Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Big Views, Hot Tub, 4 Private Acres, Wireless Internet + Tivo/Blu-Ray

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

VISIT OUR WEBSITE LINK BELOW FOR MORE PHOTOS & VIRTUAL TOUR!

Enjoy breathtaking views of Whiteside Mountain and Cowee Ridge from our new, beautifully sited and appointed cabin at 4,300 ft. Savor the serenity and privacy that it's four wooded acres offer in a gated community. Cowee Ridge is just 7 minutes from downtown Highlands and 12 minutes from the Cashier's 'Crossroads'.

- Breathtaking Mountain Views

- Elevation of 4,300 ft.,(cool on the hottest days)

- Hot Tub with Mountain View and Privacy

- Decorated professionally

- 2,500 sq. ft. plus 1,500 sq. ft. of screened porches & decks

- Wireless Hi Speed Internet

- New Flat Screen TV and DVR/DVD and TIVO (also watch your HULU, etc.) in Family Room and new flat screens in master bedrooms

- 3 Private levels: Each level has its own private bedroom & bath

- Spacious downstairs media room with game area

- State-of-the-Art Kitchen, amply stocked

- Bright, beamed tongue and groove atrium living room

- Hardwood floors and ceilings throughout

- 4 densely wooded private acres with a gentle brook at base.

- Master B/R on Main Level With King Bed, Entry on Main level.

- Our guests receive our personal restaurant reviews and activity guide.

The cabin sleeps 6 in 3 private bedrooms with master on the main with king bed, guest rooms with queen beds: each with a private marble bath. You'll find hand selected 'lodge' furnishings, original art and every imaginable comfort. Master on main. Level entry from parking area. The home is fully provisioned: towels, linens, soaps, tissue, garbage bags, paper towels, cleaning agents, etc.

KITCHEN/DINING PROVISIONS: See our website for kitchen provisioning and dining/seating capacity details.

Feel free to phone us at number listed below. We'd be delighted to answer your questions.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Tom Ellicott
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2017

About Tom Ellicott

We own a real estate brokerage in Atlanta and enjoy getting to Highlands on the weekends to relax.

Tom Ellicott purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Tom Ellicott chose North Carolina Mountains

We custom built this home in 2006 for the wonderful views and privacy. It's on 4 acres and you can't see or hear other homes. We also love that it's on the Cashier's side of town. That's the best location in Highlands.

Amenities

Highlands Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upper Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level - Huge Garden Tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master on the Main Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lower Level with Private Bath and Terrace
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level with in suite full bath
  • Each Bedroom has a private bath. The Lower Level Bedrooms has a Walk-Out Terrace. There is an 'over-flow' sofa (not a sleeper sofa) in the lower level family room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

Big Views, Hot Tub, 4 Private Acres, Wireless Internet + Tivo/Blu-Ray
average rating of 4.939394 based on 33 reviews
Sunbury, OH
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed this lovely home and the thoughtful attention which has been put into everything in preparation for their guests. The home is generously appointed with everything you'll need for a comfortable visit to the mountains. The property management company was responsive and accommodating although we had no issues to report our entire visit.

As frequent VRBO travelers, we were very impressed with the "essentials" which were readily available had we forgotten them ourselves! Hairdryer, toilet paper, dish soap, paper towels, tin foil, salt & pepper....these are the littlest of things, but it's amazing how frequently we've found ourselves making a run to the store for something basic that no one thought to pack. And for those more inclined to wonder about the "comfort items" this home offered the best of those too. The bedding was luxurious, the towels and pillows plentiful and top quality, and I think we all had some of the best sleep we'd had in months on this getaway. The spa was extremely clean and well maintained and there just isn't a bad thing to say about the cleanliness or offerings of this property.

We took advantage of some of the suggested tourist activities on the homeowner's "fact sheet" about the area, and were not disappointed. The hiking was beautiful (despite being overcast most of our stay) and their suggestions were spot on.

If you are looking for an escape to the Highlands area, don't hesitate to book this home. The layout is nice offering privacy on 3 different levels, 2 common living areas and porches both screened in and open air out every door. A fabulous place if you're visiting this beautiful part of the country anytime of year! Thank you for the hospitality, we wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four enjoyed a wonderful spring break in this great home situated conveniently between Cashiers and Highlands. We have grown up staying down the mountain in Lake Toxaway and wanted to try staying in Highlands for a change. We enjoyed local hiking, the proximity to restaurants and shopping and also just hanging out in the house. Great views, kitchen stocked with every dish and utensil needed to prepare a meal and the hot tub was nice on a snowy afternoon. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville, FL
5

You won't be dissappointed!

  • 5 of 5

This was the third time my husband and I stayed at the Whiteside Cabin, and we enjoyed it as much as the first! The house is tastefully decorated and as always clean and neat! The kitchen is stocked with lovely dishes and any kind of cooking pan/utensil you could possible need! It was peak leaf week and we enjoyed driving and hiking at Whiteside Mountain, Glen Falls, Gorges State Park, Whitewater Falls and this year found and enjoyed a rather tough hike down to High Falls in the Pine Acres Recreation area. We even enjoyed a scenic drive over to Franklin to see a movie- on the one rainy afternoon! Oh, and the shopping- Highlands Main street stores are my favorite! The only thing I wish I could have changed is having some family with us to enjoy it too! M Gillis Jacksonville, FL

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful accommodations to renew and refresh!

  • 5 of 5

Our first time and hopefully not our last at this beautiful home in the mountain woods between Highlands and Cashiers! You need take nothing but food and drink to add to a wonderfully stocked kitchen. Everything is ready for you to enjoy relaxing and barbecuing! But you are only minutes away from great restaurants and shopping! The gated community is very private and quiet and a perfect place for family and friends to meet! Blessings!!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Too many things wrong

  • 3 of 5

AC was not adequate; sliding door screens need to be replaced; outside flood lights not working; a lot of traffic going up the hill

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We just hate that you had a bad stay. We have made refunds to several travelers this summer as the AC was not working and we could not get our HVAC man out fast enough. I can't tell you how difficult it is to find technicians replace units in the Summer in Highlands. We hope that you asked for and received a refund. We are embarrassed that this was such an issue this Summer. We have spent $12,000 replacing both HVAC units in August and we even added a "mini-split" unit to the living area to ensure comfort. Believe me when I say that we have resolved this problem. Thanks for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

The perfect mountain getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our family rented this home for spring break, and it was even better than expected! The owners were responsive and flexible. The home was in fantastic condition, fully stocked and in a perfect location. We enjoyed every aspect of our trip and would highly recommend the home.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

The cabin is located 1/2 way between Highlands and Cashiers, but in Highlands. It's about 10 minutes to either town - east or west.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Highlands Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring (Shoulder)
Mar 1 2017 - May 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,000
$5,000
 
 
Peak (2017)
May 15 2017 - Nov 7 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
$2,500
$9,000
 
 
Thanksgiving (2017)
Nov 20 2017 - Nov 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,850
 
 
Dec Holiday
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,850
$9,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,200
$9,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $50
Housekeeping $165
Tax Rate 6.0%

Guests who wish to pay with American Express should call our office M-F 9-5 at 404-876-4901, x 0, ask for Daniella.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties