Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LARGE APT in Mid-Manhattan NEAR ALL SIGHTS and MAJOR SHOPPING

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

LR, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps up to 5

Location, location. This one POPULAR 1BR apartment is priced very economical for the location. Just 3 blocks from Madison Square Garden and Macy's and other major shopping is nearby on 34th Street ( H&M, Forever 21, Victoria Secret, Zara, Daffy's and many others ).The Javits' Convention Ctr is 1 block away. Times Square is a nearby 20 minute sightseeing walk.

2 blocks away is the West Side Highway, which is very popular with joggers, cyclist, rollerblading and all activity enthusiasts. The 'HIGHLINE' is 4 short blocks away and the 'heliport' is in walking distance as well if you are interested in sightseeing by helicopter.

Spacious and comfortable apartment for 2-5 person group.

PLEASE ONLY SERIOUS INQUIRES - * CALENDAR IS ACCURATE - CHECK BEFORE EMAILING*

APARMENT SIZE.: Many apartments in this price range cannot deliver the space or the convenience of location that this apartment delivers.

This apartment is very spacious which means added comfort when travelling. Why stay in a 1 room studio apartment when you can enjoy the luxury of having a large space to stretch out in. Also step out the front door and take great hotos of the Empire State Building which is located right up the road.

!!!! PLEASE CHECK CALENDAR !!: PLEASE CONSULT THE CALENDAR BEFORE CONTACTING OWNER. OVERLAPPING REQUEST OF DATES ON THE CALENDAR WILL NOT GET A RESPONSE!!

More Details

Owner
Berry
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2017

About Berry

Jusophca

Munich, Germany

perfect location in the heart of midtown manhatten

Review Submitted: March 7, 2009 Date of Stay: February 2009

Hi Everybody.

Me and my 3 friends stayed in Jon´s apartment for 4 nights. We were travelling from Germany and were very tired when we arrived. But at the time we saw the apartment the hard trip was nearly forgotton. Nice music was running, beautiful lights were on, it was warm and some cool water was in the fridge. The apartment is bigger than it appears on the pictures and even nicer. There is a separate bedroom and a nice living room with an open kitchen. The bathroom can be reached from the living room and the bedroom, so if you are travelling with more than 2 people you still don´t have any problems with that. What else is to say: the apartment has wireless internet, a TV, a DVD-Player with DVDs, books and a lot of magazines. In the kitchen is everything you need for cooking and eating at home. And best to mention is that the penn station, the empire state building, macys and a lot more is only some minutes of walk away. Accept for going downtown we never needed the subway.

We were totally happy with the apartment and we really recommend this place!

So, thank you again Jon! If we are visting NYC again, we will be glad to stay at your apartment.

Julia

Berry purchased this condo in 2000

Why Berry chose Manhattan

AmyP

Bailey, NC, USa

NY Stay

Review Submitted: September 2, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010

I was very skeptical. I was in North Carolina renting over the internet in NY City. We had friends going with us and I felt responsible. I am happy to tell you that all of the above reviews are true! There were 5 of us and we felt there was plenty of room for the money! If you want to feel like you really are living in the city stay at Jon's place.

If you get as lucky as we did he will even greet you on the street as you arrive!! and then in a city as big as NY you may run into him at Times Square! Thanks Jon for making our stay a great one.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Jon:

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful apartment with us. It truly allowed us to experience New York outside the walls of "Hotels".



We have had a wonderful time here is New York and fitted in as much as we possibly could in 6 days. Although it was cold, it was nice to come home to a cozy, warm apartment.



All our Best wishes & Kind regards,

Julie, Carissa, Samuel, Abby & Mackenzie
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Midtown Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 9
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • River
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
  • Bathroom features 2 entrances. Delivers increased privacy for guests sleeping in next room.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Queen air mattress available
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • tennis
Notes:
Elevator building has 24 hour doorman. Apartment is located on the 9th Floor. This apartment has both southern and northern exposures !!! Ensuring loads of natural light all day. Laundry and Dry Cleaning services available. It can be picked up in the AM and Dropped off in the PM. NO SMOKING: FINE: $$$$$ $300 for smoking inside apartment.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

LARGE APT in Mid-Manhattan NEAR ALL SIGHTS and MAJOR SHOPPING
average rating of 4.4054055 based on 38 reviews
Munich, Germany
5

perfect location in the heart of midtown manhatten

  • 5 of 5

Hi Everybody.

Me and my 3 friends stayed in Jon´s apartment for 4 nights. We were travelling from Germany and were very tired when we arrived. But at the time we saw the apartment the hard trip was nearly forgotton. Nice music was running, beautiful lights were on, it was warm and some cool water was in the fridge. The apartment is bigger than it appears on the pictures and even nicer. There is a separate bedroom and a nice living room with an open kitchen. The bathroom can be reached from the living room and the bedroom, so if you are travelling with more than 2 people you still don´t have any problems with that. What else is to say: the apartment has wireless internet, a TV, a DVD-Player with DVDs, books and a lot of magazines. In the kitchen is everything you need for cooking and eating at home. And best to mention is that the penn station, the empire state building, macys and a lot more is only some minutes of walk away. Accept for going downtown we never needed the subway.

We were totally happy with the apartment and we really recommend this place!

So, thank you again Jon! If we are visting NYC again, we will be glad to stay at your apartment.

Julia

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review brought a tear to my eye..... We truly strive to deliver excellence to our clients and this review says it all. I thank you so much for being a fantastic client. To our new clients: I look forward to hosting your stay in NYC. Berry.
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0
1

Do not stop here

  • 1 of 5

It is not my usual thing to post reviews but after this experience I felt I had to, On arrival at JFK I tried to contact the owner 5 times then again 3 times at the Apartments foyer but he didn't answer the phone at any time, The Apartment description from the owner and the photos are miles away from what they actually are, The décor is disgusting, The kitchen to enter it you have to walk in sideways not even a metre wide with ageing rusty cupboards in it, You cannot regulate the heating in the apartment so to combat that there is an air conditioning blower in the bedroom to try and keep the heat down but it makes that much noise you have to turn it off so your back to square one with the bedroom being like a sauna with not much sleep, There are 2 steel pipes one in the kitchen and one in the bathroom which if you touched the would probably burn your hands but at no time did the owner tell us about this also the bath looks like it had a coat of paint on it, The apartment is over a dual carriageway and opposite a building site and from around 3.30am if you do eventually get some sleep then the traffic noise will wake you up ,He tells us that the bedroom curtains are black out curtains but that again is not the case the net curtains that are along side them have more chance of that as they are of a dark colour due to seeing no soap powder for years, I have been to NYC 6 times each time in an apartment and this is by far the worst apartment I have ever stayed in ,the only plus factor is that its in a good location that's why it got one star, In a previous review Jon the owner told one complainant to change his behaviour but Jon you should spend some serious money on the apartment it needs it as people spend top dollar on staying here and its nowhere near value for money, I have a lot of photos from my time staying there and if anyone would like to view them I will gladly send them to you,

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Success is not without failures, and every hero has adversaries. Thank you sir, for being both of those for me. You and the complaining lady up the road are alike in that you see everything as half empty. Sir, why did you not leave the so called disgusting apt.and opt for the refund. Why did you stay 7 whole days in disgust? And then when checking out, why did you invite me to sit and have tea with you? That my good man, would have been your opportunity to vomit, as you have done so all over this page. You arrived 2 hrs earlier than our agreed time, and that initiated your problem. And again, like the lady up the road, you approved of everything upon arrival including the apt being as described, and cleanliness. Anyway, im sorry that you felt so moved with compassion that you had to write this awful review. Sir, ive hosted many years, and to some guests the apt. is spectacular, but if you're from Beverly Hills, then its probably not. I just do my best, and whatever's best. In the future, I am hopeful that you will relay any adverse issues to the owner. You will find that owners will bend backwards to keep you happy and comfortable. Regards, Berry.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
4

SEPTEMBER IN NYC

  • 4 of 5

It was the third time we come to NYC and always we have stayed in an apartment. This time we have decided to stay close to Penn Station where we found the Berry apartment. This is very well situated and very confortable for two persons. The security and the elevator is a good surplus, taking into account that several apartments in the area al walk up. I thanks to Berry for the attention and I hope to come again. Carolina and Ricardo from Buenos Aires

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carolina, Ricardo, Thank you both for being wonderful guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Well appointed apartment in wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we stepped in, Jon's wonderful apartment felt like our personal home in the city. Both the living room and bedroom were large and well appointed with tasteful artistic touches throughout. Jon was very friendly and helpful, accommodating our schedule and offering advice on the local area, parking and transportation.

Having a doorman and elevator made out stay both easy and secure. The coffeeshop immediately adjacent was a great way to start the day and nearby pubs and restaurants on 9th Ave had a great neighborhood feel. I highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review.! My goal is always to have my guests feel like they are comfortable and at peace. You are welcome to return at anytime. Jon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lodi, CA
5

Covenient and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

I traveled to NYC with my daughter and niece (both having just graduated from college) for a six night stay at Jon's apartment. The photos were very accurate, and the apartment offered everything we needed for a comfortable stay! Plenty of room, a large tv, a stereo, and an air conditioner in the living room, as well as the bedroom, which was much appreciated as it was very humid. The kitchen was well stocked for fixing meals, and the bathroom was large enough to hold the toiletries of three women! The apartment is conveniently located between two subway terminals, but is also within walking distance to Times Square, Broadway, the Empire State Building, and other sights. There is a cute coffee house below the building which offered bagels, sandwiches, and other treats. We even took advantage of the movie theater located two blocks away on a raining afternoon. The doorman, Rupert, was very friendly and added a nice touch. Jon was very hospitable, and easy to reach if we had any questions. I would definitely recommend his place!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very happy that you had an excellent stay. You, your daughter and niece are welcome to return anytime. Thank you for the wonderful review. Jon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Charm, Character and Convenience all in one

  • 4 of 5

Location, location, location!!! This 9th floor unit is a 15+/- minute walk from many attractions and amenities. Using Amtrak for our travels, having Penn Station a 10 minute walk was perfect for our weekend getaway. Food and entertainment is convenient to say the least... fresh markets, chain restaurants, shops and bars all within walking distance. Unit is private and clean with WiFi available. The doorman is a nice touch and the staff is very friendly. Unit owner Jon Berry was easy to contact and quick to respond via text.

Will be watching this apartment's calendar for future travel dates ;)

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there Michelle...! Thank you so much for selecting my place to stay while visiting New York City. And thank you for the kind review. I look forward to your next stay at my place. Much Regards,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Midtown Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SPRINGTIME IN NY!!
Mar 5 2017 - Jun 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$265
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 6 2017 - Jul 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$265
 
 
JULY "HOT" SPECIAL
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
SUMMER SEASON
Aug 3 2017 - Nov 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$290
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
HOLIDAY SEASON
Nov 19 2017 - Dec 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$290
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $60
site maint fee $40

Up to 4 persons - 265 ( 5th person +$25nt. )
** To hold the reservation we require a $200US deposit through Paypal and the balance is payable upon arrival to the apartment in by US Dollars.

FULL PAYMENT CANCELLATION POLICY:
**** Canceling reservation before arrival, 3 Days will be charged to the guest, balance will be refunded***
****** Vacating or cancelling after checking into the apt., Full Payments are NON REFUNDABLE ***
****

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Nearest Barpub
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
Penn Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: bowling, rock climbing, rollerblading, jogging, cycling,

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties