Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon

Quiet Oceanview Condo

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 28 - 180 nights

Overview

About the property

1bedrm king bed, living rm queen sofabed, 1 bathrm, sleeps 3 people comfortably

This 750 square foot one-bedroom/one-bath, oceanfront condo features a balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with a small beach area on the water for sunbathing or fishing, a heated swimming pool with shaded tiki huts with ocean view.

Occasional dolphins seen with the other marine life on our shore.

Off main highway so no traffic noise.

Unit conveniently located in complex near elevator and laundry room and near beach area.

Wireless Internet access available in condo

Owner local for any needs or info

Being advertised according to Islamorada requirement 28-day minimum since property is considered affordable housing, call if questions

More Details

Owner
Karen Mittendorf
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2017

About Karen Mittendorf

Live all year just 2 miles away from condo

Karen Mittendorf purchased this condo in 1998

Why Karen Mittendorf chose Upper Florida Keys

Perfect for vacations long or short, Islamorada considers this affordable housing so can only be advertised as 28-days or longer, call if questions

What makes this condo unique

This condo complex is away from the one main road through the Keys so you don't hear any traffic noise

The owner lives only 2 miles away and is available for anything needed, and having lived in the area for 20 years knows the area from experience

It is only a few minutes drive to the heart of Islamorada with many waterfront restaurants and bars but you can come home away from the noise and crowds.

Amenities

Tavernier Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 3
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Tiled shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Living room - 1 queen , sofabed
  • King size canopy bed in bedroom Queen size sofa bed in living room
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Quiet Oceanview Condo
average rating of 4.571429 based on 21 reviews
4

Great view!

  • 4 of 5

Great place to enjoy your morning coffee and breakfast while watching the sun rise! Unit was clean and well stocked! Location was very accessible to the grocery store and attractions. Easy to follow instructions and the owner even provided a Winn-Dixie shopper card for store discounts. The pool area looked nice, but unfortunately we couldn't use it. We didn't know the pool was going to be closed for renovations the week we were there. Deposit was quickly refunded and all in all was a very nice getaway.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Deception and Dishonesty

  • 1 of 5

What ever you do, do not rent this unit. The owner is dishonest and only wants your money.

She was told by the condo management 2 months before our visit that the pool was going to be closed for 2 weeks for repairs during our stay.

She decided not to tell us this important fact. When we arrived and called her about the pool she said we could swim in the ocean. Wrong, the beach is full of kelp and seaweed and unswimmable.

The unit is just above the garbage dumpster and the air stinks if you go out on the deck, and the electrical transformers are also in the view and you can hear them buzz if you go out on the deck.

Basically NO POOL, NO BEACH, NO DECK, She said she would give us a refund on the phone when we were staying there,but when we got home she sent an email saying no refund and no discount. Beware of this property!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry about this misunderstanding, this renter indicated they could not complete their stay because of the pool being closed so I offered to give a refund meaning the remaining days that they could not remain. They stayed their entire reservation so I did not give a refund. There is no smell from the garbage or noise from the electric transformer across the street. I never claim that the ocean here was a good place for swimming.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Where do you live?
5

Great!!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place around the Islamorada/Tavernier area and we found this gem. The Seagulls Oceanfront Condo was well decorated, very comfortable, very clean and the perfect location for us. The view from the patio was just incredible. You overlook the ocean while catching a sunrise, sipping your coffee, or just enjoying the boats coming and going throughout the day. It was nice to have a pool to enjoy on property as well. The bed was very comfortable, she had books and games and movies if needed. I cant say enough about this place. Karen has certainly thought of everything that you could possible need. There were so many little "extras" that made our stay just that much more enjoyable. All we had to do was grab some groceries and we were set for the week. We thank you for all you do to make this THE place to stay, we have found our home away from home in your Condo in the Keys.

We also found some awesome fishing on party boat, Miss Islamorada, out of Bud and Mary's. We took the Mangrove Snapper that we caught to a place that was recommended called Lorelei Cabana, Bar, and Restaurant and we couldn't be more pleased. This is also a great place to catch those amazing sunsets the Keys are known for while listening to live music. Old Tavernier was another favorite of ours... awesome food, great atmosphere and incredible staff. For Key Lime Pie go to Mrs. Mac's Kitchen in Key Largo...it is to die for... I'm serious. Island Fish Company in Marathon has the BEST hamburgers and fries.. so good we ate there twice during our week stay.. also had the shrimp po'boy and the rest of the food we saw being served looked incredible... just a really great place to eat, again on the bay side so you get those awesome sunsets along with dinner.. Lazy Days was also a good place to eat. Of course we had to make the trip to Key West and enjoy some of the history as well as the ambiance of the Keys. didn't get to see the sunset here as it was overcast the day we went but I hear they are incredible. For a fun day go to John Pennekamp State Park in Key Largo. They have snorkel trips, dive trips, paddle board and kayak through the mangroves, glass bottom boats out to the reefs, you name it...a great fun family day. What a fabulous week in a fabulous place. We would highly recommend the Seagulls Oceanfront Condo (ID 7012370) in Islamorada as well as the restaurants, businesses and entertainment we have listed above.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

relaxing

  • 4 of 5

The condo was clean and close to the things we wished to see and do.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Be prepared to spend more than you plan to

  • 2 of 5

The condo was nice, it was quiet with a nice view. Had all the essentials as advertised. Pictures look just like it really is. The beach was not sand, it was pebble and not a place you would want to go swimming. Very dissappointing. The pool was nice. It was quiet. The people who lived in the building seemed bothered by the vacationers. When we left we cleaned the place as requested however Karen took $60 from our deposit stating that certain things were not up to her standards. We were expecting to get a full refund back. Even after inquiring through an email Karen stated 3 things that weren't up to her standards and she charged us 3 hours for stuff that would've taken an hour or less to do.When I questioned this she did not respond back to my next email.

We find this practice dubious at best? Wonder how many others vacationers were "clipped" by this practice. We are VERY disappointed.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Amarillo,TX
5

Best Keys vacation we've ever had

  • 5 of 5

If you want the best Keys vacation of a lifetime, you want a very nice & clean place to stay that is conveniently located in the upper Keys, you demand a absolutely gorgeous view, and you don't want to borrow from your 401(k) for the next three years....You've found your place! Sofas in the living room are updated from the pics: VERY comfortable. Balcony in early morning and night for boat watching is unbelievable! Sun can get a little intense during the day. Everything you need in the kitchen. Bathroom and shower are very clean and useable. (With the exception of Hotels at three times (+) this price, this is the nicest place we've stayed in the Keys) Karen is the best to work with. She lets you know what she provides and what she expects when you leave. Our damage deposit was returned in a few days! WiFi was great! We don't watch much TV or game so can't speak to that here. Bed was very comfortable for our taste. We stayed 45 straight days and had ZERO problems. Practically had the pool to ourselves. We were really spoiled by that. You can go North or South on HW1 and find the best Tiki Bars, restaurants, shopping, boat, kayak, and wave runners. Rent your equipment from Paddle The Florida Keys! Absolutely the best! They deliver and they know Sea Gull Condo. Only two restaurants get a thumbs down: Island Grill (South) and Islamorada Fish Company. Fantastic restaurants are: MM88, Senior Frejoles, Snappers, Snooks Bayside, and Hog Heaven. (All have outdoor seating or they wouldn't be on our list) We hated to leave and will certainly be back! Thanks Karen!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Miami Internat'l Airport MIA or Ft Lauderdale FLL
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Old Tavernier Restaurant and bar 1/4 mile
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Craigs Restaurant 1/8 mile
Car: recommended

Quiet area of the Florida Keys, minutes to heart of Islamorada or Key Largo for all kinds of entertainment, tiki bars, and restaurants, many great seafood restaurants

1 1/2 hour scenic drive to Key West with attractions along the way - nice day trip

Kayaks can be rented from several local outfitters delivered

Fishing capital of the world with party boats, backcountry boats or offshore boats.

Rent a boat or dock your own at Tavernier Creek Marina 1/4 mile away,

Visit the beautiful coral reefs with local dive or snorkeling shops or ride the glass bottom boat

Small artsy shopping areas nearby

Closeby: supermarket, pharmacy, liquor store, ice cream shop, Irish pub, shopping, restaurants

Photos

Rates & Availability

Tavernier Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter/Spring 2017
Mar 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
28 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
2017 yearly
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 1 2018
180 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay
$1,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 12.5%

Monthly or longer stays required to pay $1,000 deposit and pay payment 60 days prior to arrival
NO CLEANING FEE IF YOU CLEAN (no laundry required, cleaning supplies provided)
Pay by credit card through PayPal even without a paypal account for fee or send check with no fee
Kayak rental $50 per week total, 2-man kayak with paddles and life jackets

$250 deposit totally refundable

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties