check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

David and Wanda Wallace

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, polish, but we talk ROMANCE & ADVENTURE!

AVOCADO COTTAGE: ROMANCE & ADVENTURE in a TROPICAL SETTING, Eco-Lux Holiday!

10 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Castries Quarter House Rental Photos and Description

PRIVATE COTTAGE: Sea Views, Paradise Pool, Tropical Breakfast, Free WiFi.

NATURE'S PARADISE at Marigot Bay

A St. Lucia Eco-Lux vacation with a breathtaking Caribbean Sea view.

AVOCADO COTTAGE and BANANA COTTAGE are located on a quiet ridge high above the sea at Marigot Bay. The spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea creates the mood. Marigot Bay is what you have in mind when you think “Tropical Paradise”.

PRIVATE COTTAGE, 4-POSTER BED, FULL KITCHEN, LARGE BALCONY, FREE WIFI, TROPICAL BREAKFAST, PARADISE POOL, THE SLIDING GLASS DOOR OPENS TO THOSE AWESOME VIEWS.

AVOCADO & BANANA COTTAGES are designed with Romance and Privacy as the keys to a great Holiday in Paradise. The 4-Poster French Provencal beds are draped in netting from Thailand. Constant trade winds make air-conditioning unnecessary. Our large ceiling fan & standing fan guarantees your comfort. The bathroom features a Glass Block Shower and a Built-in Hairdryer. The Sliding Glass Door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous Ocean Views. AVOCADO & BANANA COTTAGE overlook the Caribbean Sea.

SPECTACULAR VIEWS, BEAUTIFUL BEACHES, FANTASTIC FOOD AND RAIN-FOREST TOURS. Our Caribbean Sea views are unique and the Sunsets behind Paradise Pool are famous for their Green Flash sightings.

OUR TROPICAL BREAKFAST is served daily Mon-Fri in the Palm-Villa and is complementary. The Breakfast is Powered by strong coffee (and Tea) and good vibes. Wanda prepares the healthy fruits, breads & juices Caribbean Style.

THE WATERFALL FED POOL is 30ft long & overlooks the sea. Comfortable lounge chairs and small tables make the deck perfect for laying in the sun or emerging from the pool. It is beautifully lit at night.

WANDA'S TROPICAL GARDEN surrounds your Cottage with giant Palm Trees and Flowers. The Cottages are set within the largest Tropical Garden in Marigot Bay.

WE ARRANGE RAINFOREST tours & Volcano Hot baths; recommend the Best Beaches for swimming & snorkeling; and we point you to trails where you can hike by yourself in the RainForest.

OUR DRIVER can meet you up at the Airport. The Drive from Hewanorra Airport takes a little over an hour to Marigot Bay. As you drive up the East Coast of St Lucia, the scenery is ever changing and often stunning.

A GREAT VACATION and a SAFE ADVENTURE. Renting a jeep style car is best way to get around the island. We can arrange to have the car-rental company deliver the jeep at about 9am the next morning. For those who don't want to drive, we can arrange affordable transportation.

NATURE'S PARADISE @ Marigot Bay

Adventure - Relaxation - Romance ...and great food.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
David and Wanda Wallace (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english, polish, but we talk ROMANCE & ADVENTURE!

About David and Wanda Wallace

We are originally from New York and we fell in love with St Lucia 15 years ago. Our dream was to create a beautiful accommodation in a lush tropical setting overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Nature's Paradise is our dream come true.

WANDA: I was a professional dancer for many years and I traveled the world in that capacity. As the first woman White Belt in the US, I practised Eagle Claw Kung Fu and taught Tai Chi. Exploring the Island and sampling it's rich culinary culture are two of my passions.

DAVID: As a film and television director I was able to explore parts of the world I never expected see. When Wanda & I came to St Lucia we knew we had found our Home. We have great beaches, tropical gardens, hot springs, warm waterfalls, and even a volcano. We have climbed both Pitons and earned our scuba license in St. Lucia. We wish to show you the St Lucia that we fell in love with.

David and Wanda Wallace purchased this house in 2003

Why David and Wanda Wallace chose St Lucia

WE CHOSE ST LUCIA because it is the most beautiful island in the southern Caribbean. St Lucia has a large Rain-Forest, lots of beaches and wonderful warm people. It a rare country where you can relax and feel safe & secure everywhere. Stress is low and the food is great. So many restaurants! So little time!

What makes this house unique

WE ARRANGE Rain-Forest tours & Volcano hot baths, recommend the best beaches for swimming & snorkeling; and we point you to trails where you can hike by yourself in the Rain-Forest.

YOU CAN ASK US about Hiking the Pitons and Zip-Lining the Rainforest. We are happy to recommend the best restaurants and markets. Ask us anything about St Lucia.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is a perfect bed and breakfast. The hospitality of the owners and their staff simply cannot be matched. The owners (David & Wanda) were not present when we were there. But Alces, the breakfast cook, Sharon, the housekeeper, and Fabian, the groundskeeper, were absolutely wonderful, gracious, accommodating and lovely people to boot. Ours was a last minute vacation, and David and Wanda easily accommodated our visit. It's a testament to their management skills that they were able to accommodate our every need while they were off premises.



The grounds are an exquisitely maintained jungle garden paradise which should be an island attraction in their own right. Our Cottage was amply appointed with everything we could possibly need, and the views, perched atop a 400 ft. high promontory, were simply stunning. There was a full kitchen with all of the necessary cooking utensils.



Because we were a late booking and a scheduling conflict, we could only stay in the cottage for 6 days. They then moved us into one of the rooms in the main house, which was equally lovely with commanding views.



A special note: we read the reviews that recommended renting a car. My wife and I like to walk and were not daunted by the prospect of walking town to Marigot Beach. Nevertheless, 4 days into our 10 day vacation, we rented a 4 wheel drive car. The road to the beach is a rough road, and steep. We still walked to the beach. But in the end, the freedom afforded by a car is well worth the expense. It was nice not to HAVE to walk to the beach. And the supermarket is a significant distance way; anything you will want to do away from Marigot Beach will require a car.



We covered a lot of the island on our visit, and honestly found no place we would rather stay than Nature's Paradise. And the restaurants at Marigot Beach really are the best on the island.
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

5
based on 10 traveler reviews

AVOCADO COTTAGE: ROMANCE & ADVENTURE in a TROPICAL SETTING, Eco-Lux Holiday!
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
5

Yes - it´s a paradise!

  • 5 of 5

What can we say? Just a great time to be there.

We were looking for a nice, unique accommodation on St. Lucia - and found it with "Nature´s Paradise". Wanda and David were very friendly and helpful.

The two Cottages (we had the Avocado Cottage) are so beautiful and clean...and the wooden porch is just a dream. We did not miss anything!

The house is located in a quiet area on a hill and we felt very comfortable there. Nature´s Paradise is a good starting point for excursions around the island - which is why a car (4WD) highly recommended. David and Wanda also give valuable tips - and if desired, they also offer interesting tours.

From Nature´s Paradis to Marigot Bay is a walk about 20 minutes.There you will find everything for a successful holiday (grocery store, bank, restaurants, cafes). Back, it is a steep walk, for it takes about 30 minutes. Important: In the dark, take a torch! But do not worry - this is also fun!

Are there cons? No - definitely not! Yes, we would choose it again...but for longer!

Thank you, Wanda - thank you, David.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Bloomington, IN
5

Simply wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Nature's Paradise for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have picked a better place to get to know each other better, and just have a really enjoyable time. I really can't think of any complaints, aside from having to leave after our stay was over! Dave and Wanda prepared the most delicious breakfasts for us each morning. (Mon.-Sat.) The first morning we have half a grapefruit to start off the breakfast, and I detest grapefruit, and it turned out to be really good... I was amazed! We had really good fruit every morning for breakfast, and I loved the warm bread with cheese slices to put on top of it. The coffee was also quite pleasing. It was really fun getting to have breakfast with the other 2 or 3 couples also staying in the cottages at the same time as us. It was fun getting to hear about where they traveled to on the island the day before, and get ideas for things to do and things to avoid. Dave and Wanda were also very great when it came to needing advice on what to do and what to see.

We stayed in Avocado cottage, which was a great place for 2! The bed was comfortable, and the kitchen was useful. The porch was large and had great views, and the cottage was very close to the pool (more great views!) and main house. It was very beautiful, private, safe, and relaxing.

We took one tour with Dave- the Soufiere Eco Tour. It was a really good thing to do the first full day we were there since we got used to the driving (all curves!) with someone who could show us around. Dave was an excellent tour guide for the botanical gardens, sulfer springs (a lot of steam where we were), and sightseeing. For the rest of the trip we had a rental car, which we would highly recommend! It's hard to see much of the island without one. But if you have one, the island is small enough that pretty much anywhere is a day trip. We drove down to climb Gros Piton. It cost US $30 a person to climb, but the views are amazing! Be sure to bring enough water though, as it is a difficult climb in the second half. Pigeon point was also a neat place, but the best beach we found is actually right near the airport. It has long beaches with clear water.

We were there over Christmas, and had Christmas dinner with Dave, Wanda, and the others there at the time. We ate at Chateau Mygo for the second time, and the food was delicious, and the views were also good.

All-in-all, Nature's Paradise was a fantastic part of our honeymoon!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Our Own Quiet

  • 5 of 5

The main problem with Nature’s Paradise is that TripAdvisor.com will not let you rate higher than five stars. This place was truly wonderful and stunning at highly affordable prices.

We found the “off the beaten path” style to be the perfect arena for relaxing, adventure, romance, and cultural exploration. Nature Dave’s knowledge of the culture and history of St. Lucia, suggestions for exploration, and Eco-tours provided a welcome respite from the resort style vacation and hoards of other tourists.

We stayed in the Banana Cottage for a few nights, then the Coconut room for a night. Both were roomy enough for two, and provided ample need. The temperature in the rooms was comfortable with a nice cross breeze coming off the Caribbean Sea. If you are a light sleeper, I might recommend earplugs as the night-time brings out a symphony of tree frogs, but it is a pleasant song to fall asleep to.

It is worth mentioning that the sunset from the pool was uniquely different each and every evening we were there, so it would be smart to plan to see them daily.

Both Dave and Wanda were highly accommodating to some last minute plans, and provided all sorts of help. We had a wedding on St. Lucia and Dave and Wanda went out of their way to ensure everything happened smoothly, an act of kindness that we will never forget.

Room Tip: There is a small private beach at the bottom of the hill. We saw four other people there during our trip. Nature's Paradise does not have a "fitness center", it has a pool and a volcanic island to hike, run, or bike.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

What are you waiting for?!

  • 5 of 5

There is absolutely no place like Nature’s Paradise and no better hosts than Dave and Wanda. We heard about this tropical oasis from friends of ours who had gone in May and had absolutely glowing reviews about the beautiful property, their hosts and the island in general. We pulled the trigger and booked in June for a December vacation. It was so wonderful, we didn’t want to leave- and that is very much an understatement.

Natures’ Paradise is above an beyond anything you would expect from a typical bed and breakfast scenario. The houses are perfectly situated on a cliff above Marigot Bay, so you have incredible views of the Caribbean Ocean from both the cottages and the pool area. From nearly nothing, Wanda has built amazing tropical gardens that mimic the island’s rainforest and botanical gardens. It’s worth going just to see her work and meet the extraordinary gardener, Lyon, that helps her maintain it all. The cottages are spacious and comfortable with important details like cold beer and water in the fridge and a hairdryer that is better than my own. The grounds are so beautiful and calming, it is tempting to spend all day there- staring at the ocean and listening to the palms rustle in the wind.

Having said that, Dave and Wanda will inspire you to get out and explore even if you are determined to plant yourself on your backside for the day. With a decade of residency under their belts, they know the island VERY well and can point you in the direction of the most interesting and amazing spots on the island. If you go with Dave on his Eco-tour (which we did), you will find yourself in a rejuvenating mineral bath, having a gourmet lunch with breath-taking views and seeing the most beautiful plants and picturesque waterfall. We learned so much about the island’s history and culture from Dave that we felt right at home by the 3rd day of our trip.

Our stay at Nature’s Paradise was both relaxing and adventurous. There are so many wonderful things to experience in St. Lucia and we wouldn’t have known about half of them if it wasn’t for Dave and Wanda. They are truly interested in their guests getting the very most out of their stay on the island. Morning breakfast conversations provided an opportunity to ask questions and throw around ideas of things to do and beaches to visit- this is a personal touch that you just don’t get from a large resort. We highly recommend Nature’s Paradise, so much that we are planning another trip!

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Romance and Aventure Says It All!

  • 5 of 5

Romance and adventure were exactly what we were looking for in our honeymoon and that is exactly what we found at Nature's Paradise. Dave and Wanda are wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome and at ease. Their suggestions of things to do and explore, based on their deep knowledge of the island and their excitement to find out about us and our interests, helped to make our trip so memorable! Every morning we woke up to the beautiful view from our cottage and a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, bread, cheese, juice, and coffee/tea. We loved chatting with Dave and Wanda over breakfast and making our plans for the day. It never seemed like they were in a rush to leave or be anywhere else and it felt like they were truly there for us, their guests.

The cottage was simple, but had everything we needed for an unencumbered getaway. We loved being able to make our own lunches in the full kitchen and have some snacks available that we stocked from the local grocery store (about 15 mins away by car). The front porch was so relaxing to sit on and we loved starting and ending our day by looking out over the beautiful gardens and the Caribbean.

The location is great too. It is on the end of a ridge line overlooking the ocean, so it gets great breezes and did not get too hot while we were there. It was a short trip down the ridge to Marigot Bay, which has many good restaurants right on the water at various price points and all food was really good.

We would highly recommend renting a car as it makes it much easier to get around. The ridge where Nature's Paradise is located is more remote than some of the more touristy destinations (which is what we loved about it!!). Dave showed us a secluded bay near the resort where we went swimming and snorkeling and were the only ones there. It was quite romantic!

One of our favorite days on the island was the day that Dave took us on a tour down the east coast of the island. He drove so we could take pictures and take in the sites. The spots he selected for us to see were incredible and we really appreciated his knowledge of each place. Our other favorite day was our scuba diving adventure, which was led by Dive Fair Helen in Marigot Bay. They are awesome and the underwater sites were breathtaking. We would highly recommend both of these excursions.

Overall, we had an amazing time staying at Nature's Paradise! Thank you Dave and Wanda for making it an incredibly special honeymoon!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Amazing Honeymoon in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

At Nature's Paradise, we found exactly what we were looking for in a honeymoon getaway! David and Wanda maintain a beautifully landscaped property with stunning views, and the pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea and the Roseau Valley, especially at sunset, is unforgettable. Avocado cottage was incredibly comfortable and provided ample privacy from other guests, even on the large porch which was great for relaxing in the breeze. Breakfasts spent discussing island history and the plans of the day over coffee, fruit juice, fresh baked bread and varieties of local fruits, were the perfect start to the day. David was very helpful in arranging for a rental vehicle, reserving a sailing cruise, and in providing advice for when we headed out to explore the island on our own. We also spent a terrific day with Nature Dave himself as tour guide on the Soufriere eco-adventure, visiting the volcano park, botanical gardens, and Dasheen restaurant for lunch (a must-do!). The trek into the secluded mineral baths and time spent there is another of our unforgettable experiences of the trip. Marigot Bay is an incredible spot, with great restaurants and friendly locals. We recommend Nature’s Paradise to anyone looking to take a step or two off the beaten path and truly relax! We can’t wait to return!

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Petit Piton
Diamond Falls
"The best Tropical Garden in the Caribbean.. "
Dasheene at Ladera
"Great Views, ok Food."
Rainforest Hideaway
"The best restaurant in Marigot Bay & one of the best in the Caribbean."
St Lucia
"The number one Romantic island in the Caribbean. "
Nearest Airport
8.5 Miles
George Charles International (SLU)
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
La Bas Beach at Marigot Bay
Nearest Beach
35 Miles
Hewanorra International Airport (UVF)
Car: recommended

MARIGOT BAY HAS A TERRIFIC BEACH. Palm-Villa and the Cottages are set high on a hill for great views. The famous La Bas Beach is on the north side of the Bay, and there are no cars or roads. You go by ferry which runs 24/7. The boat ride is about 2 minutes and is fun. There are 4 good restaurants and 2 great restaurants on the bay.

We encourage activity! We have some of the best Scuba Diving in the Caribbean and great Snorkeling; There are water sports on Marigot Bay. Go hiking in the Rain Forest; Horseback Riding on the beach; Restaurants with great food in lovely settings; Sightseeing by car; Boating galore; Swimming in the warm Caribbean Sea; Bird-watching, see the rare St Lucian Parrot etc, etc. There is so much to do.

Or you can do nothing at all. At Nature's Paradise there is a beautiful pool with a wood deck and comfortable lounges. Lay back, enjoy the sun and read a book.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Castries Quarter House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SUMMER SALE!!!
Jul 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$105
$735
 
 
"TROPICAL PARADISE"
Oct 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 
 
"HIGH SEASON"
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
"PARADISE in SPRING"
May 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 
 
SUMMER SALE!!!
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$105
$735
 
 
"TROPICAL PARADISE"
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Room Foods & Beverage $10 + Tax
Tax Rate 20.0%

TO RESERVE PARADISE for yourself, send us your Visa or MasterCard # and expiration date or call us at 758-458-3550. We will bill 50% of the total, which is refundable up to 30 days prior to your arrival at Nature’s Paradise.The balance is due 30 days before arrival and is not refundable. For more information or to make a more secure credit card reservation, call NATURE'S PARADISE at 758-458-3550.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Castries Quarter House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Large Bathroom, Built-in Hairdryer, Glass Block Shower.
  • The modern bathroom features a glass block Solar Heated Shower and a built-in Hair Dryer (no need to bring your own). Egyptian Pure White Cotton Towels. The room is Large and Bright.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , French Provincial Four Poster Bed w/Thai netting.
  • Avocado Cottage was designed with romance and privacy as the keys to a great vacation. Our 4-poster Queen Bed is draped with netting from Thailand. Our large ceiling fans guarantee your comfort. The ceilings are high and angled to allow plenty of light and airflow. The sliding glass door opens onto a large balcony with those fabulous ocean views.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
TO RESERVE PARADISE for yourself, send us your Visa or MasterCard # and expiration date or call us at 758-458-3550. We will bill 50% of the total, which is refundable up to 30 days prior to your arrival at Nature’s Paradise.The balance is due 30 days before arrival and is not refundable. For more information or to make a more secure credit card reservation, call NATURE'S PARADISE at 758-458-3550. We encourage activity! We have some of the best Scuba Diving in the Caribbean and great Snorkeling; There are water sports on Marigot Bay. Go hiking in the Rain Forest; Horseback Riding on the beach; Restaurants with great food in lovely settings; Sightseeing by car; Boating galore; Swimming in the warm Caribbean Sea; Bird-watching, see the rare St Lucian Parrot etc, etc. There is so much to do. Or you can do nothing at all. At Nature's Paradise there is a beautiful pool with a wood deck and comfortable lounges. Lay back, enjoy the sun and read a book.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers