Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunset Beach Cottage

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Beds (King and Queen) - 1 Bath ( Sleeps 4)

Located on a gated acre in the heart of Sunset Beach on Oahu’s North Shore. The Cottage has 1 bedroom King bed with ensuite bathroom and an additional queen bed (pune'e). The room can be divided by plantation doors that slide. The cottage is 1000 feet (.2 miles) from Sunset Beach and is a short walk or bike ride to Banzai Pipeline, Waimea Bay and Shark’s Cove. The cottage is 40 minutes to downtown Honolulu and Waikiki.

Features include very private, outdoor living, dining areas, gas grill, hammock, lounge chairs and beach amenities. This is a serene, detached cottage on a lush 1 acre lot with fruit trees, orchids, and more.

More Details

Property Manager
Yuki
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

Great team, very comfortable cottage. We hope to get back soon.!
Apr 2009
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Travertine bathroom with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King Bed - 1 king
    Queen Bed - 1 queen
  • The Cottage has 1 King bed with ensuite bathroom and an additional queen bed (pune'e) located in living room area. The layout is suitable for a couple and a small family. Not recommended for 2 couples that would prefer 2 bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hammock

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sunset Beach Cottage
average rating of 4.804348 based on 53 reviews
Huntington Beach, CA
5

Sunset Beach - real Hawaii lifestyle

  • 5 of 5

Really liked the location - close to Banzai Pipeline and Ted’s Bakery! Rode the bicycles down to the beach - much easier than driving a car. This is real Hawaii and not an air conditioned timeshare with tons of people, so don’t let the neighborhood rooster crowing bother you. There are a ton of windows with a nice breeze and ceiling fans throughout so we did not need air conditioning. Beds and linens are great and the shower is wonderful with great water pressure. There are two areas with a small one inch step down inside the house so be careful to not stub your toe in the middle of the night. The driveway is steep but no problems in our Ford Focus rental car. We would come back and stay again if we visit Oahu.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

very good

  • 4 of 5

The house is very nice. Quiet and very near to the Sunsetbeach and Haleiwa. I will stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chapel Hill, NC
5

Sunset Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Yuki’s cottage at Sunset Beach was a very pleasant escape from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. It is a short 5-10 minute walk down to Sunset Beach. The cottage is on a large one acre lot and secluded from the main house and the neighbors. All the amenities of home. Clean modern feel with wood floors throughout. The cottage isn’t air conditioned, there are lots of sliding doors and windows to allow ocean breezes. Bikes and beach items near the main gate for use by guests. A short hop to Ted’s bakery and Foodland. Yuki was a very accommodating host, enjoyed chatting with her on our arrival. Highly recommend the cottage for a stay on the North shore of Oahu.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage in a fabulous North Shore location!

  • 5 of 5

Not having been to Oahu before, we were a bit unsure of where to stay but lucked into this great location. The cottage itself is open, airy & comfortable. It was also immaculately clean on arrival. The deck with BBQ, outdoor eating area & hammock was essentially an extra living area for us.

The cottage is really less then a 500m walk (but yes, there is a hill - it's an island!) to Sunset Beach and there are bikes to ride if walkng's not your thing. It's also an easy drive east to Turtle Bay or west to Haleiwa for restaurants, shopping, more beaches etc. TheNorth Shore area is just a super relaxed, low key, friendly place.

Yuki was very kind & helpful as well. My friends & I loved it!

  • Submitted: May 8, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall 4 out of 5.

  • 4 of 5

Clean property. The location and proximity to beaches is very good. Availability of bikes/beach equipment was also nice. Unfortunately, our visit included a considerable amount of rainfall which resulted in the drain lines backing up into the only shower in the house (only 1 bathroom). To her credit, Yuki was very responsive and apologetic for the situation. She was very fair and willing to refund us for the day we had to leave early.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The property and accommodations of Yuki’s Sunset Beach Property were comfortable, clean and pleasant

  • 3 of 5

While the accommodations and property were comfortable, clean and peaceful, we had some problems with Yuki herself. She became unreasonably angry with us when we informed of finding maggots in the house. We did not tell her it was her fault, only wanted to make her aware of them so the problem could be dealt with and the next guests arriving would not find them. She became uncontrollably angry with the 4 of us, 2 couples celebrating our 70 birthdays. Said we blamed her for the maggots. As stated above, we made no such accusations. Told us the maggots were from us because we were so messy. Accused of not emptying the garbage for 5 days, which was not true. Insulted us by saying we were messiest guests in 13 years. Said she found poopy diapers and used Depends in the trash. Again, not true in any way. She screamed at my husband and my friend on cell phone calls and ranted and raved so much that they had no chance to question or explain accusations. We did tell her she had ruined our celebration with her accusations and she became even more angry. Told us she was not comfortable renting to us, so we checked out a day and 1/2 before scheduled. She did reimburse us fairly. We did have 1 concern with a broken drainage pipe that drained the waste water from the dishwasher, kitchen sink and washing machine. The drain water emptied onto the lawn in the backyard. Mentioned that to her and Yuki said that was not a concern. Before becoming so angry, Yuki was very nice to us. Just sorry our stay ended in such an unpleasant manner.

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: When a complaint is made, we always immediately respond. It appeared that the travelers did not take out the trash during their stay. Future travelers do not need to worry because the source was found (trash can) and was not from the property as implied. We would never insinuate personal hygiene products as a cause. Bob tried to give me a vodka bottle filled with maggots when I entered house. He used a spoon to collect them and attempted to give it to me. That is the only time I screamed, not at the traveler only out of fear. During your stay, we had flash flood advisory and heavy rain. The yard was very wet due to weather. I encourage other travelers to read all the views and also reviews from my other properties. Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

The Cottage is across from world-famous Sunset Beach, an excellent location for world class surfing, snorkeling and diving.

The property is .2 miles to Sunset Beach and the bike path. Located in a prime location near all famous surf breaks. Take a bike ride to Waimea Falls for nature-lovers. There is plenty of sea turtle and whale watching available for your enjoyment. Nearby facilities provide horseback-riding, boating, sailing and flying. You can play an outstanding game of tennis and golf at Turtle Bay. Shopping and restaurants are yours to enjoy at historic Hale'iwa Town.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No refund for cancellations, HomeAway travelers insurance in recommended.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties