check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Teecie Cozad

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village

54 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Dauphin Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

Experience Dauphin Island the way it’s been experienced for a century. This updated 2 bedroom, 1 bath shotgun built in 1916 is in the center of Dauphin Island Village, less than a block from biking trails and a short walk to the Indian Mound, Goat Tree and Green Parks. Sleeps 6: king, double & sofa pull out. Comes with reserved boat slip on Indian Bay.

A Central Location: The Whale House is really in the center of 'town'. I use quotation marks because there are only about 1,100 full-time residents and the entire Island is only 14 miles long. You're able to walk to most activities and bicycle riding gets you to the places that walking doesn't. Three of the island's 4 restaurants are within walking distance...not including the Bakery, behind the cottage. The beaches are accessible via bicycle, short car ride, or the town's public transportation (two minivans).

Things We Love About the Island: There is a large bird sanctuary that provides excellent walking paths - you'll see beach, forest and swamp on the walk. We love to go there. There is also a small forested bird watching area that we like to walk through as well (an old Indian mound). The Estuarium is great. They often have fun classes as well as a great tour through their fish/sea life exhibits.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Teecie Cozad (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.7
based on 54 traveler reviews

The Whale House - Elegant Charm in Dauphin Island Village
average rating of 4.740741 based on 54 reviews
Lees Summit, MO
5

Execellent

  • 5 of 5

My stay at the Whale House was wonderful. The house is very charming, clean, and well stocked. I loved it that I could walk to the bakery and S&S. The house is located in a very nice neighborhood. I enjoyed taking evening walks around the neighborhood and sitting on the porch listening to the quite. I highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed having you as our guests. Best, Teecie and Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0
5

Great for Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in The Whale House and it worked great for us. There is a large yard to play. The kids were able to ride bikes on streets around block. They also loved playing on front porch. Everything on island is close, so it doesn't matter how far you are from the beach.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Whale House

  • 5 of 5

I want to say ty for the wonderful times at the Whale house, Always clean, nice little place, I have stayed there severaltimes, but decided to by a Motorhome home and be snowbirds on the island,, but would recommend to anyone....

  • Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, Perfect, Friendly....

  • 5 of 5

The Whale House is perfect for us, It has everything we Need, We Love it, we have been booking this little place for twice a year now, for the last 3 years, And have already booked for twice next year..

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: And we really appreciate your visits! You have become part of the Island. Teecie and Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was clean, cute and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

While an older house it has it's quaint quirks, the cottage was very comfortable for us. My daughter and her 2 toddler/infant sons had plenty of room to play, and sleep. We loved the cottage and the furnishings were lovely. We especially loved the size of the bathroom and the kitchen! Though it rained thru part of our stay we were able to enjoy time on the beach and exploring the island. We plan to return again next year!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful. We're so glad you had a nice stay. Thank you for your nice review. Best, Teecie and Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simple, clean, everything promised delivered.

  • 5 of 5

We were traveling from the midwest to find some sun. I chose the Whale House for our stay because of the price, coupled with good reviews. We were so happy to find the house to be so cozy and CLEAN. The owners definitely put some thought into furnishing and decorating. The beds were comfortable and furnishings in great condition. As other reviewers noted--if you are fussy--this is not your place-you must walk through a bedroom to get to the only bathroom and the laundry is in the same bedroom and you must walk through the second bedroom to get to the living room.

The kitchen is large and great for cooking (gas range), it has every pot, pan and utensil you could hope for.

The island and the house were perfect for our needs. Thank you Cozads!

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us, for the nice compliments and for taking the time to post. Yes, the house is a "shotgun" design! Perfect for intimate family members! :-) Best, Teecie and Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Mobile, AL
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
The Pelican Pub
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Billy Goat Hole
Nearest Golf
14 Miles
Kiva Dunes, Gulf Shores, AL
Nearest Motorway
28 Miles
I-10
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
BJ's
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Dauphin Island Public Beach
Car: necessary

Dauphin Island is a barrier island located three miles south of the mouth of Mobile Bay in the Gulf of Mexico. Entry to the island is made by crossing a three mile long, high rise bridge. An automobile ferry from the eastern shore provides another entry point from Gulf Shores, AL. The island is approximately 14 miles long and 1 ¾ miles wide at the widest point. It is estimated that 1300 permanent residents call Dauphin Island home. The number of residents soars during vacation and holiday times. The entire Island has been designated as a bird sanctuary. Many attractions are located on the east end of the island including a Civil War fort, the Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Estuarium, Audubon Bird Sanctuary and numerous boat launch sites. The Island's beautiful beaches of sugar white sand, public golf course and parks are added attractions located on the west end of the island. Together they make Dauphin Island a wonderful laid-back resort destination.

Other Activities: Biking, kayaking, shelling, wildlife viewing, boating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Dauphin Island Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$95
$625
 
 
Winter
Dec 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$90
$600
 
 
Spring
Mar 1 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$95
$625
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$95
$525
$1,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90
Tax Rate 11.0%

Total Rental Charge Due at Check In. A deposit of $75 is required to confirm a reservation and also serves as a damage deposit. It is refunded within 7 days of a clean check out.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Dauphin Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Completely updated; vessel sink
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Convertible Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Luxurious linens and plenty of pillows
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat Dock
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Reservation includes a boat slip on Indian Bay.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties