Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Suwannee River Escape - Cozy Cottage on the River

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6) 4 adults max w/ total of 6 guests max

***To avoid confusion, please do NOT send multiple inquiries. Inquiries are answered in the order received.

Leave the city traffic and congestion FAR behind when you visit the River Song Cottage on the Historic Suwannee River. Shaded by giant oak trees this cottage features a large deck overlooking the river. Also a second large deck right on the bank of the river. This is the perfect place to escape, relax, enjoy the REAL Florida and all its wildlife.

Location is in Lafayette County, five miles north of Mayo. This is 35 miles (45 minutes) from Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park and 40 miles (55 minutes) from Stephen Foster Memorial Park.

Maximum # of guests is 6 (up to 4 adults) and is strictly enforced.

Snowbirds welcome! Check with us for deep discounts on extended stays in the months of NOVEMBER, DECEMBER, JANUARY, FEBRUARY, MARCH!

EMAIL FOR AVAILABILITY!!! We keep a master calendar on our properties and do not always update VRBO, so email with requested dates for quick availability check.

Lafayette Blue Springs State Park 1/4 mile down river, numerous natural springs nearby. Just 30 miles from the Gulf Coast beaches. 25 miles to Spirit of the Suwannee Music park. 30 miles to Steinhatchee. 35 Miles to the Ichetucknee River State Park for tubing on a crystal clear spring-fed river. This area is a diver's paradise!

45 Miles to Wild Adventures Amusement and Water Park - awesome rides, water park and live music shows included in ticket price. Loads of fun without the crowds and traffic of Central Florida theme parks.

The Cottage is completely furnished and has recently been renovated with new carpet and ceramic tile. Bring your food and fishing pole. There is a boat launch within one mile. We have two canoes and a kayak on site, with paddles and life vests. This is a great get away for couples or active families! The interior is nicely decorated.

Initial contact via email is preferred and we will send additional information on the property including a list of frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Riverfront Cottage, Cabin on the Suwannee, Kayaking, Outdoors, Deck over the water

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 14, 2017

Why The Owner chose Mayo

This is one of the few remaining sections of Florida that are unspoiled by developers. We experience true Florida life here.

What makes this cottage unique

Riverfront/River access - deck repairs are complete.

Amenities

Mayo Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom is small with only a shower, no tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen (1) Both are very comfortable!, L-shaped sofa can sleep children.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
Notes:
Cable TV, Digital piano, VCR movies, Music CDs, Coffee, 2 Canoes, 1 Kayak, Paddles, Lifevests, Small firepit outside, private outdoor shower.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Suwannee River Escape - Cozy Cottage on the River
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 13 reviews
5

Serene and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean. It was the right amount of nature plus WiFi/cottage comfort. Fishing and canoeing was enjoyable. Definitely was what we were looking for to be comfortably secluded.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I am glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Middleville, MI
4

Very nice, quiet, clean place to stay for someone who is looking forward to getting away

  • 4 of 5

The stay was excellent and accommodations were very clean and comfortable. The only thing I would suggest / change is a few more spots to hang or store clothes. One bedroom had closet and dresser that were both full of extra linens. Maybe a little extra shelving or some hooks on the wall? Other than that, everything was excellent, comfortable, and very enjoyable!!! Beautiful view of the river and nice deck and dock provided great places to enjoy the view and the weather.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Gainesville Fl
1

This house should not have been rented in this condition

  • 1 of 5

I have stayed at this house before and was satisfied butt not this time. When renting, I was not informed that the dock would be unavailable for use. I first found out when I arrived and found the handy man working on the dock and was told it would not be complete until after I left. The owner should have been more forthcoming regarding this. Based on conversations this was not very recent damaged and should have been communicated to me so I could make other plans. This was very disappointing and I had to make to best of a bad situation.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize for the misunderstanding. I did indicate when you made your reservation that they would be working on securing the lower deck, as we can only make repairs when the river is down far enough. I assumed it wasn't a concern as you did not respond with questions or concerns. I wish I would have know, as we have additional decks to access the river on adjacent properties.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An enchanting place.

  • 5 of 5

I loved staying in this cottage! The large deck and the river deck are really wonderful! I loved the huge new sofas in the living room and the big comfy bed. This is a very comfortable place to get away from it all, listen to the birds, take long walks, and do some fishing or floating. Great state parks to explore nearby. I had to leave early because of illness in my family. Otherwise I'd still be there savoring every moment of spring. The redbuds and camilias and magnolias are blooming!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review! We are sending prayers and loving thoughts to you and your family. We hope to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Virginia Gardens
5

Nice place to enjoy nature

  • 5 of 5

I enjoy the ospreys, the soothing sounds of nature a plus is the proximity of th Lafayette Blue Springs, where you forget about the humidity and the heat,

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The Suwannee was awesome!

  • 2 of 5

My bride and I rented the cottage for three nights to celebrate our 27 year anniversary and do some kayaking. We arrive and everything as going good until we started down the decks that lead to the river. The top portion of the deck was okay, it had a nice view of the river. The stairs going to the next level were very unstable not real safe.WOW!!! Then we saw the part of the stairs leading to the lower portion of the deck. Boards had been nailed across it because the lower portion was almost completely gone. There was no safe way to access the river, the deck that was left was busted up with exposed nails and broken boards. We managed to carefully climb down to the river bank with our cooler and gear on this broken deck.We had to use a winch that the owner had set up to lower and raise their canoes to and from the river bank to get our tandem kayak down.It would have been less wear on our kayak if we could have carried it down. The owner states in the cottage instructions to use the winch if using canoes and to carry kayaks down using the deck. The owner also states in item #11RISK AND RESPONSIBILITY: of the rental agreement that they are not liable for incidents or injury due to unknown damage to decks. I would be okay with that but it's clear that they knew that the deck access to the river was damaged, it was boarded up. We should have been told about the deck when we talked to them to rent. We emailed them when we saw the problem with the deck thinking in good faith they would offer a little compensation for the inconvenience. The response we got was they were not responsible for the inconvenience.I guess this falls under the RISK part, you take the risk that you will not be told that the deck is damaged and there is no easy river access.

Except for the deck issue the trip was good.I think my Beautiful Bride will keep me around another 27 years.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry if that spoiled your trip! Because of the rise and fall of the river and being off-site owners, it is a little difficult to detect whether or not there is damage to the bottom steps. We do repair them if there is damage, when the river goes down, but we were not aware of the problem prior to your arrival. We can't guarantee their condition, which is why we have that risk clause. There are several local boat ramps as well as alternative docks we can use if we have enough heads up to contact the neighboring owners. All of the property owners on that street work together in the event one of us finds ourselves with damage. I apologize, I thought you made out okay when I didn't hear a response to my message trying to assess the situation. Thank you for the heads up. We've sent our contractor out to make the repairs. We'll be sure to have that lined up in the future. We haven't had any trouble with it in a long time. Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
45 Miles
High Springs
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-10
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Mayo
Car: necessary

Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park, State Parks, Natural Springs, Ichetucknee River Tubing, Lafayette Blue Springs State Park, One hour drive to Wild Adventures Theme Park in Georgia.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

Please send an email with the dates you would like to stay, so we can check availability. When you are ready to make your reservation, we will send you an email via Pay Pal, where you can pay by checking account, debit or credit card. Rates and nightly minimum are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties