check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Janet

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Stellar Reviews and Upgrade to 2 Bedroom #850396. Inquire for full details.

43 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

We love it here at our condo at Kona Isle and think you will too. We are an oceanfront complex on Alii Dr. and have great views of the ocean, pool, palm trees and flowers from our unit. We are located in Building B, away from the street and on the quieter side of our small complex. In 2010 we remodeled the kitchen and opened it up to the living room. We replaced the countertops, added a ceiling fan and new cabinet hardware. Now there is a breakfast bar to eat at and the Kona breeze can circulate so much better now. We also painted the living room, kitchen and hallway. We replaced the plastic white chairs on the lanai with teak ones. In 2011 we replaced the bathroom vanity top and faucet and added a new storage cabinet for toiletries. We also painted the bathroom and bedroom. In 2012 we painted the interior trim and doors, front door and lanai. We also bought a new large flat screen tv and a new a/c unit in November of 2014. All the flooring is either tile or Pergo wood--no spotted or dirty carpets! 2015 updates include a new futon cover and accent pillows and a new dishwasher.

We have lots of open green space and beautiful landscaping here at Kona Isle. Everything is situated on or near the beach. There are grills and picnic tables for enjoying meals and we provide picnic baskets and trays to take your food down. You can snooze or read in the shade under the palm trees or lounge in the chairs and get a tan in the Kona sun. Watch for the famous green flash that comes at the end of our beautiful sunsets. Our newly re-tiled pool is solar heated and the pool shower has been updated with new tile, too. Next door is a saltwater pool that is fun when the surf is high. Our lanai is a great place to read, play cards or just catch the ocean breeze. We spot whales and spinner dolphins from our lanai in the winter months.

You can walk to craft and farmer's markets from our condo or ride the Hele-On bus or Keauhou Shuttle into Kona town or Keauhou for more shopping. There is a convenience/liquor store just a quick walk north on Alii and a massage school in the same building. Student massages run around $55 . What a bargain! Snorkeling and deep sea fishing are spectacular here. Use our beach equipment, boogie board, towels and coolers for fun in the sun up and down the coast. And, of course, the volcano is a must see!

Hawaii is a fun, spiritual, beautiful island and our condo is located conveniently for you to see it all. When you make a reservation we can help you find the best deals on rental cars, the freshest produce, the most flavorful Kona coffee and beaches where you can spot turtles and not many tourists. Rest assured that you will have a clean, fun place here to call home while you explore the island. We replace the linens, towels and pillows frequently for your comfort and our housekeeper lives nearby if anything needs attention.

Thanks for viewing. We'll provide our annually updated guide to our favorite beaches, restaurants and fun spots to visit with every reservation. Give us a call or email us for more information.

If you find you need a larger condo please check out our other listing on VRBO#850396 Alii Villas 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. For bookings until Dec. 1 we will honor this price of $105 per night at that condo, too.

Mahalo. Janet and Fred

Keywords: condo, Kona, Hawaii, ocean, view, beach, sunsets, special, rates, clean, oceanview, beach, Kailua-Kona, condominium, remodeled, island, tropical, specials, kamaaina, new, sand, sun, surf, volcano, pool, ironman, iron man, coffee

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Janet (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

About Janet

Aloha. We have been coming to Hawaii for over 20 years and the moment we landed in Kona I felt like I was 'Home'. The island has that effect on people. Fred and I have been in the building/remodeling business and most recently worked as home inspectors for 12 years. We stay in our unit every year so we keep it in shape, updated and fresh.

Janet purchased this condo in 2000

Why Janet chose Kona Coast

We stayed at many different condominium complexes while vacationing in Hawaii, but none of them are as welcoming, green and relaxing as Kona Isle. One of the nicest things about being here is that it is a small condo complex so there are always chairs available at the pool and beach. The condos and pool are arranged to view the ocean, not a parking lot or the street as some other complexes are. Our on-site condo manager, Brian, is very helpful and friendly and takes pride in making sure Kona Isle is a great place to stay. So, in 2000 we bought our unit and have been sharing it with family and friends ever since. Hawaii has so many unique features and places to enjoy that you will want to return again and again as we do.

What makes this condo unique

As owners and guests ourselves, we try to anticipate your needs, so we have spices in the cabinet for you, extra light bulbs, shampoos and soaps, kleenex, plenty of cooking utensils, etc. We simply ask you restock things if you use them up, and if you find anything is not up to your standards we ask you to call or email us and we will take care of it. We ask you to care for our condo in the spirit of Aloha and enjoy your stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to say we had a great time in Kona last week. Thanks for renting your condo to us. It was especially nice to have beach supplies to use. We really appreciated those. My daughter loved the pool and is a big fan of the ocean! (her first time in the ocean). Mahalo, Jennie.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.8
based on 43 traveler reviews

Stellar Reviews and Upgrade to 2 Bedroom #850396. Inquire for full details.
average rating of 4.8139534 based on 44 reviews
Washington State
4

Work and Family

  • 4 of 5

The purpose of my trip was to work and visit family, along with being close to the ocean. This place had everything you'd need to feel at home. Everything from booking online, to finding the property, to entering and exiting the unit was a breeze. After work I wanted to relax and did just that by being next to the ocean - all the sounds was from nature and very little from people. You can't really hear the cars from the street. I gave this a 4 star only because I felt the floors wasn't sweep before my arrival - but really no big deal - there was a broom and mop and it took only 5 minutes - I'm a picky person who wants my floors clean. Also two burners on the stove didn't seem to work - but again - no big deal - I had two other burners that worked just fine. I would highly recommend this place as I feel the owners went above and beyond to make it as homey as possible and I felt that way cause there was everything you would have needed as if its your own place. I wanted to stay longer even after staying there for five nights already. The return deposit was quick. Mahalo Nancy!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Vera. Thank you for the review. I am sorry the floors were not swept adequately and that 2 burners on stove didn't work. I will talk with the housekeeper and our repairman about both of these issues. Thank you for letting me know. I am glad the positives outweighed the negatives and that you found the condo well equipped with everything you needed and that you felt the process of renting the condo went smoothly. It is such a lovely place to call home while you are visiting Kona. All the best, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

salt water pool is awesome!

  • 5 of 5

This place really grew on us and the owner is really nice. The salt water pool out front was fantastic! It is a nice quiet place, no kids in sight! :)

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a good time, Nick. The saltwater pool is so fun when the waves are up and the complex is quiet. Thanks for saying I am nice! Mahalo and Aloha, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southsea, UK
5

A comfortable well equipped apartment with ocean views

  • 5 of 5

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Kona Isle apartment. The complex is very quiet, nicely landscaped and peaceful, with a warm swimming pool which we used every evening to the sound of the waves breaking on the sea wall.. There is a very pleasant area right by the sea with loungers and a barbecue area amidst tall palm trees - great for sea views and sunsets.

The apartment is very well equipped and comfortable. Janet has thought of everything! A top floor balcony ensures good sea views and the living area is quite spacious. There is a designated parking spot, convenient garbage facilities and even a library on the complex. Not too far from Kona town either and there is a shuttle bus stop outside if you don't want to drive.

The booking process was easy and swift and Janet provided extensive information for visitors.

Thank you Janet for a lovely stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review. I am glad you found the booking process easy and efficient and my fun guides helpful in planning your trip and excursions. I do try to think of everything that a guest might need and want so your vacation is worry free and tons of fun! I know you came a long way to visit our wonderful island so thank you again for staying with us. We try to treat others as we would like to be treated. Aloha til next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying at this condo. It was clean and comfortable, and the location was convenient. We enjoyed the view of the ocean while we ate our meals on the lanai, and enjoyed watching the sunsets over the ocean from the picnic area.

I especially appreciated that the condo was well-stocked. With many vacation rentals, you have to buy lots of basic supplies yourself, like paper towels, napkins, dish soap, laundry detergent, salt, etc., but this condo was stocked with all of the basic necessities. So we just needed to buy food. The kitchen also had all of the cooking utensils and supplies we needed, so it was easy to cook ourselves.

Finally, the owner was very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. I especially recommend it for people who like to do their own cooking while on vacation.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We do try to have the unit stocked with essentials and that all you have to buy is food. Since Fred and I both love to cook we feel having a well stocked kitchen is important, and because sometimes cooking in or grilling is a real money saver. Come back again. Hawaii is calling. Mahalo and Aloha, Janet and Fred.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Paradise!

  • 4 of 5

I have stayed at this complex on 4 occasions. I love the setting of this small and quiet complex next to the sea. Its location just south of downtown Kailua-Kona is also perfect as we love going snorkeling from the little public beaches that direction. The unit we stayed in this time is the nicest unit I have rented in this complex. It was tastefully decorated, well-maintained and had all of the essentials one would need to relax in and enjoy paradise. It was very comfortable and homey and anything we needed was available. The unit owner was excellent to work with and provided helpful advice and recommendations. I would definitely stay here again!

Pam

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Pam for the wonderful review. Glad you had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. I also appreciate your suggestion of a new restaurant to add to our "fun guides" we send with each reservation. Come back again. Aloha, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply the Best

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Kona Isle. We found the property very clean and well maintained. Enjoyed the bbq area and picnic tables. The near by salt water pool was fun. Location was convenient. We were much appreciative of Janet's helpful information package about the island - beaches, restaurants, etc. We visited some of her fav places and they were also our fav places. We had a great holiday, met some fantastic people within our condo and about.. Much thanks!! Owen and Rita

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found my info guides to my favorite places so helpful. Kona Isle is a wonderful, welcoming community and a convenient spot for sightseeing the island. You are welcome back anytime. Sincerely, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Don's Mai Tai
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Too many to list
Nearest Beach
On-site
Car: recommended

Volcano watching, Scuba diving, Manta ray viewing, Whale watching, Snuba, Coffee farm tours and tastings, On-site book lending library, Saltwater pool next door that is fun if the waves are high, ziplines, royal palace tours, historical museums, pickleball and tennis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Ironman 2016
Sep 28 2016 - Oct 17 2016
7 night minimum stay
$130
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2016/2017
Nov 16 2016 - Apr 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$120
$810
$3,120
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$105
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.41%

Hawaii tax id is W00999684-01
Third guest incurs an additional charge of $15 per day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 566 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1) Very comfortable with new comforter, shams and sheets., Futons (1) Very comfortable futon sleeps 1-2. Guests have commented on how great they sleep on it.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach chairs, sunshade umbrellas that attach to beach chairs, coolers, tatami mats, beach/pool towels, snorkel equipment, adult boogie board, guide books, cookbooks. We leave extra shampoo, soaps, spices, a hairdryer and sunscreen for guest use. Just look in the cabinets if you need something!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties