check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Stephen/Stephanie

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area

14 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Costambar Villa Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps up to 8

The villa has a gracious Mediterranean style, harmonizes sophistication and laid back beach living in the gated community of Costambar, 10 minutes from Puerto Plata. You can get a better idea of what the community looks like from the pics posted on Facebook ref: APC Costambar. We also have our own website and Facebook page.

This charming villa opens to an ample Great room, with combined dining area, vaulted ceilings, hardwood and terrazo floorings, mahogany doors, lush tropical plants, newly renovated kitchen and furnishings that boast comfort and Caribbean chic. The front terrace overlooks the beach and turquoise seas and is framed by mature tropical plants. The beach has plenty of shade, entertainment,food, and is safe for swimming. The private backyard oasis provides you with 2 thatched roof cabanas for dining, pool, water fall, whirlpool, teak chaises and lush surroundings. We have our own website showing more about the villa, but HomeAway does not allow a link to be placed on this listing. Therefore please contact us if you would like more information.

Villa Reyna: The property is located right on the beach. There is a covered front terrace overlooking the front garden and beach. Inside there is a large combined living and dining area, with TV, DVD connection available. Bring your own music! We also have WiFi internet and a landline phone. There are three ample bedrooms (2 with ensuite) offering beds for up to 7 guests. Another guest maybe accomodated on a portable bed. A crib is also available. There is also a fully equipped brand new kitchen and laundry area leading off the back. The rear doors of the living/dining room open out to a fully walled-in private backyard with a pool and waterfall as well as a jacuzzi . There are two cabanas, one equipped with a wet bar, principally for eating and entertaining and including a BBQ. The other cabana offers a full covered additional seating area. There is also a washroom in this cabana and there are chaises and pool toys available. The entire backyard has been recently landscaped and is a beautiful place to relax or entertain.

The Beach: The white sand beach is wide and partially shaded. Closer to the sea it is more open so you have the choice of sun or shade. Immediately in front of the villa, there is a local, Joaquin, who rents out beach chairs and water sports equipment at very reasonable rates. The sea is usually very calm and safe to swim in as it is protected by a reef. However you should check tidal movements with Joaquin.Just a couple of minutes walk to the left along the beach is a collection of small beach bars offering light snacks and refreshments. The whole beach ambiance is very relaxed and apart from the locals, the majority of people on it will be resident expatriates or people who rent local properties. They are very friendly and will offer advice on sightseeing, amenities and other matters of interest.

NEW: While we do not offer a fully all inclusive package, we now offer optional breakfast and/or evening meal service at a fixed price for your stay. Please tell us your preferences and we will tailor a menu accordingly. The advantage of this option is that the food is always fresh and cheaper. We can also arrange weddings, receptions and of course, honeymoon at the villa. Ask for a quotation !

Local Amenities: The gated community has a mini village close to the entrance, where there is a small local supermarket, pharmacy and several bars. In addition there are several good restaurants within walking distance of the villa. If you want to explore further, a local taxi service is available and within 5-10 mins there are half a dozen additional restaurants which are all excellent. There is a 9-hole golf course within the community, (see the satellite pic). There is also a gym and spa at the golf club.

As mentioned above there is plenty to see and do in the area. Upon booking, we will e-mail you a copy of the information package which provides much more details regarding attractions, tours, water activities, golf, theme parks, etc. We also now offer special personally guided tours to small groups. Ask for details

It is our aim to make your visit comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. We welcome inquiries and will endeavor to respond to any special requests,concerns or needs you may have.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Stephen/Stephanie (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Stephen/Stephanie

We'd like to tell you more about ourselves, but we don't think it is that wise to do that for security and ID theft possibilities. Once we have gotten to know you, then we will disclose more.

Stephen/Stephanie purchased this villa in 2006

Why Stephen/Stephanie chose Dominican Republic North Coast

There were a lot of properties on the market but we decided on this one because it had a unique Spanish colonial design and was well built. It is also right on the beach. The backyard was pretty bad so we offered a lower price and then we gutted it and built two new cabanas and a pool. Now the vegetation has grown, it is our little get-away paradise. Every visitor falls in love with it.

What makes this villa unique

At the price, the house offered such an design opportunity to turn it into a real paradise. It is situated in a residential area and all our neighbours and friends consider Villa Reyna to be the by far the best in the area, which is why they love to party with us in the backyard.

Reviews

4.9
based on 14 traveler reviews

Private Oasis right on the beach! By far the best in the area
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
Melbourne, FL US
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here with 2 other couples for a week and had an amazing time. The place is just wonderful and the staff is very kind, and accommodating without being intrusive. Julie kept the place clean and Bienvenido made us feel very safe at night

Large living area, and stocked kitchen - we cooked a few times and found everything we needed as far as pots/pans, dises etc. My favorite thing to do in the house was eating dinner out on the patio at night, It is so private and beautifully landscaped. We also ate out several times for lunch and dinner to some of the many local restaurants, several are within walking distance. A must: Las Tres Cocos!! Taxi needed for that one but it's close.

We went on an excursion to the city with Rene which was so much fun, he arranged for a private tour guide, Andy, who made the trip so much better, interesting and with a real VIP feel - we did everything from the tram up the mountain to the cigar factory.

Sunday the beach is packed with locals - lots of fun but they completely trash the place, we were shocked! There are several businesses right there though and everyone seems to work together and it is quickly cleaned up early in the week - by Tuesday you don't even know it happened. The rest of the week it's a pretty quiet, nice beach.

The locals were very kind and friendly to us. We felt safe walking around the area in the community, even at night.

Overall we had an amazing time and would definitely visit again. Stephen and stephanie were so great to work with, and made planning the trip very uncomplicated and easy! Thanks for a memorable trip!!!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shelton, CT
5

Villa Reyna is a vacation Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

3 couples vacationed at the Villa Reyna for 2 winter months in 2016. The villa is amazing and the photos and description are very accurate. The villa is very spacious and beautifully furnished and decorated. The kitchen is well stocked and has a tremendous amount of cabinets to hold all the kitchen ware. The pool is the perfect size for lounging and reading and the 2 cabanas, one for eating with a dining table and bar and the other for lounging in the shade are perfect. The staff is wonderful with Julie catering to all your needs, Domingo caring for the yard area and maintenance and Bienvenido, the night watchman, provide that extra feeling of safety. The villa is directly across from the Costambar beach frequented by many Italians who have vacationed from Canada for 15+ years as well as many locals on the weekend. It is great to walk the beach, search for shells, sit in the sun or shade reading and enjoying the ocean which is normally calm. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, we strongly recommend the Villa Reyna.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for this great review. We do try to be the best and are very pleased you enjoyed your time at our special place in the sun. You were most considerate guests and the staff were very pleased with the tips you left.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Un coin de paradis visité en famille...

  • 5 of 5

I chose to write this "review" in French first because it is my language and, secondly to inform people from French country that they would surely enjoy to live at " Villa Reyna " and to meet its charming owners, Stephen and /or Stéphanie.

So,... en janvier , nous avons loué, pour une deuxième année et pour un long séjour (3 sem en 2014 et 1mois en 2013) cette confortable et accueillante propriété en bord bord de la mer.

Nous y avons vécu des jours inoubliables avec nos enfants et nos petits-enfants (4 et 2 ans).

Les mots " sécurité, confort, détente, longue plage à qq pas dont les arbres sont des parasols naturels, baignades sans danger pour tous, services(épicerie/ dépanneur/ pharmacie/taxi ...) à proximité et des services quotidiens assurés par des personnes attentionnées , aimables et discrètes.

Nous ne voulons pas "perdre notre milieu de vacances préféré" ... mais nous nous offrons le plaisir de partager ce projet joyeux avec vous qui lirez ce mot .

Merci à M.Cullen et Stéphanie.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your visit and kind comments. We hope to see you again next year ! Nous vous remercions de nous envoyer votre avis en français. Nous accueillons plus de visiteurs en provenance de pays francophones et nous espérons que votre message sera les encourager à choisir Villa Reyna.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Suwanee, Georgia
5

First Visit Awesome, Second Even Better!

  • 5 of 5

Once again, Stephanie and the staff provided a great experience. The cabanas were the favorite place to hang out, chill and play games, with frequent dips in the pool or walks on the beach. Just a great place to get away from it all, with easy access to many of the other charms of Puerta Plata and surrounds. We are already planning our return trip for next summer.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you appreciate what the area has to offer, something a little different which enables you to relax the way you want. Now you can see why we chose the place ! We thank you for your comments on the villa and of course will welcome you back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Memphis, Tennessee
5

Absolutely a wonderful place, a true gem...

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time, enjoyed the house, the staff, the people, the town, everything. My boys wanted to take Alfredo(the night security man) home, he entertained them every night with his stories. Desia(housekeeper) was very sweet, helpful and made sure that we were familiar with the house without ever being intrusive. Isidro(handyman) brought us fruits one morning...My family had a great time and your house was a very important factor in the success of our trip. We have absolutely no problems, other than the bipolar electricity, but that made things even more fun for my kids and gave them a better sense of appreciation of the lives they live. Even though electricity would go out, at any time without a warning, the house has a really good back up system and you still have the house running, only ACs wouldn't run but the fans worked really well and the ocean breeze was infallible.

It's a beautiful place, the beach is really pretty and right in front of the house. The man that tends to the lounge chairs, right in front of the property, is very sweet and every morning he had 3 chairs, under a tree, ready for us. The rental fee was very little and well worth it. Do not miss going up Isabel Torres Mountain, we did both the monorail/cable car and by foot. Also go to Damajagua Falls, about 20 min from the house, an absolutely breathtaking place. The people of the DR are very nice and gentle, we never felt threaten in any way. Since we like to cook and the house has a really nice kitchen, totally equipped, we did very little eating out but Bananas and Catamaran are two good places to eat. The house sits in a very self sufficient community, anything you need is within walking distance. Since it was the dry season, it was dry, mosquitoes and flies were not an issue but we still used mosquito spray, take plenty of sunblock because it's expensive. Thank you to the owners for allowing us to stay in their little paradise...

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Suwanee, Georgia
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5

The villa was fabulous, and those who took care of us were even better. Owners Stephanie and Stephen have put together a great property. Alexis and Dilcia are awesome! We are telling all our friends, and will definitely be back soon. Read the handwritten guest book when you arrive. Lots of great tips from other guests.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Puerto Plata
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
(about 1/2 dozen on the beach)
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
9 hole
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Highway 5 Puerto Plata-Santiago
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
O Sole mio
Nearest Beach
5 Metres
Google map ref: 19.813974,-70.713147 (villa)
Car: not necessary

The Puerto Plata region is one of the most spectacular in the Caribbean. It is surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and Immediately above the city is a large forested mountain, very suitable for hiking or you can ride the cable car to the top. The city itself has an old Spanish fortress, an Amber Museum and a Rum Factory all worth a visit. Two spectacular Robert Trent Jones golf courses are within easy reach and of course there is an abundance of water sporting activity. Ocean World, 10 mins away is where you can experience swimming with dolphins and also within the same complex, there is a fine restaurant and casino. Inland you can take tours to hike, bike, white water raft, horseback ride, scooters, etc, etc and take in the spectacular scenery of this beautiful land.

Golf: The new Los Mangos Golf Club is now open and is located within the Costambar community within walking distance of our villa. You can see it on the Google satellite map. (type in 19.814413,-70.719059, this is the clubhouse)

The club offers a 9 hole course, recently renovated and also a brand new spa (as of October 2011)

There is also a world class 18 hole course at Playa Dorada, 20 mins by car from the villa.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Costambar Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
$3,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500

Quoted rate is for 2 persons. Electricity is extra and meter read at beginning and end of your stay. Contact owner for reduced quotations for larger parties and/or stays over one week. Renter must accurately disclose party size. Owner reserves the right to deny entry to any party containing more persons than stated when booking, unless pre-advised and confirmed otherwise. Cancellation policy: Less than 30 days before arrival starts: NO refund. 30-60 days before arrival 50% refund. More than 90 days before arrival 100% refund

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Costambar Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Dialup Access
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone ...
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Wet Bar
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Outside shower - outdoor shower , for beach users
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , for backyard users
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • All bathrooms have been designed with natural slate stone tiles and European style showers. They also all have, Nickel finish fittings, towels, shower gel & shampoo dispensers and ample shelving space for all your toiletries.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 2 Bedrooms have an ensuite;1 contains 2 single beds that can be put together comfortably to create a King. There is also room for another single bed. The other ensuite bedroom has a Queen bed. There is an extra folding bed which can go in any room. The 3rd Bedroom contains 2 single beds that can be put together comfortably to create a King, The bathroom for this bedroom is located right next to it. All bedrooms contain new quiet A/C units, ceiling fans and Egyptian cotton sheets. 2 extra people can be accomodated in the living room sofa bed. No A/C but there is a fan overhead. This option is only in high season (Dec-April) when outside temperatures are more comfortable. There is a 4th bathroom located in the Lounging Cabana by the pool.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
*There are 4 staff to help you during your stay., a property manager, grounds keeper, part time maintenance man and a housekeeper (weekdays). *Upon booking at Villa Reyna you will be sent a very detailed manual containing contact names, phone numbers, restaurants, attractions, tours and anything else that will help to make your time the very best it can be! *Long Term Renters will only be considered in the Off-Season time. Contact for further details. *We now have WiFi capabilities so just bring along your laptop or tablet. We can lend you a local cell phone and using local calling cards is much cheaper than roaming.... *The Beach Chairs listed above are actually Chaise Lounges for backyard lounging. Chaises can be rented on the beach for approx. $2.USD daily. *The al fresco dining Cabana in backyard also has a small fridge and wet bar w/bar stools

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties