check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Walk to World Class Surf from Beautiful Home

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

Description

Ostional House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This Spectacular home is built on top of a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful landscaping. Amazing jungle and ocean views but very private. There are large populations of wildlife in the area including howler monkeys, iguanas, lizards, crabs, kotimundi, and many species of birds including parrots.

Walk to world class surfing or there are 2 other great surf spots 20 min. North & South, Marbella and Playa Guionnes.

King Bed in Master w/Ocean View, 2 sets of bunk beds with single/double combo in 2nd bedroom w/pool/jungle views. Additional single bunk beds in nook.

Large full kitchen and dining area with table that seats 12. High ceilings with ceiling fans, air conditioning, and windows all around for the cool breezes. The House feels very spacious even when there are 10 people.

Ostional, a national refuge is home to the thousands of Olive Ridley Turtles that will come ashore to bury their eggs during full moon periods. An amazing vacation experience for families or a group of friends.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Karen Wagner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 1, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Walk to World Class Surf from Beautiful Home
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
Oxnard, CA/USA
5

Mike

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at was everything we hoped for. The home has a great floorplan and nice furniture. It is very clean and well stocked with essentials. The location is absolutely beautiful with great ocean views and nice breezes. You could not see another home and butterflies and exotic birds were plentiful. The trees even had howler monkeys! The swimming pool and outdoor shower were fantastic.

A short walk to the beach out front yielded great surf and few people. I would recommend this house to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
5

Fun in the Sun (and Surf!) and Away from the Madding Crowd

  • 5 of 5

This sweet little retreat provided a delightful base for our group of old surf buddies to R&R and socialize poolside after riding super fun, consistent and uncrowded(!) waves out front. Set on a small hilltop overlooking the Pacific, the house is well-situated and private. The surrounding jungle delighted us with beautiful flowers, dancing butterflies, illusive iguanas, and vine-swinging howler monkeys. The home provided all the basic amenities (cooking utensils, refrigeration, fans, air conditioning, games, etc.) that we needed when we were not surfing. And Ostional Beach out front provided all the waves we could ride and a nice black sand shoreline to explore for shells and the famous sea turtles that seek refuge there. While we cooked most of our meals, there are a few worthwhile restaurants and a small market within walking distance . Meanwhile, the magnet tourist town of Nosara is only a 20 minute drive away if you seek a change of scene and wider variety of restaurants, shops, markets, and people-watching.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hermosa Beach, CA
5

Relax

  • 5 of 5

Ok I'm a bit biased having traveled 3rd world countries since I was a young surf explorer. Third world means there's not a US style grocery store and the typical amenities some folks want, roads aren't smooth, electrical isn't consistent...it's different. However, that also means you can enjoy something unique and wonderful and off the beaten path. So, if you want a beautiful tropical environment, with a great relaxing place to set up home camp, I recommend checking into this one! A few bonuses for me and my crew were warm water, good waves, plenty of sea life, howler monkeys calling you, iguanas stopping by, a beautiful pool to jump in post surf, and an almost empty beach you can walk to and walk down for miles. Oh yeah and how about those evening sunsets, warm rain, and a couple killer lightening storms while we relaxed with our evening beers. Who needs TV - plenty of time for that at home. I finished a great book! I'd say we had a great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Beautiful home, amenities not as described

  • 3 of 5

Pros: The view from the home, specifically the master bedroom was incredible. The sunsets were the highlight of our day and we enjoyed the quick walk or drive down to Playa Ostional beach to take a sunset walk each night. One morning we woke at 5am and helped save at least a dozen baby turtles leaving their nest and head to the ocean. Our kids got to protect the turtles from the nearby vultures which was a highlight for them. The guest room with 2 bunk beds was also a highlight for our kids as this was separate from the master bedroom and other living areas. The view into the jungle was amazing. We saw a lot of birds and heard monkeys. Sometimes the birds and monkeys would wake us as early as 3:30! You are close to so many beaches. The pool was clean and great to have. The cons: The landline did not work the whole time we were there. Expect to incur some international fees on your cell phone to make local calls for reservations. We notified both the owner and property manager of the issue on the first day we arrived but it was never fixed. The owner’s response to the phone is that it frequently goes out, as well as the electricity.There is a small tv but it only works if you have a DVD. We never found the DVD library. You need to purchase hand soap, paper towels and laundry detergent. The only items that were provided was toilet paper, dish detergent and trash bags. There were a few spices available but no other staple items. Expect bugs. We did expect bugs but not to the extent that was there. We found large spiders, 2 scorpions, large grasshoppers, geckos and a infestation of ants in the home. We notified the owner right away about the ants and the property manager dropped off bug spray. The bug spray worked but was a bandaid for the larger ant problem that exists in the home. The owner is aware and states that the problem will be addressed. You cannot flush any paper in the toilets and have to collect this waste. Since this was our first time to C.R. we weren't aware that was common practice due to poor plumbing. I think expecting this ahead of time would be helpful.The wifi of the home wasn't working and we were given the property manager's hotspot to use which rarely worked. Although it says there is wifi don't count on it. If you plan on doing a load of laundry or the pool maintenance man is there, you will have to take a cold shower. We rarely had warm water when we showered and we were not clear why. Rent a 4x4. Driveway is steep.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tiffany & Family, I'm sorry you had some challenges on your vacation. It sounds like the property manager dropped the ball on getting the house stocked with the necessities before you checked in. Hand soap, paper towels, T.P. & laundry detergent should always be there for guests. I cannot leave any food in the house because of bugs or spoilage. I have never had a guest complain of this so I hope yours was an isolated incident but I am giving the property manager a list to double check just to make sure the house has the basics for each guest. The beach homes in Costa Rica are all on a septic system so we do ask guests to not put any paper products down the toilets. It would be awful if the toilets backed up while guests were there so this policy helps prevent that. Septic is very common in Costa Rica which I'm sure you found out about after seeing the signs on other bathrooms at restaurants in the area. The pool service comes one afternoon a week and for approx. 30 minutes they turn off the house water and add water to the pool. It evaporates quickly in the heat. If you are doing laundry or taking a shower this could be a minor inconvenience and you would have to wait, however we feel it is worth the wait to have a clean pool for the week. You should always have hot water in the house and possibly someone messed with the setting on the hot water heater. This is easily checked if you mentioned it to the property manager. Our home is a vacation home located in the jungle and walking distance to the beach. Because of this you were able to see the baby turtles on the beach and hear the howler monkeys in the tree tops. There is so much wild life in the area and I'm glad your children were able to experience this. Not all guests get to see this. If you had stayed in the city you would not get this experience however you would have had a hotel with all the amenities. Our local phone service and wi-fi do not always work. This is one of the challenges of being in the jungle and it sounds like the property manager tried to help with the hot spot. When we have this issue we just go to the local internet cafe's. It's still a jungle and we only have control over so many things. I always recommend that guests get a 4 wheel drive rental car. There are no paved roads in the area and sometimes if there are heavy rains you may have to drive through some streams. It's all part of the Costa Rica experience. Pura Vida
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Hermosa Beach, CA
5

Paradise on a hill...

  • 5 of 5

This home is paradise on a hill...in a jungle...at the beach. Priceless. Catherine and Randy...your home is beautiful and perfect for a Costa Rica GETAWAY. Thank you for sharing it with others.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I (two) found this place clean, well appointed, tasteful, safe, comfortable and convenient for the region. The owners were very helpful in making things smooth. We wanted to surf Ostional and parts north and south. Randy and Catherine have set up a great place. It was easy to meet their manager and he was helpful to our stay with suggestions and support in getting food and supplies. We had a pick up, I suppose the drive up over a driveway/hill could be more challenging for a small car. Price was very right for the view, the internet, the monkeys, the bbq, the pool and the cleanliness of the facilities. You can watch the surf @ Ostional come in from various vantage points in the house. Surfing Ostional is a 1 minute drive. Surfing Guiones is a 15 minute drive. We enjoyed the place. One King bedroom and one additional room with bunks. Probably best for a family with kids, a couple (maybe two - but one couple sacrifices to a large lower bunk), or buds who need a clean nice place to crash and recoup for another day of surfing or adventure.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed our little slice of heaven. Catherine & Randy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Walk to see the Olive Riddle sea turtles lay their eggs at night on the beach or watch the eggs hatch during the day. Walk to town and several local restaurants. Zipline Canopy tours in Nosara.

Rates & Availability

Ostional House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter Season
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,295
 
 
High Season
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 11 2017
5 night minimum stay
$257
$1,799
 
 
Summer Season
Jan 12 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$185
$1,295
$4,200
 
 
Low Season
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$166
$1,162
$2,999
 
 
Winter Season
Nov 1 2017 - Dec 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,295
$4,200
 
 
High Season
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 11 2018
5 night minimum stay
$269
$1,883
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $100

A Damage/reservation deposit of $500 is required to secure a reservation. This must be received within 5 days of booking the reservation. The deposit automatically converts to a security deposit upon arrival. The deposit is not applied toward rent , however it is refundable within 14 days of departure, per owners rental contract rules & regulations.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ostional House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master bedroom large and high ceilings with Fans and A/C.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed , Doubles on bottom, singles on top.
    Bunk Area - 1 bunk bed , Single on bottom and top.
  • King size bed (1) Faces the ocean., Double Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers