check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sharon

Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english

The Cottage on Balboa Island

7 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 8 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Newport Center House Rental Photos and Description

4BR Bayview Vacation Rental Newport Beach, California USA

Please read important message at the bottom of description

BEFORE SENDING ANY MONEY!

This beautiful four bedroom, two bath home is located in one of Orange County's most popular destination spot - Balboa Island in Newport Beach. Located just five homes in from the boardwalk and Newport Harbor, "The Cottage" enjoys one of the best locations around - the open ocean is about 15 minutes away by foot and ferry; the Island's many shops, bakeries, and restaurants are just down the street; and Fashion Island, one of the country's premiere shopping centers, is five minutes away by car.

There is a view of the water from one of the upstairs bedrooms.

The Cottage is approximately 1,600 square feet and is beautifully decorated in a California beach motif. It is clean and well maintained. It is an original home but it has had a number of upgrades, including: double-pane windows, hardwood floors, new appliances, etc.

The bottom level consists of an open den and dining area with a table that can seat six to eight; a small bedroom with a twin bed; a bathroom (shower, vanity and toilet); a full kitchen; and a laundry room. The second level consists of three bedrooms and one full bath. There is also a sink in the master bedroom. The bed configuration upstairs is one full, one queen, and one king bed.

A fabulous brick front patio is the perfect spot for outdoor dining and relaxing. There is a sofa and two chairs plus a patio table with four comfortable chairs.

There is also a rear patio with lovely plants, a water fountain, barbecue, and patio table with four chairs.

The boardwalk that encircles the island is one of the most scenic spots around. During the summer, you can often see sailboat regattas in the harbor, and pelicans and sea lions. This boardwalk is off-limits to skateboarders and bicyclists so it's the perfect place to enjoy peaceful walks.

The home's amenities include a side-by-side washer and dryer; a garage (one space in a two-car garage); a 50' 1080 HD flat-screen TV in the den; a flat-screen TV in the master bedroom and another small flat-screen in the 2nd bedroom upstairs; cable TV, Blue Ray DVD, and wireless Internet service. The fully-appointed kitchen includes a newer gas range, super-quiet dishwasher, a microwave; and most all small appliances.

The one-bedroom, one bath apartment located above garage is also available for rent at $1400 per week during the summer. This apartment sleeps three (one full bed, one twin bed).

During the summer months, this home rents on a Saturday-to-Saturday basis only, with check-in at 3:00 pm and check-out at 10:00 am.

Please call or email Sharon if you have additional questions. Sorry, but I do not accept reservations more than six months in advance.

IMPORTANT MESSAGE FOR GUESTS

Don't be defrauded! Please do not send any money to reserve this house BEFORE you have personally spoken to me - Sharon Tetrault at 949-230-9313 - and confirmed that I am the owner of this property. I WILL NEVER ASK YOU TO SEND FUNDS VIA WESTERN UNION OR TO WIRE FUNDS TO AN UNKNOWN BANK. Thank you.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sharon (Owner)
Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 7 traveler reviews

The Cottage on Balboa Island
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
5

Wonderful Cottage - Clean, Roomy and for us the perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved this place! It is located on South side of the island, on east side of Marine, just a handful of homes away from South Bay beach side. No car traffic really, because this location becomes a one way in the opposite direction of the flow of traffic on Marine. There is alot of foot traffic, but so fun for people watching and we find the people fun. The front porch is a wonderful place to sit and have a meal and do this.

We did have several people inquire while we were sitting there about renting this property. One morning we found a fellow had come through our gate and was writing info from the rental sign down...but that is not the fault of the property owner, this fellow did not respect boundaries. We have no hesitancy in renting again just because of this.

What makes the cottage perfect for us is that we could bring our children, grandchildren and our beloved dog! She loved her time on the island too!

The owner, Sharon, is very on top of things that needed attention to, and very friendly. We appreciated this.

Everyone in my family LOVED there time in the cottage. I have been asked by several people for this cottage's info, and I may regret sharing because we may find it hard to book a spot!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent condition and very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

The home was perfect for our family. Great memories that will last a lifetime. We look so forward to going back next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your glowing review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the house. I hope you will return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

ENJOYED OUR STAY.

  • 4 of 5

Our family of five stayed in this property from June 3rd through June 10th, 2015. The owner is kind and accommodating. Our children keep asking us to go back and saying how much fun they had. The beach at Corona del Mar State Park is extremely close. The house is perfectly situated on Balboa Island. You should seriously consider renting this property for your family trip.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family get Away!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place to stay and very accommodating. There were 5 of us and plenty of sleeping space and then some. Great patio for relaxing and/or people watching and the best part was the location. The kids could safely walk to get their balboa bars and well as get to and from the Fun Zone. We enjoyed the great restaurants on the island and they were all in walking distance for our Lovely home. We will be renting it again.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

CONTINUING THE FAMILY TRADITION...

  • 5 of 5

Since 1945, my family (grandparents/parents/kids/grandkids) have spent a couple weeks on Balboa Island thru out the years. WE were the grandparents this time...introducing Balboa Island and all its' wonder to OUR grandchildren. The Marine Ave. Cottage was the perfect place, (in the middle of the action) to have this happen. Balboa bars/frozen bananas every night and walks around the island, finishing up with sitting on the front porch and chatting with the people passing by...a perfect place to create great memories. The cottage was so well equipped with everything we needed, from beach belly boards to an easy place to park...we definitely will keep coming back to this spot! (Our dog loved it too!)

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Judy - I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Cottage. I hope that you and your family will return again to make even more memories. Best, Sharon Tetrault
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
5

Week at Balboa

  • 5 of 5

Great house with perfect location close to shops and activities on Marine. Nice to only have to worry about moving car for street cleaning once rather than the normal two days. Rare 4 bedroom find is nice for larger/extended family vacations or a group of friends looking to get together.

Kitchen and bathrooms are typical older cottage style and the floors could use a good cleaning. Otherwise house was great and would recommend to anyone and would definitely rent this house again.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Balboa Island Ferry
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
San Diego Freeway
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Newport Center House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall 2016
Sep 4 2016 - Nov 19 2016
4 night minimum stay
$425
$2,600
$5,600
 
 
THANKSGIVING 2016
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 27 2016
8 night minimum stay
$3,000
Flat fee
 
 
November/December
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 13 2016
3 night minimum stay
$425
$2,600
$5,600
 
 
BOAT PARADE 2016
Dec 14 2016 - Dec 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$750
 
 
CHRISTMAS 2016
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,200
 
 
WINTER & SPRING 2017
Jan 2 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$425
$2,600
$5,600
 
 
JUNE 2017
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,000
 
 
JULY & AUGUST 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please inquire as to restrictions on the number of guests for stay during the boat parade.
Guests staying one month or longer pay for gas and electric usage during their stay.
During the summer months, the house rents on a Saturday-to-Saturday basis.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Newport Center House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • One bathroom is downstairs (shower, toilet and sink) and one bathroom is upstairs (tub/shower combo, toilet and sink). There is a third sink in the largest upstairs bedroom (king bed).
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , Twin trundle bed
  • One bedroom is downstairs (twin bed); three bedrooms are upstairs (king, queen and full beds).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers