Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Riverfront*** Cabin with Hot Tub on French Broad River

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Hot Tub

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (sleeps 5)

PLEASE INQUIRE BEFORE REQUESTING A BOOKING SO THAT WE CAN ASSURE THAT THIS IS THE RIGHT PROPERTY FOR YOU! (click on "message" to connect with us). Riverview Retreat at Riverside Escapes! A beautiful new log cabin located directly on Section 8 of the French Broad River awaits you. Fully appointed two story cabin with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths and lots of special custom touches. The cozy great room is warmed by a river decor centered around a river rock gas fireplace and opening onto a huge deck with a bubbling hot tub overlooking the river. The huge second floor 'treetop' master suite features a private balcony overlooking the river, a king size bed with copper covered bedside tables, walk in closet with stacking washer/dryer, a private coffee station, and magnificent river views! The main floor bedroom and bath offer easy access and a fun river fishing theme. Bathroom luxuries include custom tile showers and granite sinks. The campus offers free WIFI internet access so you can sit by the campfire or lay on the hammock and check your email!

This beautiful cabin sits on a four acre riverfront parcel with a private footbridge and a private island. You're invited to fish the French Broad and cook your own catch on a firepit grill, or just sit in the Adirondack chairs and watch the blue herons fish. Bring your bike and enjoy the level ride along historic Old Marshall Highway. Catch some rays on your private deck. Spend evenings by the campfire toasting s'mores and listening to the wildlife serenade as the sun sets into the mountains. After sunset, watch the fireflies light up the mountainside across the river. Day trip to kayak, whitewater raft, tube the river, hike or horseback ride. Explore history with a visit to the Biltmore Estate, Grove Arcade, historic downtown Asheville or the Vance Birthplace. Drive the scenic Blue Ridge Parkway and have lunch on top of Mount Pisgah.

This is the only property on the French Broad River with an accessible private island. Yet, we're located just 15 minutes from Asheville, 10 minutes from Weaverville, and a few minutes south of the historic town of Marshall. Riverside Escapes lodging and grounds are also available for weddings and other special events. Please visit our website (see link below) for more details!

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details

Owner
LIz Wiederhold
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2017

About LIz Wiederhold

Paul and Liz Wiederhold moved to 'the river' in 2006 to follow their dreams. Their incredible new riverfront location begged to be shared... and 'Riverside Escapes' was born. More than vacation rentals, the future of Riverside Escapes will include riverfront weddings, family reunions, corporate retreats, and more. The Wiederholds were married on the property's island and live onsite where they provide personal service for their guests. The property is full of animals; Diamond - our very friendly campus mascot dog, a flock of very pampered free range chickens, a pair of mallard ducks who have taken up voluntary residency, and lots of other birds and critters. Paul owns a high end roofing company specializing in slate, tile, copper and metal roofs, and copper gutters. When not working, Paul loves to fish, kayak and generally enjoy the river. Liz enjoys hostessing and working 'hands on' at Riverside Escapes including fixing and building things, as well as designing, decorating, sewing and landscaping.

LIz Wiederhold purchased this cabin in 2006

Why LIz Wiederhold chose Asheville Area

The French Broad River is a spectacular river meandering through a spectacular town. 'Broad' is a descriptive name for this large, majestic river which is largely unspoiled by development. Yet, just down river, Asheville offers all of the excitement, arts, fine dining, nightlife, and eclectic culture that anyone could seek. The Blue Ridge Parkway, Appalachian Trail and so many other natural gifts are just a short drive away. Madison County offers some of the beautiful whitewater rafting locations, unspoiled mountain land, and even snow skiing in Wolf Laurel. Our location is ideally located just north of Asheville and south of Madison County. It is truly the best of both worlds.

What makes this cabin unique

Riverside Escapes offers the only island vacation rental in the area and one of just a few riverfront homes. Guests are encouraged to walk the swinging bridge, fish from the shores, sit by the riverside campfire, and generally immerse themselves in the incredible natural beauty of the property. There is something for everyone here. For the more adventurous type, our island cabin offers the feel of remote camping, but none of the hassles. For those seeking more luxury, our mainland cabin has all the comforts of home and more with a hot tub, custom tile showers, coffee bar, wireless internet access, and more.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wow! Water! Bridge! Eggs! More water! More water! Did I say water?! Such a feast for the eyes...

Only 2 nights :-(

2 great dinners thanks to suggestions from Liz... Blue Mountain Pizza and Stoney Knob Cafe in Weaverville. Love to return to Biltmore and Riverview!
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Alexander Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size bedroom suite (1), also has 2 twin beds in same room. Queen size Bedroom (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • swimming
Notes:
Fire pit area with grill, horse shoes, volleyball and badminton net available, island access, IPOD docks. Free WIFI is satellite based with very limited daily data allowance... perfect for checking emails, but not for streaming, online gaming, etc.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

Riverfront*** Cabin with Hot Tub on French Broad River
average rating of 4.923077 based on 67 reviews
5

Great Getaway with Beautiful Views of the River

  • 5 of 5

Excellent vacation property. Even though the owners live onsite they are pretty much invisible which makes you feel like you are alone on the property where you can relax and enjoy everything it has to offer. I would stay here again with it's close proximity to Asheville and surrounding areas.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Amazing location. Close to everything and had spectacular scenery.

  • 4 of 5

Overall it was great. Property was clean which was nice. Fire pit and hot tub were enjoyable. All other reviews pretty much spot on. Gas fireplace was a nice feature. Will definitely try to come back.

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN
5

Well Appointed Cabin, Listen to the Water!

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely gem and great location! We booked our honeymoon trip last minute due to being so busy and got lucky and was able to stay at this beautiful riverfront cabin. The cabin is the BEST appointed vacation rental I've ever stayed in - and I've stayed in them all over the world. From a Krug with coffee and tea, to nice towels, linens, a stocked kitchen with spices to a whole smores kit - this place has it all! The cabin overlooks the French Broad River - enjoyed getting to sleep with the windows open. The cabin is near the road - but it's hardly traveled - it's really quiet. And the best part - it's far away yet close enough to easily get to Asheville or the Blue Ridge Parkway. Would definitely recommend! Thank you to Liz and her family for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Davidson, NC
5

Great spot for a family vacation in the mountains!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 spent a wonderful vacation in the cottage. Relaxing in the river and taking "adventure walks" around the property kept our three kids under 5 yrs busy. We stopped at the grocery story on the way into town and were able to eat all our meals in the cottage thanks to the full kitchen. Fresh eggs from chickens on the property made for great breakfasts, and we even had a few meals over the campfire! The cottage had all the necessities, even a crib for our littlest one! The one day it was rainy we made the quick and beautiful drive into Asheville to explore a few of the local donut shops, yum!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, wonderful beds, great location, loved the river , close to Asheville

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was exactly as the pictures depicted! Wonderful beds and themes great for the area! You can enjoy the hot tub on the back deck while enjoying the river! Nearby Weaverville had unique culinary delights and we could go to Asheville and biltmore in a matter of minutes. S'mores and a fire pit are there for you to enjoy! we will be back!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Unique and peaceful riverside abode

  • 3 of 5

We are two couples who spent 4 nights in September at this riverside home. We enjoyed the river setting and had fun trekking through the river to a nearby park (bring water shoes, it's shallow, but very rocky). Having farm fresh eggs for breakfast was a real treat and we made good use of the s'mores supplies provided by the owners. Overall, the house is an comfortable place to relax and watch for wildlife, perhaps a Blue Heron or a circling eagle if you are lucky (which we were). It's a good fit for one couple or a small family. In our case, it was a bit tight and one couple got the "short end of the stick" with the smaller, less comfortable lower level bedroom and bathroom. The upstairs master suite is very nicely appointed with a comfy King bed, Keurig, water cooler, Sony tv (best tv in the house) and a small deck. In contrast, the downstairs bedroom has a small outdated tube tv, a squeaky bed with a plastic (waterproof?) mattress cover adding to the bed noise. The lack of a shelf in the lower level shower is a small thing but made it awkward when using that shower. The kitchen table is meant for two and has two additional stools, but is still small for 4 people. The kitchen is fairly well equipped, with spices and cooking supplies, but a medium size pot would be a good addition. Other reviewers mentioned a lack of cell service and Wi-Fi and we should have paid closer attention. Luckily, one of us had Verizon so one cell phone had service (not a smartphone), none of the other carriers worked, except for text messages. However, the total lack of Wi-Fi for 4 days was a disappointment. Couldn't connect to the Internet using a laptop (auto updates were turned off for our phones). We didn't try to download anything. Liz explained bandwidth limits, but since we couldn't connect for 4 days, something seems wrong. We expected some issues but not a complete lack of Wi-Fi. This is the first time we have stayed at a property where the owner is on-site. This is certainly helpful especially if there is an issue and we knew they were on the property from other reviews, but didn't realize their house is fairly close and in fact, the fire pit is between the 2 houses. The owners were welcoming, but we felt a bit self conscious due to their proximity, especially when we were outside. Also, be aware that VRBO now charges a booking fee which we didn't realize until we proceeded with the booking.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your helpful suggestions. We will be replacing the 2nd bedroom television immediately. We are so sorry that some amenities were not to your liking and that you had trouble with the internet and a squeeking bed. We wish we had known while you were in residence so that we had the opportunity to resolve these things for you. We strive to provide the very highest level of customer service for all of our guests. We are located close by and available, but try to stay invisible to our guests once they are checked in. Our riverfront location is not the place for someone who needs broadband high speed internet or perfect cell phone service. This is truly a place to get away from it all, but be just 10 minutes from Weaverville & Marshall and 20 minutes from Asheville. That said, we are just 5 minutes from very strong cell service and do have satellite internet available with an upload/download allowance. Sometimes guests don't realize that their devices are auto updating (as yours were) during the night and consuming the limited data allowance. We are always happy to reset the allowance or share our cell phones when asked.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rates & Availability

Alexander Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Mar 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$210
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,200
$3,600
 
 
Spring, Summer, Fall
Mar 31 2017 - Oct 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$260
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$260
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Linen/cleaning $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.0%

OWNERS DO NOT ACCEPT SUNDAY CHECK INS. Owners are on site to provide personal check-in and issue a key. MINIMUM 3 night stay for all reservations 14+ days in advance. 2 nights considered for last minute stays (booked within 14 days of check in date)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Map

Stoney Knob Cafe
Blue Mountain Pizza
The Well-Bred Bakery & Cafe
Vance Birthplace
Blue Heron Whitewater
Main Street Grill
Glass Onion
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Blue Mountain Pizza
Nearest Beach
right outside your door!
Car: necessary

Wedding/Special Event site, campfire, river launch on site, fishing on site (must have permit), 20 minutes to Appalachian Trail, 20 minutes to Biltmore Estate, 30 minutes to Arboretum, 15 minutes to Vance Birthplace, 15 minutes to Blue Ridge Parkway, 20 minutes to Hot Springs.

Photos

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties