Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury home steps from Wells/Moody Beach with great privacy

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

5 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 12

This newly built house is a gem. It has panoramic views of the beautiful marsh along with views down Moody Beach. The bedrooms have 1 king bed (master bedroom w/ full bath), 1 full bed, one queen bed, single bed and loft single bed in one bedroom and a loft bed in the last bedroom. There is a full size futon and a twin trundle bed on the third floor (which can be opened to a king size bed). The open concept layout on the first floor makes gathering easy and comfortable. The kitchen has new upscale appliances. There is a 1/2 bath on the first floor. The second floor has 3 bedrooms on it and 2 full baths. There is a full size front loading washer and dryer set up in one of the 2nd floor bathrooms. The third floor has an amazing family room with a Tv/vcr/dvd. It has absolutely the most gorgeous ocean views that you can imagine. There are 2 bedrooms on the third floor with a full bath. The house is great for one family or two to share together. The walk to the beach is 0.2 miles (2/10 of a mile). There are 7 televisions throughout the house, along with music, and a WII unit w/games. Linens and towels are not included in the rental.

Amy/Patrick Moody
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018


Wells House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , On the first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , In the master bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On the second floor
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , On the third floor
  • The 1/2 bath on the first floor is conveniently located with everything on the first floor. The master bathroom is located within the privacy of the master bedroom on the 2nd floor. The 3rd bathroom is also located on the 2nd floor and has a full size stacking front loading washer and dryer. The 4th bathroom is located on the 3rd floor just outside of the family room and the 2 bedrooms.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , loft bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , one of the beds is a loft bed
  • Quoted prices are for a total of 12 people. A fee of $20/pp/pn above 12 people will be assessed. Most bedrooms sleep 2 people. The upstairs family room (third floor) has a twin bed with a twin trundle which can be pushed together to make a king sized bed. There is also a double futon on the third floor.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • 6 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
All bedrooms are one the 2nd and 3rd floor, so a disabled person unable to make it up and down stairs will have trouble staying at this location. There are boogie boards for your use along with a carrier to bring all of your beach needs to the beach. Beach pails and shovels are also there for your use.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Luxury home steps from Wells/Moody Beach with great privacy
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We attended the wedding of my son in Ogunquit, Maine which is only few miles away from this place. My family of 10 (all adults) who came from different states - WVa, Ca, NJ stayed in this beautiful and spacious house which met our needs. All of us were very impressed and satisfied. The location is very convenient to the beach, church, groceries, pharmacy and adjacent towns. The owners, Amy and Patrick were always available when we need them. I recommend 100% to friends and guests.

Norma C. Rabara

Jersey City, New Jersey

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Verh comfortable for 7 adult and a baby

  • 4 of 5

6 minutes walking distance to the Public Way 3 or 2 to the beach. House has every convenience and warm kitchen and large sitting table and a very useful beach caddy and other beach toys.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Get Away

  • 5 of 5

My Family and I stayed here for July 4th weekend and had a great time. The house was clean and plenty of room for our Family of 10.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

quiet get-away

  • 4 of 5

I went to the Home Away site to look back at the house and maybe check out dates for 2017, and saw the review from some very unhappy man. We found the house fine. We stayed at the house last summer (2015) from Sept. into October and were so happy with the peace and quiet that we came back again this year. I can't speak to the upstairs DVD player etc. as we spent our time out on the beach or walking on the rocks or just hanging out together and enjoying the quiet sounds of the marsh or ocean waves. All the stuff we did use was in working order (downstairs tv, dvd, internet ) and the place was smell. The salt spray has affected a couple of the third floor windows where the boys slept but that did not make the space uncomfortable as there was plenty of airflow even on the one night that was kind of "toasty." All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

RIP OFF!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

Upon entering the unit for the first time we were overcome with the smell of WET DOG!! We went to the bedrooms and it was even more concentrated!! My sister and wife spent the first night of our "vacation" washing ALL THE LINENS due to the overpowering smell. This was quite a surprise due to the fact they advertise "no pets". The dryer broke during the process and Pat and Amy Moody charged us $180 for the repair of the dryer. There was no substantiated evidence of us breaking the dryer and even Pat himself claimed "This could have been a problem from before". I am in the process of securing an attorney to reclaim my illegally withheld funds. Also, the "fire pit" in the backyard is non-functional so this was also misleading in the photos. The internet was non-functional and we had to contact Pat Moody to rectify the situation that took about 3 hrs of him being in our personal space. The landscaping on the property was overgrown with prickly bushes that you constantly were rubbing up against. The downstairs toilet did not flush and forget about the claims of a DVD player or other useful items for the vacation. I have rented from VRBO in the past in the US and other countries (you can check my history). This by far was the worst experience I ever had with this site. I feel so passionately about protecting others from renting this property that I was compelled to write this review. I had to beg and plead with Amy and Pat to send me my portion of the security deposit (less the $180 that they illegally held back). The check has now cleared so now I feel I am in the clear of writing this review. I know there are many rental options in the Moody Beach area and I hope that this "luxury home" will be removed from the VRBO site due to false advertising and poor customer service.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been renting our home since 2009 and we take great pride in our home and how we treat our tenants. In this situation, the disgruntled renters damaged our brand new hardwood floors, broke the dryer and ripped branches off of our flowering cherry trees on either side of the driveway. We do not like to keep any amount of a security deposit and in 7 years, we have only kept money one other time and that was $50 to repaint a wall that a child wrote on with a sharpie. These particular tenants rented from us in 2015, 2016 and requested to come back in 2017. We felt it best to not have them back.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Annual family reunion finds a new home

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from our week at the most amazing beach house! There were 10 adults, some couples and some singles and everyone had their own space. When we arrived were in awe of the amount of space that our family would enjoy and call home for the next 7 days. Our family vacations in Wells every year and come from New York, Louisiana and Illinois. This home exceeded every expectation and we have already scheduled to return next year. We loaded up the fridge and counters with food and ate every meal together.

Plenty of room for all of us to eat together, play cards or board games.

Walking to Public Way 3 was easy and walking to the rocks to watch the sunrise was even easier.

Trust me, you won't regret vacationing here. Amy and her daughter were so very gracious and attentive and we look forward to many more years of reuniting with our loved ones in this beautiful home.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Portland International Jetport
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Wells, Maine
Car: recommended

Our local area (Wells, Moody, Ogunquit, &Kennebunkport) are towns with beautiful beaches, family fun and entertainment and ease to visit other towns in the area. There are beach games (4th of July week), art, restaurants, mini golf, FANTASTIC Broadway shows at the Ogunquit Playhouse, shopping and a whole lot more. The area is perfect for 2 people alone and families alike. This home has the beauty of the beaches and the tranquility of the Rachel Carson Wildlife Reserve in the backyard. There is a local trolley stop nearby the house which can be used to transport you throughout the town.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.