check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Karen Mittendorf

Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Quiet Oceanview Condo

19 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 28 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Tavernier Condo Rental Photos and Description

1bedrm king bed, living rm queen sofabed, 1 bathrm, sleeps 3 people comfortably

This 750 square foot one-bedroom/one-bath, oceanfront condo features a balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with a small beach area on the water for sunbathing or fishing, a heated swimming pool with shaded tiki huts with ocean view.

Occasional dolphins seen with the other marine life on our shore.

Off main highway so no traffic noise.

Unit conveniently located in complex near elevator and laundry room and near beach area.

Wireless Internet access available in condo

Owner local for any needs or info

Being advertised according to Islamorada requirement 28-day minimum since property is considered affordable housing, call if questions

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Karen Mittendorf (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why Karen Mittendorf chose Upper Florida Keys

Perfect for vacations long or short, Islamorada considers this affordable housing so can only be advertised as 28-days or longer, call if questions

What makes this condo unique

This condo complex is away from the one main road through the Keys so you don't hear any traffic noise

The owner lives only 2 miles away and is available for anything needed, and having lived in the area for 20 years knows the area from experience

It is only a few minutes drive to the heart of Islamorada with many waterfront restaurants and bars but you can come home away from the noise and crowds.

Reviews

4.8
based on 19 traveler reviews

Quiet Oceanview Condo
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 19 reviews
Where do you live?
5

Great!!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place around the Islamorada/Tavernier area and we found this gem. The Seagulls Oceanfront Condo was well decorated, very comfortable, very clean and the perfect location for us. The view from the patio was just incredible. You overlook the ocean while catching a sunrise, sipping your coffee, or just enjoying the boats coming and going throughout the day. It was nice to have a pool to enjoy on property as well. The bed was very comfortable, she had books and games and movies if needed. I cant say enough about this place. Karen has certainly thought of everything that you could possible need. There were so many little "extras" that made our stay just that much more enjoyable. All we had to do was grab some groceries and we were set for the week. We thank you for all you do to make this THE place to stay, we have found our home away from home in your Condo in the Keys.

We also found some awesome fishing on party boat, Miss Islamorada, out of Bud and Mary's. We took the Mangrove Snapper that we caught to a place that was recommended called Lorelei Cabana, Bar, and Restaurant and we couldn't be more pleased. This is also a great place to catch those amazing sunsets the Keys are known for while listening to live music. Old Tavernier was another favorite of ours... awesome food, great atmosphere and incredible staff. For Key Lime Pie go to Mrs. Mac's Kitchen in Key Largo...it is to die for... I'm serious. Island Fish Company in Marathon has the BEST hamburgers and fries.. so good we ate there twice during our week stay.. also had the shrimp po'boy and the rest of the food we saw being served looked incredible... just a really great place to eat, again on the bay side so you get those awesome sunsets along with dinner.. Lazy Days was also a good place to eat. Of course we had to make the trip to Key West and enjoy some of the history as well as the ambiance of the Keys. didn't get to see the sunset here as it was overcast the day we went but I hear they are incredible. For a fun day go to John Pennekamp State Park in Key Largo. They have snorkel trips, dive trips, paddle board and kayak through the mangroves, glass bottom boats out to the reefs, you name it...a great fun family day. What a fabulous week in a fabulous place. We would highly recommend the Seagulls Oceanfront Condo (ID 7012370) in Islamorada as well as the restaurants, businesses and entertainment we have listed above.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

relaxing

  • 4 of 5

The condo was clean and close to the things we wished to see and do.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Be prepared to spend more than you plan to

  • 2 of 5

The condo was nice, it was quiet with a nice view. Had all the essentials as advertised. Pictures look just like it really is. The beach was not sand, it was pebble and not a place you would want to go swimming. Very dissappointing. The pool was nice. It was quiet. The people who lived in the building seemed bothered by the vacationers. When we left we cleaned the place as requested however Karen took $60 from our deposit stating that certain things were not up to her standards. We were expecting to get a full refund back. Even after inquiring through an email Karen stated 3 things that weren't up to her standards and she charged us 3 hours for stuff that would've taken an hour or less to do.When I questioned this she did not respond back to my next email.

We find this practice dubious at best? Wonder how many others vacationers were "clipped" by this practice. We are VERY disappointed.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Amaillo, Texas
5

Best Keys vacation we've ever had

  • 5 of 5

If you want the best Keys vacation of a lifetime, you want a very nice & clean place to stay that is conveniently located in the upper Keys, you demand a absolutely gorgeous view, and you don't want to borrow from your 401(k) for the next three years....You've found your place! Sofas in the living room are updated from the pics: VERY comfortable. Balcony in early morning and night for boat watching is unbelievable! Sun can get a little intense during the day. Everything you need in the kitchen. Bathroom and shower are very clean and useable. (With the exception of Hotels at three times (+) this price, this is the nicest place we've stayed in the Keys) Karen is the best to work with. She lets you know what she provides and what she expects when you leave. Our damage deposit was returned in a few days! WiFi was great! We don't watch much TV or game so can't speak to that here. Bed was very comfortable for our taste. We stayed 45 straight days and had ZERO problems. Practically had the pool to ourselves. We were really spoiled by that. You can go North or South on HW1 and find the best Tiki Bars, restaurants, shopping, boat, kayak, and wave runners. Rent your equipment from Paddle The Florida Keys! Absolutely the best! They deliver and they know Sea Gull Condo. Only two restaurants get a thumbs down: Island Grill (South) and Islamorada Fish Company. Fantastic restaurants are: MM88, Senior Frejoles, Snappers, Snooks Bayside, and Hog Heaven. (All have outdoor seating or they wouldn't be on our list) We hated to leave and will certainly be back! Thanks Karen!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Karen's condo for our 40th wedding anniversary!Thank you Karen! The view was so amazing, made it hard to leave the balcony! Everything we needed was there! Pool was quiet and Kayaking was so much fun! We spent most of our time there, alone, Except for a few meals out and getting groceries ! Wonderful!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very quiet, relaxing, immaculately clean condo A+!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I rented Karen's condo at Seagull Condos from June 8th through June 15th 2015 for our honeymoon. We randomly found it online and booked it based on all of the great reviews there were. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! When we walked in, our first impression was that it was spotless. The second impression was, "what a view"! After that we began to unpack and look around and there honestly wasn't anything the place was missing at all. There was even a fishing rod and some tackle in the closet, tennis rackets and balls, every towel and linen you can imagine, and anything for cooking as well. We did a combo of cooking many of our meals and it worked out great. The dishwasher worked wonderfully, the AC worked great, and anything else was perfect as well. It really made us feel at home for our time there. We had a rental car and put on a TON of miles in the keys (900 in a week) and the condo really helped to be in close proximity to a lot of awesome landmarks, restaurants, beaches, etc.

Inside the condo it was absolutely silent and made it perfect to relax. Out on the balcony, it was very rare to have much noise. At night, it was beautiful to sit out there in the dark and listen to the ocean, etc.

The pool was AWESOME there and people rarely were using it. Everytime we went down there we had it to ourselves. It was spotless and had some nice lounge areas to enjoy a cold adult beverage and relax.

We really hope to make it back down there again in a year or two!

Thanks Karen!

Ryan and Christina Soulard, Grand Rapids, MI!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Miami Internat'l Airport MIA or Ft Lauderdale FLL
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Old Tavernier Restaurant and bar 1/4 mile
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Craigs Restaurant 1/8 mile
Car: recommended

Quiet area of the Florida Keys, minutes to heart of Islamorada or Key Largo for all kinds of entertainment, tiki bars, and restaurants, many great seafood restaurants

1 1/2 hour scenic drive to Key West with attractions along the way - nice day trip

Kayaks can be rented from several local outfitters delivered

Fishing capital of the world with party boats, backcountry boats or offshore boats.

Rent a boat or dock your own at Tavernier Creek Marina 1/4 mile away,

Visit the beautiful coral reefs with local dive or snorkeling shops or ride the glass bottom boat

Small artsy shopping areas nearby

Closeby: supermarket, pharmacy, liquor store, ice cream shop, Irish pub, shopping, restaurants

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tavernier Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall-December
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 17 2016
28 night minimum stay
$700
$2,000
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
28 night minimum stay
$3,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay
$1,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.5%

Monthly or longer stays required to pay $1,000 deposit and pay payment 60 days prior to arrival
NO CLEANING FEE IF YOU CLEAN (no laundry required, cleaning supplies provided)
Pay by credit card through PayPal even without a paypal account for fee or send check with no fee
Kayak rental $50 per week total, 2-man kayak with paddles and life jackets

$250 deposit totally refundable

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tavernier Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Tiled shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Living room - 1 queen , sofabed
  • King size canopy bed in bedroom Queen size sofa bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers