Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Beach Front House located with view of Battery Point Lighthouse

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,650 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-7)

Only the Battery Point Beach House vacation rental offers a spectacular view of the Lighthouse and such easy access to beach combing. You can walk all the way down and on out to the lighthouse (at low tide). This 3 bedroom house is the perfect vacation rental for couples and family vacation. It is the only house on the ocean side of a cul-de-sac and despite being within city limits, offers a definite feeling of privacy.

The Battery Point Lighthouse dominates the landscape and is the primary view from the living room and deck. Walking or beachcombing on 'Pebble Beach' is a few steps from your doorstep of the Battery Point Beach House. Only minutes away are the famous California Redwoods.

Your pacific panorama will unfold from the Deck, or from the privacy of the open, cedar paneled living room, kitchen and dining areas. Sunset Magazine rated Battery Point the number one lighthouse beach (The West's 40 Best Beaches, July 1997). Enjoy a short walk down the beach and on out to the lighthouse (at low tide) to take in sensational vistas and museum (in season).

Keywords: Beach front location with easy access to the beach.

More Details

Patt Wardlaw
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2017

About Patt Wardlaw

I first came to the area in the 1960s to fly fish for salmon in the Smith River and fell in love with the view from the deck and the closeness to the Ocean, Smith River and the Redwoods. I bought the home without ever getting inside,; watched a sunset from the deck and made the offer! I live and do business in Santa Barbara, CA so this vacation home is a day and a half drive for me.

Patt Wardlaw purchased this house in 1976

Why Patt Wardlaw chose North Coast California

Best view in the County and right on the water! The setting is wonderful and the house is best described as cozy. The area is not Disneyland but there is plenty to see and do in nature. The Smith River, only remaining undammed, Wild and Scenic River in the state, is a short drive.

What makes this house unique

The town is a convenient few blocks but the home is on a point so you see no other residences from the Living Room, a definite sense of privacy. Everyone agrees how cozy and comfortable it is; decorated for enjoyment, not for show. The Jed Smith Redwood Park is just minutes away by car and they trees are all along the road coming in. The Klamath River is 20 miles south and Fern Canyon is a must see.


Crescent City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , The 'purple' bathroom!
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Very close to bedrooms.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom1 - 1 queen , This Master also has a sitting area with couch and tables.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , the larger of two guest rooms.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Window to Wendall Street.
  • Queen size Beds (3), all very close to bathrooms.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
There are only a small number of rentals right on the beach and most of the others are high up from the water. The sand is just steps from the house and one can walk down the beach and out to the Lighthouse (at low tide).


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

Beach Front House located with view of Battery Point Lighthouse
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
Davis, California

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5

My family of four (two adults, two grade school age boys) and the dog stayed at this property for three nights in March of 2017. The place is a fabulous older beach house, right on the beach, with wonderful views from the comfort of the cozy living room. The place is an older split-level house. Upon entry there is a half flight of stairs to the upper level where you will find a large master bedroom, bathroom with nice shower over tub, and the kitchen/living/dining area and there is a half flight of stairs to the lower level for two additional bedrooms, a bathroom with a shower, the laundry room, and a small sitting area. There are many books and a few board games and puzzles for use. The upper level is sunny and bright; the lower cooler and darker, great for sleeping. There is a deck off the kitchen with wonderful ocean views and views of the lighthouse. Next to the house is a small parking area and metal spiral stairs down to the beach. The beach is coarse sand, rocks, driftwood, and tide pools. You can walk down to battery point lighthouse and at low tide you can get a tour of the place. There is a pier to walk out over the water. Though the house is older with much of the original decor, the the kitchen appliances, laundry, heating, and plumbing were highly functional and much appreciated. Ample hot water and a fantastic view; what more could a person need?

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, I couldn't have said it better myself! Patt Wardlaw
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manassas, Va.

Dramatic ocean view, and magnificent Redwoods too!

  • 5 of 5

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this rental. The pictures don't convey the sunny, breezy feel of the place. The deck is amazing, we spent hours watching the surf and skies. It is just a few steps down to the beach, which was clean and uncrowded.

The place was very clean. The beds were comfortable. We cooked three dinners and had all the cooking items we needed. We enjoyed the lawn chairs provided to sit on the deck. Wi Fi and TV worked great.

The view is as pictured, amazing when you really see it. We were surprised how close we were to Jed Smith Redwood State Park, we went down to Highland Road and were taking pictures in ten minutes! This was an experience of a lifetime.

I would, and hope to rent this house again! Extra bonus was allowing our dog to join us. You would be lucky to rent here.

GLW of Virginia

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Redding, CA

Another great family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Had another great week at this wonderful vacation home. Our family loves coming here, year after year. Have never met the owner, Patt, but he has been so easy to communicate with and really is concerned about our experience and comfort in his home. This is our home away from home, and having a choice (which we do), we would not stay anywhere else. Thanks again for having your home available for us! Location can not be beat! Oh, and FYI; being an ocean front home, there is always going to be some moisture :)

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Kenwood, CA

Best location in Crescent City

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed at Patt's beach-front house for 3 or 4 weeks every year for almost 10 years now, and feel it is my second home. It is extremely comfortable and well-maintaned, and is always neat and clean whenever I have arrived. The panoramic, ocean views are spectacular and, depending on the time of year, you can watch whales migrating north or south. And when there is a storm raging outside, one feels cozy and protected in this beautiful home and location. Thanks, Patt !! Ben

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Sacramento, CA

Great scenery, lovely accommodations and good neighbors!

  • 5 of 5

Was at the cottage for a week in October for the umpteenth time. As usual, my visit was relaxing and memorable. The owner is constantly upgrading both furnishings and facilities... Cannot improve the lighthouse views or those of the sunsets. They are simply incomparable.

Restaurants are generally good in Crescent City, but there is a place near the high school that makes exceptional cheeses. Check it out through the Chamber of Commerce because I have forgotten its name.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

The location is fabulous, but the house is run down, outdated, and in poor maintenance. Relatives of ours stayed at this location 15 years ago and nothing has changed inside the house since then. The owner hasn't done any upgrades to this poor house. My suggestion is to look elsewhere for similar locations without the mold, mildew, or outdated appliances and thread bare furniture.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: November, 2014 To state that no upgrades to the property have been done in 15 years is absurdly untrue. Construction and repairs have always been completed on an ongoing basis. Fall of 2012 a new heating and fuel storage system was installed at a cost of more than $7,000.00. The new furnace is a four-speed Trane. An extensive weather proofing contract was let that year, including window and door caulking and painting of the entire exterior along with roof work. The living room couch was new of leather in late 2011 and all three chairs were given a first class re-upholstering, better than original. I have photos. Also in 2012 the entertainment center was upgraded to a Sony 42 inch LCD HD set, new DVD player and Sony stereo. Non indigenous high plants must be expensively cut back all along the beach front or our fabulous view becomes blocked. Maintenance on the beach is ongoing and costlyl. Fall is the only time I can do upgrades because of full rentals in late spring and summer. In 2012 some other issues could be seen developing. The steel front door was showing signs of rust that we were having trouble getting repainting to hold as was the steel garage door. The deck was beginning to need some repairs in addition to the annual maintenance already being done. That was all planned for 2013. In 2013, unfortunately, I had to have Quadruple Bypass surgery, which left me unable to travel to deal with these issues. I would normally do as part of the annual fall upgrades. Being only 85 I was able to handle everything I could do remotely. I could not physically get to the house. During the past summer, 2014, the stove/oven was replaced with a new Amana Glass Top unit. I have now been at the house since October, 2014, already having upgraded the remaining guest room from a double to a queen. A contract has been placed with Home Depot for the new aluminum garage door to be completed shortly and a new fiberglass front door is ordered. I have already begun to work out the details of a major upgrade to the deck, including replacement of the redwood flooring. A Sony Blue Ray player has just now been added to the TV center and the cable service has already been upgraded to “Charter TV Silver” with many more HD channels, music channels and the HBO, Cinemax and other Pay Channels. You may have seen their “Spectrum” ads. The new Charter wireless is now much faster that the DSL wireless it replaced. Please note all previous reviews JPWardlaw, owner
Did you find this review helpful?
15 2


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Crescent City has it's own Airport
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
On North Bank Smith River Road 15 miles away
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
house is 11 blocks from US101
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Town, Harbor area
Nearest Beach
House is right on the beach just steps from sand.
Car: recommended

Jedidiah Smith Redwood Park very close to this Northernmost City in California. Nearby Smith River is the only remaining undammed Wild and Scenic River in CA. Trails and Sightseeing abound with relatively milder climate than other cities along the North Coast.


Rates & Availability

Crescent City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 2 2017 - May 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleanining Deposit $125
Tax Rate 10.0%

Personal check for reservation deposit of 20%, balance 90 days in advance of occupancy (60 days in Winter/Spring).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties