Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountaintop Views:, Hot Tub, Fishing Rafting:Hypoallergenic1 Rating w/ canoe

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 4,900 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedroom, 3 bathroom, sleeps 12: Within minutes of rafting-boating-hiking.

This ridgetop lodge is the largest on the mountain. This cabin is among the finest rental available, when you combine the custom nature of the construction, the detailed level of detail, and the ridgetop views location of the cabin, which borders 11,000 acres of US Forest/Park land, and is directly accessible. Private trail (with no motorized vehicles allowed) leads down to the Tsali mountain biking area.

This home has all the amenities, appliance, and comfort one would expect in a modern well appointed home. Post and beam construction with a cathedral ceilings give this home the views and feel reminiscent of a great Western Canadian lodge. The great room features a towering stone grand fireplace surrounded by leather furniture, cathedral ceiling with a walk around rail loft balcony, and massive picture windows overlooks the mountains and stars. Enjoy an evening in front of the gas fireplace, or outdoors, under the stars with a campfire or Jacuzzi.

Bedroom layout:

-Master bedroom with queen bed and master bath and soaking tub on main floor

-2nd and 3rd bedroom have queen beds, with a bathroom between on main floor.

-4th bedroom upstairs has queen and 2 single (possibly for small children)

-Loft 1600 sf: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 singles, full bathroom, fireplace, sitting room, two high - balcony decks.

Walk out semi-finished basement is a great play room for kids, and features pool table, and ping pong table.

Big Sky II is a new 4900 sf rental cabin sited on a mountain top with long range views of the Great Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. Centrally and conveniently located to the Nantahala River, Lake Fontana, kayaking, white water rafting, swimming, Bryson City, the Cherokee Indian Reservation, the Tsali mountain biking and horse riding trails, and the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. If you are looking to just relax or prefer the excitement of whitewater rafting, kayaking, fishing, water sports, mountain biking, horseback riding, or motorcycling the 'Tail of the Dragon.', you have come to the right place. This cabin is located in the center of it all. Check out our website for nearby activities such as whitewater rafting and kayaking, mountain biking, boating, and horseback riding

Long range mountains views. Cabin has all amenities including cooking, barbecuing, television, and available internet with 4g connection. Backs up to mountain trails and bike paths. Perfect for family gatherings, Groups of friends, or a romantic getaway. Babysitting services available. This cabin is located in a secure, gated, private mountains.

No hunting is allowed. Not unusual to see wild turkeys, deer, cardinals, hummingbirds, whippoorwills, quail, and an occasional fox.

This property grows grapes, rhubarb, blueberries, raspberries, apples, plums, and peaches. You are welcome to pick what is ripe. Please do not pick the rhubarb yet in that it is not past the non picking 1 year mark (rhubarb must be plucked from the root, for it stops growing it cut)

Age requirement: 30+

*** The hot tub from Jan 3 to April 1, due to the possibility of winter power outages and freezing of pipes. ***

MAXIMUM SLEEPING CAPACITY IS DIFFICULT TO ACHIEVE AND IT IS STRONGLY ADVISED AGAINST LARGE GROUPS MADE UP OF MOSTLY ADULTS. As the number of adults increases the realistic functionality and comfort of this cabin significantly diminishes. It is recommended that groups with large numbers of adults look into combo options and add more units to their selection as the number of sleeping spots in this cabin alone is very high in proportion to the overall space and functionality of the cabin.

Please note that the Google Map provide to us is not entirely accurate. The USFS road called "Horse Branch" (visible if you zoom in adequately) is a non-vehicular road so is excellent for hiking and biking, but does not allow motorized vehicles. The map shows it connecting to and terminating at Birch Rd, which is incorrect. Horse Branch Trail will lead you all the way down to highway 28N and terminates about 1/4 mile north of the entrance to the Tsali Recreation Area. One can mountain bike all the way to the Tsali trails directly from this cabin.

More Details

Owner
Charlie
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish, russian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 6, 2017

What makes this lodge unique

This is a hypoallergenic cabin. That means we wash all bedding and bed spreads before you arrive. That means the hot tub is drained and water replaced between all visitors. (that is unheard of, at most cabins) That means we heat and air condition the cabin year round to eliminate mold and mildew. That means there is no mold and no drywall to hold mold.

We do not allow dogs, cats or pets to provide a allergen free environment for our guests. The cabin is fresh and clean.

Amenities

Almond Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Master bath has shower and soaking tub, Main bathroom is on the main floor and between bedroom 2 and 3 on main floor. Upper loft has complete bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • ·Master bedroom: with master bath soaking tub, full shower and cedar walk in closet. Bedroom 2: Queen Bed, Bedroom 3: Queen Bed, Bedroom 4: Queen Bed and single Bedroom 5: Loft: a queen bed, and a triple bunk bed that folds out from a bottom couch to a double and the upper single .
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The property is on the border of the National Forest. Behind the house is an emergency fire trail, and is a great mountain biking trail, in that it is 99% downhill for about 5 miles. Cars are not allowed on trail, and the Trail ends up within 1/4 mile of Tsali State Bike and Horse Park. We have a canoe available which is great for the lake and less turbulent area of the rivers.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mountaintop Views:, Hot Tub, Fishing Rafting:Hypoallergenic1 Rating w/ canoe
average rating of 4.625 based on 16 reviews
5

Beautiful Location, Great House for Multiple Families

  • 5 of 5

This was an excellent stay. The house backs onto forest service land, with an unused, gravel/dirt road right behind the house. It was perfect for hikes and morning runs, with wooded portions interspersed with beautiful views of the mountains. The houses in the area are far apart, so the stay was serene. We had plenty of space for four families, and a grocery store was only 15 minutes away. There are easy hikes and places to swim in the lake within easy driving distance.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

House was laid out well. The beds were comfy and all slept Well.

  • 4 of 5

Charlie was great with answering his phone and fielding any questions I had. He made us feel very comfortable using the house and allowing us to put our motorcycles in the garage. Kitchen had everything you needed. Views out the front and back yards were great. The only draw back was the very steep drive to the house from 28. We had two newish motorcycle riders that had a hard time with that. That said we loved our stay.

Thanks Charlie

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

BIG BIG BIG SKY

  • 5 of 5

This is a large very nice home that accommodates a large family. I must say at first I was apprehensive due to the large price tag for our stay however everything was as advertised. The main floor has three private bedrooms one with a private bathroom and the other two share a bathroom. The kitchen is well equipped and very useful. The home has an extra fridge in the laundry that was useful. The up-stairs loft area has another full bathroom and sleeping for as many as 6 people/kids. The decks and balcony areas are very nice and the gas gill was useful. The care takers made themselves available if needed and trucked us in some wood for the outdoor fire pit. The home has a bare basement storage area with a pool table and games for kids. This is an excellent home for a large family to enjoy some together time. Well done Charlie.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carroll County, Georgia
3

Okay

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful house but with spiral staircase being only access to upstairs it is not recommended for those with small children or elderly guests. Getting a suitcase upstairs was a challenge with the steps.

The road getting to the home is very intimidating with switch backs and steepness so watch the weather in the winter. We left early because of predicted weather and concerned about getting down the mountain if things got icy so basically threw away money. Great place for a summer visit but winter is dicey if you need to get off the mountain.

The grill ran out of gas so if you want to grill you might want to double check with Owner that grill gas tank has been filled.

We never found a way to get the ceiling fans on in the bedrooms.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Nice top floors, amazing view, unfinished basement was not comfortably usable

  • 3 of 5

I am posting my email to the owner and his response after our stay:

Everything was ready when we got there and we did have a good time. However I wanted to email you before I put a review on VRBO. The top two floors of your cabin are very nice. I was significantly disappointed however that there is no mention of your unfinished basement on vrbo, with the concrete floors & undone walls, and was overall too uncomfortable to even use. We traveled an extra hour to find a cabin with amenities that my parents and I wanted with a basement and game tables.

Other things I feel compelled to mention: pool sticks were not in usable condition, and we had to buy our own paper products including napkins, paper towels, and ran out of toilet paper after the first day; no shampoo anywhere but there was soap. We've rented cabins before and understand that this should be taken care of by your management. We called the management company multiple times to get area information and there was never an answer and no voicemail. I'm also very surprised that there is no mention of your unfinished basement on VRBO reviews, seems very odd. Thought I should let you know our thoughts.

Monica

Thank you for your feedback on Big Sky II. I sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected.

Charlie

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear your experience was not as expected. I am surprised that you ran out of toilet tissue on the first day. We put 2 large rolls of toilet tissue in each of the 4 bathrooms. We believe that 8 rolls would be sufficient for a group of 7. We do not supply an unlimited amount in fear of overwhelming the septic system. I am also surprised that you could not reach us via phone to get area information. Our website, VRBO/Homeaway, and the welcoming email we sent, all have contain an activities list. My phone, and phone call history did not show any calls. I must agree that the basement floor is unfinished concrete. It is set up with a pool table, ping pong table, TV for playing GameCube, and a fireplace. We keep it that way to make it a playroom for youngsters. And no. We do not provide partial refunds for the above reasons.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, spacious, well appointed, all expectations exceeded.

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time visiting the Smoky Mountains and if we return, we will definitely book Big Sky again! We had ten adults in our group with four couples. Each couple had their own private bedroom and there was plenty of room for our other two guests. The house is even better than the pictures and provided great places to relax both indoors and outdoors. The property was just about perfect for our group with room for more.

The road to the house is paved which I found to be difficult to find when researching properties. A definite plus for our motorcycle toting group.

The location of the home was also ideal for our motorcycle vacation as it is centrally located between the Maggie Valley, Tail of the Dragon, Cherohala Skyway and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Absolutely riveting riding experiences for sure.

The owner Charles was accessible, instruction for the rental were easy to understand and support from the owners repair folks was just a call away. Not that we had any issues with the house but the grill didn't seem to want to heat up correctly. One call and they were there before we got back from our ride. Very polite and courteous people to work with.

A+ rental property at a reasonable price.

Thanks Charles!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nantahala Outdoor Center
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Atlanta 3 hours Knoxville 1.5 hrs
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Damage Insurance $79
Damage Deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties