Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Summer Special $119 - Kona Reef - Beautiful Sunsets - Private Lanai - WiFi

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Air Dream hide-a-bed mattress, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This top floor, corner Condominium in the beautifully maintained Kona Reef Condominiums awaits you!

• Relax on the private lanai and watch the wave, the surfers, the dolphins, the sunsets …. and BREATHE in that fresh ocean air!

• You can relax by the pool, in shade or sun, or sit on the grass (or on the comfy chaise lounge chairs) at the edge of the ocean.

• Use the immaculately cleaned barbecues (4) to grill up fresh fish or steaks and watch the sunset - ahhhhhhh!

• There is a public sandy beach bordering the Kona Reef to the south. We enjoy going into the ocean from this beach -- easier access for snorkeling than directly out front of the condo.

• The relaxing stroll along the waterfront into the quaint town of Kailua is wonderful - from early morning (there are a couple of great coffee shops that open early, allowing you to sit outside and watch the waves splash on shore) until late at night. No need to hassle with driving - the shops and restaurants, spas and even a luau - are all within easy walking distance from our condominium.

• You can keep busy from morn 'til midnight, exploring the Kona Coast - hiking, biking, birding, fishing, snorkeling, scuba diving, exploring remote beaches, the volcano, green and black sand beaches – or just sit and enjoy RELAXING!

• Come! Stay awhile - Relax, renew your energy and soak up the beauty of creation all around!

Note: We own another condo here at the Kona Reef -- check out our other listing (vrbo # 27574). We are OWNERS ... not property managers so we invite you to enjoy our Kona Home!


Cancellations made within 30 days of reservation are non-refundable unless unit is rented to another guest. There are no refunds for arriving late, early departure or ‘no shows’. We advise guests to purchase Trip interruption / Cancellation Insurance if you think it wise.

Keywords: Condominium, oceanview, one bedroom, top floor, C31, King Bed, spectacular view, fully-stocked kitchen, remodeled bathroom, Air Dream hide-a-bed mattress, condo sleeps 4

More Details

Nancy Welfelt
Member since: 2003
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2018

About Nancy Welfelt

We LOVE IT HERE at the Kona Reef!

We have 2 condos here at the Kona Reef -- our only two in the world!! (our 2nd listing is vrbo listing # 27574).

We OWN this condo --we are not property managers or real estate agents. So this is our home ... and we invite you to enjoy it as we do.

PLEASE CONTACT ME by phone if you'd like. Call or text: 503-720-6144

Nancy Welfelt purchased this condo in 1995

Why Nancy Welfelt chose Kailua-Kona

The Kona Reef is located within walking distance of everything in Kona. The management of this complex is very attentive to detail, cleanliness and safety of all the guests

What makes this condo unique

We thrive on the beauty of the water and waves. It is incredibly relaxing and refreshing. We thoroughly enjoy the proximity to Kailua --we can walk everywhere we need to get to ... and we love it!


Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • CONDUCT The Guest will not violate any City, State, Association, or Federal Law in or about the premises. Violations = no security deposit refund.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Newly renovated; walk-in shower stall; outside windows (above shower area) for great fresh air ventilation.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Hide-a-bed - QUEEN - 1 queen , We have a new Air Dream inflatable hide-a-bed- mattress
  • New King size bed in the bedroom; Also 1 Hide-a-bed Sleeper Sofa (in the living room) with a Queen size inflatable Air Dream mattress.
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
We have password protected wireless access for our guests. No Smoking in condo or on lanai please. We have pool area towels, sand chairs & mats for your use. The condo is outfitted with everything to make you feel right at home! We have a nice lanai patio set so you can sit for hours watching the waves if you so desire. There is refreshing access to side windows in each and every room of the condo - even on the lanai! The Hawaiian breezes are soothing - allowing freedom from the air conditioner's blast (if you so desire we DO have air conditioning as well). And we have a new King-sized bed for great slumber!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Summer Special $119 - Kona Reef - Beautiful Sunsets - Private Lanai - WiFi
average rating of 4.75 based on 64 reviews

Great location, personable owner, clean and quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our visit to Kona included several days in this condo. It's location was perfect, so close to town while still considered quiet. The condo was very clean, very well supplied and the grounds were very well kept. My husband and I and our two middle school children had plenty of room. Debi was wonderful with her prompt, personal responses and was VERY flexible for our every changing dates!! Thank you. When we return to Kona, we hope to revisit this condo.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy that you all enjoyed yourselves in our condo -- and that you found the location and the complex grounds so suited to your needs. For all my guests, I understand the need for flexibility and I am glad to accommodate whenever I can. Let me know when YOU might want to come and ENJOY KONA! Mahalo Debi
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Wonderful property and Location

  • 4 of 5

All the amenities and comforts. Nothing missing. Could use a larger TV upgrade in the bedroom and also newer A/C in the living room otherwise all functioning. Will come back again.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, comfortable, and a great location!

  • 5 of 5

Great condo in an excellent location. The view from the large lanai is very nice. The bed is very comfortable and the unit is complete with a washer/dryer and air-conditioning. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

good location

  • 4 of 5

We have always stayed in a hotel, so staying in a condo was new for us. I liked the location in Kona for this condo and that it was right on the water, their is even a small sandy beach next door, rare on the big Island as almost everything is lava rock. This condominium is within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops in Kona, I am glad we didn't stay at one of the others condominiums further up, because we would have needed to walk on the busy main road. When we arrived their was confusion about the code given to gain entrance (the online VRBO code was different from the paperwork-and no need to hit the # symbol to open) but a quick phone call got us in. The door was really squeaky (minor irritation).

The unit is older but clean and spacious for the two of us. We were told we might not need A/C, just open windows for a cross breeze, but we definitely needed A/C-I wish the bedroom had a wall unit and not the large floor unit, one night the tube came undone and we had to mess with it.

One thing that bothered us was the blinds to the lanai, they are obviously missing some blinds and we could not close them all the way, this should be addressed and fixed as we do like our privacy!

The last night we could not get a picture on the T.V. but although irritating, not a deal breaker.

At times I missed being in a hotel where you could simply call staff if something was wrong, and no need to clean up but on the plus side we liked having a washer/dryer and a refrigerator.

Their is so much to do on the big Island, we didn't even have time to swim in the pool although it looks nice!

We enjoyed the 2 cruise ships that pulled into harbor. We like the happy hour at Hugos just down the block (not crazy about the sister property next door).

Our last night we did a night snorkel with Manta Rays with Manta Ray diver-really fun!

Next time I would like a unit directly on the ocean side of the property that is more updated. For the price I would recommend this unit

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Kona Great Location

  • 2 of 5

Perfect location, great view, great little beach next door, short walk to town. Unfortunately the unit is old and in need of an update, as advertised the bathroom shower is far from being newly updated. It is in need of a total remodel compared to the other units in the complex. Plus side great grills, good pool, garage parking. The bed was comfortable, the unit was acceptable but certainly no more than 2 stars.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback on our Kona Reef Condo. We're sorry to hear that it wasn't all that you were expecting. The bathroom WAS recently updated removing the tub and adding a walk-in shower with new tile and glass bricks as the picture shows. All of the condo pictures are current and accurately depict what you will get when you stay with us - NO trick photography !! Thank you for noting the MANY things you did enjoy about our condo and your stay, however it was disappointing that you would only give us 2 stars.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location and view!

  • 5 of 5

My first visit ito Big Island and I am glad we were able to stay at this condo.

Convenient location to many nice beaches and downtown Kona.

Nice ocean view from Lanai. BBQ downstairs was nice to have.

Nancy was very accommodating.

We really enjoyed our stay.

We will definitely stay again when we visit Big Island soon hopefully.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Sightseeing (including an active volcano!), & Birding - and RELAXING with loved-ones!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $115 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200

Hawaii Tax ID# 127-222-7840-01

Please understand that cancellations after the deposit is made will forfeit the deposit (although some exceptions may apply). Cancellations made within 30 days of reservation are non-refundable unless unit is rented to another guest. There are no refunds for arriving late, early departure or ‘no shows’. We advise guests to purchase Trip interruption / Cancellation Insurance if you think it wise.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties