check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Cheryl Black

Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

This 3 bedroom home has lots of amenities and a great central location!

5 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Montgomery Estates Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3BR Forest/Park Vacation Rental South Lake Tahoe, California USA

Come and experience the majesty of Lake Tahoe, surrounded by gorgeous mountains,forests, streams. There is so much to do and see here that it is impossible to do it in a week. We have four South Lake Tahoe Rentals to choose from, and all of our homes have either foosball tables or pool tables and hot tubs, plus great locations. Our homes have some of the best rates in Lake Tahoe, so please take a look at our personal website link. Our homes include the Tahoe Ski Chalet, Skyland Retreat, Black Bear Chalet and the Zephyr Cove Chateau.

The Black Bear Chalet is a lodge-style chalet which has three bedrooms, two baths, and sleeps eight people maximum, including children. It has an over-sized great room that features a vaulted ceiling with refreshing ceiling fan (for those hot summer days), and a gorgeous ledgestone electric fireplace insert, and an entertaining Foosball Table. Capture the outside views from the large bay window, or the windows on each side of the fireplace that look out to the conservancy land. There are large windows looking out the third wall also. It has such open views that are especially wonderful when the snow is falling. After a long day on the ski slopes, washing coins in the slots, or shopping the outlets, sitting in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine or a mug of hot chocolate can't be beat! We have just added a 52" flatscreen TV in the living room and a 32" flatscreen TV in the master bedroom. The other two bedrooms have TVs as well. Of course, the Hot Tub just outside the door will help unwind those tense muscles.

This Non-Smoking home is centrally located within five to seven minutes of world class skiing, casinos, restaurants, and, of course, beautiful Lake Tahoe. Although it is so centrally located and away from traffic, it is less than a block away from national forest preserve which is perfect for hiking and biking in the summer. For the adventurous hiker, there is a fabulous view from the top of the hill of Lake Tahoe, which makes the hike through the National Forest worthwhile. On your way, there is a meandering stream complete with falls, where the kids can enjoy water fun, while the adults enjoy a picnic lunch. It is perfect for those educational nature hikes.

After a long day of sporting activities or even shopping the outlets, enjoy the soothing waters of the HOT TUB. The large deck is perfect for relaxing while the steaks are on the barbecue. Enjoy the quiet and hear the sounds of nature. It is truly peaceful!!

Keywords: Chalet Home, Romantic Retreat, Girls retreat, Retirement, home, cabin, bungalo, vacation home, vacation cabin, vacation retreat, Honeymoon hideaway, Honeymoon Cabin, hunting cabin, ski cabin, Pool Table, Foosball Table, Wi-Fi, Hot Tub, lakeview, private beach, Heavenly Valley, Sierra at Tahoe, Kirkwood, Harrah's, Harvey's, Montbleu, gambling, casinos, fireplace

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Cheryl Black (Owner)
Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for Norma's Black Bear Chalet! It is better than we expected. The pictures on the internet do not compare! We camae up here to celebrate my sister's wedding and had a blast!
Jan 2005
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

3.8
based on 5 traveler reviews

This 3 bedroom home has lots of amenities and a great central location!
average rating of 3.8 based on 10 reviews
Lodi, CA
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We had a very enjoyable stay at our home. Everything was very nice, clean and comfortable. The house was well supplied. We enjoyed the nice furnishings, and the good mattresses. We like the quiet neighborhood and our children had fun riding saucers right outside the front door. Durning our stay it snowed about 10 inches. It was beautiful. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2005
  • Stayed: Dec 2004
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Dead ants falling from the ceiling, live ants in the kitchen, & a dirty diaper found in the bedroom.

  • 1 of 5

On Tuesday, December 29, the second night of our stay, my daughter called my attention to an enormous collection of dead ants on a console table in the living-room. Upon further inspection of the living room, we found scores more dead ants on the coffee table, in the crevices of the couch, in the rug, and tangled in spider webs spun within the corners of the baseboards. Live ants were also found crawling on the kitchen counters and bar area. We cleaned all surfaces in both the living room and the kitchen, and vacuumed the entire area. Then we called Cheryl Black, the manager of the property, and left a message. A man named Steve called us back and said that a week prior an ant infestation had been discovered, and that an exterminator had treated the attic with poison. This led us to conclude that DEAD ANTS WERE FALLING FROM THE CEILING IN THE LIVING ROOM. He said that he would arrange for a cleaning service to come the next day, Wednesday. On Wednesday morning we found more dead and live ants in the same places, cleaned them up, and left for the day. When we returned that evening, we found more ants, and an email from Cheryl saying the cleaning service would actually be arriving the next day, Thursday. On Thursday morning, more ants, and upon arriving home that evening we found, of course, more ants, and no evidence that the home had been cleaned. As dinner guests arrived later to celebrate New Year's, my other daughter discovered a dirty diaper in one of the bedrooms. As of today, Friday, January 8, I have sent Cheryl two emails (Jan. 3 & 6) , with photos, requesting a refund of the cleaning fee and 10% of the rental fee for our troubles; she has not responded. Furthermore, she has not refunded our $300 security deposit. We left the home in excellent condition, following all of the checkout prodecures as indicated in our rental agreement. My next communication will be to my lawyer.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is truly disappointing and frustrating to have a situation, act of God if you will, that is beyond our control. These guests called to tell us about dead and live ants in the living room and kitchen. We had actually been staying in the house, preparing it for the guests who arrived on the 26th. Prior to our leaving on the 24th, we noted some ants, which we were not happy to see, but we immediately had the house sprayed. These ants are not a usual occurrence, but this type of activity does happen with extreme changes in weather, which we had. We felt that by the time the guests arrived the situation would be handled. We were somewhat taken aback by the guest’s outrage concerning the ants and told them that we would have our cleaners come by as soon as possible, given the holiday week hectic schedule for the cleaners. Again we thought they would understand that this was not an intentional situation. On New Year’s Eve day, the owner of our cleaning service called from the house phone, so I know she was there, and she told me that she really couldn’t see anything, but she sprayed and wiped down all of the counter tops in the living room and kitchen and then vacuumed the living room and down the hallway to the bedrooms. I have been charged for this service. As our guest said, she demanded 10% of her rent and the cleaning fee refunded. Since there was never anything negative said about the house itself, and I would consider everything that distressed her a cleaning issue, I refunded her security deposit and her cleaning fee on January 8th. As we said in our email to her, we were trying to accommodate her for her negative experience. It certainly isn’t our intent to ruin anyone’s vacation, but sometimes there is rain, snow, closed roads, ants, etc. We don’t have any control over these types of issues, we can only react to them. In this case, we have had the house sprayed again, and we have not seen a reoccurrence.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco
4

Fun Tahoe Weekend

  • 4 of 5

We've stayed at this cabin a few times before and every time we're very pleased. It has a lot of space, a fooz ball table, and hot tub. It's a great cabin!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Florida
4

My stay at the Black Bear Chalet

  • 4 of 5

Great house, 10-15 min from town, depending on weather. Comfy cozy, lots of room for 4 to 6 people. Property description was accurate, dissapointing that garage is not part of rental. Jacuzzi was large and nice. Owner was available for any questions we had, and provided a quick response to other emails. Would recommend anyone to stay at this property. Enjoyed ski resorts that were 10 to 1 hour away. ( We had 6 to choose from). Gambling was gambling, shows and concerts were good. Had a great time. Go and see Lake Tahoe. Daytime fun and Night time fun.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

January 14, 2004

My family is the first to use this very nice and well appointed ski chalet!

We found the location to be very convenient to all the areas attractions ( ski run blvd & Ceasars). While my wife gambled the kids and I went skiing every day. We look forward to using this home again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2004
  • Stayed: Dec 2003
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Car: recommended

Just 3.5 miles to the casinos - Harrah's, Harvey's, Horizon, Montbleu, and Lakeside. Also there is the gondola ride up to Heavenly Valley. Great access!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Montgomery Estates Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 15 2016 - Sep 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
$165
From
$175
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$900
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$675
Flat fee
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$145
From
$160
Fri,Sat
$800
 
 
Late Fall
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
2 night minimum stay
$155
From
$170
Fri,Sat
$825
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2016 - Dec 25 2016
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
 
 
New Year's Holiday
Dec 26 2016 - Jan 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$350
$2,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$110
From
$145
Fri,Sat
$750
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Non-refundable Cleaning Fee $135
Tax Rate 10.0%

There are no refunds except as stipulated below. We encourage Guest to acquire Travel Insurance as through Homeaway, to protect their investment in the event that they must cancel for an unexpected emergency or other reason.When cancelling over 60 days in advance, we will make every effort to re-rent the specified reservation and if we are successful, we will refund the reservation less a $75 fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Montgomery Estates Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers