check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Tony Ciavola

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

'Cottonwood' Large Renovated Farmhouse Full of Country Charm on 2 acres.

55 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Union Pier Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

4+ bedroom, 2.5 bath, sleeps 10 in beds and 4 on air mattresses

Located within a mile of I-94 Exit 6, Union Pier. Cottonwood, our rambling old farm house, offers the best of both worlds; quiet seclusion from the hustle and bustle of neighbors and a quick hop to all area activities.

Kick back in comfort and enjoy the space. Our 3000+ square home sits on 2+ acres and has been lovingly restored and updated to provide all of today's modern conveniences while retaining the warmth and charm of a rural homestead. Between the family room, living room, screened-in porch, expansive deck and yards, you're sure to find the perfect spot for a mid-day nap or have plenty of space to host friends for cocktails and a barbecue.

And don't forget the dogs! We've enclosed a 1/2 acre of yard with a three-foot high fence. There's plenty of room for even big dogs to get a workout chasing squirrels.

We are also a quick drive to the beach! We are 2-3 minutes by car to the Township Line Rd. and Berrien Rd. beaches. These beaches require on-street parking. Cherry Street Beach is about a 7 minute ride, is much bigger and has a parking lot for Township Residents (we leave the pass at the house). You can also take a 10-15 minute ride up Red Arrow to Warren Dunes State Park. Warren Dunes is huge, has an entrance fee, ample parking, restrooms and a concession stand. Or head south 10 minutes to the New Buffalo Town Beach which is also big, has a parking fee, restrooms and a concession stand. This beach is also a short walk to downtown New Buffalo.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tony Ciavola (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Tony,



We spoke a few times over the phone leading up to our recent very enjoyable stay at your wonderful house in Michigan.



I wanted to thank you and say how much our entire family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your lovely Cottonwood Farmhouse. The house & the grounds are beautiful, charming, and very well cared for...not to mention super comfortable. Staying there was like staying at the type of well-loved family home that everyone wishes they owned. We never imagined there would be so much greenery, lush foliage, and tall trees. Beautiful. The house is an easy distance from the beach & the local market, and we spent long, fun, lazy days on the gorgeous white sand beach. We both drove & walked the distance. The incredible locally-made chocolate covered ice cream bars at the market are also worth a mention. Yum!! If we did not have so far to travel, I am sure our group of 16 would be back every summer. We had a blast!



Many many thanks!

Ingrid

Ps- please feel free to post the above in your reviews of the house.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 55 traveler reviews

'Cottonwood' Large Renovated Farmhouse Full of Country Charm on 2 acres.
average rating of 4.8545456 based on 56 reviews
5

Great house with a wonderful yard

  • 5 of 5

Cottonwood is a great house with tons of room inside and out. We rented the house for a long weekend with our dogs. The interior is very nice with lovely, comfortable rooms. We enjoyed wine on the deck and reading on the porch. So relaxing!! Cottonwood is the perfect location just a short ride to New Buffalo (with tons of restaurants) and about 20 minutes to St Joseph. Our dogs had the best time of all!! We could barely get them inside. They loved to explore the yard finding frogs, squirrels and running around. There is also a dog park about 5-10 minutes away. Great long weekend, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Place for Multiple Family Getaway

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Cottonwood for a mini family reunion. The fenced in yard and fire pit were perfect for us. The location was close to all the amenities we needed. There are so many great beaches in the area. Cottonwood had towels and beach supplies. The DVD player and cable did not work. There were also several lights out in some of the rooms. Brandy was responsive when we called, these things should have been taken care of before our arrival. Our family had a wonderful time and we recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice house needs better management/maintenance

  • 3 of 5

The good: kitchen is nicely appointed with a lot of cookware and supplies. The dining room is also very large. The grounds are very nice and pet friendly.

The bad: We rented the home for 3 nights and ended up paying around 2,500.00. For this amount it seems like we should have at least had a working television and enough propane in the grill to last more than one night. Also, there were some air mattresses that were unusable and didn't get replaced until our last night, which at that point, we didn't bother. The bedroom I slept in had a broken door knob. The bathroom had leaking faucet. They also had a lot of detailed instructions for us to follow with regard to garbage disposal and linen handling. I have never stayed in a rental that required renters to gather all used linens and bring to the laundry room as well as strip all of the bed sheets.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation we have taken together with our whole family since all our boys have been married. We all had a wonderful time. Cottonwood has everything you could possibly need. The house was clean, well kept and everything in working order. The deck was our favorite spot to gather as the furniture is very comfortable and the view so relaxing. The kitchen is fully loaded with all the necessary supplies. All 10 of us were able to eat together at the dining room table very comfortably. The house manager, Brandi, was so easy to work with. She responded immediately to any questions we had. Though we had intended this to be a once every 3 or 4 years type of gathering, our family loved it so much they want to make this an annual event at Cottonwood! We look forward to returning next summer.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location and accommodations

  • 5 of 5

Great price! Great home! Great to work with!

It is far enough away from busy-ness that it is a retreat, but close enough to the unique fun that Michigan offers. We enjoyed a beach day, a trip to Warren Dunes State Park, and an evening in quaint St Joseph.

Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Overall, fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5

This is a really great house that has everything you can think of! it is well-kept, lots of room (indoors and out). We had a family gathering and had age ranges from 2 years old to 81 years old, and everyone had a great time! Lots of room to play for dogs also. There is a fenced in front yard that a dog cant get out of, though there are trees that separate this house from the neighbors in the back, the green flimsy fence is really the only barrier for a curious dog. Our dog walked right through it a couple times, but it was really easy to get him back and he didn't go far. The neighbors are really friendly and there was no issues, but if you have a curious furry member of the family, they may are not really locked-in in the back of the house.

Again - stay was terrific! Owners are really responsive and the property manager is available to answer any questions you may have with a quick turn-around. We would absolutely stay here again! Thanks for having us!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
31 Miles
South Bend Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Red Arrow Roadhouse
Nearest Golf
5.5 Miles
Whittaker Woods Golf Course
Nearest Train
6 Miles
New Buffalo
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-94 Exit 6 - Union Pier
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Red Arrow Roadhouse
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
Berrien Street Beach
Car: necessary

Union Pier is only an hour and a half from downtown Chicago but is worlds apart. You can head to the beach, golf, bike, and kayak. Go antiquing, tour the vineyards, and stop by a farm and pick your own berries, peaches, apples, and pumpkins. Or enjoy the thrill of a Notre Dame football game, outlet shopping, or the Four Winds Casino.

There are also many weekend events scheduled throughout the year in neighboring towns that are only minutes away from Cottonwood. Be sure to visit the Harbor Country website for a full calendar of concerts, fairs, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Union Pier Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 6 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$330
From
$508
Fri,Sat
$2,265
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed.

Weekly rates shown represent the typical weekly rate within a Season and are not applicable to a week that contains an Event/Holiday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Union Pier Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Upstairs Bath - toilet , shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
    Powder Room - toilet
  • Both Full bathrooms have showers. We do not have any bathtubs.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , This bedroom is large enough to accommodate a crib.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Pass-thru - 2 twin/ single , This room is outside of Bedrooms 2 & 3. Not private.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Family Room - There is a Queen and a Full air mattress in this room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • All bedrooms have ceiling fans.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Family Room: Seats 7 with plenty of room on the carpeted floor for more. This room also has a fireplace and a game/card table with 4 chairs. Laundry Room: Washer and dryer. Utility sink. Iron and ironing board. Yard: Approximately 1/2 acre of enclosed yard with a 3 foot fence for the dogs. Yard games include: horseshoes, boccie ball, and croquet. 12 Adirondack style chairs encircle a Chiminea for cool nights and tasty S'mores. Beach: We have coolers, beach chairs, umbrellas, rafts, and even a pail & shovel.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers