check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxury home steps from Wells/Moody Beach with great privacy

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 12

This newly built house is a gem. It has panoramic views of the beautiful marsh along with views down Moody Beach. The bedrooms have 1 king bed (master bedroom w/ full bath), 1 full bed, one queen bed, single bed and loft single bed in one bedroom and a loft bed in the last bedroom. There is a full size futon and a twin trundle bed on the third floor (which can be opened to a king size bed). The open concept layout on the first floor makes gathering easy and comfortable. The kitchen has new upscale appliances. There is a 1/2 bath on the first floor. The second floor has 3 bedrooms on it and 2 full baths. There is a full size front loading washer and dryer set up in one of the 2nd floor bathrooms. The third floor has an amazing family room with a Tv/vcr/dvd. It has absolutely the most gorgeous ocean views that you can imagine. There are 2 bedrooms on the third floor with a full bath. The house is great for one family or two to share together. The walk to the beach is 0.2 miles (2/10 of a mile). There are 7 televisions throughout the house, along with music, and a WII unit w/games. Linens and towels are not included in the rental.


Owner
Amy/Patrick Moody
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 6, 2017

Reviews

4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Luxury home steps from Wells/Moody Beach with great privacy
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
4

quiet get-away

  • 4 of 5

I went to the Home Away site to look back at the house and maybe check out dates for 2017, and saw the review from some very unhappy man. We found the house fine. We stayed at the house last summer (2015) from Sept. into October and were so happy with the peace and quiet that we came back again this year. I can't speak to the upstairs DVD player etc. as we spent our time out on the beach or walking on the rocks or just hanging out together and enjoying the quiet sounds of the marsh or ocean waves. All the stuff we did use was in working order (downstairs tv, dvd, internet ) and the place was clean...no smell. The salt spray has affected a couple of the third floor windows where the boys slept but that did not make the space uncomfortable as there was plenty of airflow even on the one night that was kind of "toasty." All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

RIP OFF!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

Upon entering the unit for the first time we were overcome with the smell of WET DOG!! We went to the bedrooms and it was even more concentrated!! My sister and wife spent the first night of our "vacation" washing ALL THE LINENS due to the overpowering smell. This was quite a surprise due to the fact they advertise "no pets". The dryer broke during the process and Pat and Amy Moody charged us $180 for the repair of the dryer. There was no substantiated evidence of us breaking the dryer and even Pat himself claimed "This could have been a problem from before". I am in the process of securing an attorney to reclaim my illegally withheld funds. Also, the "fire pit" in the backyard is non-functional so this was also misleading in the photos. The internet was non-functional and we had to contact Pat Moody to rectify the situation that took about 3 hrs of him being in our personal space. The landscaping on the property was overgrown with prickly bushes that you constantly were rubbing up against. The downstairs toilet did not flush and forget about the claims of a DVD player or other useful items for the vacation. I have rented from VRBO in the past in the US and other countries (you can check my history). This by far was the worst experience I ever had with this site. I feel so passionately about protecting others from renting this property that I was compelled to write this review. I had to beg and plead with Amy and Pat to send me my portion of the security deposit (less the $180 that they illegally held back). The check has now cleared so now I feel I am in the clear of writing this review. I know there are many rental options in the Moody Beach area and I hope that this "luxury home" will be removed from the VRBO site due to false advertising and poor customer service.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been renting our home since 2009 and we take great pride in our home and how we treat our tenants. In this situation, the disgruntled renters damaged our brand new hardwood floors, broke the dryer and ripped branches off of our flowering cherry trees on either side of the driveway. We do not like to keep any amount of a security deposit and in 7 years, we have only kept money one other time and that was $50 to repaint a wall that a child wrote on with a sharpie. These particular tenants rented from us in 2015, 2016 and requested to come back in 2017. We felt it best to not have them back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Annual family reunion finds a new home

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from our week at the most amazing beach house! There were 10 adults, some couples and some singles and everyone had their own space. When we arrived were in awe of the amount of space that our family would enjoy and call home for the next 7 days. Our family vacations in Wells every year and come from New York, Louisiana and Illinois. This home exceeded every expectation and we have already scheduled to return next year. We loaded up the fridge and counters with food and ate every meal together.

Plenty of room for all of us to eat together, play cards or board games.

Walking to Public Way 3 was easy and walking to the rocks to watch the sunrise was even easier.

Trust me, you won't regret vacationing here. Amy and her daughter were so very gracious and attentive and we look forward to many more years of reuniting with our loved ones in this beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Quebec City
5

Perfect beach house!!

  • 5 of 5

This house is perfect! The house is new, super clean and there is enough place for a group of adults! Also, there is an amazing sunset view in the backyard.

The owners, Pat and Amy were very kind and were available if we needed to.

It was a close walk to a beautiful Moody Beach.

Everything was better than expected and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

Catherine

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Framingham, MA
5

Best Vacation of Our Lives!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house last year and never wanted to leave! We had 2 couples and 7 kids.Besides house beautiful, the layout is fantastic for beach living & there's room for everyone to have their space. My favorite space was the kitchen - it's HUGE with tons of counter space & every tool you'd want, and it's wide open to the dining/living room so I didn't feel 'stuck in the kitchen' while preparing meals. We ended up eating all meals at the house cuz it was so comfortable & convenient & easy with the kids. When not at the beach, the kids stayed quiet & busy either in the 3rd floor playroom playing video games or watching movies or tv, in the back patio/pit area, or playing in the cul-de-sac -- that made my life easier too! SHORT walk to beach with the little ones - PRICELESS! 3 1/2 baths meant no lines for the toilet or shower. Evening cocktails on the screened porch was my personal favorite - so serene to overlook the Rachel Carson preserve in back of the house & see the deer romp by, and hear the ocean crashing in front! There is no air conditioning on the first floor, but there is almost always an ocean breeze that crosses through the house (A/C units are in the bedrooms). I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Portland International Jetport
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Portland,Maine
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Wells,Maine
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Wells, Maine
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Car: recommended

Our local area (Wells, Moody, Ogunquit, &Kennebunkport) are towns with beautiful beaches, family fun and entertainment and ease to visit other towns in the area. There are beach games (4th of July week), art, restaurants, mini golf, FANTASTIC Broadway shows at the Ogunquit Playhouse, shopping and a whole lot more. The area is perfect for 2 people alone and families alike. This home has the beauty of the beaches and the tranquility of the Rachel Carson Wildlife Reserve in the backyard. There is a local trolley stop nearby the house which can be used to transport you throughout the town.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wells House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$4,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 9.0%

$500 immediately due to hold the reservation
Call for details for the rest of payment

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wells House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , On the first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , In the master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On the second floor
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , On the third floor
  • The 1/2 bath on the first floor is conveniently located with everything on the first floor. The master bathroom is located within the privacy of the master bedroom on the 2nd floor. The 3rd bathroom is also located on the 2nd floor and has a full size stacking front loading washer and dryer. The 4th bathroom is located on the 3rd floor just outside of the family room and the 2 bedrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , loft bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , one of the beds is a loft bed
  • Quoted prices are for a total of 12 people. A fee of $20/pp/pn above 12 people will be assessed. Most bedrooms sleep 2 people. The upstairs family room (third floor) has a twin bed with a twin trundle which can be pushed together to make a king sized bed. There is also a double futon on the third floor.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
All bedrooms are one the 2nd and 3rd floor, so a disabled person unable to make it up and down stairs will have trouble staying at this location. There are boogie boards for your use along with a carrier to bring all of your beach needs to the beach. Beach pails and shovels are also there for your use.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties