Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Read Our Stellar Guest Reviews and Then Email Me for a Quote or Book Now

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 566 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

We love it here at our condo at Kona Isle and think you will too. We are in an oceanfront complex on Alii Dr. and have views of the ocean, pool, palm trees and flowers from our unit. We are located in Building B, away from the street and on the quieter side of our small complex. In 2010 we remodeled the kitchen and opened it up to the living room. We replaced the countertops, added a ceiling fan and new cabinet hardware. Now there is a breakfast bar to eat at and the Kona breeze can circulate so much better now. We also painted the living room, kitchen and hallway. We replaced the plastic white chairs on the lanai with teak ones. In 2011 we replaced the bathroom vanity top and faucet and added a new storage cabinet for toiletries. We also painted the bathroom and bedroom. In 2012 we painted the interior trim and doors, front door and lanai. We also bought a new large flat screen tv and a new a/c unit in November of 2014. All the flooring is either tile or Pergo wood--no spotted or dirty carpets! 2015 updates include a new futon cover and accent pillows and a new dishwasher. In Feb. 2017 we replaced the kitchen stove with a new glass top range, replaced the microwave and added colorful seat cushions to the lanai chairs. New window ac unit in 2018.

We have lots of open green space and beautiful landscaping here at Kona Isle. Everything is situated on or near the beach. There are grills and picnic tables for enjoying meals and we provide picnic baskets and trays to take your food down. You can snooze or read in the shade under the palm trees or lounge in the chairs and get a tan in the Kona sun. Watch for the famous green flash that comes at the end of our beautiful sunsets. Our newly re-tiled pool is solar heated and the pool shower has been updated with new tile, too. Next door is a saltwater pool that is fun when the surf is high. Our lanai is a great place to read, play cards or just catch the ocean breeze. We spot whales and spinner dolphins from our lanai in the winter months.

You can walk to craft and farmer's markets from our condo or ride the Hele-On bus or the Trolley into Kona town or Keauhou for more shopping. There is a convenience/liquor store just a quick walk north on Alii. Snorkeling and deep sea fishing are spectacular here. Use our beach equipment, boogie board, towels and cooler for fun in the sun up and down the coast. And, of course, the volcano is a must see!

Hawaii is a fun, spiritual, beautiful island and our condo is located conveniently for you to see it all. When you make a reservation we can help you find the best deals on rental cars, the freshest produce, the most flavorful Kona coffee and beaches where you can spot turtles and not many tourists. Rest assured that you will have a clean, fun place here to call home while you explore the island. We replace the linens, towels and pillows frequently for your comfort and our housekeeper lives nearby if anything needs attention.

Thanks for viewing. We'll provide our annually updated guides to our favorite beaches, restaurants and fun spots to visit with every reservation. Give us a call or email us for more information.

If you find you need a larger condo please check out our other listing on VRBO#850396. It is at Alii Villas and is 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms for up to 4 people. This is just up the street and is direct oceanfront. If by chance the Kona Isle condo is booked, email me and I'll quote you a discounted price on the 2 bedroom unit.

Mahalo. Janet and Fred

Keywords: condo, Kona, Hawaii, ocean, view, beach, sunsets, special, rates, clean, oceanview, beach, Kailua-Kona, condominium, remodeled, island, tropical, specials, kamaaina, new, sand, sun, surf, volcano, pool, ironman, iron man, coffee

More Details

Owner
Janet
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2018

About Janet

Aloha. We have been coming to Hawaii for over 25 years and the moment we landed in Kona I felt like I was 'Home'. The island has that effect on people. Fred and I have been in the building/remodeling business and most recently worked as home inspectors for 12 years. We stay in our unit every year so we keep it in shape, updated and fresh.

Janet purchased this condo in 2000

Why Janet chose Kailua-Kona

We stayed at many different condominium complexes while vacationing in Hawaii, but none of them are as welcoming, green and relaxing as Kona Isle. One of the nicest things about being here is that it is a small condo complex so there are always chairs available at the pool and beach. The condos and pool are arranged to view the ocean, not a parking lot or the street as some other complexes are. Our on-site condo manager, Brian, is very helpful and friendly and takes pride in making sure Kona Isle is a great place to stay. So, in 2000 we bought our unit and have been sharing it with family and friends ever since. Hawaii has so many unique features and places to enjoy that you will want to return again and again as we do.

What makes this condo unique

As owners and guests ourselves, we try to anticipate your needs, so we have spices in the cabinet for you, extra light bulbs, shampoos and soaps, kleenex, laundry soap and plenty of cooking utensils, etc. Please use only what you need so that the next guests have supplies. If you find anything is not up to your standards we ask you to call or email us immediately and we will take care of it. We ask you to care for our condo in the spirit of Aloha and enjoy your stay.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just wanted to say we had a great time in Kona last week. Thanks for renting your condo to us. It was especially nice to have beach supplies to use. We really appreciated those. My daughter loved the pool and is a big fan of the ocean! (her first time in the ocean). Mahalo, Jennie.
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 566 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub and shower with safety grab bar.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1) Very comfortable with new comforter, shams and sheets. Futon (1) Firm futon sleeps 1. Guests have commented on how great they sleep on it.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach chairs, cooler, tatami mats, beach/pool towels, adult boogie boards, guide books, cookbooks. We leave extra shampoo, soaps, spices, and a hairdryer for guest use. Just look in the cabinets if you need something!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(69 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
21% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Read Our Stellar Guest Reviews and Then Email Me for a Quote or Book Now
average rating of 4.7246375 based on 70 reviews
4

A great place to stay while in Kailua-Kona

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Kona Isle condo (unit B34). Janet was great to work with and sent all kinds of information prior to our arrival regarding shopping, restaurants, beaches, etc. and everything was just as we hoped/expected.

Mahalo, JnR

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found the condo as you expected and found the information I sent ahead of time to be helpful. Hope you can visit again. Aloha Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Duncan
4

Our Stay at condo B34 of the Kona Isle Resort - Kailua Kona

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I stayed at this condo for two weeks in Feb / March 2018. We found the unit to be very well equipped and maintained The queen bed was comfortable however for us a king would have been preferable. This condo complex is older and the units in "B" block are situated across a green space from another block of condos with the ocean and pool view being off to the right from the lanai. We enjoyed spending time on the lanai which is furnished with a large comfortable chair in addition to a table and chairs. We found the unit to be quiet and well away from street noise. Perhaps the nicest feature of this complex is the ocean front bbq, picnic and lounge area which is a great place to spend time and to watch sunsets.We found the owners to be very helpful and they reached out to us during our stay to see if we needed any additional household supplies. The only disappointment for us was that there was no landline in the condo as we didn't bring a cell phone with us. There is a number listed in the guest info so I assume there was one previously. We enjoyed our stay at this condo.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, David. Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you didn't bring your cell phone with you. My listing doesn't state there is a landline so I will check to see where you got the information that there was one. I'm glad you had a good time and yes the oceanfront bbq and beach is a wonderful spot and unique to Kona Isle. Please come back anytime. Mahalo and Aloha, Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It could not have been better!

  • 5 of 5

The condo is well equipped, we did not miss anything. We enjoyed the pool, the tiny beach on the ocean front and the lush garden. Thank you Janet for the many helpful tips regarding excursions, shopping and restaurants. We would stay at the condo also a second time.

Mahalo

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Christian for the 5 star review and please do come back for a second visit. I am glad you used my "fun guides" that I send out with a reservation to help you plan your trip. I think it is helpful to get some recommendations when you are going to a new place. Best wishes. Aloha and Mahalo. Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean, exit local.

  • 4 of 5

Second time at this complex. Very nice grounds, location to everything, quite. Always happy to stay here and will return. Great place.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Jeff. Kona Isle has many return guests and I am glad you are one of them. In fact, I recently met a guest we had in the unit last January and she told me she and her husband bought a unit there this year because they loved the condo and grounds so much. Aloha and Mahalo Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
new york city
5

Perfect Big Island vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough about this lovely property. The view of great crashing waves from the lanai is perfect. THe condo is charming, very well supplied and has an extremely comfortable bed (and we're picky). Kona Isle grounds are well manicured with beautiful plantings and a swimming pool. We went down to the sandy beach on the property every night to watch the spectacular sunset. Best of all, the owner is very generous: when a snow storm cut two days out of our schedule, she asked us if we wanted to extend our stay in her condo without charge! She's also gracious: she offered to send two jackets I forgot to my home. We've stayed in many VRBO places. This is one of the very best.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol, thank you so much for all your compliments and the great review of the condo. I do try to be a gracious host and I want guests to feel important because they are to me. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The beach on the property is one of the best features of any condo complex in Kona so I am happy you commented on it. Kona Isle is a special place. Mahalo and Aloha. Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gold Coast (OOL)
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Janet and Fred provided all we needed, and more, for a comfortable stay. Clean and well provisioned! We'd love to stay again!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Penny and Danny for your 5 star review. We do try to offer a clean and well stocked condo for a carefree island stay. Come back anytime. Aloha Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

A Whale of a Crêpe
TJ'S BBQ By The Beach
Barbecue Restaurant
Green Flash Coffee
Coffee Shop
Da Poke Shack
Seafood Restaurant
Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
Eclectic Restaurant
Tea:licious Cafe
Cafe
Habaneros Grill
Mexican Restaurant
Banyan Tree Cafe
Cafe
Don the Beachcomber
Fusion Restaurant
Basik cafe
Health Food Restaurant
Huggo's
Fine Dining Restaurant
On the Rocks
Seafood Restaurant
Laverne's Sports Bar
Bar
Bongo Ben's
Cafe
GetSum' Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Oceans Sports Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Humpy's Big Island Alehouse
Bar
Kona Haven Cafe
Cafe
Foster's Kitchen
Fine Dining Restaurant
Kanaka Kava
Cafe
Island Lava Java
Bar & Grill
Thai Rin Restaurant & Bar
Thai Restaurant
Fumi's Kitchen CALL FOR BUSINESS HOURS
Japanese Restaurant
Sushi Shiono
Asian Restaurant
Island Ono Loa Grill
Hamburger Restaurant
La Bourgogne French Restaurant
French Restaurant
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Seafood Restaurant
부바검프
Wyland
Cafe
Daylight Mind Coffee Company
Coffee Shop
Mi's Waterfront Bistro
Italian Restaurant
Mi's Waterfront Bistro
Italian Restaurant
Kamana Kitchen
Indian Restaurant
Kona Coffee Lounge
Coffee Shop
Umeke's Poke Bowls And Local Style Lunch Plates
Seafood Restaurant
Longboard Legends Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Lemongrass Bistro
Thai Restaurant
Shimaichi Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Cuz'ns Deli Pizza & Ice Cream
Pizza Restaurant
Kona Coffee Cafe
Coffee Shop
San Francisco Bay Coffee Bar - Kona, HI.
Coffee Shop
Mahina Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Frenchman's Cafe
Cafe
You Make the Roll
Japanese Restaurant
Barefoot Zone in Kona
Cafe
Kona Taeng On Thai
Thai Restaurant
Blue Moon 100% Kona Coffee
Coffee Shop
TK Noodle House Kona
Asian Fusion Restaurant
Kopelani Inc
Coffee Shop
TK Shabu Shabu House Kona
Sukiyaki and Shabu Shabu Restaurant
Nearest Airport
9 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Don's Mai Tai
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Lots of options within 1 mile
Nearest Beach
On-site
Car: recommended

Volcano watching, Scuba diving, Manta ray viewing, Whale watching, Snuba, Coffee farm tours and tastings, On-site book lending library, Saltwater pool next door that is fun if the waves are high, ziplines, royal palace tours, historical museums, pickleball and tennis.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.25%

Hawaii tax id is TA-151-640-0640-01 and GE-151-640-0640-01.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties