check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Helen Walker

Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english, with Google Translate all languages are possible

Valley Village romantic retreat close to Universal Studios & Studio City

15 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Valley Village Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 full bath, sleeps 3-4

Charming Studio City area garden apartment located near Universal Studios, Hollywood and NOHO Arts district. Close to Burbank, many of the major studios, Griffith Park, (hiking and riding trails), LA Zoo, West Hollywood, Beverly Hills and downtown LA. Santa Monica and Venice beaches are about 25- 30 minutes away. Disneyland about a 40 minute drive.

The apartment has a four poster queen size bed in the bedroom with a full bath attached, (tub and shower), a large living room where we can put up to 2 single roll-away beds for additional guests if needed, a dining room and a fully equipped kitchen. There is also a wide covered porch surrounded by trees off the living room with a love seat, table and chairs and is a great place to relax out doors and watch the humming birds at the feeder. The kitchen door leads down to a private fenced and landscaped yard with patio furniture, shaded by a majestic elm tree..

There is also a new gas barbecue grill.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Helen Walker (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Call Manager
Speaks: english, with Google Translate all languages are possible

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Valley Village romantic retreat close to Universal Studios & Studio City
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
Berkeley, CA
5

Couldn't be better

  • 5 of 5

Our Home-away-home was exactly like the pictures on the website. Nicely furnished, charming and very private with a carport in a quite neighborhood. My niece and her friend are both in early twenties from Japan and they fell in love with our home right away. They took millions of pictures in the house. The welcome basket filled with fruits and bottles of water were added bonus. So we could settled in right away instead of running out for grocery shopping. Well stocked pantry and small packets of ground coffee were very helpful as well. I didn't need to buy additional coffee during our stay. The instructions and tips given to us prior to the trip by the owner were very thorough and I didn't need to bother her for help or questions.

The location of the home was perfect. It's very easy to get to Freeways to go to any directions. It seems that it takes about only 15-20 minutes to destinations like Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Hollywood. And just 5 minutes to the Universal Studios. We covered them all in 4 days. We liked to shop at Gelson's which is a few blocks down on Laurel Canyon for grocery and deli. Good restaurants in Studio City, 5-minute-drive, along Ventura Blvd.

It was great to be able to come home after a full day of sightseeing and walking every day instead of to a hotel room. It really felt like home for us. I will stay at this place when I go to Los Angeles again in the future.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
Birmingham, AL
5

Quiet, safe, and comfortable in Valley Village

  • 5 of 5

I'd stayed at one of Helen's properties previously so I knew my wife and I could expect a clean, well appointed apartment, and that's exactly what we got. This lovely upstairs apartment is on a quiet block with off-street parking under a vine covered carport. The apartment is in a great location too, right off Laurel Canyon and very convenient to most areas of LA. Don't let the stairs detour you as they are wide with a small landing halfway, and we appreciated the privacy of being upstairs. The stairs bring you up to a lovely porch where I enjoyed sitting in the morning and where the front door leads you into the living room you see in the pictures. Speaking of the pictures, everything is exactly as it's presented in these pictures so if you like what you see, that's what you'll get. Helen is a marvelous host and we were greeted with her traditional fruit basket, but she also went out of her way to try to accommodate some special requests we had. The bedroom is large and has a decent sized bathroom. The living room leads into a dining room with a small table. We only ate breakfast in the apartment as we spent our days out in SoCal so we didn't take full advantage of the well stocked kitchen, but if you want to fix meals then everything you need is there. If you've read this far then you're obviously past considering staying in a hotel (which Lord knows why you would do that when you can have a full-blown apartment at maybe half the cost), and as a person that has stayed in many VBRO's and HomeAways I can highly recommend this apartment as one that will meet or exceed your expectations as it did mine.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sydney, Australia and Mallorca, Spain
5

Comfort and serenity in a great location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this blissful haven for six nights and our only regret was that we couldn't stay for a month. From its perfect location in a leafy garden setting on a quiet tree-lined street to its cozy interiors, this romantic retreat made us feel as if we were living in an English country cottage rather than being moments away from a buzzing metropolis.

The apartment was so well appointed with everything we could wish for (heavenly bed, quality linens and towels, fully stocked kitchen and laundry, fast wifi, cable TV, sunny garden and romantic balcony ) that it was hard to drag ourselves away.

When we did venture out to explore the many great restaurants in the neighbourhood there were lots to choose from. Asian fusion food at Spice Season was memorable, as was the creative Mexican fare at Ceremony.

Having stayed at other vacation rentals in Helen's collection we already knew what an awesome host she is. Everything is taken care of with care, thoughtfulness and efficiency. Can't recommend this perfect place highly enough.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wow what a gem.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Helen for offering us this apartment for our stay in L.A. It looked great in the photographs, and it is exactly as shown or better. It is immaculately clean and has everything you could possibly want when on holiday. Helen provides a starter fruit bowl which was very nice and a folder full of useful information, restaurants, shopping etc. We just used Jons supermarket, a convenient short walk over the road.

Otsego is very quiet despite the motorways sorry freeways being really close. The apartment is really well located with Studio City 2 mins down the road, Warner Brothers studio about 15 mins away and Universal about 20. We made it all the way back from the Griffith Observatory one evening in about 20 mins and one morning all the way to the Getty Museum in about the same amount of time.

We paticularly enjoyed the terrace. The sun is on it all day. So we were able to have our breakfast outside in the morning and if back, dinner in the evening. We don't have hummingbirds in England so having them on the terrace feeder with us was a real privilege.

It is not mentioned in the information but in the cabinet in the living room is a huge TV.

We could not wish for a better place to stay for our once in a lifetime vacation to LA. If you have any questions or concerns about this apartment email us at leeskiing@talktalk.net and we will be more than happy to get back.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved this Rental!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the upstairs duplex for a week. It was exactly as described and exceeded our expectations. It is located in a nice residential area, but still within walking distance of some businesses (such as grocery and Starbucks). The unit was very spacious, clean, nicely furnished and well-maintained. We particularly enjoyed the lovely covered porch...great place to have your morning coffee and read the paper! Helen was a great hostess and even had a welcome basket waiting for us upon arrival. Throughout our rental process, Helen was very helpful and quick to respond to emails. We would highly recommend this unit and hope we have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Portland, OR
5

An Oasis

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a great extended weekend in L.A. I cannot recommend this rental property enough. There were so many wonderful touches throughout the house. The owner has thought of everything you might need from a kitchen utensils to bathroom products. The location can’t be beat. You are close to Hollywood, beautiful Burbank and Pasadena, beaches, and studios. This will be the only place I want to stay on all future visits to L.A. Thanks very much!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Burbank 4 miles, LAX 20 miles
Nearest Train
1 Miles
North Hollywood and Metro rail
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
101 and 170 freeways
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Santa Monica and Venice
Car: recommended

Valley Village adjacent to Studio City, Sherman Oaks, Burbank, Universal City, Toluca Lake

Other Activities: Universal Studios, Hollywood Blvd, Griffith Park, Magic Mountain, Disneyland

Photos

Rates & Availability

Valley Village Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,075
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/New year
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,075
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$145
$950
$3,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.0%

$145/night, $950/week, $3400/month, (double occupancy), additional guests $15/night each
No charge for children 2 & under, pack-n-play crib & highchair available.
Cleaning fee $100, (double occupancy), additional guests $5 each. Pets $40/each, (dogs only, sorry no cats)
For stays of a month or more add $40 cleaning.
Lodging taxes: 14%
Rates higher on holidays, (7 night minimum)
LAST MINUTE RESERVATIONS REQUIRE PAYMENT IN FULL PLUS 2 FORMS OF VALID ID, PRIOR TO PROPERTY ACCESS. (NO EXCEPTIONS)

We accept Visa, M/C, cash, bank wire and checks drawn on a US bank.
We require a 25% deposit to secure the reservation with an additional 25% due 60 days before arrival and the balance 7 days before arrival. If paying by check final balance required 30 days prior to arrival.
If reservation is made less than 60 days before arrival, deposit is 50% and balance due 7 days prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Valley Village Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Town
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Hairdryer, soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, bubble bath, plush robes and all paper products provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Four poster queen bed, with attached full bath. Luxury linens 400 thread count or higher, down pillows and comforters, plush robes, etc
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis
Notes:
Smoking is permitted only on the porch or in the back yard.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties