Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stunning Sea Ranch Home - Featured in Coastal Living Magazine

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4 max.)

PLEASE EMAIL OR CALL FOR 'LAST MINUTE' RATES.

This beautiful home is the perfect mix of serenity and adventure you been searching for! Enjoy the quintessential Sea Ranch lifestyle in this home which has been featured in Coastal Living, California Home and Design and Fine Homebuilding Magazines.

Open, yet intimate, rich in natural materials and handcrafted details, this home has a quiet elegance. Impeccably decorated with high end furnishings, Tufenkian Tibetan rugs and original art by local artist Dwight Eberly and landscape photographer Morley Baer.

All bed and bath linens are provided. Other features include a cozy custom fireplace, large well appointed kitchen with concrete countertops and large copper cooking hood, private hot tub and a garage.

There are fabulous white water views from every room. Located just steps away from the ocean bluff trail near Walk on Beach.

Our guests will have access to 3 recreational centers with heated swimming pools, saunas, tennis courts, library and more.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS HOME IS NOT SUITABLE FOR CHILDREN UNDER 12 YEARS OLD. ALSO, FOR PARTIES OF MORE THAN TWO GUESTS, PLEASE LOOK AT THE PHOTOS CAREFULLY AND THE NOTE OPEN NATURE OF OUR HOME. PARTICULARLY, NOTE THAT THERE ARE NO DOORS ON THE BEDROOMS.

PLEASE NOTE: THE 'LAST MINUTE GETAWAY' RATES ARE NOT CALCULATED IN THE INSTANT QUOTE FROM VRBO. THE TOTAL RENTAL RATE MAY BE LESS. PLEASE EMAIL OR CALL TO CONFIRM THE CORRECT RENTAL AMOUNT.

.Additional guest(s) fee of $ 25.00 per night each for the 3rd and 4th guest applicable

TOT Certificate # 731N. Parking available for 2 cars on property. Quiet hours from 10 PM to 7 AM.

Keywords: Unique coastal home with whitewater views!

More Details

Owner
Diane Gilbert
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi, my family and I just arrived into your beautiful home for this weekend and are already thinking about our next trip here.



The Gilbert House was fantastic! Thank you for sharing this home with renters..it truly is an amazing home.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Sea Ranch House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , Located downstairs
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Located upstairs in Master
  • 1.5 bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Stunning Sea Ranch Home - Featured in Coastal Living Magazine
average rating of 4.918919 based on 43 reviews
San Francisco, California
5

Delightful and stylish home

  • 5 of 5

Great location along the bluff trails and near the fitness center. The home is modern and architecturally distinguished. The owners are exceedingly friendly and helpful

Only caution for those traveling with more than a couple: the home is very open plan. No doors on bedrooms, noise does travel around the house.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely home, beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in this Stunning Sea Ranch home. Everything was top notch, we had so much fun cooking in the beautiful gourmet kitchen. The hiking trails start right out of the driveway.

We saw whales, seals, deer and many birds. Stargazing from the hot tub was spectacular!

The home is very much 'open concept' which was just fine for our small family.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property is beautiful and well maintained. Great kitchen to cook in and look out over the ocean.

  • 4 of 5

Close to hiking trail along the ocean. Very easy to town and the Gualala State Park. The house is very comfortable, well appointed and clean.

The stairs a bit steep for my old knees but managed fine. House is open floor plan so you are connected whether your upstairs or down. Would definitely go back.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful, but no doors to bedrooms or bathrooms, privacy issue

  • 4 of 5

The good:

Very beautiful home.

Very comfortable living room, well laid out to take advantage of views.

Very well appointed kitchen, with sunny outlook on beautiful garden in one direction and ocean view on the other. Love the concrete countertops and sink.

Spacious, clean laundry room -- all appliances in great condition

Small office area, with views.

Great ventilation and raccoon-resistant windows.

Nice small upper deck for star watching.

Perfect for a couple, or family unconcerned with privacy.

Clean, well decorated

Responsive host (see below, however)

On-street parking area nearby (rare at Sea Ranch)

The bad:

The BEDROOMS and BATHING AREAS have NO DOORS, and the shower has NO shower curtain or other privacy barrier.

Snoring, bathroom noises, intimate relations -- everyone can hear them everywhere in the house due to the "open" plan. Taking a shower is not for the modest.

One toilet room has a door, but the other has a large half-moon-shaped cutout in the door, at eye level: cute, but big enough to stick your head through. Again, not much privacy.

The unusual degree of openness in the plan of the home is not disclosed in the description of the home. I believe the host SHOULD disclose it in the description of the home. It will turn off some potential renters, but I would have been more satisfied with the home without the marketing deception.

View of ocean includes parking area/paved turnaround. Unavoidable.

We stayed in the home with another couple. Good, old friends, we were able to work around the open plan and appreciate the positive aspects of the home. I would recommend it for one couple if the price were lower. But for two couples, I prefer at least one door.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow....although I am pleased that this guest obviously appreciated the comfort and beauty of our home, I am disappointed that we were downgraded because of what the guest portrayed as a "marketing deception" on our part. While it is true that our home appeals primarily to couples, we certainly have hosted small groups over the years which have been pleased with our home. I absolutely take acceptation to one comment the guest made that the small half-moon shaped cut out on our downstairs powder room door is large enough to stick your head through. It is not at eye level and is barely large enough to stick your hand through, yet alone your head. I also feel that the photos clearly illustrate the openness of our home, including the lack of doors. Having said that, we do take our guests comments seriously and I have added a note on our listing that indicates there are no doors on the bedrooms. Although this design might seem unconventional, it is very much in keeping with the open character and feel of our home that we, and most of our guests, appreciate.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Beautiful Views, Totally Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful with everything you might want or need. The kitchen is so much fun if you are a cook and the living area is very conformable. I loved the roof lookout where you could see down the coast. Sea Ranch is one of the most beautiful places you can visit. I've travel a lot and every time I come back to this area it reminds me how beautiful the California Coast is. You are so close to so many great places with beautiful walks just out your door. We will return to stay again!!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing home, terrific views

  • 5 of 5

My lifelong friend and I enjoyed this home for our annual girl's vacation. All was perfect from the minute we walked into this comfortable and well appointed ocean-view house. The outside hot tub was a nice treat after our long walks along the spectacular sea cliffs and beaches. The home has windows everywhere to flood the home with light and beauty. The gorgeous wood paneling and floors and the high end appliances were appreciated. Everything worked without a hitch. Bedding is comfy and the bedrooms have views. Wake up to deer grazing in the Oceanside yard! We will be going back to this place often. Thanks Gilberts for all the nice touches.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Twofish Baking Company
The Sea Ranch Golf Links
Del Mar Recreation Center
Walk on Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sea Ranch House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring (non-holiday)
Apr 18 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Fri,Sat
$1,590
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$310
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring (non-holiday)
May 30 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$295
Fri,Sat
$1,590
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July Weekend
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$330
 
 
Summer Season
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
From
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,710
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$330
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall Season
Sep 6 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$295
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving Weekend
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Fall Season
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$295
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas & New Year Holidays
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$330
$1,980
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Cleaning $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Some Holiday Periods will have a slightly higher rate and may have a longer minimum night stay required.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties