check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Big Views, Hot Tub, 4 Private Acres, Wireless Internet + Tivo/Blu-Ray

30 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Highlands Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)


Enjoy breathtaking views of Whiteside Mountain and Cowee Ridge from our new, beautifully sited and appointed cabin at 4,300 ft. Savor the serenity and privacy that it's four wooded acres offer in a gated community. Cowee Ridge is just 7 minutes from downtown Highlands and 12 minutes from the Cashier's 'Crossroads'.

- Breathtaking Mountain Views

- Elevation of 4,300 ft.,(cool on the hottest days)

- Hot Tub with Mountain View and Privacy

- Decorated professionally

- 2,500 sq. ft. plus 1,500 sq. ft. of screened porches & decks

- Wireless Hi Speed Internet

- New Flat Screen TV and DVR/DVD and TIVO (also watch your HULU, etc.) in Family Room and new flat screens in master bedrooms

- 3 Private levels: Each level has its own private bedroom & bath

- Spacious downstairs media room with game area

- State-of-the-Art Kitchen, amply stocked

- Bright, beamed tongue and groove atrium living room

- Hardwood floors and ceilings throughout

- 4 densely wooded private acres with a gentle brook at base.

- Master B/R on Main Level With King Bed, Entry on Main level.

- Our guests receive our personal restaurant reviews and activity guide.

The cabin sleeps 6 in 3 private bedrooms with master on the main with king bed, guest rooms with queen beds: each with a private marble bath. You'll find hand selected 'lodge' furnishings, original art and every imaginable comfort. Master on main. Level entry from parking area. The home is fully provisioned: towels, linens, soaps, tissue, garbage bags, paper towels, cleaning agents, etc.

KITCHEN/DINING PROVISIONS: See our website for kitchen provisioning and dining/seating capacity details.

Feel free to phone us at number listed below. We'd be delighted to answer your questions.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible

Tom Ellicott
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner

About Tom Ellicott

We own a real estate brokerage in Atlanta and enjoy getting to Highlands on the weekends to relax.

Tom Ellicott purchased this cabin in 2007

Why Tom Ellicott chose North Carolina Mountains

We custom built this home in 2006 for the wonderful views and privacy. It's on 4 acres and you can't see or hear other homes. We also love that it's on the Cashier's side of town. That's the best location in Highlands.


based on 30 traveler reviews

Big Views, Hot Tub, 4 Private Acres, Wireless Internet + Tivo/Blu-Ray
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 30 reviews

Wonderful accommodations to renew and refresh!

  • 5 of 5

Our first time and hopefully not our last at this beautiful home in the mountain woods between Highlands and Cashiers! You need take nothing but food and drink to add to a wonderfully stocked kitchen. Everything is ready for you to enjoy relaxing and barbecuing! But you are only minutes away from great restaurants and shopping! The gated community is very private and quiet and a perfect place for family and friends to meet! Blessings!!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Too many things wrong

  • 3 of 5

AC was not adequate; sliding door screens need to be replaced; outside flood lights not working; a lot of traffic going up the hill

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We just hate that you had a bad stay. We have made refunds to several travelers this summer as the AC was not working and we could not get our HVAC man out fast enough. I can't tell you how difficult it is to find technicians replace units in the Summer in Highlands. We hope that you asked for and received a refund. We are embarrassed that this was such an issue this Summer. We have spent $12,000 replacing both HVAC units in August and we even added a "mini-split" unit to the living area to ensure comfort. Believe me when I say that we have resolved this problem. Thanks for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The perfect mountain getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Our family rented this home for spring break, and it was even better than expected! The owners were responsive and flexible. The home was in fantastic condition, fully stocked and in a perfect location. We enjoyed every aspect of our trip and would highly recommend the home.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Mountain rental

  • 5 of 5

NICE house !! Cleaned & ready for use. Views were great. Very quiet.

The rental procedures were easy.. The rental staff was a big help.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

FANTASTIC Spring Break in the Mountains!!

  • 5 of 5

The home is just as pictured - very beautifully decorated and in great shape! The kitchen is a cook's dream - it has every pot, pan, serving dish, etc that you would ever need. Very private lot with two screened porches and one open with rocking chairs and a wonderful view of pure nature. The owner's provided an excellent guide to local things to do and the restaurants of both Highlands and Cashiers - spot on with their recommendations and we can't wait to go back to try the ones we didn't have the time to try. Tom provided great service and I have already recommended it to friends who are interested in traveling to the area. The Whiteside Moutain trail is less than 5 minutes from the house and the easy hike provides incredible views (our 5th grade daughters never complained - if you have kids you know that's an easy hike!!) We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this home!!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Family Weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Whiteside Cabin is a beautiful home with an incredible view! Just as described and more lovely than the pictures. Perfect for 3 families with the layout of the home. Well appointed kitchen. Master bed is very comfortable..a must for us! Loved having a true wood burning fireplace. The list of activities and restaurants provided were greatly appreciated. Wild Thyme was a hit for dinner and we had breakfast twice at Mountain Fresh Grocery.Visited Bridal Veil Falls and Dry Falls on a beautiful sunny afternoon. Our first stay in Highlands was really enjoyable. Would love to make a return visit ! Tom and Kevin thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


The cabin is located 1/2 way between Highlands and Cashiers, but in Highlands. It's about 10 minutes to either town - east or west.


Rates & Availability

Highlands Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Peak (2016)
May 1 2016 - Nov 19 2016
5 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving (2016)
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
Winter (Shoulder)
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
Dec Holiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
Spring (Shoulder)
Mar 1 2017 - May 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping $165
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 6.0%

Guests who wish to pay with American Express should call our office M-F 9-5 at 404-876-4901, x 0, ask for Daniella.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Highlands Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upper Level
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level - Huge Garden Tub
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master on the Main Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Lower Level with Private Bath and Terrace
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upper Level with in suite full bath
  • Each Bedroom has a private bath. The Lower Level Bedrooms has a Walk-Out Terrace. There is an 'over-flow' sofa (not a sleeper sofa) in the lower level family room.
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties