check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Beautiful House in the Basque Country

17 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Etxalar House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

New detached traditional Basque-style house overlooking the village of Etxalar, a well-preserved picturesque typical Basque village. Set in 12,000m2 of land.

Downstairs: open-plan living area (with brand new big comfortable sofa!), and kitchen with all mod cons. Toilet.

Upstairs: three double bedrooms, one with en suite bathroom and terrace. Can sleep up to six adults. Bathroom with bath.

My sister lives near the house, and is available to help you out with anything you need, for example: excursion planning, babysitting, and food shopping.

Location:

In the Pyrenees mountains, in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Ideal for walking, riding, skiing, rafting, canoeing etc, to name but a few of the activities available.

20km from the coast and very fine beaches. Perfect for watersports, surfing, diving, sailing, fishing etc. Safe, clean beaches perfect for children and sunbathing!

There are many interesting towns and villages in the area including San Sebastian, Pamplona (with its bull runs), and Hondarribia in Spain. Biarritz, St Jean de Luz and Hendaye in France.

Very near the French border (8km) and TGV train station in Hendaye, with Eurostar connection in Paris.

35km from San Sebastian, one of the most beautiful cities in Spain.

35km from Biarritz International airport with daily Ryanair flights from London Stansted.

Keywords: villa, mountains, sea, coast, traditional, house

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Beautiful House in the Basque Country
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
5

A house to be enjoyed in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

A distinctive chalet-style house which is quirkily and lovingly decorated (and filled with interesting books). The downstairs is open plan with a lovely large terrace so it's a lovely space to spend time in. The views over the valley and village are beautiful. The house was very clean and well equipped. Beki and family could not do enough for us and were available for tips/questions or just a chat. Accessible to French and Spanish towns and beaches which we enjoyed visiting. To be recommended.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Off the beaten path treasure

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful time we had in September of 2015 staying in this charming Basque village and delightful home! A GPS was most helpful in finding this quaint, out of the way little village of less than a thousand people. The house is handsome, comfortable, and very well furnished. It has an eclectic collection of books, board games and music and lots of comfortable seating. The upstairs balconies look out over hills with cows and sheep and other farm houses and are the perfect place to read, visit, or nap. Each morning we walked to the village bakery where we enjoyed an assortment of fresh breads and pastries and a chance to visit with the friendly owner. There is a small grocery store in the village where one is able to purchase fresh fruit and vegetables, meat, cheese and eggs, and other supplies. There is an old church in the village with a dekightful if slightly out of tune bell that rings throughout the day.

One day we packed a picnic lunch and hiked to France. Another day we drove to France and enjoyed the beach and a delicious crepe lunch. Because the house is so comfortable and charming, it was tempting to never leave, but there are many interesting things to do in the area, either on foot or by car.

Host Beki is a bright, warm, non-intrusive woman who lives in an apartment on the grounds. She was most helpful in suggesting outings and providing tips for interesting options in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay and would love to return!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house

  • 5 of 5

Really nice house, very friendly owners and located at the border of the nice village of Extalar in a beautiful area with eagles etc. We stayed for 5 nights in July 2015 and it was very relaxing. Would love to keep this quiet place a secret, but that would be selfish. Highly recommended. Huib, the Netherlands

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Extalar Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We loved everything about this vacation - the location, the house, the town, the weather, the activities, and our host! Once you find the town of Extalar (a feat in itself), everything is as described and rated by others. Although you can drive right up to the house, we loved taking the 45 minute leisurely walk to and from the village of 829 (and counting) people. Four of us shared the accommodation for a full week. With open doors and windows (screens not needed except for the occasional fly or mosquito), we could hear the distant cow bells as well as the trickle of the mountain stream empty into the fountain in the yard. Many hikes are available in the area as well as day trips by car. We weren't as adventurous of some of the previous guests who hiked to France for lunch, but we did make a short car trip to Hendaye to shop at the local open-air market. Be prepared to switch from Spanish to French quickly, but most of the locals know enough English to be able to communicate. Days usually consisted of a leisurely breakfast followed by a hike or car trip, lunch out, and dinner at home where we could watch the changing landscape of the approaching evening. Our host, Beki who lives in the garage apt. on the property, was a delight. Never hovering, but always available with tips, suggestions, maps, and answers to our many questions. We weren't ready to leave and are now counting the days until we can return.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Adventure

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from spending two weeks in the Basque Country with another couple, the last week based in this lovely house. The house is located on one of the high hills surrounding Extalar and, so has beautiful views of the village below and its’ surrounding landscapes. The views are ever and continually changing as the sun travels through its’ arc. Clouds pass by, morning fog fills the valley, hiding the village below then clears, revealing the sun warmed tile roofs below. We often had rainbows.

The road takes you to the village in just a few minutes where, in the morning there is a great bakery for croissants, breads and other delectables. And the baker and his family are a delight to talk to. There is a small grocery and several places for a coffee and light snack. There is a walking trail to the town as well which doesn’t take much more time than a drive.

We hiked a number of beautiful trails around the hills surrounding the village as well as those we drove a bit to get to. Hendaye and St. Jean de Luz in France as well as San Sebastian and Hondarribia in Spain, all with great markets, are 30-40 minutes away.

The house is beautiful, interesting and comfortable. Everything was very clean and in top working order. Beki was always easily available and very helpful in planning trips, hikes, markets, etc.. We enjoyed pulling chairs out on the patio and just soaking up the sun and breeze while taking in the amazing vistas. Slept like so many babies. Would love to go again.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

Spent a week at the house and the house felt like part of the holiday experience not just somewhere to stay. Lovely views from the terraces, amazing to wake up to in the morning. Inside of house well kept with lots of space and has all you would need. Kitchen well equipped. Boys loved the outside shower and had it checked out in less than 5 minutes of arriving! Handy walk into the town which was good and within easy reach of supermarkets in Hendaye etc. Useful tips from Beki on where to go, places we wouldn't have found on our own. Loved San Sebastián and got the train there from Hendaye which was much better than driving in. Great base for exploring this gorgeous region and Beki was great to have on hand for any questions and for tips. Would definitely recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Etxalar House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$137
$981
 

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Etxalar House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms have bath, shower, sink, toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Set in 12,000m2 of land

Partner Offers