Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Clayton House- Historic 4BR Home, 1 Block from Downtown!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom 2 Full 1 Half Bath Home - sleeps up to 8

THE CLAYTON HOUSE - a SkyRun Whitefish Property

The Clayton House is the most charming home available in downtown Whitefish and has been featured on the front page of the Whitefish Pilot and in Flathead Living.

The Clayton House was built around 1903 to be Whitefish's 'Southside' First Presbyterian Church. In later years it was converted into a beautiful house and remains that way today. It has been beautifully restored offering refinished, original wood floors, spacious bedrooms with queen beds in each room with the large master suite being on the main floor. There is granite and tile in the bathrooms, a fantastic fully outfitted kitchen with granite countertops and high end appliances, a nice dining room with antique hand made table, and a mud room entering from the back of the house with storage for your gear. There is also a washer and dryer so you can come in after a hard day of playing and get your things cleaned right up.

The location is perfect being just one block to Whitefish hotspots such as Mambo's, Loulas, Pescado Blanco, Swift Creek Cafe, 2nd Steet Pizza, The White room Ski Shop, Glacier Cyclery, and just 2 blocks to Central Ave., the Farmer's Market, Gallery Nights, the SNOW bus pick up and two of Whitefish's best parks on the Whitefish River. It is also located just down the street from Whitefish Lake Golf Club, which also offers cross country skiing in the winter, and The Wave Fitness Center. Hop on your bike and it's just a short ride on the bike path along Whitefish River to City Beach at Whitefish Lake. You'll love being able to get to and from the shops, restaurants, and all that Whitefish has to offer with such ease.

We've tried hard to provide everything you could need to make your stay as comfortable as possible and we think you will thoroughly enjoy your time spent in this charming home. Come spend some quality time in a quality home right in the heart of Whitefish.

Book your Whitefish getaway with SkyRun Vacation Rentals Today!

What to be aware of:

What You'll Love:

What to be aware of:

 

What You'll Love:

 

More Details

Owner
Aaron Scott
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
87%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

Why Aaron Scott chose Whitefish

YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER HOME IN WHITEFISH THAT MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE A LOCAL AND ALSO FEEL AT HOME.

What makes this house unique

 

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for a terrific stay. We love the house. The comfort and location are perfect.

We enjoyed a snowmobile adventure with Xtreme Motorsports and a wonderful dog sledding experience with Dog Sled Adventures. Jeff and his group(of dogs) were delightful.

We would definately recommend this option to friends and would come back in a heartbeat!



Thanks for everything!

Martha and Gary Cheney
Feb 2009
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Whitefish House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • bathroom 1 -
    bathroom 2 -
    bathroom 3 -
  • 2.5 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms with 4 Queen Beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(69 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
The Clayton House- Historic 4BR Home, 1 Block from Downtown!
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 73 reviews
4

great location, clean, pleasant home

  • 4 of 5

you really can't beat this location, just a 2-block walk to the center of town. House was clean with a very nice front porch. Interior was fine; could use some attention to detail. Bedrooms could use mirrors, since the upper bath mirrors are too low to be useful. We were there in 90 degree weather and the AC didn't seem to work on the upper level.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

So Convenient

  • 5 of 5

This property is within walking distance to everything in Whitefish- the shops and restaurants , the train depot, the theater. This charming cottage has all the amenities you'll need. 30-minute drive to Glacier Park. You can't miss with this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable home setting. Close to family and downtown.

  • 4 of 5

The Clayton House was in a perfect location to downtown, family and the mountain. There was plenty of room, the beds were comfortable and were able to make the majority of our meals at home. I would suggest having some small plates in the kitchen, but everything else was well stocked. The main floor bedroom and bath needs a space heater the rooms and floor of the bathroom were cold. A full length mirror in the upstairs bathroom would be helpful as well. I would suggest having the garbage pathway cleared, since we were there in winter it was a challenge getting around the snow and ice. Overall I would recommend staying at the Clayton House.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the Clayton House. Glad you enjoyed the house and the close proximity to downtown. I'm sorry you couldn't find the small plates in the cabinets. We have a space heater in the closet but we'll look at adding another one. Since we had the heavy snows we didn't want you to have to hike through the snow so we provided the trashcan by the back door and emptied it during your stay. We'll add the full length mirror upstairs. Please come again soon. Thanks for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston
5

cool place

  • 5 of 5

6 of us stayed. cool place. central to town. management folks (skyrun) were great. Aaron helped us several times. Loved seeing the fall colors and snow capped mountains. great northern - favorite beer place. hope to come back around ski season.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Favorite Place in Whitefish

  • 5 of 5

I love this house. My husband and our family have been to this house 3 years in a row. Once we take a shuttle from the airport we walk everywhere (or ride a bus up to Big Mountain). There are two great parks a couple blocks away for the kids. Our favorite places to eat are blocks away (try Ciao Mumbo!). Our kids are finally old enough to leave them at the house watching a movie and my husband and I love walking down to Casey's and checking out the 3rd deck view of everything. My husband also likes the golf course about 6 blocks down the street. We also walked the walking path up the river to Whitefish Lake (I highly recommend).

Beds are comfortable and there's a full washer and dryer so we don't feel like we have to pack everything. We're already making plans for next year.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

mediocre.

  • 2 of 5

House nice and clean, but bedding very poor. Blankets way too thin. Overall not very impressed.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at The Clayton House. Glad you enjoyed your stay - the house is close to everything. We had left our summer sheets on the bed because we had a warm spell during your stay. A few days ago we changed out all the sheets to our winter sheets (flannel) and some new blankets, comforters and quilts. The fireplace works great and the heater makes it nice and toasty. We also have purchased some new wine glasses, pillows and lamps. Come back any time! We're making improvements all the time. Thanks for staying with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
NEARBY RESTAURANTS
Nearest Point of Interest
GLACIER CYCLERY
Nearest Point of Interest
CENTRAL AVE.
Nearest Point of Interest
RIVERSIDE PARK
Nearest Point of Interest
KIDDIE PARK
Nearest Point of Interest
CITY BEACH
Nearest Point of Interest
FARMER'S MARKET, HUCKLEBERRY DAYS, WHITEFISH ART FESTIVAL
Nearest Point of Interest
THE WAVE ATHLETIC CLUB
Nearest Point of Interest
SAFEWAY

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • DEPOSIT: Major Credit Cards Accepted - 1/2 of rental required upon confirmation of all reservations as down payment . Remainder due 60 days prior to arrival.

    PRICING: The rates above do not include 7% state lodging tax and other local taxes/fees. Please inquire about holiday weekends, as additional charges and a 3 night minimum may apply.
  • From $300/nt
  • US Dollars
  • Dates available above