Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk to Everything in Ouray, ideal location! Great Rates!

Bedrooms 1
Space 350 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Everyone loves the cabin!

San Juan Chalet Cabin is located just 1.5 blocks from main street. So you can walk to everything in Ouray even the Hot Springs! San Juan Chalet Cabin has wonderful mountain views and a nice private yard surrounded by Lilac and Aspen trees. The Lilacs bloom in late May and early June. Our 'Cabin' is a favorite among return guests. It has an open field to the south and The Secret Garden B&B is directly to the west. We have a picnic table and grill so you can enjoy your meals outside and soak in the beautiful mountain scenery. We also have 2 King hotel style rooms on site please email us for availability of these rooms.

• Free High speed Wi-Fi/internet service

Weekly discounts

Keywords: Cabin ouray quiet kitchen studio hotel rooms

king private yard kid friendly

More Details

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

About ryan

Before settling on Ouray in 2001, I worked for the Black Canyon Ntl Park and the USFS around Montrose and Ouray. Since 2004 my husband Clint and I have ran and owned San Juan Mountain Guides, LLC for 10 years. We love Ouray! There is so much to do here, ski, ice climb, hike, jeep, biking, rock climbing, history, art, and more!

ryan purchased this cabin in 2005

Why ryan chose Ouray

Heart of town but still quiet, clean, and good vibes! Walk to the ice park!

What makes this cabin unique

Guests love the yard , picnic table, grill, full kitchen, comfy king beds, and being able to walk anywhere from the property.


Ouray Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • King size beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Pac and Play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) queen futon in den of the cabin air mattress available upon request
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
Very Private. Local Public Hot Springs.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
6% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Walk to Everything in Ouray, ideal location! Great Rates!
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews

Clean & comfy bed, but weak wifi & poorly stocked kitchen

  • 3 of 5

The cabin is very clean and the bed is genuinely comfortable, great pillows! However, the wifi was only 2 Mbps (Netflix requires 5 Mbps minimum to stream) and it was difficult to maintain connection to the network. The kitchen was poorly supplied, specifically missing measuring cups, a full size cutting board, and a large bowl for serving. The basics of a few plates and small bowls were there though. The host was quick to answer questions and helpful in responses.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Natalie, Thanks for staying with us in February! I glad to hear you found the cabin clean and comfortable. I'm sorry to hear that the internet didn't have a strong signal while you were here. I wish you would have alerted us so we could have fixed the problem while you were here. We have a 12mps service. We will make sure the wifi is strong and fast for the next guest. We will restock the kitchen as well, thanks for letting us know!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice property, great location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in Ouray and the San Juan cabins was a comfortable, convenient property.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location

  • 3 of 5

The owners are extremely helpful. The kitchen has new ceramic lined pans and corning dishware. It could use a cutting board and colander. The king size bed is very comfortable. Needed instructions on how to operate the shower. My husband is a contractor and have never seen one of these. The sofa in living room is EXTREMELY

uncomfortable to sit on and keeps sliding. Never used as a bed. Two burners on the stove were broken and the oven needs cleaning.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Beverly, I am very sorry to hear about the inconveniences. We will make a sign for the shower asap! I have already ordered a new futon mattress, this was our first complaint about the futon however, so I assumed it was still good. This is also the first time that we have heard about the burners on the stove, my handy man will be checking it out and if we cannot fix it we will replace the stove as well. Sometimes kitchen supplies disappear and we don't always know, but when we are notified we are ready to get replacements asap. Again I am very sorry and I hope you will stay with us again another time. Ryan Cook
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Clean and Cozy!

  • 5 of 5

I booked this place for my mom and her husband, wanting clean and affordable lodging for them near the 4J campground, where my husband and I were staying. The cabin was absolutely perfect, and they enjoyed their stay immensely. It is a quick walk to town, the campground, the river, hiking trails, shops, restaurants - everything! The host was super nice. She even contacted me after our trip to let me know she had found a pair of (my mom's) earrings after they had left, and mailed them to my mom, who lives on the East Coast. Very honest and kind.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Denver, CO

Perfect getaway cabin

  • 5 of 5

This place was exactly what we were looking for: a clean, comfortable cabin for my girlfriend and I and our two dogs, that was also walkable to downtown. It's only three blocks from the main drag, meaning you can truly park your car and forget it about until it's time to leave. But it's also tucked away enough that it was quiet and peaceful at night. Ryan is the consummate host and did everything possible to make our stay as good as it could be. She truly went above and beyond. And Ouray speaks for itself; it's an amazing town with so much to do in and around town. We can't wait to come back to the Chalet and Ouray again!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Litchfield park, AZ

Easy fixes

  • 4 of 5

Overall this is a great value. Clean, great location, dog friendly. Just needs a few basic additions. Two coffee cups instead of one. Shampoo. An iron to go with the ironing board in the closet. Otherwise we liked it!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Janet, I'm glad you liked the cabin. I usually have extra shampoos under the sink. I would have happily brought you more! I will get more coffee mugs, sometimes they disappear and I don't realize till someone tells me. We have an iron and board for guests too! We hope to have you again!! Thanks for saying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Car: not necessary

Ideal location in Ouray! Walk to everything!!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $35
Pet Fee $20

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.