check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Roby Norvell

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Large Blanco Riverfront home on 25 private acres w/ Deep Swimming Hole

100 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Wimberley House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps up to 12

Casa Grande on the Blanco @ Shade Ranch (http://www.shaderanch.com) sits on a bluff overlooking the Blanco River on an historic, tree-covered, 25-acre property offering tranquility and seclusion and 513 feet of private river access–all within the Wimberley city limits! The riverfront offers a deep swimming hole (4+ feet) that is great during both normal and drought times. Casa Grande offers over 2,800 square feet of space for family entertainment. The house was upgraded in 2013 with new granite counters, flooring, paint, bathroom fixtures, tile, etc. With two large living areas and three dining areas (2 indoor and 1 outdoor), Casa Grande is perfect for family or large group gatherings. One living area is the extraordinary 'River Room.' Stunning views of the Blanco River below beckon from three walls of windows. Open the windows and enjoy the sounds of the river rapids. The second living area is a club-like setting wrought from the original cabin.The spacious master suite includes a king size bed, a comfortable sitting area, television, and a private bath.

(PLEASE NOTE: If your dates aren't available on our calendar, please try The Wimberley Retreat, our other large home on a separate 10 acre property at listing #594553.)

Relax and Enjoy the Property: Located just off the River Room, you will find a wonderful, large outdoor hot tub. It is a private place to unwind while admiring the brilliant stars above and the murmuring headwaters of the Upper Blanco River below. Follow the limestone steps near the hot tub down to the 513 feet of private river access below. The river will invite you to swim or wade in its cool waters and leave all worries behind. Or grab your fishing rod! Fly Fishing magazine identifies the Upper Blanco River areas as '. . . one of the best fly fishing spots in Texas.' Bring your kayak or canoe, and don't forget the floats and water shoes for tubing down the rapids. There’s plenty of room along the river to enjoy a picnic lunch, an afternoon nap or book, or a gorgeous sunrise or sunset on the banks of the Blanco River. Located only 5 minutes from Wimberley Square, this home completes the perfect hill-country getaway without sacrificing any of the charm (or shopping opportunities) that Wimberley has to offer.

Enjoy the grounds: The twenty-five acres of grass and woods provide ample space to run, throw a ball or frisbee, play kickball or softball, hike in the woods, or chase lizards, frogs and fish. Sit out on the flagstone patio overlooking the river and grill out burgers on the Weber grill. Grab a cool drink and play a game of bocce Ball or horseshoes on the court with the family. After the sun goes down you can also enjoy the fire pit to cook marshmallows or warm up on a cool fall or winter Hill Country evening. Watch for the many deer who live on the property, especially in the early morning. Friendly ducks from the river often visit at the house as well.

Casa Grande at Shade Ranch is perfect for groups of all kinds. The kitchen is equipped with all appliances, extensive food and drink preparation and serving ware, and indoor/outdoor dishes to accommodate any large meal. The children’s nook area provides age appropriate movies, books, videos, puzzles, games and toys for hours of entertainment and an opportunity for the adults to visit in the other common areas. Movies and books and games for adults are also provided, as is a cable TV/DVD player and music system. Whether you are planning a ladies getaway trip, couples gathering, team-building session for a small group, multi-generation family get together, a mini-reunion, a crafts or outlet shopping or winery tour, or celebrating a special birthday or milestone, Shade Ranch will provide all of the privacy, space, and amenities your group will need.

Area Attractions: Explore the areas around Wimberley by visiting Gruene, TX and the historic Gruene Hall and the Guadalupe River; Visit the Driftwood and Duchman wineries nearby or partake in some stellar Texas BBQ at the Salt Lick. There are plenty of opportunities for shopping in town for antiques and crafts or visit the San Marcos outlet stores 15 miles away.

We also have a one bedroom/one bathroom house on the same 25 acres that is available for rent if you have a larger group that would like additional room. The two houses are completely separate and don't share anything other than the acreage. They sit approximately 100 yards apart and each have their own patios, hot tubs, grills, fire pits, etc.

We also own another Blanco riverfront property, The Wimberley Retreat, that is available for vacation rentals. It is a 4 bedroom/5 bathroom property with a pool on 10 private acres. You can find it's listing on HomeAway/VRBO as #594553.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Roby Norvell (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Roby Norvell

The Norvell family hails from Houston, TX where we, like most Americans, lead over-booked lives full of schoolwork, school activities, sports, civic, and work responsibilities. We enjoyed a most relaxing vacation at Shade Ranch in 2008. In fact, we loved it so much that we purchased it three months later. Our kids are young and our parents and family do not live nearby. We wanted a place for our extended family to get together to run, swim, climb, spend time as a family, and just enjoy the beauty of nature. We hope your family enjoys Shade Ranch as much as we do.

Roby Norvell purchased this house in 2008

Why Roby Norvell chose Texas Hill Country

Shade Ranch in Wimberley Texas is a perfect location for us because it is 3 hours from Houston door to door and only 1 hour from the Austin or San Antonio airport. Our parents and extended family and friends often join us for vacations at Shade Ranch. With beds for 12 and two large indoor family gathering rooms at Casa Grande, we have room for many to reunite under one roof. We appreciate the seclusion of the 25 acres while making full use of the conveniences of the Village of Wimberley. We regularly utilize the nearby groceries, pharmacies, restaurants, wineries, hardware and other stores. We appreciate the many nearby state parks and towns that make up the Texas Hill Country!

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival to the property. The house surpassed our expectations. It is very large, open, and well equipped. We were traveling with young children ages 1 to 10, as well as adults 70+ with handicap limitations. The property accomodated both. The children had plenty of area to play outside and the river provided a natural "children's pool" that had 1 to 2 ft. of water. The one-story layout made it comfortable for the adults 70+.



We fished, played in the river which had a maximim depth of about 4 ft., sat in the hot tub in the evenings, shopped, and enjoyed eating and playing outside near the house.



Pros: Large home and property, River, Hottub, Good seating, Shopping and grocery close, Kitchen well-equipped



Cons: The path with steps leading down to the river was difficult for adults 70+.



We would definitely return in the future and recommend this property to others."
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

5
based on 100 traveler reviews

Large Blanco Riverfront home on 25 private acres w/ Deep Swimming Hole
average rating of 4.98 based on 102 reviews
Richardson, Texas
5

Unexpected and Glorious Solitude in the Hill Country of Texas

  • 5 of 5

This property was exactly as described on the listing, but was even more amazing than expected. The remoteness and the quiet were absolutely wonderful. That being said, the location was only maybe a 15 minute drive into Wimberly and shopping, restaurants, groceries, etc. All of us loved every minute there and wanted to spend every minute at the house that we could. The river was a short easy walk down hill from the house, and could be heard from the house. The house was spacious, very clean (no dirt on your feet from walking on those floors!) , and very comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen that made cooking and eating meals there easy and pleasurable. From inside the house all one could see when looking out the windows was the green foliage of the trees on the property. There were plenty of books and toys in the house for our 2yr old granddaughter to play with. The bocci ball court outside was enjoyed by all. Roby did provide good customer service, and answered all my questions about the property by way of email. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family, and in fact already have recommended it to a cousin who saw pictures posted on facebook. We enjoyed exploring the shops in Wimberly. One day that we were there we ate lunch in town at The Leaning Pear, a restaurant recommended by one of the shop owners. All of us enjoyed our meal there and would definitely go again. This property provided a wonderful get-a-way for our family of 7, and we would all happily stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Antonio
5

Family Time -Private Quite River Front

  • 5 of 5

Looking for a quite home near Wimberley with access to the Blanco River I came across Shade Ranch... What a find! Roby was accommodating and responsive to my inquires so we booked it for 3 nights. We arrived Thursday evening and had an TADDA moment as my teenage kids and wife were in AWE with the view and amenities. Roby and his family really know how to take care of this home, it was clean and well-maintained. The entry mud room is convenient as is the many flat (satellite) TV's and multitude of board games/video moves... kids were not bored in the evenings. The large home is spacious with couches and homely feel to it. The kitchen was as expected, with well accommodated dishes, pans, pots, glasses, cups and utensils. The master bedroom is large split with a sitting room and small library well stocked for weeks of reading. The master bath appears to be recently renovated so this is NOT a rustic feel. Plenty of towels, shampoo and soap, this was a welcome touch. We enjoyed our breakfast by the large room overseeing the river, drank our coffee and just took in the scenery and baffling river sounds below. The WiFi was not the fastest but that's OK since we did not want to kids to be glued to their social media all day, and they were NOT with the setting of this home. There is an HEB and Ace Hardware within 5 minutes so any items forgotten was not an issue. While there are plenty of restaurants we preferred to cook and enjoy our quite time. We did hit the Wimberley market days (hot day) but came back to a refreshing dip in the river as we sat in our beach chairs on the flat rocks while the teens ventured away and only to return when it was time to eat. In the evening we cooked out in the patio and enjoyed playing Bocce Ball, we don't exactly know the rules so we made them up, more family time. Thank you Roby for a memorable weekend, this will be on our calendar to return again.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

They don't call it a little bit of heaven for nothing

  • 5 of 5

Setting here in the big room surrounded by windows with view and sounds of running river water cascading over rock, watching a big blue Herron catching breakfast while a buck and two doe frolick in the middle of their own private water park I think back some 45 years ago when two year long newly weds traveling in a green and white VW bus first stumbled across Wimberley. Spending the night on the rocky riverbed at a place called Little Arkansas sealed the deal for years of returning trips with kids and grandkids and great grandkids. 5 stars ain't enough.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful getaway

  • 5 of 5

Entire family enjoyed the property emensily. There was something for everyone. The Blanco river flows at your feet, what's not to love. Everything is provided. Just bring your swim suit and a positive attitude and you will have a great time. Will be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Shade Ranch and once again it was a wonderful experience. Everything you could possibly need is available at the house. This property has the best view and the most beautiful swimming hole on the Blanco River. A great place for our family vacation! Can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Casa Grande - 2nd time around

  • 5 of 5

This is our second stay at the Casa Grande. Our family spans in age from 17 to 86. Everyone is in love with this house and property. The Norvell's have thoughtfully provided everything you would need for a comfortable, fun stay. I especially appreciated the peaceful surroundings. No neighbors to worry with was heavenly. We will be booking this house for next year for sure!

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Shade Ranch is located just south of the Wimberley, TX town center on 513 feet of Blanco River Frontage. Wimberley sits 45 minutes southwest of Austin, TX and 45 minutes northwest of San Antonio.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wimberley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid Season 2016
Sep 12 2016 - Sep 25 2016
2 night minimum stay
$495
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season 2016
Sep 26 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2016
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 15 2016
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 16 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 27 2016 - Dec 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
$595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
New Years
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Low Season 2017
Jan 3 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$450
From
$495
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring Break 2017
Mar 10 2017 - Mar 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season 2017
Mar 26 2017 - Apr 12 2017
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter 2017
Apr 13 2017 - Apr 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$650
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season 2017
Apr 17 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day 2017
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$695
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
May 29 2017 - Jun 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$595
From
$625
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July 2017
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$695
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$595
From
$625
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$695
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Mid Season 2017
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 20 2017
2 night minimum stay
$495
From
$550
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $35 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$550
From
$595
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation Policy: Please note that VRBO/HomeAway system uses a boiler plate refund policy. Our policy is that you receive a full refund, less a $100 re-booking fee, if you cancel more than 30 days in advance. If you cancel less than 30 days before your arrival date, you will be refunded (less the $100 re-booking fee) if we are able to re-book the same dates as your stay. This policy overrides the HomeAway stated policy.

Pet Fee: Any pets must be pre-approved by the owner. $25/night for each dog.

Damage Deposit: Your damage deposit will be refunded one week after your departure if the following conditions are met: 1) no damages are made to the property, house or furniture; 2) the house is left in an orderly fashion and not in need of additional cleaning due to excessive trash or messes; and 3) neighbors or guests at the other house were not disturbed during your stay where complaints were made. We will not hold your deposit hostage, we just want people to be considerate guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Wimberley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River ...
  • Town
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Hall Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Single rollaway bed stored in closet is available for use.
    River Room - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , New full sized bunk bunk bed up and full futon below.
  • River Room is the second living area that is great for family gatherings but can also easily sleep additional guests. There is a daybed with trundle and a set of bunk beds. The bed bed is a full mattress above and a full sized futon below that can be laid flat (we provide sheets for the futon as well). We also have a single rollaway bed and there is an air mattress for use by guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • DVR
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 8 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
• Recently redecorated in 2013 with new granite, stainless appliances, flooring, tile, bathroom fixtures, etc. o 2 large dens (one with primary TV and other is the large “River Room” with wrap around windows and views of river) o Wood burning fireplace in den o 3 Bedrooms: Master suite with king bed, guest rooms with queen bed, and 2 twin beds o River Room has sleeping area with bunk beds and day bed with trundle. o Pack n Play available upon request o 2 full baths with hair dryer, toiletries, shampoo & liquid soap provided o Ample supply of towels & linens o Breakfast area table with 4 chairs o Dining area table with 8 chairs o High chair o Kitchen fully equipped with dishes and cookware o Full size refrigerator w/ freezer, microwave, electric stove & oven, dishwasher o Coffee maker (with coffee, creamer and sugar), electric blender, filtered water o Wood burning fireplace o 2 TV's with HD DirecTV DVD and DVR o iPod player with AM/FM; Telephone w/ US long dist.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers