check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Saltscapes Retreat - only minutes walk to the best beach in PEI.

22 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights


Prince Edward Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description

PEI Beach Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bathroom, sleeps 6-8

Looking for a seaside getaway in a ultra modern cottage? Spend a week exploring one of the most picturesque areas on Prince Edward Island. Just a stroll away from Thunder Cove Beach, famous for its white stretching sands and massive dunes that leave you breathless. Indulge in a feed of world famous Malpeque oysters. Enjoy an outdoor lobster/corn boil (outdoor boiler provided) and a glass of wine by the fire pit. Minutes from golf courses, deep sea fishing, kayaking and other attractions such as Anne of Green Gables, The Haunted Mansion, Dairy Bar, Water parks, shopping and children's adventures. Treat yourself to one of Canada's Top 10 rated restaurants only 5 minutes away. Partake in a Malpeque Ceilidh (pronounced kay-lee) music festival at the Malpeque Women's Institute Hall - fiddling, stories, music and fresh Island ice cream and strawberries - every Wednesday evening just minutes from the cottage.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
ed thompson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english


based on 22 traveler reviews

Saltscapes Retreat - only minutes walk to the best beach in PEI.
average rating of 4.681818 based on 22 reviews
San Antonio, TX USA

Fantastic Beach Retreat!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 (kids aged 15,13 & 9) plus Grandma stayed in the brand new cottage of this connected two-home complex in late July. Despite us being one of the first to rent this home, it was better equipped than most of the other vacation homes we've stayed in over the years. This cottage was very thoughtfully designed to get the most functionality out of a small space and take advantage of the view. Being only a 5 minute walk to the beach was ideal - we could come & go as we pleased. The room between the two cottages functioned as both a privacy buffer and a connecting point. We'd love to return with another family and rent the whole thing. We had a wonderful, relaxing time enjoying the beauty of the area and being unplugged from technology. Ed was great to work with and very responsive. Thanks for sharing your home with us - we hope to be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Raike Family. It was such a pleasure having you as guests this Summer. As one of the very first people in the NEW cottage, we were nervous that we had missed some "necessary" basics in the kitchen....and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with everything. We appreciated your tips for the few tips you left us of things that would have made your life easier. We went out and picked them up right away for the next guests. They were helpful, so thank you. Mother Nature was on your side and we were thrilled that you had a beautiful week at the beach. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, The Thompsons.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Misleading communication, then misery

  • 1 of 5

Our experience here was confusing and difficult, and we eventually left the cabin on our date of check-in to find other lodging. Our rental fee was *not* refunded.

When we booked the property, it was unclear it's actually 2 cabins: an older cabin and a new connected cabin. (This page at the time presented it as 1 property.) We booked the older cabin, but were asked after we signed the rental agreement whether we'd mind switching.

This was during a week of not knowing whether our rental agreement had been accepted or whether we should look elsewhere. When we finally heard back from the owners, we agreed over the phone, then crossed our fingers and left for Canada.

While we were traveling the owners told us we hadn't wired enough money -- they'd sent us the wrong amount in an email. It was a simple mistake, but we were already in Canada and couldn't wire more. We agreed to meet their agent at the property at a certain time, with cash.

When we arrived, that agent wasn't there. We waited hours, and she never showed up. In the meantime we realized the cabin wasn't ready for us. The doorknob hadn't been installed in the front door.

We were all hungry and tired (and there was no toilet paper), but we didn't feel we could leave the cabin -- the door wouldn't lock, and we didn't want to miss the property manager.

All this was frustrating and confusing, but not horrible.

It got horrible when we finally reached the owner. Mr. Thompson was very, very angry. He kept saying that no one had stayed in the cottage before -- so the door couldn't be broken. (What did he expect us to say? That we broke it? It hadn't even been installed.)

He was angry that the property manager hadn't arrived yet. (Which was also out of our control).

Then he was angry because he found out we'd taken our son to the emergency room that day with an unusual bug bite reaction. He said we should never have brought a kid with allergies to mosquito country.

I didn't know what to say. He kept scolding me. Was I supposed to explain my sons' allergies to this angry stranger? Was I supposed to tell him we

*live* in mosquito country? That our son never had a reaction like this before? It was so surreal. And upsetting.

That's when we decided to leave. Our entire trip thus far had been stressful because of this cabin. We never knew where we stood, and dealing with the owner was miserable. He refused to refund any of our money, but we're still very glad we left.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you experienced insurmountable personal issues that caused you so much anxiety prior to your arrival. However, we were pleased to hear that you were able to find more suitable accommodations elsewhere on our beautiful island after spending approximately 1 -2 hours at our property. We will let 100% of our past & recent reviews speak for themselves. All the best. Ed and Pam
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

11 out of 10!

  • 5 of 5

the pictures on the web site don't do it justice as you can't imagine how beautiful it is until you arrived at this cottage.I'd just like to spend another week in this beautiful, quiet, tranquil, comfortable place. Special thanks to our host Ed & Pam, hopefully we will meet again someday as we will definitely be back to Darnley , PEI

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the positive words about the property and our little cottage community. We are so happy to share our 'little slice of heaven'. We certainly hope to have your family back someday. With warmest regards, the Thompson family.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Truly the best location to stay in PEI

  • 5 of 5

A great family cottage with everything that you need and nothing that you don't. We had an amazing time and will be back. You will not be disappointed, thanks again to Pam and Ed for our best family vacation to date.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to make some beach memories to cherish forever. It isn't often that we get to meet our guests, so it was such a pleasure meeting your lovely family. It really was our treat to have you as 'neighbors' for the week. We hope that you will become one of our many "regulars" that make their way back every year or two. Until than, all the best. From our family, to yours. The Thompsons.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

a great cottage and beach for gettaway and family

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. Beautiful location and a beautiful cottage. Would go back again any day!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Michelle we really enjoyed having you, looking forward to having you again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Dream Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

What a perfect place for a family vacation! Everything was as promised, down to the last detail. We loved how close the beach was and spent a ton of time there. The cottage was beautiful, clean and spacious. Our best memories were made around the campfire roasting marshmellows! Highly recommended! Pam and Ed were a pleasure to deal with, I look forward to spending another week at their cottage as soon as possible.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy Thank you very much for the kind review....we take a lot of pride in knowing it met your requirements and was fun for your family...It was great having you, looking forward to having you again..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
Charlottetown Airport
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Car: recommended

Other Activities: cave exploration, sand castle contests

Golf: 20 minute drive to some of the best Golf Courses in the province, PEI is rated Canada's #1 golf destination;

Green Gables, Eagles Glenn, Glasgow Hills, Andersons Creek, and Rustico Resort


Rates & Availability

Darnley Cottage Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $155
Tax Rate 14.0%
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Prince Edward Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , balconey view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • caves
  • coin laundry
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
checkin after 2pm

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties