Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Moondance - One Lot From Oceanfront, Pool, Hot Tub, Quiet Neighborhood, Big View

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Covered Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Moondance has something for everyone! Located on one of the most beautiful and unspoiled beaches on the East Coast you can spend your days doing everything a water sports lover can dream of or you can spend them doing nothing at all. With an excellent location one lot back from the beach, a private pool, and easy walking distance to Hatteras Water Sports (on the Pamlico Sound), your options are as unlimited as your imagination.

The beach activities do not have to end after dark either. Hatteras Island is one of the few places where you can build a fire on the beach at night - something the kids will always remember.

The house has a great view of the ocean as well as sunset views over the sound. Located in a neighborhood with big lots leaves plenty of open space for viewing the world around you.

The first floor has four bedrooms and two baths. The beds in the two main bedrooms are pillowtops - one king and one queen. Bedroom number three has two twin beds and number four has two sets of bunk beds. Each bedroom has its own TV for additional privacy when you need to retire. The deck on this floor also has a swing for relaxing.

The upstairs great room is perfect for unwinding after a long day on the beach. Mix a cold beverage, turn on your ipod (bluetooth available), sit back and enjoy the commanding view of the ocean.

Some of the additional amenities available to you are the private pool, a great basketball court, a six-person hot tub, and approximately 75 movies to choose from.

Here are some quotes from previous renters:

'We were overwhelmed by this great place you have. The pics. don't do it justice.'

'The house was great for both the adults and children. We stayed in Corolla last year but definitely prefer this area. The quiet and less congested atmosphere made for a relaxing week. Your artwork and personal touches made us feel very comfortable and right at home.'

'Your home is beautiful and very comfortable.'

'We really enjoyed our time here - the pool and hot tub were great. The views were awesome and we had a deserted beach - what more could we ask for?'

'Another wonderful vacation at Moondance!'

'This was our second year at your lovely house and we are already looking forward to next year.'

'This is a nice property. You have beautiful landscaping and a comfy house.'

'We enjoyed fires on the beach with smores, frisbee and kite flying.'

'We had a great stay at Moondance. We've stayed at many places and Moondance has been one of our favorites.'

'Another great vacation at Moondance! We love the quiet neighborhood and the comfort of your fantastic beach house!'

Keywords: House

More Details

Mike Steagall
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2017


Farrow Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (2)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Pet friendly (dogs only)


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Moondance - One Lot From Oceanfront, Pool, Hot Tub, Quiet Neighborhood, Big View
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews

Perfect location with all the comforts of home!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week away and had everything we needed! A couple small issues were handled by the owner right away and we enjoyed every minute. Mike was totally responsive leading up to and throughout our stay. If I had anything negative to say it would be that there is no heat for the pool. In mid-April the water was VERY chilly. Didn't deter my kiddo for a second, but it was not pleasant to join her. Thank goodness for the hot tub!!!!! We are already looking forward to our next visit to the area!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good location, sub-par living conditions... and I never write reviews...

  • 1 of 5

See below for my email (bottom) to the owner and his response (top).

No more space left for review, but I wouldn't rent again (no retribution was offered).


Thanks for your email and feedback. This list is very important to me because I don't see the house for months once the rental season starts. I rely on reports from the renters and my maintenance company.

Most of this is the first I have heard of these issues, so I will have the maintenance company look at the following right away:

Ants - we have a pest control contract and they come quarterly but I will have them out there right away.

Top bunks - sometimes those boards get moved around. How was it unsafe?

light bulb

mirror mount - is this the mirror on the dresser?

coffee pot - you should have let me know. that's easy to replace. You did see the backup coffee maker though right?

Outdoor shower - wasn't aware of missing head. They winterize it and must not have put it back on in the spring

dryer timer knob

we have a backup dvd player in a closet

stile - is this a picket on the railing?

hot tub only has one pump, regardless of what the control panel says.

Again, thanks for your feedback. Much, if not all of this we could have addressed during your stay if you had let us know.

On Mon, Jun 27, 2016 at 7:29 AM, I wrote:


It's been a few weeks since our vacation ended and I wanted to bring to your attention the following issues.

Moondance Issues

Day 1 (2016-06-05)

-blind broken

-top bunks unsafe supports

-master bedroom mirror mount broken

-master bedroom lavatory drain slow

-ants in master bedroom

-light bulb burned out southwest bedroom

Day 2 (2016-06-06)

-door lock repeatedly beeping at 1am

-coffee pot wouldn't work properly

-outdoor shower not usable due to missing shower head and extreme water pressure/velocity (ironically, this was a big issue)

-dryer timer knob broken (could not turn on dryer for any of our items)

Day 3 (2016-06-07)

-DVD player shuts off randomly

-stile broken on upper deck

-assuredly pump #2 doesn't work on hot tub

Day 4 (2016-06-08)

-lower connector kitchen chair broken

-ants in master bath medicine cabinet

I understand random issues may arise, but paying a premium for a non-ocean front house should not have this many issues. Many of these items directly impacted our stay and affect my decision to return.

What are your thoughts on this matter?"

Renter (me)

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As you can see from the other reviews of our house, we take the comfort and safety of our guests very seriously. Interesting that no other renter has experienced these issues (except the dryer knob) or given us a negative review. You waited until two weeks after you left to mention any of these items and posted this review 4 months after your stay. The time to report issues is when we can address them to improve your experience. We inspected all of your items very quickly and found your reports to be mostly frivolous, misleading or due to operator error - there were 2 coffee makers in the house (and we have since put a new, higher quality coffee maker in), outside shower head is not missing and works just fine, only one pump speed on the hot tub (you must not have read the operational instructions I sent as part of your checkin package). As I mentioned in my response below, we did fix the chair, the bed supports and the dryer knob. Thanks for bringing these to our attention.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Fantastic location and family friendly

  • 5 of 5

My family of 12 + 2 infants stayed the week of July 4 and had a wonderful time. All accommodations (bedrooms, kitchen, A/C, bathrooms, etc.) were as described and in great condition. We particularly loved the pool and hot tub, the quiet location (the house is on a private court), the basketball hoop, and the close beach access. The nearest beach is indeed not crowded and quite beautiful.

The owner was prompt in clear in all communication, displaying a professional disposition at all times.

My only feedback for the owner is to include the need for linens in the property listing or supply them at the home. We learned of this need with our check-in instructions the week before. Thankfully, the recommended linen rental service was affordable and convenient.

I recommend this home to all families without reservation. The value was fantastic and honestly exceeded my expectations.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. These are very important for other guests to see so we appreciate it. And, yes, regarding the linens...we have made them optional for a fee up to this point, but starting next year, they will be included with the rental. We are glad you had a good experience and hope you will return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

Our family with three generations in tow returned from a week at the beach. Moondance is a fantastic location on a cul-de-sac and one house away from the ocean. The upper deck provided fabulous sunrise and sunset views. The dogs enjoyed being with the family at the beach as well! The kitchen was well equipped and the two large tables provided great space for puzzles and games! The steady strong breezes prevented the beach fire we had anticipated. However, both children and adults enjoyed the shipwreck close by and learning of its history.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time Connie. Hope you come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Northern Virginia

Terrific Week

  • 4 of 5

We just got back from our stay at Moondance. The house is so comfortable - we had 6 people in the house - and there was plenty of room to spare. The location of the property is perfect. The beach is accessible and the view is amazing. You are able to set a sunset view as well and those were spectacular. The most fun was the ability to have fires on the beach - we did both night and day fires. We had a lot of clear skies so the stars were so bright. We brought our two dogs who loved the beach!

The kitchen is outfitted [you won't need a thing]. The owner and management company are beyond helpful. We ran into a few glitches and all were quickly addressed and solved.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
West Point, VA

What a Wonderful Week for a Moondance!

  • 5 of 5

Our family just completed a family vacation with members coming in from three states. All of us enjoyed the comfortable, homey feel of Moondance (and there was a Full Moon!). The decks and the porch swing were relaxing favorites as well as oceanside walks and quick dips into the surf by a very excited Labrador Retriever! The outdoor shower was perfect for cleaning him afterward. Nearby we found a secluded spot to enjoy the sound - perfectly beautiful with the water so still you could see the billowy white clouds reflected. The house was equipped with everything needed to prepare meals and enjoy our time together. The quiet neighborhood was ideal for walks and the pool and hot tub were enjoyed as well. We are planning to come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Kite-Boarding, Chillin'


Rates & Availability

Farrow Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Off-Season w/o pool
Jan 8 2017 - Mar 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Off-Season w/pool
Mar 26 2017 - Apr 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Season w/pool
Apr 30 2017 - May 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
Mid Season
May 28 2017 - Jun 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
In Season
Jun 11 2017 - Jun 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
Peak Season
Jun 25 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
In Season
Aug 20 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Mid Season
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
Off Season w/pool
Sep 10 2017 - Oct 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
off-season w/o pool
Oct 15 2017 - Dec 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 12.75%

Add $200 for Thanksgiving week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers