check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Property Manager

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Classic Colonial Ranch in Historic Mount Pleasant

60 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Mount Pleasant House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + 2 Fold-Out Bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 10)

This beautiful 2,000 sq ft home is simply perfect for a group or family getaway to the Charleston area. This home is tucked into a quiet neighborhood that also happens to be just minutes away from the best that Charleston has to offer. You can:

Walk to the start of the Cooper River Bridge Run

Be at the beach in 10 minutes

Be downtown Charleston in 10 minutes

Walk to Trader Joe’s grocery store

Enjoy restaurants, movies and great shopping in mere minutes driving or walking!

There is a neighborhood park with swing sets at the end of the street, approximately ¼ mile from the house and the area is great for biking or jogging. If you don’t feel like leaving the house though we wouldn’t blame you! This house has a spacious kitchen and TWO living rooms for your group to spread out. There is also a large backyard with a deck and gazebo.

With off street parking available for multiple cars this home is perfect for family gatherings or groups of friends. The home is close to all of the best wedding locations in the area and to the local colleges, which makes it the perfect place for wedding and graduation guests.

Need help planning your trip? Please email our manager and she would be more than happy to help you! A Charleston native, she can assist you with everything from children’s activities to romantic dinner reservations.

Read our reviews and you will see that both the owner and manager take pride in this house and in making our guests as comfortable as possible. Come enjoy our Southern Hospitality!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.5
based on 60 traveler reviews

Classic Colonial Ranch in Historic Mount Pleasant
average rating of 4.483333 based on 60 reviews
3

Great location - needs updates and minimal repairs

  • 3 of 5

My family (9 of us) stayed at this house for my wedding in May.

Pros:

* Location - close to a lot on Mt. Pleasant and downtown Charleston

* Space big enough for large bridal party

* Master bath and bed were nicely updated

* Large Kitchen

Cons:

* Outdoor space was dirty and unusable

* Many of the lightbulbs were burnt out and not replaced

* Light socket coverings were broken

* Pull out bed in sun room was old and unusable

* Extra bathroom was small and shower needed updates

* Master bathroom doors were cracked and hanging off hinge

* Master bath tub was cracked and not patched well

* T.V. in family room was hard to operate - directions would have been helpful

* Remote in the spare bedroom did not work for T.V.

* Dishwasher drawer needed replaced - almost fell off when opening each time

* Oven temperature was not consistent

Overall we enjoyed our stay but would have liked the place to be in a little better condition.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house, great for our girls weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Sleeps 10 nicely. House is well-equipped with any items you may need. Easy in and out lock pad system. There were a few previous stains on the white couches/chairs, but otherwise everything was great! Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Several friends stayed here for a wedding weekend and really enjoyed the house and location. We used uber to get around and it was easy and close to everything.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Plan to return again next year

  • 5 of 5

This is the third year we have stayed at this property. The house was clean and just as described (bring your own shampoo). The house and driveway are spacious and accommodates our gear for racing our sailboat for 3 days in Charleston. Graeme, the property manager responded quickly to our one request.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Would not stay here again.

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at check-in, the door was open and upon entering WOW were we ever in for a shock! House was filthy, overflowing trash, unflushed toilets, unmade beds, dirty kitchen and so on. I immediately called the property management company, left a message and we left. Other family members arrived a bit later and found a cleaning crew working inside. The property managers response was good but as six of us had less than one hour to get ready for a rehearsal dinner the whole situation created unnecessary stress, especially after traveling over nine hours on the road. We have stayed at many VRBO residences all over the US and have never encountered anything like this. The house is desperately in need of a thorough deep cleaning and purging - living room chairs, decorative pillows, bedspreads, mattress pads are stained and worn. One bed is moderately comfortable and the other two must be ancient cast-offs. The dishwasher door is missing a critical piece of hardware as it plummets towards the floor upon opening. It is a shame that the house/furnishings are in such poor condition because it is a convenient location and a quiet neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry that you wouldn't consider staying with us again! Of course we do not ever want any guest to arrive to an unclean house. There was a scheduling error, which was addressed immediately. As you mentioned, our cleaning crew was there working when the rest of your party arrived. As to the comfort and cleanliness of the home, the owner and I take the care of the home very seriously. She was at the house just before your arrival inspecting and updating the house. There was some staining on the upholstery which has been cleaned. Again, I am very sorry that your stay was less than excellent, we would love to have you stay again. Regardless I do hope that you come back to Charleston to enjoy all the area has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Christmas holiday in the heat.

  • 2 of 5

Where do I start? We were gathering for a Christmas get together with our 3 sons and my parents. A few good things for our Christmas stay but too many were bad which is why rental only got 2 stars.

Pros:

Location was excellent. Close to everything including several supermarkets,restaurants, Shem Creek and downtown Charleston.

Quiet safe neighborhood. Large driveway for parking

Kitchen connected to living room providing large open space for gathering.

Property manager (Graeme) very helpful.

Cons:

Dirty crusted pans that needed to be cleaned prior to use

No sharp knives, very random mix of kitchen utensils making it extremely hard to cook a meal

Cooktop stove unable to regulate heat of burners making it difficult to cook anything

Mold in 2nd bathroom as described in other reviews.

AC died. House temp was 80 for 2 days. Had to have electrician come out on Christmas day. Air filter was disgustingly dirty and needed replacing months ago.

Décor was very antiquated and very odd. Random junk and clutter in closet, drawers and shelves.

Sofas in LR was stained and needs good cleaning as stated in other reviews

Bed in second BR was very hard and uncomfortable. No closet in master bedroom.

Bed Linens and towels very outdated and past their prime

No paper towels or extra toilet paper as described in other reviews

Upon arrival found the showerhead for masterbath on the vanity and had to have plumber come for new showerhead replacement. 1st day of stay.

In conclusion, we have stayed at several VRBO's and this was by far the most disappointing. The inconvenience of sleeping and cooking in an 80 degree house for 2 days was very unsettling. During our short stay we had a plumber and an electrician come out for issues.Also not having adequate cooking supplies was very disappointing.So many issues pointed out in previous reviews were still ongoing during our stay.Clearly this owner doesn't wish to improve the property that guests pay good money to stay in.There is so much potential for this house in such a growing area near downtown Charleston. We definitely would not stay here again. Unless you are having your meals catered or eating out this is not a place for you. We absolutely loved Charleston and Mt. Pleasant and all it has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, First - I would like to thank you for staying with us and to apologize that your stay was not what you would have wished. A few things that you mentioned have confused me and I would like to address them. Both the owner and I are shocked and very upset that this was your experience. I appreciate that you found me helpful - that is my goal! I am puzzled that you never mentioned any of your other complaints any of the times we spoke. I would have been happy to address and fix any of them. On the first day of your stay you contacted me because upon your arrival one of the shower heads, which had been broken by a previous renter, had not been fixed. I apologized then and I will apologize again now. I had reported it to our maintenance person and was assured that it would be taken care of before your arrival. It was fixed within hours of your reporting it to me. I was contacted on Christmas morning by your group saying that the AC wasn’t working and that it hadn’t been working for a few days. I had it fixed for you that afternoon. As you may imagine this was not a simple or inexpensive endeavor - however, if you had let me know that it wasn’t working on any of the prior days I would have had it fixed just as quickly. There is no mold anywhere in this house. We have recently changed cleaning companies because we are committed to giving our guests the best experience that we can. The linens and towels, etc are cleaned after each guest as are the pots, pans and kitchen utensils. The house is regularly used by large families and groups who are cooking and eating here and we take special care to make sure that everything they could need is available. Again, I wish that you had mentioned anything you were disappointed with in time for me to address it during your stay. The house looks exactly as it does in the pictures online, so I’m not sure what decor or styling you may have expected. The furnishing and beds are to the owners taste, yes. There is also a closet in the den that is full of supplies and for the house and personal items of the owner. If there was not enough paper towels or toilet paper for your group I would have been happy to bring you more immediately. The owner and I both take the running of this house very seriously. It is also her residence when she is in Charleston and is used by her family members when they visit, so the house is not furnished or run just to make money. Thank you for sharing your experience and opinions.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Downtown Charleston
patriot's point naval and maritime museum
Boone Hall Plantation
Red's Ice House
sullivans island beach
Patriots Point Golf Links
Arthur Ravenel Junior Bridge
Trader Joe's
Old Village Post House Inn
Shem Creek Bar & Grill
Graze
Coastal Expeditions Kayaks
Coleman Public House
Southern Season Charleston
Metto Coffee & Tea
Regal Palmetto Grande Stadium 16
Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Charleston International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Lots to choose from
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Patriot's Point Golf
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-26 or I-526
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Graze Restaurant
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Sullivan's Island or Isle of Palms Beaches
Car: recommended

There is a Neighborhood Outdoor Playground Area for Children right at the end of our Street, 1/4 Mile From House.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mount Pleasant House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 1 2016 - Jul 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$275
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,250
$5,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2016
Aug 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,000
$3,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2015
Nov 1 2016 - Jan 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$190
From
$210
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,000
$3,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Mount Pleasant House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Jacuzzi tub in master bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , One Full Size Bed in this room
    Large Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Brand New Sleeper Sofa
    Small Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper Sofa
  • There is plenty of room to bring a cot, crib or pack&play. We do not supply these items.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Great Screened-in Back Yard Raised-Porch, Large Back Yard and Front Yards and Plenty of Parking Areas.

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...