Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Affordable Watefront Cottage near base of Smith Mountain, Great Views

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2BR Waterfront Vacation Rental Huddleston, Virginia USA

This immaculate two-bedroom/one-bath vacation rental is situated on the shores of beautiful Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia. It features comfortable accommodations and stunning wide-water and mountain views! Perfect for a family getaway, Cedar Key Cabin includes one queen-size bed, two twins, a queen-size sleep sofa, a TV, VCR, DirectTV, internet access, central heating and air-conditioning, open beams, and hardwood floors. The home sleeps six persons comfortably.

Outdoors there's a deck with a charcoal grill and patio furniture. And there's a shared dock which is great for swimming and boating. Cedar Key Cabin is near the mountains and the Smith Mountain Lake dam.

Don't miss out on a fantastic vacation at beautiful Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia! Call us today to make your reservations.

Welcome: Cedar Key Cabins are two immaculate vacation rentals located on the shores of beautiful Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia. In addition to comfortable accommodations, you'll also enjoy stunning wide-water and mountain views!

Dog friendly!: Dogs are allowed on the property and have a wonderful time at the lake. However, please do not leave them alone. Even though your dog may be comfortable alone at home, dogs are often frightened when left in a strange place and can cause substantial damage. Cats are not allowed.

Learn more about Smith Mountain Lake: Smith Mountain Lake is truly the jewel of the Blue Ridge. .

More Details

Property Manager
Charlie or Joan
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

Map

Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Mitchells Marina
Car: necessary

Cedar Key Cabin is located on beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. Enjoy boating, fishing, golf, swimming and relaxing, all with stunning mountain and water views.

Kroger & Food Lion grocery stores, Westlake Cinema, Smith Mountain Lake State Park & Mitchell's Marina nearby.

Golf: SML offers three public golf courses -- The Westlake Golf & Country Club, Mariners Landing Golf Club and Sycamore Ridge. In addition, there are two private country clubs (The Waterfront and The Water's Edge), which are both owned by The Willard Companies.

Amenities

Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Living area - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
34% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Affordable Watefront Cottage near base of Smith Mountain, Great Views
average rating of 4.65625 based on 32 reviews
Centreville, Virginia
5

Such a Relaxing Long Weekend at the Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We can't wait to come back for another visit. Awesome views, peace and quiet, and lots of beautiful wildlife to view. The deck was our favorite part of the house, where we used the loungers to read and the table for our meals (candlelight in the evenings). Kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed (no dishwasher, but it was fun to wash and dry together for a change). We slept like logs every night. It's near a boat ramp for you to use. It's also near the state park for hiking and/or biking.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location on the lake - loved the quiet cove. Very peaceful. Great views from the deck.

  • 4 of 5

Well-stocked but small kitchen. Comfortable living area. Bring lots of towels because there is no washer and dryer. For a family of 4 it was a bit cramped but all the beds were comfortable. But nothing detracted from our week. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cabin and on SML. One rainy/overcast day we went into Bedford and toured the National D-Day Memorial. That was well worth the trip. We rented a pontoon boat from Mitchell's for three days and really enjoyed that. Very easy to get in and out of the dock.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Gorgeous lake and relaxing stay in cabin 7

  • 4 of 5

Great place! Owners very responsive to questions prior to arrival. Clean accommodations with fantastic dock!!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Appomattox
4

Really good value

  • 4 of 5

Cabin was great; boat dock very nice. Worked pretty well for two wheel chair bound guests inside and on the deck

It would not take much $ or effort to "ramp" the front entry of one or two cabins so there are no big bumps going in/out.

The worst issue for me was unloading/loading. Trailers don't fit on the "one way at a time," access road. My cabin "neighbors" were very understanding while I unloaded but there's no way that traffic can get by when there's a trailer and vehicle on the access road.

There's a no trailer sign but you don't see it until you're pretty committed to the access road. It took me an extra two hours to ferry my equipment and gear from cabin to parking lot.

Overall a great stay it just threw me a couple curves I wasn't expecting

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Terry thanks for your review I will add to my rental information to leave boat also trailer in the parking lot I thought there was I sign there all ready hope you and your family will come back again Joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Florida
5

The best experience and most-peaceful spot, with a breathtaking scenery! Joan Foster is wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the quaint accommodations! It was a graduation, honeymoon, and first vacation all in one! The owner Joan Foster was very helpful and allowed us to bring our Shih-tzu which made it feel like home. Everything was provided and there were instructions for everything, and Joan was always there if we had any questions. It was the most-homey of a cabin and the rates were well below most others. Everything was well-maintained and up to date. We went fishing and saw incredible wildlife, it was beautiful! We already booked the place for another ten days next year. It is the best place to go to get away from it all! We will never forget our time there at Cabin #7! Thank you so much Joan Foster! The Kocsis Family

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful views and close to state park.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was quaint and in a wildlife preserve. Enjoyed seeing the birds and wildlife. The dock was very nice. It was a great get away! Would definitely go there again! We really enjoyed being able to bring our dog. He had such a great time swimming and seeing all the deer! The kitchen was well stocked and we cooked and grilled almost every night. (FYI we got a list of amenities and it was supposed to have a coffee grinder. Bought great coffee beans and then were unable to use them because there was no grinder!) The one downside was the cottage is in need of a few upgrades. The tub didn't drain well, so you're standing in water while you shower. Very few electrical outlets and the owners used the multi plug adapters everywhere, including on an extension cord. Big fire hazard! Needed more explanation on how to use the direct tv. We're unable to access the wifi for the first 3 days. Not sure why but the cottages wifi wouldn't come up as an option on our phones or iPad . Overall, a very nice cottage!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you had problems with the cable wish you would have called we could have called the cable company to see what the problem was we had a coffee grinder don't know what happened to it will replace it as soon as I can get to the lake .We would like to thank you for your comments glad you had a good time
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60

Please inquire on our additional cabin available on HomeAway #249460

Transitory tax and cleaning fee included with rates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.