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 566 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1) Very comfortable with new comforter, shams and sheets., Futons (1) Very comfortable futon sleeps 1-2. Guests have commented on how great they sleep on it.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach chairs, sunshade umbrellas that attach to beach chairs, coolers, tatami mats, beach/pool towels, snorkel equipment, adult boogie board, guide books, cookbooks. We leave extra shampoo, soaps, spices, a hairdryer and sunscreen for guest use. Just look in the cabinets if you need something!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties