Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Updated Vintage Cabin with Spectacular Views, Rocks & Hot Tub!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to 'Lumpy Ridge Retreat" (Lic. 3068) This wonderful, year-round, updated cabin is nestled in huge rock outcroppings and has spectacular views of Long's Peak and Twin Sisters. It was completely remodeled and provides all the modern amenities of home. You will love the ambiance of the cabin and its surroundings which may include frequent visits from elk, deer, coyotes, bobcats, and the occasional bear. You will truly 'get away from it all' and fully enjoy the Rocky Mountain experience.

Located two miles from downtown Estes Park, 'Lumpy Ridge Retreat' is located in the revered, north side of town beneath Lumpy Ridge and within one-half mile of Lumpy Ridge Trailhead (aka Gem Lake Trailhead) in Rocky Mountain National Park. Access is easy from the main road.

Lumpy Ridge Retreat has fantastic views to be enjoyed from five outdoor living spaces, including two gazebos: one is behind the cabin and built into the huge boulders with a patio set and gas grill (see photo): and, the other is situated on the side of the cabin with beautiful views and a cozy outdoor wicker sofa set and chairs for 6 people (see photo). After a long day of hiking, soak in the private new hot tub under the clear Rocky Mountain sky. With two picnic tables, this cabin is designed for ultimate relaxation. If steps are a problem, there is fairly level access to the cabin from the rear of the property.

With over 1300 square feet, the inside of the cabin is spacious and comfortable with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Decorated in cabin decor, you will feel the warmth of this amazing getaway. With many large windows enveloping the outdoors, this is truly a year round destination.

You will enjoy all the amenities of home, including smart TVs, DVD player and video library, and high speed wifi. The master bedroom has a king bed, TV, private deck, gas fireplace, and an ensuite full bath with jetted tub. The second bedroom has a queen bed, TV, and great views. The third bedroom has two twin log beds. Each bedroom as a closet and dresser with extra pillows and linens. Cooking will be a pleasure on the gas stove or gas grill located a few steps outside in the backyard gazebo. The kitchen is fully equipped with all appliances. There is also a washer and dryer, and if needed, a window air conditioner and several fans.

Sorry, no parties, reunions, weddings, receptions, or large gatherings. Also, we are a non-smoking property, including marijuana. This is a one-of-a-kind property and we invite you to experience 'Lumpy Ridge Retreat.' We know you'll be glad you did. Thank you!

Cabin, cottage, home, Estes Park, Vintage cabin, Vintage,vacation rental, Estes Park vacation rentals, mountain rentals, hot tub, Estes Park rentals, Estes Park cabin, Estes Park CO cabin, Estes Park cottage

More Details

Jeff and Janeen McGinn
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

About Jeff and Janeen McGinn

After living on the Colorado front range all of our lives and visiting Estes since we were kids, we decided to have our own place to escape our busy lives in the city. In 1998, we were fortunate to buy the little cabin of my father's friend's mother. The views and surroundings are spectacular and hard to beat. The cabin has been a work in progress and through two major remodels, is finally complete. Spending time at the cabin refreshes our minds and hearts and our family is blessed to own a little slice of heaven.

Jeff and Janeen McGinn purchased this house in 1998

Why Jeff and Janeen McGinn chose Estes Park

We chose Estes Park because its spectacular landscape and its proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park. We enjoy all the restaurants, shopping, and special events the Town offers.

What makes this house unique

The cabin is in a very special location. Just 2 miles away, you can be a part of the hustle and bustle of the Town of Estes Park, or just enjoy the Rocky Mountain experience at the cabin. The surroundings are beautiful with views from nearly every spot.


Estes Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , jetted tub , Full bath
    Main Bath - toilet , shower , 3/4 bath
  • 2 bathrooms: main bath is 3/4 with updated shower. Master bath is full with jetted spa tub/shower. Shampoo/conditioner, soap, tissues, toilet paper, hairdryer, soft towels are provided.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , twin log beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) . 1 twin air mattress available. Also, Pak n Play for young children.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Our cabin is nestled in large rock outcroppings with expansive views. The inside is comfortable for 6 people with plenty of room for everyone. The outside has 5 deck/gazebo areas for ultimate outdoor living. Due to fire danger, NO fires or fireworks of any kind are permitted on the property - even in the firepit. Sorry, no exceptions. Grill use is fine. Thank you.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(79 traveler reviews)

98% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Updated Vintage Cabin with Spectacular Views, Rocks & Hot Tub!
average rating of 4.974684 based on 79 reviews

Perfect cabin with perfect views!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 4th time to stay at this wonderful cabin. We love everything about it. Perfect layout, stocked with everything you need and has amazing views from all around. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome cabin! Perfect family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is perfect! Loved the location, about 5 minutes from town but secluded enough to not hear/see anything except wildlife and stars! Hot tub is amazing after a long day hiking and exploring! Perfect family getaway retreat! Would definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful vacation! The house was great and the property was beautiful and let us enjoy wonderful CO!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, close to town. Pretty views.

  • 3 of 5

Inside of property was well maintained and equipped. However when we arrived the oven, air conditioner and coffee maker were not working. Found out a breaker had tripped however was not fixed until Wednesday of our trip. Grounds of house need some work. Plants and vines growing up through stairs leading in to the house and also clinging to windows. Several dead trees and shrubs surrounding the property. Needs some attention to outside. Hot tub was nice on the cooler nights however we were there during a heatwave. Gazebo has nice views and was relaxing to sit out and view the mountains and wildlife.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy you enjoyed the cabin and I would like to address your concerns. On Monday, when you said the coffee maker wasn't working, you bought a new coffeemaker and we reimbursed you. We hadn't heard that it wasn't working. Also, you said on Monday the oven wasn't working but the burners and broiler were. We immediately called several appliance repair companies and found one to come out on Friday. Then on Wednesday, you said it was working fine--no need for repair so we cancelled that appointment. Then late Monday night, you sent a text that the air conditioner wasn't working. Our property manager came the next morning and breaker was tripped. We asked you to reset the GFIs inside and you said that didn't help. Next day, property manager came again and reset the GFIs and then it worked fine. We feel we responded quickly to you and feel that maybe you didn't know how to turn the oven on right and that for some reason, you didn't actually reset the GFIs as requested. We were there in May and trimmed everything up. Yes, there are shrubs around the property and other guests have loved the vines. After 75 five star reviews, we are sorry you felt you had to rate us this way. Things happen in a home and we try our very best to get everything perfect for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Charles, MO

Fantastic cabin, great location.

  • 5 of 5

Great overall experience. A minor plumbing issue was immediately addressed. Perfect location- close enough to town, but away from the congestion. The only thing to make this cabin even better would be a stream running through the front yard- but that is really in the hands of Mother Nature. The cabin was clean and well maintained - we will definitely stay here again. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our 3 kids (7, 5, 2) and absolutely loved it. The cabin has everything you need. Outdoor space is perfect to let the kids climb some rocks while sitting in the gazebo. The cabin is just a few minutes from down, so you are not disconnected from Estes Park. We had elk within feet of the cabin!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Ski resort 1 hour away. BlackHawk casinos 1 hr 20 min

Fantastic snow shoeing in RMNP


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Clean and hot tub maint $165
Damage Deposit $250

Fewer nights may be accepted if fill-in. Please contact owner as VRBO/Homeaway will not book these shorter periods.
Tax is only 5.55%
Sorry, no smoking, no marijuana (in any form), and no pets.
Damage deposit refundable w/i 2 weeks after stay.
For Instant Booking within 3 days, please contact owner before booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.