check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Charmingly Authentic Cape Cod Cottage

24 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Falmouth House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 1 full bath, 1 half bath, sleeps 8

Relax! Ocean breezes caress this lovely Cape Cod home, located just off the entrance to Falmouth Harbor. Listen to ferries whistle as they carry vacationers to and from Martha's Vineyard, just a 35 minute boat ride away. Start the day with breakfast in the sunlit dining room and watch the masts of sailboats as they exit the harbor. View the Vineyard in the distance. Enjoy a short walk to Falmouth's quaint Main Street through tree-lined neighborhoods, and sample the eclectic fare at some of the area's best restaurants. Swim at Falmouth's wonderful nearby beaches. Bike along the Shining Sea Bikeway, through salt ponds, along the shore, and into Woodshole. Or stay close to your home-away-from home and catch some rays in the sunny and private backyard or enjoy a book on the wisteria-shaded patio. This true Cape Cod-style home is nestled in a quiet neighborhood and is a perfect base for either an active stay, a lazy and restorative old-fashioned summer vacation, or a little of both!

Sunny Days: We hope that you have lots of sun on your vacation! The yard and surrounding roads are lush with greenery and flowers. Walking and biking are great ways to see the area-there is so much that is nearby. The Shining Sea Bikeway wends its way 3 miles past Falmouth's beaches, cottages, and ponds. Whether you're a nature buff or shopper, you can find things to do within a mile of the house. Fishing boats, ferries, and scenic sails depart from the harbor daily. There are exclusive shops on Main Street, and the Falmouth Commodore baseball team plays 2-3x per week in summer. The family-friendly Surf Drive beach is within walking distance and children will enjoy exploring the tidal pools for a variety of sea life and beautiful shells; many other beaches are a short drive or bike ride away. After biking or the beach, a great place to have a casual meal is at the Clam Shack; it's at the end of the street and has picnic seating right on the water - a perfect spot to watch the boats come and go!

Rainy Days: We've tried to equip the house with lots of rainy day ideas and activities. There are two televisions with cable, but we also have many games and puzzles that will keep a wide range of ages occupied. A rainy day is also the perfect time to take advantage of the wonderful shops and bookstores on Main Street - a great place to go souvenir hunting or to find the next vacation book. Woodshole offers an interactive aquarium. In nearby Mashpee, there are movie theaters, a kids' craft center, more shops, and restaurants.

Excursions: If you're feeling adventurous, there are several recommended day trips. Taking a 45 minute ferry to Martha's Vineyard from the harbor, with or without bikes, is a refreshing side trip - the Vineyard's carousel, gingerbread cottages, winery, bike paths, and scenic vistas are all memorable. Heritage Plantation in Sandwich (a 45 minute drive) is packed with history, gorgeous grounds, and an antique auto museum. The Cape Cod Central Railroad in Hyannis runs scenic and dinner trains to the Cape Cod Canal and back. Provincetown and the National Seashore beaches are only 1 1/2 hours from Falmouth, and offer whale watches, dune tours, more bike paths, and funky shopping areas.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Jane Baronas
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016
Call Owner

About Jane Baronas

My grandparents purchased the cottage in 1963 when I was a child. We spent family vacations there for years, and still do with our own children and extended family.

Why Jane Baronas chose Cape Cod

There are lots of special memories: 4th of July Fireworks over the harbor, Falmouth Road Race runners speeding past the end of the street, playing croquet in the yard, bringing a picnic to the Thursday Night Summer Band Concerts on the marina, wandering down Main Street for an ice cream on a hot night, biking on the Shining Sea Bikeway to beaches, and spending special times in the off-season (May and October are especially lovely!).

Because it is a treasured family home, we hope that our guests enjoy the love and care that we put into maintaining it and insuring that they have a good vacation.

Come and make your own memories!

What makes this house unique

One of my favorite spots is the patio. Whether we are gathering for meals, or games, or just reading, it's a cool and quiet place to relax. Birdsong and bunnies are plentiful! Also, there is really no need for a car; the beach, the harbor (and ferries), Main Street, Falmouth's Cape Cod Baseball League team, and a grocery store are all within easy reach on foot.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"There really is nothing more you can do to make the experience better - the house is always well equipped with kitchen stuff, towels, bedding, etc. We always enjoy our summer week at your house, so relaxing."
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 2


based on 24 traveler reviews

Charmingly Authentic Cape Cod Cottage
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 26 reviews

Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend anniversary getaway at 65 Swing Lane. The weather was rainy, but we were cozy and warm in this charming home-- we read books, listened to music, rested and recharged. Jane's home was a perfect retreat for us!

Despite the rain, we drove around a bit to see the sights - loved riding through Woods Hole and strolling down Falmouth's Main Street-- we also enjoyed a few of the local restaurants, including breakfast at Crabapple's and dinners at The British Beer Company and Liam Maguire's Irish Pub, all within easy driving distance of the house (in fact, we could have walked to the Irish pub but for the driving rain). You can't control the weather, but we were just as happy and content given the comfort of this spot. Thanks, Jane, for sharing your home with us; we'll be sure to come back!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

We were super excited to spend our vacation at this home, close to the harbor, beaches, and downtown. Unfortunately, the pictures do not communicate the level of disrepair and deferred maintenance, in addition to the level of dust, must and mold that was off the charts. The bedding is in great need of being replaced - the pillows especially need to be tossed. They were awful. The bath towels were like rags, probably 30 years old, and should be used as such. The place is overstuffed with old, musty furniture that smells and is not inviting We couldn't bring ourselves to sit on anything.

We didn't want to touch the cabinets or use any of the appliances. The dishes and utensils had crusty food on them and it was gross.

We spent as little time as we possibly could in the house as we were sneezing like crazy and could not breathe easily. If you are asthmatic or highly allergic you should not rent this property. It was very hard to spend more time than showering inside, and sleeping was wretched.

The back room with the king bed was so stuffy that even with three fans and all windows open it would not cool down. The house is not close enough to benefit from "The Breeze" from the harbor.

We have rented via VRBO many times all over and never have we been this disappointed in the condition of a property. It made us feel like we got one pulled over us. My guess is that being is such a great location, the owners can get away with renting it in its current condition. We, however, could never recommend this property to anyone.

Thankfully the weather cooperated otherwise it would have been a miserable week if we had to spend one extra minute in the house.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Part of a successful vacation is finding the right spot. Unfortunately, this guest did not do her homework; after signing her contract, she repeatedly contacted me up to the date of her stay regarding things that were clearly on the HomeAway site (including asking about the "central air", which we do not have). We also made several accommodations in advance as per her specific requests. Her descriptions regarding the lack of cleanliness are not accurate; the carpets were cleaned in June by a vendor that we have used for years, about half of the pillows were new last year, and the pieces of furniture are either antiques and/or have been professionally cleaned. In addition, I personally cleaned the house before her stay; although I did not check each utensil, I made sure the kitchen and appliances were clean. Ultimately, this person wanted luxury accommodations, which this was not. We advertised a 'charmingly authentic Cape Cod cottage'--which is what she got and which our other renters have enjoyed (see other reviews).
Did you find this review helpful?
5 5

Charming property in great location

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented this Cape house for a week in July and had a great time. It was very charming. We loved the back porch and spent a good deal of time relaxing out there. The rooms were comfortable downstairs and although it was a bit hot upstairs when we arrived, once we opened the windows and got the fans going, it cooled off pretty well. We grilled at the house a few nights but went out a few nights as well to a couple of the restaurants nearby. The location was great... Very close to the beaches on Surf Drive and very close to the Cape Cod Rail Trail which we road on every day. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Just what a Cape Cod Summer vacation should be

  • 5 of 5

Completely helpful and responsive owner. A pleasure to deal with. The house is exactly as described - a Charmingly Authentic Cape Cod cottage. If you want Ritz and Glitz, go elsewhere. If you want Cape Cod as it should be - go here. The house is well stocked with the sorts of things one needs but for a short stay, one might not want to buy. There is no need - most of those things are provided e.g dish washing liquid, soap, kleenex, various sizes of plastic bags etc etc. It is a short drive to all the area beaches, a well stocked supermarket and very close to downtown Falmouth. The street is quiet and pleasant. This is a lovely base for a classic Cape Cod Summer break.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Wonderful Wedding Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We could not be happier with our stay at Swing Lane in Falmouth. The house is adorable, we enjoyed many meals on the awesome back patio. Jane was so helpful. I have severe fragrance allergies and she went out of her way to make sure the house was not cleaned with products that bothered me. Would absolutely recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

perfect and relaxing vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay- the house is always clean and welcoming! We absolutely love the location- close to all the Falmouth activities we enjoy like the beach, downtown, baseball and the MV ferry. Plus the Shining Sea Bikeway is close-by and the bike ride into Woods Hole is only a couple of miles. Or you can go for miles in the other direction- very scenic. The homeowner is exceptionally responsive and very friendly; we have never had any problem communicating. The house is very well stocked with linens and kitchen equipment; just bring your groceries and your swimsuit and that’s all you need! Wi-fi works great, big backyard for outdoor games. We love it here!

We would absolutely highly recommend this rental for a relaxed family vacation- it’s always my favorite week of the year!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Cape Cod Central Railroad
"A variety of rides are offered, including the Dinner Train. Perfect for train-happy kids du..."
Glass Onion
"THE place for fine dining in Falmouth. Wonderful food in an elegant setting, along with the..."
Spohr Gardens
"A lovely gem just off of Surf Drive, this private garden is open to the public and is free. ..."
Ben & Bill's Chocolate EMP
"An evening walk from the house down to Main Street is a nice bit of exercise after dinner - ..."
Paul's Pizza & Seafood
"An old family place, this spot is hidden away near the harbor. The same great pizza, year a..."
Surf Drive Beach
"The closest beach, Surf Drive extends from the Beach House and a protected cove (great for l..."
Shining Sea Bike Path
"A wonderful bike path that wends its way from Woodshole to North Falmouth. From the house, ..."
Falmouth Cinema Pub
"On a rainy night, take advantage of dinner and a movie at the Falmouth Cinema Pub. Surprisi..."
Island Queen
"This passenger ferry will drop you off at the island of Martha's Vineyard after a pleasant 4..."
Heritage Museums & Gardens
"This beautiful spot in Sandwich is home to beautiful gardens with magnificent rhododendrons,..."
Falmouth Commodores Baseball
"Just down the street, the Falmouth Commodores are part of the Cape Cod League. Take a break..."
Clam Shack
"Pricey fried seafood, but it is right at the end of the street. And you can't beat the view!"
Liberte the Schooner
"For a day sail or a sunset cruise, the Liberte is a lovely way to tour Vineyard Sound. Leav..."
Pie In The Sky Bakery & Internet Cafe
"Take a bike ride to Woodshole, and stop for lunch at Pie in the Sky! Enjoy your croissant s..."
Flying Bridge
"A block away from the house, this restaurant offers outdoor seating overlooking the harbor. ..."
Ryan Family Amusements
"Rainy day? No problem. Take the kids to play some games and maybe bowl."
Woods Hole Science Aquarium
"A small aquarium with a hands-on exhibit for little ones, and plenty to see for the whole fa..."
Holiday Cycles
"You really must bike in Falmouth! The Shining Sea Bike Path is a wonderful way to get from ..."
John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Logan International Airport
Nearest Ferry
0.4 Miles
Falmouth Harbor
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Cape Cod Country Club/18 hole championship course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 28
Nearest Beach
0.7 Miles
Surf Drive
Car: not necessary

Falmouth Harbor is half a block away from the house. In the evenings, it's fun to walk around the harbor and look at the variety of yachts moored there. Night life and dining are a 10-15 minute walk to Falmouth's Main Street, but the well-appointed kitchen and dining room make it easy to have a relaxing evening at home; or use the gas grill and enjoy dining al fresco on the covered patio! On Thursday nights, pack a picnic to the band shell located next to the harbor for the summer band concerts. A favorite Falmouth event is the annual Road Race, held on August 17 this year (2014) - walk half a block to a front row seat as the runners hit mile five!

Bring bikes to enjoy the natural beauty nearby, or take them on the ferry to explore the easily accessible islands. The route of the famous Falmouth Road Race, which takes place in early August, runs by the end of the street. As you can see from the map, there is a lot to see within an hour or two of Falmouth itself. At the house, there is an updated guidebook with information about recreation, excursions, dining, and whatever else you need to make your vacation memorable and fun.


Rates & Availability

Falmouth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Fall Shoulder
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
4 night minimum stay
Spring Shoulder
May 1 2017 - May 24 2017
4 night minimum stay
Early Spring
May 25 2017 - Jun 24 2017
4 night minimum stay
Summer Peak
Jun 25 2017 - Sep 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Weekly rates (spring and fall shoulders to peak season): $1249 - $1995
Note that, after October and before May, the second floor of the house is shut down. One double bedroom, the dorm area, and the half-bath are unheated and water is drained. This reduces the number of people that can be comfortably accommodated during the late fall, winter, and early spring months.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Falmouth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Town ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • First Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Second Floor Bathroom - toilet , Ocean view!
  • Note that the upstairs bathroom is directly off of the double bedroom; guests in the dorm area need to go through that bedroom to access the bath, or go downstairs. One set of towels is provided per person.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , First floor
    Double Bedroom - 1 double , Second floor
    Dorm Room - 4 twin/ single , 2nd floor/room divider
    Double Bedroom - 1 double , First floor; window air conditioner
  • The arrangement of bedrooms is perfect for a family. The dorm area (on the second floor) is equipped with a screen that can divide the room for limited privacy. Bed linens are provided.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
The kitchen is equipped with stove, full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, blender, pots and pans, dishes, utensils, and glasses. The patio has a gas grill. There is patio and lawn furniture. There are two televisions with cable. The den has a wide variety of reading material, as well as lots of games. There is also a washer and dryer for your use. There is an upscale grocery store along the harbor which has a variety of delectable vacation treats, including a scrumptious bakery, fabulous produce, and a good wine selection. There's also a Stop and Shop a short drive away.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers