Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse

Bedrooms 6
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 16-18)

The Lake House is a restored 1880's farmhouse that is nestled on the western slope of Seneca Lake. During the off season it has been used as a Bed and Breakfast. It is very private, surrounded by woods and garden, on 10 acres of land in the midst of The Seneca Wine Trail as well as the growing chocolate and cheese trails.

If combined with the cottage (#231064) it makes a nice haven that is especially amenable for reunions and family gatherings. Many activities to keep you busy on and off the property. In addition to 2 canoes and two kayaks, there is a firepit on the beach. There is swimming and fishing 9w/ license) off the dock.

The large front porch is great for lounging,socializing, eating and otherwise taking in your surroundings.

Please refer to the Lake House website for more photos.

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 15, 2017

About The Owner

This is a photo of family and myself enjoying breakfast on the porch. This is my favorite activity at the Lake House!

The Owner purchased this farmhouse in 1991

Why The Owner chose New York

We live and work nearby but coming to the lake gives me an instant feeling of "being away from it all". It allows me to take mini vacations as needed!

What makes this farmhouse unique

Wonderful gathering place with friends and family especially in combination with the lakeside cottage.


Rock Stream Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Max. adults: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 18 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , with private bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , with private bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , shared bath w/ 1 other room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , shared bath w/ 1 other room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , trundle bed can be a king or 2 singles. Private bath
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 3rd fl w/king & twin beds in loft and alcove. private bath
  • 4 queen and 2 king ,5/6 Twin or Single Beds, Baby Cribs (1) 1 portable crib
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Hammock, ceiling fans in the bedrooms and porch. lawn games (crochet, badminton, bocce ball). Several of the rooms have iphone/ipod docks. All bedrooms have CD players ,radio,alarm w/CDplayers/radio/alarm clocks.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Idyllic Lakeside Victorian Farmhouse
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews

Wonderful house, wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated summer birthdays for my uncle and mother with a week at the Farmhouse, and had a fantastic time. A beautiful house, a wonderful yard and field, a magnificent porch, a very functional kitchen, all made it an ideal space for our reunion. Already thinking of the next reason we might want to rent it!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Ideal for a family reunion

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a lovely stay in the Farmhouse and the cottage by the lake. There is plenty of lawn space for children to run and tumble while the grown-ups enjoy the large pleasant porch space. The house is definitely a home away from home and our family was comfortable in the large sitting rooms and the beautifully furnished bedrooms. The generous dining room and kitchen tables were focal points for long family visits and conversation, sharing memories, arguing politics, board games and coloring books and enjoying great food prepared from amazing local produce. The kitchen is perfect for collective meal preparation. The site is secluded so the sense of letting the world slip away and enjoying intimate time with the family is enhanced. Maureen and Michele worked with us on every detail including some great advice on activities in the area. We kayaked, swam and lingered by the lake's edge. The stairs going down to the lake make the walk very pleasant. We received the full refund of our security deposit on both properties within days of our return. All in all our stay in these picturesque surroundings was just perfect for our family of readers, hikers, game players, singing by the campfire guitar playin' great food lovin' -want-an-old-fashioned simple-retreat-from-our hectic-lives sort of folk. We give the Farmhouse and the Cottage an A+ for a family gathering.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Lafayette Hill, PA

Great place for a large group!

  • 5 of 5

We went up for the "Deck the Halls" wine tour. We had a group of 10 and needed a home that could accommodate. This home did that perfectly for us. It has great charm and character. It was further from the lake than we expected, but since we were going in the winter, that did not matter to us. If you are going in the summer you may want to look into that further. But for all of our needs, it was a perfect match. I also saw others posting things on here about security deposits. I can say that we received our full security deposit back within days of our departure. Thanks Michelle!

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Cozy, secluded, and rustic cliff-side cottage on Lake Seneca

  • 5 of 5

We chose this cozy cottage to celebrate our 35th anniversary because our constant canine companion could accompany us and also because of the secluded setting. The place more than exceeded our expectations! Situated amid the canopy of pines, spruce, poplar, and maple; and atop a cliff overlooking the lake; and in between two steep ravines with waterfalls, it truly was one of our nicest get-aways! We loved the rustic details of the cottage and appreciated the “rough” restoration of the 1907 cabin, which maintained many of the original hunters cabin materials. We were grateful to have the lakeshore area and canoe to ourselves as the B&B guests did not venture down to the lake. We definitely would love to return. To address some previous comments below, yes, the contract is a bit standoffish; but, if you treat the cabin as if it were your own and leave it the way you found it upon your arrival, there are no worries.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
United States

Nice house, don't expect your full deposit back

  • 3 of 5

The house itself is great. The water is not too close, but hey, that might be okay--it was for us! Besides, we could always use the exercise.

We got "most" of our deposit back, but this was after an extensive (two hour) brief from what I think was the cleaning people, but might have been the owner upon check in. We were so paranoid about keeping the house PERFECTLY clean that it became a running joke during the week. Sure enough, seven weeks later, we got the security deposit back, and there we were with 90 dollars missing.

The note mentioned it was for excessive trash (note, it was bagged and taken outside) and recycling (which was placed where we were told to put the recycling). In and of itself, this might have been okay. I am not sure how much trash costs to take away, but I can buy that, But the note went on to mention there was mold on the underside of the table cloth. What? Mold? We didn't even use the table could we possible have had any effect on the mold on the underneath of a tablecloth? Doesn't mold need a certain gestiaion period...maybe more than a week? What could we possibly have done to influence mold growth on an outside tablecloth? Also, there was mention that some of the outdoor furniture was broken, but it could not be proved that it was us. Fair enough--we didn't break any furniture, but the whole note was condescending. We were "granted" a leave from being charged for the furniture...based on what rules or basis I have no idea.

Bottom line; we paid a lot of money--4500 dollars--for a week at the house. Part of that is a cleaning deposit. While it is perfectly clear that the owners need to protect their investment, the rule book looks like a whole volume of the U S Code and reads like the Federal Rule of Civil Procedure (lawyers joke)--it takes a lot of the "carefree" out of the vacation when you are worried about anything, even out of your control, happening which might offend the completely SUBJECTIVE views of the cleaning folks/owner.

Maybe the owners just need a new cleaning crew. Who knows.

Bottom line, it is a good house with plenty of space, a walk to the water...if you just go ahead and accept that you may not get a portion of the 500 dollars back based on third party claims about how you might have acted, you will enjoy it.

-Gray and Jasmine

P.s., I must mention that the owner was very nice--calling me and reminding me that I owed my full payment...he was very flexable

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To respond to this review, I copy the note that accompanied the security deposit refund. Unfortunately the person writing the review was not clear why the deductions were made despite my description in the note. Also what is described as "the Rule Book" is a notebook with all the appliance manuals, emergency contact information and a summary of the responsibilities in the lease that were agreed upon by signing the rental agreement. The note is as follows: Sorry for the delay in returning your security deposit. Unfortunately, at times the cleaning staff,etc do not get back to me as promptly as I would like. There were some extra charges incurred after your stay. The refuse disposal company charged me an extra $30 for 10 extra bags of trash (they neglected to mention that they had a dinner party which most likely generated the extra trash. I am charged extra for trash beyond the amount that fits in the dumster. This is not usually a problem.)The cleaning staff charged me an extra $40. for removing recycling left in the mud room and returning furniture to its proper location( throughout the house and porch). The table cloth and underlining (in the dining room) had to be replaced because they became moldy - not sure how this happened. (moisture most have gotten trapped under the tablecloth?). Some damage to the table occurred but I am not certain if was due to this incident, so I am not charging for damage to the table, but I am charging for the table coverings, $22. I enclose A check for $408. With Regret, Michele Pavillard
Did you find this review helpful?
17 1
Brooklyn, New York

Great location, nice house, a bit of a walk to the lake, and owner a minus

  • 4 of 5

This is a fantastic location. We had a wonderful time visiting nearby wineries and enjoying the outdoors. The house is spacious and nice with a good kitchen and a great big porch but it is an old house and has some of that dusty, old house character that isn't always pleasant. The lakefront is gorgeous but it is a solid 10 minute hike down a very steep slope to get there and that can be a real drag with kids. The owner was unbelievably slow in returning our security deposit and we actually had to reach out months later to get our money back (I think they would have kept it if we hadn't complained). We still had a positive experience overall but dealing with the owner left a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In actuality, the security deposit was mailed out less than six weeks after the renter departed. The delay was due in part to awaiting the bill from our cleaning service and manager for excess expenses. We were charged twice the normal amount by the cleaning service due to the degree of disarray, multiple upholstery and rug stains, and uncleaned kitchen pots, pans, utensils, and appliances. A damaged lamp required repair. In addition, our manager had to charge us 2.5 hours of her time to drive up to rescue one of the toddler's who had locked himself in a bedroom, because the renters were unable to find the key we had supplied them. We apologized to the renter for the delay in sending the refund of his security deposit minus the above expenses. However, in the several years we have rented the property, there has never been an instance when we have not refunded a security deposit (minus expenses incurred for excess cleaning services or property damage). Furthermore, we have rarely had to withhold a portion of a security deposit for such expenses. Although it is a walk to the lake, one can drive to the cliff leading to the stairway to the beach in a minute. The rental agreement states that the path to the beach requires the ability to negotiate primitive hill paths and numerous steps.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0


Nearest Point of Interest
rockstream winery
Nearest Point of Interest
glenora winery
Nearest Point of Interest
lakewood winery
Car: necessary

There is a scenic railroad and 60+ wineries, Amish market, car races and race car driving lessons, Corning Glass Museum, Mark Twain's Home, state parks with waterfalls, college towns of Geneva and Ithaca nearby


Rates & Availability

Rock Stream Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
High Season
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 5 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
Off Season 3 Floors
Sep 6 2017 - Jun 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $225 + Tax
Pet Fee $70 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 4.0%

Pet fee is $10 per night / per pet. $70 for the entire week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.