House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)
About Kimberly Gearhart
This is our private home, we are not a realtor and therefore you get all the personal touches of home. We have been renting the property for 15 yrs now and have numerous repeat guests each year. We take our recommendations by guests very serious as you will notice with all the extras this home has to offer such as the game room, new leather furnishings, the hot tub and dry sauna and the High Efficiency washer and dryer. All the conveniences of home, with none of the distractions. Enjoy the gorgeous views while sitting on the oversized deck or relaxing on the front porch as you listen to the birds flap their wings above. The night skies in the mountains are unmatchable and without the distraction of the city lights. With fishing, skiing, horseback riding, golf and more right out side your door you are sure to have the most amazing vacation ever. Everything you need with the exception of food is included in our home. The first nights coffee and tea, sugar, flour and salt and pepper as well as a variety of spices are included. Shampoo, conditioner and body wash, yep they are all included. The toothpaste, hand cream, candle and too much more to mention. Relax and read one of the books from our collection of books or enjoy a movie on the flatscreen tv, while the kids enjoy the game room and all its extra ammenities. Your home away from home where we have thought of everything.
Kimberly Gearhart purchased this House in 1999
Why Kimberly Gearhart chose Rivers Edge
San Luis Valley is ideal for the outdoor enthusiast with its One Million plus acres of Rio Grande National Forest and hiking, biking or horseback trails. Minutes from the ski resort Wolf Creek gets the most snow in the state of Colorado. Gorgeous mountain views everywhere you look, ideal weather cool mountain summers and cold mountain winters, plenty of snow for all the outdoor winter sports you can think of like sledding, skiing, snowmobiling, snow shoeing and ideal snowman building conditions. Summers are perfect for river rafting the Rio Grande River, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing and more just minutes from the house many within walking distance.
What makes this House unique
We are a unique property because of the many ammenities we offer at no additional charge to our guests. We have over 250+ movies right on site so you won't need Netflix or pay to watch a movie. Satelite with expanded channels and local channels. The only property in the area which offers a game room, hot tub and dry sauna all private and right on site. Horse shoe pit, bicycles, board games and toys make this property ideal for families with children of any age.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
This home is nice and has potential to be an excellent stay; however, the home maintenance was not very good. The home could use a good deep cleaning, insect control, and some updates (ie grill, mattresses, and some furnishings). The owners were responsive to my concerns, but most of what needs done will have to be done after our stay. With a little TLC this could be a great place!
Good place to stay.
This cabin was overall a good place to stay. My kids were so excited about the hot tub, but the first day they got in and the jets blew out nasty brown slime. I notified the owner and also let them know that the battery in the keypad to the door was dead. She told me she’d have housekeeping come but they never did. We were never able to enjoy. We also had to buy a skillet bc all of theirs are unusable. You’re also not able to access the river from the house. However the river was too high for us to enjoy, so that wasn’t a huge issue. In the future, I’ll stay at a cabin with access to the river. We still enjoyed South Fork and fishing at Big Meadows Resovior.
it was basic but cozy
The fireplace didn't work even after multiple attempts by my husband to fix it, then the electricity went out and the house got very cold esp since the fireplace didn't work. Luckily it didn't last long. We had problems with the hot tub not heating up, but after messing with that for a day it started working. The sauna did work but the roof leaked into the sauna so you had freezing drops pouring over you, it leaked a lot! The house was not very clean, there were bottles and trash under the beds from prior guests and dust/cobwebs everywhere. The towels were so old they scratched your skin when drying off. The pots and pans were non stick but all the teflon coating had been scratched off so it was not to safe cooking with the pans. The trash was not picked up from the prior guests so the garbage was overflowing by the time we left. The property really needs to be updated with a larger TV and DVD player, no one uses VHS anymore! The listing sadi there were bikes, these were only for small children not adults. The only passageway to the hot tub/sauna/fire pit is through the master bedroom, so everyone in the house was in and out of the master...not cool at all. The house said it slept 10 people, but you really need more than 2 bathrooms and the master bathroom was in the hallway. There were no sponges/scrubers to clean dishes with so I had to purchase my own, we ran out of paper towels and garbage bags and had to buy more. The property was a great location to wolf creek ski area and no traffic to and from. there was a ton of snow and the driving conditions were sketchy but the rainbow grocery had snow shoes for purchase which we needed in order to drive on all the ice. Despite the condition of the house our family had a great time.
Clean and confortable.
Description of home was overall accurate. The home was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for a weeks stay. The dry sauna didn't work properly, but would come on if you messed with the controls a bit. The covers were not placed back on the items on the deck properly prior to our arrival. It had snowed the day we arrived and we had to clean all the snow off of the covers to put them on properly. Very nice place to stay, we loved it and had a great time.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again.
It was ok, but not great.
The house appeared bigger in photos than it really was, the plumbing was backwards & in need of repair, pipes rattled in master bedroom thru the walls, the sauna did not work, you had to go thru the master bedroom to get to the hot tub.
It had a nice enclosed garage, house heated well, kitchen was stocked with everything, play room was nice, again kinda small. It was ok, but for the price I expected it to be more updated.
Tamra I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed I wish you had of called us so we could have helped. As for the Sauna it is working the outside controls for it are shut off during the winter in order to preserve the computer board so it is controlled by the indoor panel only. There was a sign on the door indicating this although that may have blown off so you wouldn’t have know that. As for the faucet in the kitchen the handles are for right or lefties for the convenience of our guests so they work either way. As for the pipes rattling in the wall I will check into that. We hope despite those items you enjoyed your stay.
Home is spacious and comfortable. Only drawbacks we experienced were the grill and cookware. Grill Needs to be replaced, doesn’t heat up due to weak flame. Frying pans have lost all non stick.
Across the river from Rio Grande Golf Club, River access across the street, walking distance to town and restaurants. Fly Fishing available. Hiking, biking and numerous outdoor activities