check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Reggie Ratcliff

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

"Boardwalk" - Beachfront House - Island Central location -3Bed/3Bath -Free WiFi

27 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 28 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Florida Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, sleeps 6 - 8 (2 king, 1 queen, 1 queen sofa-bed)

Advance to Boardwalk! Two spacious and luxurious bedrooms, one spacious loft (adults can stand in the loft), three bathrooms (one with Jacuzzi), directly on the beach with boardwalk through the grass, multiple flat Screen TVs, VCR's, and DVD' s, free wireless high speed internet access, plenty of rockers on the beach-overlooking decks. Hot and cold outdoor shower.

Great central island location, just steps to island playground, shops, and restaurants. There is no need to take a chance anywhere else!

St. George Island has no highrises and is a family friendly, relaxing break in the Gulf of Mexico. It is central to Florida's largest eco-tourism area. Come try it out! Once people discover the area they always come back.

House name: 'Boardwalk'

St George Island!: St. George Island was ranked the #2 family beach. (We of course think it is #1.) Come enjoy the uncrowded family-friendly beaches where even the family dog is welcome! Enjoy truly fresh and famous Apalachicola Bay oysters, or any other of your favorite seafood at the area's restaurants. Go fishing. Shop for fishing gear, souvenirs, beach stuff. Go antiquing in Apalachicola. Visit any of the area's many nature preserves.

NOTE: Rates do not include 9% tax. Linen and cleaning fee applies for less than a week rentals.

Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

-----------------------------------------------------

LENGTH OF RENTAL

Boardwalk offers only weekly stays for Summer (June, July, the last week of May, and the first week of August.)

Reservations for less than a week may be made for Spring and Fall depending upon property availability and approval. (It is usually available to be booked within 1 month of the arrival day.)

There is also a 5 night minimum stay during some holidays except last minute.

There is a $50 dog fee for up to two dogs and $35 for each additional dog.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Reggie Ratcliff (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english

About Reggie Ratcliff

We are a family of 4 living in the Metro Atlanta area. We're all nature lovers and love traveling and spending time outdoors. In the summer of 2003 we vacationed on SGI and loved it completely and returned a month later to look for a place to call our own and we bought 'Hang Ten' in September.

Hang Ten is so popular with return guests that we had little chance to visit it ourselves. We began looking for another house to balance with Hang Ten and in 2007 we bought a cottage called 'Boardwalk'. With two houses on SGI we are able to go there often and take care of the properties and enjoy sharing them with guests.

Our goal is to make our guests happy.

In 2013 we will start to manage the properties ourselves, with the help of Community Management Services, Inc. (CMSI). We are very fortunate to have found CMSI - a very experienced, St. George Island-based company - to handle the housekeeping and maintenance for us. They can provide a more cusotmized service for our houses and their goals include a very welcoming house upon your arrival and no need for service calls.

Reggie Ratcliff purchased this cottage in 2007

Guestbook comments from the owner

We won Boardwalk!!

More...

By Myrna Dial from Atlanta, GA on 01/31/2011
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.4
based on 27 traveler reviews

"Boardwalk" - Beachfront House - Island Central location -3Bed/3Bath -Free WiFi
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 29 reviews
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

We strongly recommend staying at Boardwalk and will be back again soon! St George island is perfect. The location of Boardwalk is very convenient. Steps to the beach and local attractions/restaurants. The rental was very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Lauren: Very nice of you to send this along, and we appreciate it very much. We also love the location close to town and directly on the beach! We truly work to make sure the house is in great shape and that our guests have everything they need and have a memorable stay. Hope to see you again next year, and thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A lovely & relaxing seeking SGI

  • 5 of 5

You can't beat this place! The view, the proximity to town and the beach and the space are great. We had a great week. Being dog friedly is also a huge bonus. Boardwalk had just about everything we needed and we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation and house

  • 5 of 5

We were first time visitors to St. George Island and had an amazing time. We were looking for quiet beaches and no crowds - found it! Couldn't ask for a better view of the beach every morning and the clear skies at night made star gazing a must. The house had everything we needed and booking was super easy. Coming back again, but with our dogs next time.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Needs TLC

  • 1 of 5

Condo looked great via VBRO website. Upon arriving it was obvious that the house needed LOTS of TLC. Front door needs repaired due to the door not properly locking/unlocking. Walls thru out the condo are marked up due to luggage being drug down them. Vents thru out condo are covered in mold/mildew. Ceiling near vents are also marked with the mold/mildew. Jets in jacuzzi are filled with mold/mildew along with shower curtain. Furniture in first bedroom on main level is stained and needs replaced. Bedding is also stained and is very "worn" looking. Master bedroom chair, night stands, and bedding are in need of replacement. Mattress is in good condition. Window blinds in all rooms are thick with dust and have not been cleaned in a very long time. Flooring thru out home is need of a deep clean. My children had black feet after only a few hours walking around the home. Stairway railings, light switches, door handles are very dirty and need cleaned. Kitchen is very outdated. Refrigerator is rusting from the inside out. Not just in one spot - it's rusted all around the inside of the door and bottom of freezer inside. Door handle and the lining of fridge door thick with dirt and grime. Refrigerator was also not properly cooling and we lost an entire weeks for of food on 2nd day. Garbage can needs cleaning inside and out. Was thick with grime. Most of the cooking trays were rusted. Bugs in kitchen appearing daily in the morning. Some dead. Some alive. A lot of the fixtures - like lamps were thick with dust and rusted. The living room furniture was stained and uncomfortable. Again - vents thick with mold/mildew. Blinds thick with dust. Sliding doors had not been cleaned - filled with dead bugs, dirt, and sand. Deck is in serious need of TLC - paint is all chipped off. Could not walk with bare feet - due to wood needing replaced and nails protruding. 5 out of the 6 patio chairs all were broken. The make shift storage closet up in loft had a 1/2 case of beer and cigarettes in it when we arrived. Found by my 11 yr. old son. Bedding was very worn. I removed ALL bedding from beds before sleeping in them - replaced the comforters with blankets we brought. All comforters did not look clean. Furniture in loft was also very worn and needs replaced. I did not call anyone to complain of conditions. I didn't need my vacation ruined by allowing them any more time to do the cleaning that should have been already done! I have pictures.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to hear of the experience described, and truly apologize. Also distressing to us is that we heard nothing about it until ten days after their departure and they requested partial refund. Problems will occur, and we like to address them as soon as possible, especially to make sure they do not affect other guests - that’s why we provide all of our contact info. Fortunately in the meantime we had talked with the two following guests, and they reported the house is clean and having an enjoyable experience. (Unfortunately we had missed contacting this reviewer during their stay. ) We want to ensure our future customers that Boardwalk will continue to be a great choice if you want to find a clean, comfortable property which is enjoyable at a reasonable rate. We do work hard to keep it that way. We are still investigating this stay to see what we can learn from it.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Needs some improvements

  • 2 of 5

Needed Maintenance to unlock door.

Screws protruding on decks and board walk.

Bedroom chair needs to be repaired or replaced.

Bedroom furniture needs to be refurnished or replaced.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Roland, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have already directed a contractor to look at the decks and boardwalk. We are constantly improving and refurnishing Boardwalk; in fact some of the bedroom furnishings are new in this year, and many other pieces are less than two years old. Note that the previous two reviewers specifically stated that Boardwalk is well maintained and kept. We believe Boardwalk’s furnishings would stack favorably against any others in the same price range on the island, and numerous long-time SGI visitors have agreed. When we were with a management company with over 200 properties Boardwalk was often praised as a top guest pleaser. We will contact with you to get the details of your suggestions. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Central location and nice place

  • 4 of 5

"Boardwalk" is a nice place to stay central to the Island. It was clean, well kept and has all the amenities you expect in a rental home. This is a tall, skinny structure located in a row of about 20 similar structures.

This unit is located a few doors down from the public beach parking lot, so there will be people on the beach but you can drive to the state park if you want to walk on empty beaches. The floor plan is a little unusual with the 2 main bedrooms downstairs and the main living room / kitchen up a flight of stairs. There is an overlook bedroom above the kitchen up another flight of stairs. Older folks may have concerns about the frequent stair climbs. There was a band playing at the nearby Blue Parrot that played loud and late but I imagine that is only a weekend occurrence. Overall it's a nice central location at a reasonable price.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: recommended

St. George Island was ranked the #2 family beach. (We of course think it is #1.) Come enjoy the uncrowded family-friendly beaches where even the family dog is welcome! Enjoy truly fresh and famous Apalachicola Bay oysters, or any other of your favorite seafoods at the area's restaurants. Go fishing. Shop for fishing gear, souvenirs, beach stuff. Go antiquing in Apalachicola. Visit any of the area's many nature preserves.

Photos

Rates & Availability

St George Island Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2016
May 28 2016 - Aug 6 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,395
 
 
Summer Special
Aug 7 2016 - Aug 13 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Late Summer 2016
Aug 14 2016 - Sep 3 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 4 2016 - Nov 6 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Winter 2016
Nov 7 2016 - Nov 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
$1,025
 
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,590
 
 
Late winter 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 16 2016
2 night minimum stay
$1,025
 
 
Christmas and New Year
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Winter Jan/Feb Monthly
Jan 7 2017 - Mar 4 2017
28 night minimum stay
$2,550
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

**ATTENTION** Rates include everything except the 9% local tax for weekly+rentals.
For less than a week rentals, there is an extra linen and cleaning charge. Please email us for the details.

Boardwalk offers only weekly stays for Summer and Spring Break
Reservations for shorter periods of time may be made for Spring and Fall depending upon property availability and approval.

Please note the the automatic rate quotes do not work properly at season breaks and for stays less than one week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Florida Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1410 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Showers all have high quality glass doors, very comfortable.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Ocean view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Loft
  • 1st and 2nd bedrooms are masters. One with private full bath and the other with a glassdoor shower. They all are located on lowest floor
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
..

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties