Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Grizzlys Den Cabin- Updated Pictures, Beautiful View! Game Room, Hot Tub

Sleeps22
Bedrooms 5
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 12-24)

Click on the video link for a tour of Grizzlys Den- updated Jan 2018

OUR CALENDAR IS UPDATED, We have other properties in Gatlinburg ranging from 4-6 bedrooms. Feel free to contact us for additional options if this property is already reserved.

Snuggled in the woods above Gatlinburg, this cabin boasts logs that are 2 feet in diameter. A wrap around 2 story deck that will either allow you a view that will absolutely take your breath away or let you sit in the privacy of your own wooded setting.

This cabin has five bedrooms and five baths and will sleep 23 comfortably. With a spacious view of The Greenbrier Pinnacle you can see for miles with an unabated view of the national forest and rolling hills.

Keep the entire group together! The enormous main floor has plenty of room for everyone in your group to relax or play games while watching a movie on the big flat screen TV in front of a cozy fire.

The kitchen is also on the main floor with an open floor plan that allows everyone to enjoy conversation and interactive fun while cooking dinner. Or you can relax in one of the cozy rocking chairs and wait for your turn on the pool table that is also on the majestic glass encased main floor!

The top floor offers two beautifully decorated bedrooms with private baths for each of them and a queen sized futon on the landing. The master suite to the left also has a queen sleeper sofa and plenty of room for rest and relaxation in the king size bed.

The views from the deck are so breathtaking you will not want to leave the rockers once you sit down and take in the clear blue skies that surround this magnificent cabin. Sit and relax in the hot tub on the lower level deck, surrounded by stack stone walls on one side and the wide open mountain view on the other it is a perfect spot for relaxation or a romantic retreat.

We are located only 12 miles from downtown Gatlinburg, a short 12-15 minute drive (all paved roads). Grizzlys Den provides the best of both worlds for those wanting to see the local attractions of downtown and those who want the true Smoky Mountain experience of a beautiful, private mountain setting!

Amenities include:

• 5 Bedrooms all equipped with flat screen TV's

• Sleeps 23

• 4 King Beds, 1 Queen over Queen, and sleeper sofas

• Mountain Setting with Breathtaking Views

• Hot Tub On Deck

• 55" Flat Screen TV in living room

• Pool Table and Air Hockey, Card table

• 2 Arcade Style Video Games

• Stone Gas Fireplaces

• Washer and Dryer

• Dishwasher

• Grill- Charcoal

• Free Local Phone Calls

• Central Heat and Air

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details

Owner
Kelly Woodring
-
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 16, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family brought back many happy, precious memories from our week at Grizzly's Den! Everyone agreed it was the best Christmas ever! And thank you for your prompt responses to our questions and issues.



Happy New Year and we hope we will be able to return sometime.
Dec 2017
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Gatlinburg Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 20 people
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 4 sleep sofa /futon , sleeper sofas in gameroom, livingroom, loft
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Game Room ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Grizzlys Den Cabin- Updated Pictures, Beautiful View! Game Room, Hot Tub
average rating of 4.5 based on 20 reviews
3

Great, but.....

  • 3 of 5

We loved the size and the layout of the chalet!! You had plenty of kitchen items to accommodate a large group. The view was beautiful. The fireplace went out the first night we were there. A service man came right up but had to come back serval times since it kept going out. Eventually we were told that a entire new fireplace would need to be installed. That would happen after we left.

My biggest complaint would be the mouse droppings found in beds and bathroom. I heard scurrying the first night which was different then then the squirrels in the rafters. We now know they were in the chalet. This would prevent us from renting this chalet in the future.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recent stay. As you stated in your review accurately, there was an issue with the fireplace during your stay. While we responded immediately, it was unable to be repaired due to an insert having to be ordered and we understand this was disappointing. Regarding your statement about "droppings", this was not reported to us during or after your stay. Had we been made aware we would have sent someone out promptly to inspect the premises. Not only were we not notified, there was no mention made of this to the maintenance man who was on site as per your review several times during your stay. All of our cabins have monthly pest control and the cabins are inspected by housekeeping prior to and after each guest stay. While all the necessary precautions are taken for pest control, we are in a wildlife area and should something arise during a guest's stay we are prepared to respond if notified. We regret that the stay did not meet your expectations but hope that you do return to the great Smoky Mountains. Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

perfect size for large family!

  • 4 of 5

Perfect size for a large extended family. Game room downstairs is awesome for grands and multi levels allow adult children the space they need. Our second stay and we will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recent stay with us at Grizzlys Den. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be back again. We welcome you anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spring Hill, FL
5

Perfect Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We planned a family summer vacation in the mountains to celebrate our parents' 60th anniversary -- we are so happy we chose Grizzly's Den! The cabin was spacious, clean and well-appointed. There were 17 of us and we had plenty of room -- also, it was great to have a big enough table and enough chairs to all be able to sit and enjoy meals together. We cooked the majority of our meals at the cabin and there were plenty of pots, cooking utensils, plates, etc. We were short on towels when we arrived, but we alerted the owner and received more towels within several hours. One of the best parts of our stay was seeing bears - not just once, but on several occasions, right in the back yard. The day we arrived, a mother and cubs showed up to welcome us! A couple of storms rolled through during our stay which resulted in brief power outages on two evenings. Being from Florida, we are used to this and weren't terribly inconvenienced -- but if we could make one suggestion it would be for flashlights to be stashed away for guests to use in those situations, as the cabin can get pretty dark at night.

All in all, we had a great stay at Grizzly's Den. We hated to leave and would definitely stay at this cabin again!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Maria for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the bears are just an added bonus I sent your way:). It was my pleasure helping you plan your vacation/celebration. Thank you for being understanding during the power outages from the storms and for being great guests! We hope to see you again soon. Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago
5

Mountain Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We recently completed a visit to Gatlinburg and Grizzly's Den. It was awesome. We had 16 guests in the house and we were very comfortable. The house was better than what was displayed in the photos. Very comfortable and very well furnished. We had a number of teens who were thrilled with the video games, the air hockey table, the pool table and the hot tub.

We re making plans to return next year. Our expectations were exceeded.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your review! Happy to hear everyone was pleased. We look forward to having you return in the future. Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Thibodaux. La
5

2015 Family Vacation 2 Grizzly's Den

  • 5 of 5

Wow, what can I say about Grizzly's Den that would do justice to the property. The mountain setting was amazing offering breathtaking views of the valley below and mountains in the distance. The sunrise and sunset pictures were incredible as were the changing views throughout the day. Smoky valleys in the morning and rising clouds as the day heated up mixed in with rain showers and cloud formations that changed by the minute and then the orange and pink and red skies at sunset were definitely photo worthy. Location was 10 miles from Gatlinburg with easy access to grocery store and gas and parking for the trolley. In 15 minutes you could be in either Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge. We enjoys several hikes in the National Park and went whitewater rafting on the Pigeon River. All in all our stay at Grizzly's Den was amazing and cabin was spacious, relaxing and accomodating for our party of 15. Kitchen setup with huge dining table was amazing. Oh and did I mention the BEARS! Gotta see it to believe it. Thanks Kelly for being so helpful . Will definitely come back in the future. Had a GREAT WEEK in the Smokies. Thanks GMT

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your awesome review! Sounds like you had an action packed week in the smokies! We are happy you chose Grizzly's Den and I guess it lived up to its name considering you got to see our neighbors (also known as the BEARS! ;).. I am happy your family enjoyed the visit. Thank you for allowing me to assist you in planning your Smokey Mountain vacation. Kelly
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Albany, IN
5

No regrets with this chalet!!!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was everything we hoped for. It was spacious and clean and the view was gorgeous. We visit Gatlinburg frequently and will return to this cabin. Although located 10 miles from downtown Gatlinburg it was a very easy drive. The owners were great to deal with.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2014
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Knoxville, TN

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175 + Tax
Reservation Fee $35 + Tax
Damage Insurance $49
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.