check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Demi

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Perfect Summer Family Vacation Cottage on Long Lake Near Traverse City!

5 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Beautiful Long Lake is one of Northwest Lower Michigan's best fishing and all-sports lakes. It is five miles long with sandy shores and five islands. 2 Bedroom cottages located only 10 mi. from downtown Traverse City between TC and Interlochen. In the summer we rent from Saturday to Saturday.

Our resort, Birchwood Cove, offers a perfect spot for a family vacation in a park-like setting with mature oak, beech, and pine trees, a maintained lawn that goes all the way down to the beach and a quiet, private setting. The cove is a beautiful spot for relaxing and enjoying the sights and sounds of the lake and wildlife. Every year we enjoy a pair of nesting Loons, frogs, fish and turtles, cranes/herons flying across the lake and silhouetted in the sun-set, eagles, hawks and deer. There are numerous restaurants in the region, many within a few miles. Interlochen Arts Academy is 5 miles south of the resort.

Many new updates for 2016 include new dock, new tile flooring in the dining room, new countertop, new kitchen sink and faucet, new Air Conditioning!

The cottage can sleep 6 people, with two bedrooms and a convertible sofa in the living room. Beach amenities include fire-pit, dock, swim raft, row boat, shallow sandy beach in quiet cove. You may bring 1 boat and tie it to the dock. The beach front is shared between all rentals. Each cabin includes use of a charcoal grill and picnic table. Kitchens are fully-equipped including microwave and coffee pot. Linens and towels NOT included.

Keywords: spring,special,established,lakefront,property,rentals,resort,quiet, private, cottage, cabin,bass, walleye, fishing, fall, color tour, couples,family,sleeping bear dunes, boating, hiking, Interlochen, traverse city, long lake, lake michigan

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Demi (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

3.6
based on 5 traveler reviews

Perfect Summer Family Vacation Cottage on Long Lake Near Traverse City!
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews
Frederick, Maryland
4

Cute & Cozy

  • 4 of 5

Great location! Just a short drive to Traverse City or Interlochen. Nice sandy beach and water is perfect for small children since it doesn't drop off fast. Owners provide row boat, canoe, life vests and even rafts for added fun. Rental home has its own picnic table, lawn chairs and a charcoal grill for outdoor dining. The interior of the home is a little outdated, but was clean upon arrival and had all the amenities of home such as a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee pot and plenty of dishes and glasses. The reason I gave it 4 stars was for two reasons. The first being there was no central air conditioning or ceiling fans, but the owner did provide 2 floor fans which helped. The second being the size of the recently updated bathroom. The vanity is too big (should have put in a pedestal sink) therefore when sitting on the commode your knees hit the vanity and I'm only 5'5. This could be a problem for someone who is tall, overweight or has balance issues because it was difficult sitting on the commode or having to step over the commode to get into the shower. Owners were great to work with and even permitted us to bring our little dog. Home was the perfect size for my husband and I, but might be cramped for more than 4 people. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend this home to others.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Ledge Mi
4

Families with twelve people

  • 4 of 5

We rented two cottages. We had a great time. The lake area was so nice since in a cove and even though the weather wasn't the warmest our grand kids loved it. The canoe and rowboats were added fun. We were able to moor our boat very near the dock which was handy. The beds were fine but the pull out sofas are just that and of course not the best beds for adults. The cottages were clean and that is a plus for sure. Was relieved we were able to take our dog. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Medford Lakes, NJ
1

NO CONSIDERATION!!!

  • 1 of 5

When arriving to the property we though it was a nice place. A little outdated and far from the lake but nice. When booking this place we informed the owner that there will only be 6 people staying at the cottage but we have a large family that likes to come visit and spend the day at the lake. The owner informed me this would be fine.

On our 3rd day we were having family come to spend the day at the lake about 16 of us total. We were at the lake playing when the owner arrived at the cottage and rudely informed us that we are being too loud, at 2pm, and everyone had to leave. She stated we were only allowed to have 2 visitors at a time. This was never stated in the contract or anywhere on the website.

The other tenant had a dog that pooped everywhere and it was never cleaned up. One of the other cottages had about ten cars parked outside. We also ended up having two people walk by our cottage and peek in our windows and doors. Mind you my son was getting changed in one of the bedrooms.

I do not recommend anyone to rent this place unless you want to deal with rude and inconsiderate people!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to your review of your stay at Birchwood Cove I'd like to point out that while you were visiting we received complaints from all our other guests about the great disturbance your group was creating. As property owners and resort operators we take  complaints and conflicts seriously and will take steps to ensure guest privledges are not abused. We offer a quiet, safe and fun environment for families to enjoy our very large and maintained yard and beach frontage.  When reserving our cottages/house we inquire on how many people will be present. Telling property owners you have a lot of family and friends in the area and assuming it is OK to invite them all (an additional 20-30 people at times) to the resort everyday is unacceptable. Had you asked if this was allowed, you would have been informed that we allow an additional 2 day-use guests in addition to the maximum number of people allowed in each unit. Exceptions to this guideline are made an an individual basis, as determined by the managers of the property. Our resort is a private homestead, not a public park.  For over 25 years, our family has shared our beautiful and unique property on Long Lake with others. We are successful because we offer a peaceful and quiet environment, clean and affordable cottages, a clean and sandy swimming area, a large beautiful grassy area extending to the lake and we limit numbers to ensure everyone has enough room to enjoy themselves. This is why our properties are in high demand and the majority of our guests are families that come back year-after-year. Our guests are those who respectfully enjoy the beauty of our property while making wonderful memories and creating family traditions at Birchwood Cove.  
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Lucas, OH
4

Birchwood Cove

  • 4 of 5

We stayed the week of July 16th. It was very hot this summer. The lake was great as usual and the fishing was not bad. The kids had a great time swimming. My daughter and son-in-law were so happy to be there. A good family place for a vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You, Narda. We are pleased that your families enjoy your stay with us. I hope your stay this summer was as good!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
New Boston
5

Wonderful for families!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay! Stayed for a week in the summer of 2010. Very peaceful location with lots to do in the surrounding area. If you want to stay at the cottage and relax that works too. The owners are very friendly. The cottages and surrounding grounds are well maintained.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, we are happy you like it!! The loons are calling out in the cove at this moment!!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Map

Traverse City, MI, Fine, Dining, Wineries, 30 min. from Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, Leelanau County, MI.,Interlochen Arts Academy,beaches,great, lakes, Michigan,shopping,down town,traverse,city,orchards,cherries, Long Lake

Photos

Rates & Availability

Traverse City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late summer/Fall
Sep 7 2016 - Oct 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$120
$700
 
 
Early summer
May 27 2017 - Jun 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 18 2017 - Sep 2 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$120
$1,200
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Rates include cleaning fee.
Pet fee may apply.
Owner shall not be liable for events beyond their control which may interfere with
Tenant’s scheduled occupancy, including but not limited to Acts of God

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Living Room
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 queen and 1 full sized beds with a convertible couch in living room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
row boat, canoe, life jackets, oars, anchor, raft, fire-pit, picnic table, circle drive, park-like setting, 700' driveway, away from road.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties